Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United vs Wolfsburg CL Match Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Ah here, did Giles just say Berbatov was useless tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

"Berbatov was non existant as usual"

Johnny Giles has finally succumbed to senile dementia....

Berbatov has replaced Ronaldo as the hate figure in the RTE studio I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Carrick was a big positive, he's starting to look like recapturing his form. What a finish, he had no time to set himself at all. While Anderson was lively I thought he was a bit wasteful in possession. I was worried about Vidic being on a yellow because of how Dzeko in particular was playing, and in fairness he was very very lucky not to be sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Des wrote: »
    In fairness to Eamo, he did say "let's forget the Ronaldo question"

who will score the goals tho? :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,462 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Average performance from United.

Looked very good in spells but weren't consistent during the course of the game. We should have really pushed on after getting back level from the free but we never eally got going at Wolfsburg.

After we went ahead we should have closed the game out easier but we allowed them to attack us far too freely.

Disappointed we didn't do better as a team, but I can't really pick out an ineffectual player - i though individually most players were good enough, we just didn't seem to click as a team.

Encouraged by the performance of Carrick, his best performance in a good few months.

Was disappointed to see Owen go off, as I would ahve liked to see more of him, but Berbatov's introduction changed the game for us. He was sublime when he came on, his touch and creation were great. He had a few attempted passes that didn't come off but thats to be expected.

A bit worried by the form of Vidic and Rio - neither are up to the level we expect and we were quite lucky tonight on occasions imo. Vidic very lucky not to see a red card at the end of the game too.

The RTE lads are great :D

I could watch them all day.

except Whelan.

I could punch him all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,432 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Bandit12 wrote: »
    Rule 26.15, Article 6
    Added time should be kept at a minimum if Yernited are winning the match

I know, disgrace isn't it? I'm going to write an angry letter to Alex Ferguson telling him just how much of a cheater he is :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Gwan Gilesy :D

lads wittering on about gah "Let's get back to the football Bill"

Ledge

rarnes1 wrote: »
    except Whelan.

I could punch him all day.

Or stab him, I like a good stabbing. :)

Or stab him, I like a good poo stabbing. :)

fyp

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

The ronaldo in ronaldo was ronaldo'ing the other ronaldo, at the end of the ronaldo it was all very ronaldo.

I wish the media would stfu - every free kick good or bad gets likened.

Anyway good result against a good team night - if only liverpool had of copped on immediately last night.

fyp

God damn it Desmond.

mayordenis wrote: »
    The ronaldo in ronaldo was ronaldo'ing the other ronaldo, at the end of the ronaldo it was all very ronaldo.

I wish the media would stfu - every free kick good or bad gets likened.

Anyway good result against a good team night - if only liverpool had of copped on immediately last night.
    Flicked on to SSN - just after Valenica missed from the Berbatov flick.

Paul Merson: Ronaldo would have scored that.

GO AND *** YOURSELF PAUL!:mad:

he's probably right though !

• Registered Users Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭Josey Wales

I have to agree with Giles. I didn't think Berbatov did anything in the second half. He had some nice touches in the first half but didn't contribute in the second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

spot on

I have to agree with Giles. I didn't think Berbatov did anything in the second half. He had some nice touches in the first half but didn't contribute in the second.

He was Uniteds best player first half by a mile, and was marked tightly in the second half. Still did okay. To say he was useless or terrible is stupid imo. I'm not his biggest fan btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

valenica has been disappointing,its always just down the line with him no cutting in. I love an out and out winger but I also like a winger to mix it up ya know

he's too predictable

I'd like to see any of you drinking a 6 pack of beer befor training like Mr. Merson, the main is a fúcking legend :) . A former mess but a legend gents.

Shame he is right in the said statement :) .

United defense are shít

oh hear comes eamo with the vidic to barca

emao doesnt read actually quotes from players does it

that's foreign language to eamo

LOL at the TV3 comment :D good aul Eamo

'you could be the next Matt Cooper'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Pretty happy with that.

After a sluggish start we looked good once we got going. Decent movement and a few good performances. Ando has reacted well since whatever happened very early in the season. 6 points from 6.

Oh, and just so Dave thanks my post ill say the name Berbatov. :D

Liam O wrote: »
    LOL at the TV3 comment :D good aul Eamo

He's an absolute legend tbh, gold.

:eek::eek:

Giggs has never been a great player.

What. The. Holy. Fúck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

"giggs has never been a great player"

fcuk me Giles really has lost the plot completely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

He's an absolute legend tbh, gold.
    Want did he say.?

Gile's praise for Giggs: 'he's a good lad'

I think its time for giles to go to the retirement home

Giggs has never been a top 5 all time world class footballer, but to say he's never been a great footballer is an absolute joke.

RTE is gone to the dogs, they were bad enough as it was.

nicklauski wrote: »
    Want did he say.?

yakking on about Vidic playing badly to engineer a move to Barca.

Eamo to Bill : Imagine if TV3 were in for you Bill, you could be the next Matt Cooper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

... a great servant, a good lad, but not a great player".

What the hell is Johnny Giles on? On about and on (medication wise)?

Trilla wrote: »

RTE is gone to the dogs, they were bad enough as it was.

How dare you....

United defense are shít

yeah - thats how we broke records last season. moronic statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Giles is going the same way as Jimmy Magee. He needs to be phased out quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Lol at Giles. I like a laugh but did he just say Giggs has never been a top player?:pac:

:eek::eek:

Giggs has never been a great player.

What. The. Holy. Fúck.

This kind of ****e is why i avoid RTE wherever I can.

Much prefer ITV (think its maybe cause i grew up watching it) and theres less of the sensationalist ****e that you get on the RTE panel, albeit they sit on the fence + praise all things english on ITV.

Flicked on now and they just bash players, its retarded.

And lol at Ando putting the keeper off again, did the same vs Arsenal a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Was anyone watching on ITV? Because they just advertised a competition to win tickets to the Europa, Champion's League and World Cup finals, including flights, accommodation and 10k spending money...f*ck me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

yakking on about Vidic playing badly to engineer a move to Barca.

Eamo to Bill : Imagine if TV3 were in for you Bill, you could be the next Matt Cooper
    AHahahahahahahahahahahahhahahaha. Deep breathe. Ahahahahashahshshahshshshahahaha. That is gold. .D

I love RTE

always good for a laugh :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Taking something the RTE lads say to heart is nearly as stupid as most of what they say. Aged trolls the lot of them.:pac:

Iago wrote: »
    "giggs has never been a great player"

fcuk me Giles really has lost the plot completely

great as in compared to himself maybe

flahavaj wrote: »
    Taking something the RTE lads say to heart is nearly as stupid as most of what they say. Aged trolls the lot of them.:pac:

Best trolls ever, and the beauty is the mods can't ban them from here :D

Podge2k7 wrote: »

Can I just say again, I love it when people do this :)

yeah - thats how we broke records last season. moronic statement.

knew someone would get angry at that, it was a joke. They were saying that the United defense isn't what it used to be on RTÉ so my comment was a sensationalist remark hoping people would be watching it...

We need a RTE appreciation thread on here TBFH. Some of the quotes are just gold! :)

United will struggle on that fake pitch in Moscow, proper footballing sides always do.

knew someone would get angry at that, it was a joke. They were saying that the United defense isn't what it used to be on RTÉ so my comment was a sensationalist remark hoping people would be watching it...

Use the roll eyes smiley so we know what you're getting at. Looked like you were just having a rant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Best trolls ever, and the beauty is the mods can't ban them from here :D

And we can call them trolls without fear of infractions! :D