Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea -v- Liverpool Match Thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Is Joe Cole fully fit, is he expected to start today? That would be great for England.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

SlickRic wrote: »
    i do admire your willingness to say it how you see it, with no fear of having comments like this bite you in the ass.

fair play. :)

on paper, yes Chelsea probably have the best squad. and they've had a good start. that does not automatically mean they will be the main challengers.
    They are the main challengers buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

CHD wrote: »
    Yep, and i reckon we will be favourites in 2022 aswell. Whats your point? Its not too early to say Chelsea are the main chalengers. You know why? Cause Chelsea are the main challenegers.

Was one thing being arrogant when ye had Jose in charge and the majority of your players were in their prime but times have changed.

It's too early to put any faith in them being the main challengers too. You would have thought that you would have learned your lesson from last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

oh ok, you win.

Kuyt first scorer 15/1
    Benni first scorer 16/1

SlickRic wrote: »
    oh ok, you win.
    Yes! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭SWAR

You keep missing the point...Chelsea may be favourites for the league at this moment in time but it is too early to say whether they will be the main challengers...not the same thing you know :rolleyes:

Was one thing being arrogant when ye had Jose in charge and the majority of your players were in their prime but times have changed.

It's too early to put any faith in them being the main challengers too. You would have thought that you would have learned your lesson from last season.
    Seriously? Too early to have faith?

Your right.... We might scrape 4th.

Thanks for the laugh.

SWAR wrote: »
    You keep missing the point...Chelsea may be favourites for the league at this moment in time but it is too early to say whether they will be the main challengers...not the same thing you know :rolleyes:
    I said they are at this early stage. Cause they are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Seriously? Too early to have faith?

Your right.... We might scrape 4th.

Thanks for the laugh.

Jeez, you are excitable today, aren't you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

It is hardly worth arguing over though.

A Chelsea fan will believe that they are the team to take the title this season. A Liverpool fan will think that they are in with a shot to do it this year. A Man U fan will think that they will retain the title this season.

Kess73 wrote: »
    It is hardly worth arguing over though.

A Chelsea fan will believe that they are the team to take the title this season. A Liverpool fan will think that they are in with a shot to do it this year. A Man U fan will think that they will retain the title this season.
    Exactly, but Chelsea still are the main challengers at this early stage. Only people who disagree are Liverpool fans. Funny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭stevoslice

can't wait for the transfer window in january and the african nations cup, should be a good laugh. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Can everyone just agree that Chelsea are the main challengers so that we may be spared the tedium of this pointless arguement.

Anyway, Liverpool to win two one. Torres and Kuyt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Chelsea are favourites for the league.
    I'm sure not all their fans are sickeningly arrogant about their chances however.
    After all, they've won little of note in several years. I'd want my team to quietly go about things if it were me.

Hopefully it'll be our standard first 11 today. Benny on the left ahead of Riera

thebhoy wrote: »
    can't wait for the transfer window in january and the african nations cup, should be a good laugh. ;)
    Suppose you gotta laugh at something while waiting for a title ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

going to be a fun day

i cant wait now

Liverpool team:

Reina

Johnson
    Carragher
    Skrtel
    Insua

Mascherano
    Lucas

Kuyt
    Gerrard
    Riera

Torres

surprised Benny is on bench

Subs: Cavalieri, Agger, Aurelio, Kyrgiakos, Benayoun, Babel, Ngog.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Lads, theres a lot of sh*t being posted in this thread.... lets stick to the match.

Still think it could be 2-1 to pool.
    Any team news?

Its banter :P

2-1 Chelsea!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Liverpool team:

Reina

Johnson
    Carragher
    Skrtel
    Insua

Mascherano
    Lucas

Kuyt
    Gerrard
    Riera

Torres

surprised Benny is on bench

Maybe it's because Riera did pretty well against boswinga(sp?) last season but still i'm surprised myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Yossi to come off the bench and score the winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Id love to know what Riera has done to get in the team ahead of Benayoun. I would have played both though.

Masch---Gerrard

Kuyt
    Benayoun
    Riera

Torres

Suppose you gotta laugh at something while waiting for a title ;)

The wait for the title is tough alright. I just hope it doesn't stretch to fifty years and become so desperate we have to resort to buying it!

Would you not prefer to have Benayoun to bring on if its not going well?

mike65 wrote: »
    Yossi to come off the bench and score the winner.

I vote we reintroduce the Yossi Smells campaign

would you prefer to have Lampard on the bench to bring on if it's not going well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Id want him on from the start. He is now firmly among our best players and has been for quite a while now. Almost everything goes through him - he got 2 assists last week if Im not mistaken.

Tusky wrote: »
    Id want him on from the start. He is now firmly among our best players and has been for quite a while now. Almost everything goes through him - he got 2 assists last week if Im not mistaken.

i think Riera did too though, in fairness. According to FF anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭selpher

Deco starts! The diamond looked its best this season with Ess, Lamps,Ballack and Deco in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,108 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

This chelsea team are very physically strong and i think Riera in for Yossi is to match this. Every player out there for pool today is physically quite strong, and i see this being a fairly draining game, so having Yossi and Babel in reserve could prove important to more effectively take advantage of tired players then they could from the start.

Great to see Agger back in the squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Looks like Chelsea will be very narrow, with the FBs being relied upon to provide the ammo.

mash playing is massive for us.

Tight game 1-1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭selpher

Don't know how much ammo we'll get from Ivanovic going forward. He'll be good to have for set pieces though.
    Hate these games. Thought after Jose left they'd be less tense affairs, but theyre just as bad now. I suppose a draw would be okay..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

3 - 0 to Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Every single corner or set piece against Liverpool I'll be wincing.. eek!

Dam you Benitiz.I need Benayoun for fantasy football.:mad::(:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

Haven't been this nervous about a game in a long time.

Dull 1-0, 1-1 type of game please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

We need a Wigman-like performance today. Come on the Pool.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

0-15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Here we go. Expecting a few grey hairs after this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

go'wan the scored draw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭kyp_durron

5-0 I reckon, Chelsea will take Liverpool apart with ease. Rafa does not have the know-how to break down the blue wall of defence.

great start from pool. keep it up.

Lucas and Insua have done well

Good start from Liverpool. Liking it!!

who says Mascherano's heart isn't in it?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

who says Mascherano's heart isn't in it?

idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Riera's been poor so far, looking very off the pace... Masch has been great so far though.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Ah Torres. Wasted chance