Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What do you think of Eamonn Dunphy?

• 01-10-2009 11:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭

What is your opinion of Eamonn Dunphy as a football pundit?

Myself, I like him. He doesn't bull**** like the SS pundits and speaks his mind. I think he has a good knowledge of the game. Sometimes he goes a bit OTT but everyone has their character flaws. :p

Do you think he is on RTE for entertainment for value or for his analysis?

Here are some classic Eamo moments:

Is Eamo a good pundit? 112 votes

Great pundit.
    0%
    Meh....
    41%
    SickBoyIllkillyaparasiteHorsefumblerDr BolouswkiRE*AC*TORKingp35dubmick_blank_keano_afcHeadshotmayordenisJuan PabloMr.Nice Guyvestanpanced22ontourAuversTonyD79patmactdv 47 votes
    Poor pundit
    13%
    RasTaPalefaceBlistermanT-b0n3applehunterorourkedastovelidSK1979CHDSlickRicLamper.sffcvillagerRekop dogAidricdeadhead13 15 votes
    He's only there for entertainment, he knows **** all about football.
    4%
    micksNalzredzerdrogartanevillaHandsome Bob 5 votes
    I prefer Pat Dolan, Atari Jaguar.....
    40%
    KulganPHBThanx 4 The FishspocketyHelixChucky the treeHoPpiEjesus_thats_gre20 Times 20 TimesDiddy KongjemChardee MacDennischopperbyrnectrl-alt-deleteleggoKarmafaerieZiMZuMkyp_durrongustavofullstop 45 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Meh....
    Dunphy is far more entertaining than the drones on everywhere else. He might not be always right but its fun listening to him - some of his tirades are classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Meh....
    the man is a legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

What is your opinion of Eamonn Dunphy as a football pundit?

Myself, I like him. He doesn't bull**** like the SS pundits and speaks his mind. I think he has a good knowledge of the game. Sometimes he goes a bit OTT but everyone has their character flaws. :p

Do you think he is on RTE for entertainment for value or for his analysis?

Here's a classic Eamo moment:

Prep4trYNj4

cugYQ35vtvQ

He's great. Talks sh!te alot, but he stirs the pot and makes the punditry an event. Give me Dunphy and Giles than the wet rags on BBC and SS. I lived away from Ireland for a few years and my word I missed the Irish punditry. In England, half time was make the tea or go down and get a six pack time. With Eamo and Co., if the match is sh!te, I'll nip out for tea and come back for the punditry. Legends! Not looking good for passing the baton though. Ray 'Defieyetly' Houghton, and Ronnie Whelan. Eugh!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Without Dunphy and Giles RTE coveraage would be crap imo, pure entertainment rather than great punditry but unlike BBC and Sky they are not dependent on interviews so can say what they like, for that reason I think it is a bit unfair to comapre them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Meh....
    He's top entertainment. I respect him for saving us from having El Tel as manager.

Reality is Dunphy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Poor pundit
    Went for meh because no option really sums up my feelings.

I like the entertainment value, but not some of the shite he spouts. I think he knows a lot about football, but neglects it in favour of the attack dog persona. Also find his alternating fanboy love-in/spat with Keane irritating.

Also can't forgive him for being so dismissive of the LOI, even though I understand how much the blazers pissed himself and Giles off when they were at Rovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

I think Dunphy is under orders to talk total and utter bollix, thus insensing fans but leaving us with the intrigue to keep on watching...

His poor pronunciation of teams and lack of knowledge of new players is a joke. While he may have a jist of the tactical side of the game, I believe the majority of posters on this forum, including myself, know more about teams and players then him and Johnny Giles put together.

He is a hero because as much bollix as he talks about united he talks about liverpool, chelsea and arsenal and i suppose the fact very few people take him seriously makes me wonder why the fcuk they bother with Apres match when the real thing is far funnier?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

I think he's great. He spouts utter crap most of the time, but it's fantastic to watch!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

I think Giles is a joke of a pundit. Seriously SERIOUSLY outdated in his views and always manages to get his own line "its all about getting the ball down and playing it" into whatever scenario is being talked about.
    He doesn't know any modern players, is critical for the sake of being critical and once even told the Irish nation that tactics are a waste of time. This thread is about Dunphy you say?? Quite right. :D

Dunphy is there purely for entertainment value and entertainment value alone. I love the way he passes off his knowledge of European football as if he is some kind of student of the game. Anyone remember when he referred to Ibrahimovic as Ivanisevic? (What would have been classic is if Bill cut to a clip of him winning Wimbledon!)
    Anyway I digress, Dunphy provides the opposite of what Giles does. Giles calls a game as he sees it whereas Dunphy has a pre existing idea of things. Hence his grudge with Ronaldo. He went easier on him last season after Ronaldo continued to score goals and now he is having a pop at him while hes at Madrid. Dunphy must reckon hes the only one in Ireland watching Real on Sky on a Sat/Sunday night and for me his statement last night that the Madrid fans don't like him, is an example of him clutching at straws to the highest degree.
    Hes a clown but an entertaining one at that.

To sum up, I think our pundits are pretty entertaining. Irish people show take it as that, ENTERTAINMENT. Bill, Eamo and Gilsey take themselves alot more serious than they appear though. They genuinely believe they are the best analysts of the game on tv anywhere priding themselves on not sitting on the fence. However this can be their downfall aswell in that they over analyse things that need damn all said about it.

Some say that BBC/SKY are too soft in their approach to analysis. That is pretty spot on. But RTE are just as bad but rather on the other end of the scale.

A balance between the 2 would be seen as credible analysis in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

This sums it up for me: in what other country do you have the ANALYSIS being a legitimate selling point for punters? RTE plug that nearly as much as the match. Sure they're after giving the panel their own web exclusive, post-match show.

He's an idiot and I disagree with 95% of what he says...but to get the reaction that he does and give the consistent entertainment that he has over the years, there's a touch of genius in that tired and emotional head of his.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

He doesn't bull****

Every second thing that comes out of his mouth is pure and utter bull****.

He's entertaining as anything and very good on stuff he's familiar with but the biggest difference between him and Giles is that when it comes to stuff he hasn't seen, Giles will admit, "Don't know about that Bill is in essence his catchphrase". Dunphy will make outlandish statements that are nearly always incorrect. My favourite one in the past year being attributing Del Piero's free kick against Real last year down to him taking note of and copying Ronaldo even though Del boy is at least 10 years his senior and a dead ball specialist in his own right

Like when Dunphy said Ronaldo is hype, Kaka is reality I can guarantee you that there is no way in hell that Dunphy watched maybe 4+ of his Serie A matches to judge him on that. He's not a master of punditry but a master of self promotion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭SickBoy

Meh....
    The man is a legend! I always enjoy* the analysis of games when he's on the panel.

I met him at a U2 concert in Croke Park way back when and chatted to him for a bit.
    Very nice of him to even speak to me considering the drunken state I was in :o

*=He may not always be correct but I do enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

SickBoy wrote: »
    I met him at a U2 concert in Croke Park way back when and chatted to him for a bit.
    Very nice of him to even speak to me considering the drunken state I was in :o

Ahhh. You sure he wasnt trying to take ad... i mean talk football?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,792 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Dunphy is sometimes funny, frequently controversial. (Although he's mainly ignored now)

These are his 2 best features, his opinions are generally wrong.
    He dislikes just about every team and manager, he likes a select few players, Scholes, Giggs, Xavi, Messi.
    He's impossible to take seriously really but he's a bit of a laugh.

You wouldn't laugh at Giles though, that would be cruel.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,828 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Contradicts himself several times a program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,047 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Eamon - "Scottish people are either really nice or really nasty and these two are just plain nasty."

Bill - "Hah come on Eamon, now that's borderline racism."

Eamon - "It's not racism Bill, it's ethnic criticism!"

Comedic genius!

You'd never get that on BBC, ITV or Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Meh....
    In fairness if you listen to Dunphy away from RTE programmes he comes across a completely different person. Quite articulate and thoughtful. I remember him being interviewed for The Guardian or something and he essentially admitted when he's on RTE it's a bit of show business. Came across very well.

It's rare and probably impossible to find a pundit who you will agree with 100 per cent of the time as the game is all about different opinions. With Dunphy, when he's wrong he's glaringly wrong as he never sits on the fence, but when he's right, he hammers the point home in a way no other pundit will. For evidence of this see the Staunton shambles, the Venables saga, assessments of McShane, Whelan etc.

Personally I'd prefer a pundit like Dunphy who puts his views out in the open rather than being a fence-sitter as you usually get with BBC and Sky.

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

“Marilyn Monroe was the greatest star in the
    world but she was never known as a great actor.
    Ronaldo Dunphy is like that.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

Meh....
    Dunphy is a legend.

Something I found intresting is his lack of knowledge on overseas players at the moment. He gets players names mixed up all the time now. Someone already pointed out about Ibrahimovic & I rember him mistaken Cambiasso for Cameronassi when Inter played United last season. And he dose this stuff all the time now.

But I was on indepent.co.uk a few days ago & I stumbled across some old articles Dunphy had written from 1994. And one in particular really suprised me.
    He wrote a article about players to watch out for in the 1994 world cup. And he was writing about players like Redondo,Batistuta,Cafu etc... players who wouldnt be really well known over here at the time as they where all playing in South America & hadnt much International experience. And his knowledge on these players seemed very impressive.

But now he dosent have a clue whats going on around globe, Giles has taken a simular path aswell.

I think they just got lazy with there research over the years. Still the best pundits on TV on tho.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

+1 on everyone who said Dunphy is a Ledgend.

He is the reason imo most consider RTE's punditry better than the rest. Yes the others are great too, they are a great ensemble but Dunphy is the man. He isnt always right in his opinions (infact despite actually having a decent knowledge of football he very rarely is right) but his opinions are always notworthy.

Meh....
    I'd have a sex change for Eamonn Dunphy (fúck off Des)

Man is a legend!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

I'd have a sex change for Eamonn Dunphy (fúck off Des)

Man is a legend!

lol

Dunphy is a ledge but i dunno if id go to that level man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

He's a good pundit, not a great pundit, but very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

as a football pundit in terms of actual football knowledge hes pretty rubbish, but what he adds to the panel is unparalleled by ANYONE else in ireland or the uk

the guy is a goldmine of entertainment

Dunphy is good entertainment, Souness is a good pundit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

13 people think he's a good pundit?

Why? His entertaining values are second to none but please a good pundit, my hole!

Has been caught out so many times to be wrong in the past its unreal. His lack of knowledge for the game, the modern game is unbelievable. Especially as he's the "you're the one that watches the Spanish football aren't you Eamon" pundit on the RTE panel. Hasn't a monkeys about overseas game at all. Dopey dope dope.

The tripe we listen to about Ronaldo. He was called a prat for throwing a hissy fit coming off for United. Rooney does it and he's a hero. He's toned down his love affair with Roy Keane due to Keanos comments about him. Every time he's on the telly he comes out with some ridiculous comment, false statement or off the mark predicition.

Himself, Giles (to a lesser extent, can be repetitive and his comments about Giggs were a fair bit off the mark) and Houghton are absolute rubbish pundits.

At times however I do enjoy watching them as they speak their mind to a point, far more than any other football show, however this does not make them good pundits.

Oh and Ronnie Whelan is the worst commentator ever. Great footballer, very good footballer even but terrible at talking about the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭jaykay74

tdv wrote: »
    But now he dosent have a clue whats going on around globe, Giles has taken a simular path aswell.

They lack "honesty of effort" in their analysis. Good entertainment but don't expect much analysis of the actual match you are watching (at least not anymore).

Like a good troll he knows how to press the right buttons to get a reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭podge018

one thing that annoys me about Dunphy is his pre-game run through a team line-up who it's obvious he knows very little about before a game. The latest example was Wolfsburg the other night. It's quite clear he's just wiki'd their stats before the game and says that 3 or 4 of their attacking 5 could be dangerous, he can hardly be wrong there. For a self-styled expert on the Spanish league it's hilarious his run through a team like Valencia, all he does is tell us their name (pronounced incorrectly a lot of the time), their nationality and whether they're a "good playa" or a "poor playa".

He was running through Inter once, got to Cambiasso, called him Camoranesi and said "we all know about him from the Italian side". So much wrongness there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭ciaran76

I don't agree with most of what Dunphy says but I feel football analysis will be so different once he is gone.

We could have all nicey nice people like BBC or ITV/SKY who all agree with each other and are afraid to make any negative comment about a team in the Prem. especially the "top 4"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

He's a small bitter little man who knows sweet Fa about the modern game. Best ignored like most things on RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Meh....
    I would love to see him on a panel with Jamie " sit on the fence " Redknapp and just tell him what what.

I think Dunphy is great, sometimes he goes way off on one and kind of misses the point but when he gets down to it and doesnt get to excited he is really good at what he does and its tell it as it is.

Makes a change to the watered down middle of the road Sky sports blokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Meh....
    Talks a lot of ballsacks at times but isn't afraid to say what he thinks even when it's blatantly wrong.Good entertainment ,not great but good.

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Meh....
    I'd take the RTE panel over any other panel working at present, and Dunphy over any other pundit. In a sea of ill-informed nonsense, I'd aim for the most entertaining island.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    I'd take the RTE panel over any other panel working at present, and Dunphy over any other pundit. In a sea of ill-informed nonsense, I'd aim for the most entertaining island.
    you've a good point, but people that are thinking similar and then voting him as a great pundit are wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Poor pundit
    senile legend of a drunk man.

also, his 'man love' for Wayne Rooney is so embarrassing, it's worse than us Pool fans' 'man love' for Nando.

taken from another forum, great post imo
    Well you see this is the thing about Dunphy. He fancies himself as that type of person, and to an extent he is. The problem however is that he's become too blunt, and I feel it's due to him trying to live up to the reputation he's gotten for being plainly outspoken, shooting from the hip. So in a way I think Dunphy has sort of eaten himself. I'm sure in the beginning it was all fine, but there comes a time where you have to tip your hat to certain players and swallow your pride. Dunphy needs to maybe consider that he's not the hero or tortured genius he may believe he is.

After a while, biting your nose off to spite your face makes you a pretty **** panel expert in my opinion.

Meh....

this !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Poor pundit

Dunphy is Ill-Informed nonsense personified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Poor pundit
    He's a b*llox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Crow71

Meh....
    gavredking wrote: »
    I would love to see him on a panel with Jamie " sit on the fence " Redknapp and just tell him what what.

I think Dunphy is great, sometimes he goes way off on one and kind of misses the point but when he gets down to it and doesnt get to excited he is really good at what he does and its tell it as it is.

Makes a change to the watered down middle of the road Sky sports blokes.
    Imagine him on sky between redknapp and gray!! Someone would be killed

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭SK1979

Poor pundit
    Dunphy is part of the holy trio (Giles Dunphy and Bill) that make up the most enjoyable show / discussion before, during and after matches.

However, as an actual analyst Dunphy no longer has the knowledge, he regularly doesn't know players names and in the absence of facts doesn't shy away from making up statements around teams / players. As others have said as well, some players / teams can do no wrong while others no matter how obvious it is that they've done well, get no credit.

In saying all that though, he is still entertainment, but it would also be good for RTE to produce someone else who displays a very good incisive analysis of games to complement (support) Giles.

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Stacksey

Your right Giles is an absolute joke, ive been saying this for years and it amazes me he is a football pundit, he wouldnt get a job anywhere else, for example a few weeks back he was saying in the Herald what a genius David Moyes is and how well he has done with his signings on a small budget, he mentioned Fellani as a great free signing, i was raging when i read that, felani is evertons record signing, my dog even knew that. i;m just sick of him basically

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Its quite obvious that Dunphy is here on RTE to provoke a reaction and to get people watching. I have no doubt that he doen't even believe half the outlandish stuff he comes out with, but hes well paid to entertain and in fairness to him he does just that.

Would I rather watch him and the other RTE boys ahead of any other pundits on TV? Absolutely. Do I take anything he says seriously or let it annoy me like is the intention? Not a hope. Hes a masterful troll and if he posted on boards the soccer forum would explode.

As Mr Nice Guy says, just listen to him interviewed outside the context of RTE's football covergae and it soon becomes abundantly clear that the brash, outspoken almost theatrical persona he has cultivated on TV is nothing more than an act. In reality hes actually a thoughtful, very self aware individual who can speak itelligently on all maner of subjects. He'd probably have a good laugh into his gin and tonic at some of the people on here that call him stupid and ill informed. The Dunphy you see on Wednesday nights is his job, a role he plays to get TV ratings and one hes very good at, but always remember hes the one fooling everyone if you think hes really like that or even that stupid: in reality its the other way round..

I ask one thing though

who da f'uck prefers Pat Dolan?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭podge018

Pat Dolan is an excellent pundit and someone who is always extremely clued up. If only he didnt look like such a comedy character a lot more people would appreciate what he does.

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Stacksey

Trilla wrote: »
    I ask one thing though

who da f'uck prefers Pat Dolan?? :eek:

I like Pat Dolan, he has more knowledge than Giles and Dunphy combined

Stacksey wrote: »
    I like Pat Dolan, he has more knowledge than Giles and Dunphy combined

like his comments about pressure on Lyon, being in financial trouble due to them being big spenders this year? Eh they got 30 odd million for Benzema. Thats the most recent one I recall. Then he's constant annoying statements and remarks in general, cringe worthy stuff along with the other dude that introduces the setanta show. Big time cringe material. Can just picture him now explaining his thoughts to that other suit across from him, cheesier than Wexford Cremery and Galtee factory combined.

Granted he knows more than Dunphy, but his OTT comments really get up my snot. And whats with his forehead!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

podge018 wrote: »
    Pat Dolan is an excellent pundit and someone who is always extremely clued up. If only he didnt look like such a comedy character a lot more people would appreciate what he does.

absolute rubbish

Meh....
    podge018 wrote: »

I can never respect him after seeing this

25incax.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

I can never respect him after seeing this

Greedy bastard brought his own coke!! :D