Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accidents last night

• 30-09-2009 12:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭

Anyone hear anything about the fire in Newcastle last night. There hasn't been much reported on it bar the short story on galwaynews. I didn't see anything regarding the crash that happened by the bridge on Lough Atalia last night. At one point last night they had access to the bridge in Newcastle restricted and access to Salthill from Lough Atalia restricted.

Looked like a big yacht was on a tralier but it was too high and wham bam...saw a train using the rail above it while they were working on getting the yacht free so it must not have been too bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

They moved Green Dragon last night....

It wasn't her was it:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭Wompa1

All I could see was BWIN written on the back. A good few Gardai and guys in high viz jackets running around. Maybe I jumped to an assumption...I guessed with the loads of people there and the gardai blocking it off that it was stuck...wouldn't it be funny if it did get damaged though?

Wompa1 wrote: »
    All I could see was BWIN written on the back. A good few Gardai and guys in high viz jackets running around. Maybe I jumped to an assumption...I guessed with the loads of people there and the gardai blocking it off that it was stuck...wouldn't it be funny if it did get damaged though?

That was Green Dragon then. Bloody hell:eek:, wouldn't you think somebody would have thought of that bridge height BEFORE they moved it:confused:.

Murphy's law was alive and well in Galway last night it seems:rolleyes:

I think it's an awful pity if it did get damaged tbh, it did bring the best thing that happened to Galway in a long time here(Volvo race), and managed to sail around the World(ish), it would be a shame if after all that it met it's fate on the Lough Atalia rail bridge.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

:(

It didn't look too badly damaged from where I was...probably took it slow going under...pretty bad decision to risk the bridge!!

Oh well, that's something I guess.

I still can't believe nobody thought of the bridge height.

/facepalm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

Regarding the fire in Newcastle it seemed to be just a chimney fire. There was lots of smoke billowing from the roof tiles, but I'm sure the two fire engines sorted it out fairly quickly...

SeanPuddin wrote: »
    Regarding the fire in Newcastle it seemed to be just a chimney fire. There was lots of smoke billowing from the roof tiles, but I'm sure the two fire engines sorted it out fairly quickly...

Are you sure? Galwaynews say that nobody was believed to be in either of the houses...and it seemed to happen sometime around 9-9:30...it would be a bit strange if it was a chimney fire at that hour and the occupants gone out after putting down a fire?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭quietobserver

Was coming down by Thermo King last night at 9:20 and the Green dragon was being brought down from the lights, it had come across from the tuam road and was being brought into the Industrial Estate where Nortel is.

THere was a fire brigade attending something on the moycullen side of the lights on qcential bridge, didnt have time to look. Then over at the tesco shopping centre i heard and saw two ambulances heading over towards the direction of the fire brigade.

Was coming down by Thermo King last night at 9:20 and the Green dragon was being brought down from the lights, it had come across from the tuam road and was being brought into the Industrial Estate where Nortel is.

THere was a fire brigade attending something on the moycullen side of the lights on qcential bridge, didnt have time to look. Then over at the tesco shopping centre i heard and saw two ambulances heading over towards the direction of the fire brigade.

I just checked the time I took the picture on my phone and it says 22:18 for the yacht...I'm not saying it was the Green Dragon...my picture is a blur by the way so I can't post it...I had chinese food under my arm and couldn't have been arsed to try and get a proper picture. The bit under/in the bridge had BWIN on it...the sail bit was on a seperate trailer which was Lough Atalia side of the bridge and seemed intact

Green Dragon deffo has Bwin on the stern. Was the yacht being pulled by a big Massey tractor? The mast was on a seperate truck and trailer. They were both in Salthill til well after 7pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Did they actually try to go under the bridge....oh my.

Green Dragon deffo has Bwin on the stern. Was the yacht being pulled by a big Massey tractor? The mast was on a seperate truck and trailer. They were both in Salthill til well after 7pm.

Don't recall a tractor but the mast was definately on a seperate trailer which seemed to have gone past the bridge no problem. The actual ship seemed stuck...two guys in High Viz Jackets were up on top of it and looked like they were trying to get something to come off. I'm suprised nobody else has commented on it...If I knew it was The Green Dragon I might have went for a better look.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Hold on there now lads, ye're totally jumping to conclusions.

If a load is over a certain size in this country (infact any country) it requires Police (Garda) escort; it's the law.

On top of that, with a big load, you're generally gonna have your own crew anyway. In going through Lough Atalia bridge, it would make sense for the Green Dragon to have people up on top with walkie-talkies to communicate on the status ie. all clear, or getting tight

The reason for the road being closed would be again because of the width of the object.

I'm not saying that there wasn't a big smash up, but this kinda muck talk is how rumours start.

It was a pretty tall load tho; if there wasn't a smash up I can safely say getting it under the bridge was most certainly tricky.

With the keel removed, a Volvo 70 would be well capable of passing under Lough Atalia bridge. Green dragon may have looked tall with the mast and keel on her while sitting on a stand, but the hull itself is not that big

John, with respect, I saw it on the trailer last night, it was a tall load. I know how big the hull is or isn't on a Volvo 70. You aren't the only one on here with maritime experience ya know ;)

I took a pic of it on the trailer it was on last night; I'll post it up when I get a chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Are you sure? Galwaynews say that nobody was believed to be in either of the houses...and it seemed to happen sometime around 9-9:30...it would be a bit strange if it was a chimney fire at that hour and the occupants gone out after putting down a fire?

Heard in college that it was ''apparently'' a faulty switch box / electrics.

Was that the house second opposite Topaz on the St Anthonys side? The front door was fecked, there was a hole in the roof, and the students looked to be moving out today; or is student accomodation *that* bad nowadays :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Was that the house second opposite Topaz on the St Anthonys side?

Twas

Looked pretty fecked today tbh...

Was that the house second opposite Topaz on the St Anthonys side? The front door was fecked, there was a hole in the roof, and the students looked to be moving out today; or is student accomodation *that* bad nowadays :pac:

Yeah, house on the corner, owned by a well known family chemist in a previous life. Doesn't look bad at all tbh, lights on in the house earlier and didn't look too manky

John, with respect, I saw it on the trailer last night, it was a tall load. I know how big the hull is or isn't on a Volvo 70. You aren't the only one on here with maritime experience ya know ;)

I'll hold my hands up, I don't know much about those boat's with sticks and flappy things :p I'd be more of a gas guzzler tbh :D

Anyhow, current rumour is that the hull DID get stuck under the bridge. It was going from Salthill to the rear of the Harbour Hotel area, taking the long route (from Salthill via Quinc bridge, along Lough Atalia from the Dub Road side, then onto rear or Harbour where she got stuck under the bridge) - "Weird route" I thought.... "Oh but they couldn't manovoure (sp?) it in through town" - "Hmm, but didn't they get it to Salthill from the Docks in the first place through Spanish Arch" says I. I got a puzzled response... feckin rumours, who knows!!

^^^^I actually couldn't figure that bit out either. Maybe they moved it using a different set up this time; who knows :)

That house in Newcastle does have a rather significant hole in the roof tho!

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭forumfiend

JohnCleary wrote: »
    IIt was going from Salthill to the rear of the Harbour Hotel area, taking the long route (from Salthill via Quinc bridge, along Lough Atalia from the Dub Road side, then onto rear or Harbour where she got stuck under the bridge)

Em, it's a boat innit? why couldn't they put it in the water in Salthill and tow it to the docks :)

forumfiend wrote: »
    Em, it's a boat innit? why couldn't they put it in the water in Salthill and tow it to the docks :)

'Tis a boat indeed :D

Nowhere to launch it at Salthill though (too shallow of water around that area) not to mention the fact they'd have to re-install the keel etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

Hold on there now lads, ye're totally jumping to conclusions.

If a load is over a certain size in this country (infact any country) it requires Police (Garda) escort; it's the law.

Correct, the law also states that they should have a roadworthy vehicle for carrying an abnormal load. So 1) they didn't have a permit to move the load or 2) They had a permit which was issued by someone illegally as there is no way you would get a permit for a tractor and home made trailer with no brakes.

Either way there was guards there condoning this flagrant breach of the law on numerous counts. Also if they did have a permit for this they would have been instructed to move it very late at night/early morning to minimise disruption to traffic. That obviously didn't happen either
    I took a pic of it on the trailer it was on last night; I'll post it up when I get a chance.

Please do, it'll be good to see modern Ireland moving a €5,000,000 load on a tractor and homemade trailer

Here is how they move it elsewhere and also remember the puma boat on the actual dock for the climbing challenge that was driven onto the docks but sailed out of it.

092390.1-lg.jpg

I'll hold my hands up, I don't know much about those boat's with sticks and flappy things :p I'd be more of a gas guzzler tbh :D

Anyhow, current rumour is that the hull DID get stuck under the bridge. It was going from Salthill to the rear of the Harbour Hotel area, taking the long route (from Salthill via Quinc bridge, along Lough Atalia from the Dub Road side, then onto rear or Harbour where she got stuck under the bridge) - "Weird route" I thought.... "Oh but they couldn't manovoure (sp?) it in through town" - "Hmm, but didn't they get it to Salthill from the Docks in the first place through Spanish Arch" says I. I got a puzzled response... feckin rumours, who knows!!

When they were moving it from the docks they had to cut a load of the street furniture down to get it out. When the Puma boat was brought in they came the same way without cutting down anything. When you are using the proper equipment this isn't necessary

If there was anybody there that had a clue what they were at they wouldn't have got stuck under the bridge. They were all obviously unable to operate a measuring tape.

Stick up those pictures anyway, I'm sure the City council, Garda office and Department of Transport will be delighted to see a total disregard for the law in this land.

Correct, the law also states that they should have a roadworthy vehicle for carrying an abnormal load. So 1) they didn't have a permit to move the load or 2) They had a permit which was issued by someone illegally as there is no way you would get a permit for a tractor and home made trailer with no brakes.

Either way there was guards there condoning this flagrant breach of the law on numerous counts. Also if they did have a permit for this they would have been instructed to move it very late at night/early morning to minimise disruption to traffic. That obviously didn't happen either

How do you know it was a homemade trailer with no brakes and a big tractor would be just as good as a truck for pulling the boat!!

I hate all the rubbish about permits and flouting the law. Do it and say nothing is the best option imo. But dont get stuck under a bridge.

If you say the trailer my friends yacht was on when I moved it with the tractor for them a few months back you would have had a heart attack :D!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭AdamantApproach

What is a home made trailer? All modern trailers have braking valves. Certainly anything capable of holding a load that size would have massive braking power. I'd imagine that a tractor and low loader trailer would be the best option for moving something like this.

It wasn't a bad looking trailer in fairness. I've seen a lot more ramshackle boat trailers over the years tbh, a LOT more.

And it was a pretty big Massey; albeit a 1986 model, I'd say it had more than enough torque to do the task at hand.

That said I was a bit surprised, given that it was the Green Dragon, that she wasn't on a trailer and truck.

I'll post the pics later if that's ok to do so???