Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cost of studying abroad (North America) for one year?

• 29-09-2009 3:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭

So what exactly would the cost of taking a year of my degree in a University in North America be?

Anyone done it already?

Im cusious about wether fees need to be paid to the university, who pays for accommodation etc.

I would really appreciate some input from anyone who may have done it already, my degree is Psychology.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

I did it as part of my degree, rather than an extra year. My university had links with a few US universities so I looked up which one had the best ratings and went for it. www.isep.org is also a method of doing something similar.

As my uni arranged it, I paid my normal tuition/accommodation fees to my home university, as did the outgoing American student to their college. We effectively just swapped places. I think I took about 2k euro spending money with me for the year, but I also worked as a tutor in the Athletics Department (J1 visa allows up to 20 hours a week on-campus work from recollection) which supplemented that.

I really can't recommend it enough, it was the best year of my life educationally and socially. Once in a lifetime thing.

Any questions feel free to ask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Bigdeadlydave

pow wow wrote: »
    I did it as part of my degree, rather than an extra year. My university had links with a few US universities so I looked up which one had the best ratings and went for it. www.isep.org is also a method of doing something similar.