Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

big and strong simple as..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

neck work-5kgplate 4x20

power clean 40kgx3
    50kgx3
    60kgx3
    70kgx5

military press
    40kg 5x5

curls 12.5kg 2 x10

shrugs 70kg 3x10

powercleans and shrugs felt great.can really feel it in the traps now.military was light hence it was the first pressing i have done in a month.false grip down to face.

going back to westside monday.cant wait.must do neck,rotator and abs more often.

weight is on 195 pounds.wanna crack 200 pronto.

dead stop tricep extensions
    25kg 5 setsx10

upright rows
    30kg 7 setsx10

neck
    5kg
    plate x100

nothing special.upright rows were about clean grip up to chest.They felt the most comfortable.I'm starting to read the old articles in the westside barbell archives section.Jesus so much quality info there its not even funny!answered so much questions i had myself in my newbieish level.

ME-Lower

neck
    5kg plate
    20x5

deads
    40kgx5
    50kgx3
    70kgx2
    100kgx2
    110kgx1
    120kgx2

legpress
    90kgx10
    130kgx10
    150kgx10
    170kgx32

db straight leg deads
    19kgx10
    20kgx12
    20kgx12
    20kgx12

ME-Lower-Monday
    neck 5x20 reps.-5kg plate.

deads
    40kgx5
    50kgx3
    70kgx2
    100kgx2
    100kgx2
    110kgx1
    120kgx2-pr
    130kg-miss got to my knees.

legpress
    90kgx10
    130kgx10
    150kgx10
    170kgx32-PRweight and reps.

plank-1 minute.

dumbell straight leg deads
    19kgx10
    20kgx12
    20kgx12
    20kgx12

ME-upper-tuesday

db power cleans 3x12.

close grip bench
    bar x 20
    40kgx4
    50kgx1
    60kgx2

barbell shrugs
    40kgx10
    80kgx7
    80kgx7
    60kgx15
    60kgx15
    60kgx15

tri pushdowns
    40kg 10x10-pumptastic

lat pulldown
    3x12-90kg

curls
    3x12 10.5kg

ab pulldowns
    20kg-10 reps
    30kg-10 reps
    25kg-15 reps
    30kg-10 reps
    40kg-10 reps

incline situps
    3x12

barbell curls 3x12

RE Lower-wednesday

squats 50kg
    3x12
    front squats 50kg-12 reps.

some stuff on the legpress.

smith machine calf raises-a bazillion reps up to 90kg or so.

muck/no squat rack so i have to clean and press it onto my back so its limited by how much i can overhead press.I'm doing front squats from now on.Im not sure what do to hit the hamstrings hard.kinda on the fence between a number of things.

RE Upper-friday

dumbell power cleans 9kg
    3x12

Military press 40kg x 6,10,5,5.

dumbell bench 19kg
    5 reps
    5 reps
    5 reps
    5 reps
    10 reps

barbell shrugs
    40kg-10 reps
    60kg-10 reps
    70kg-10 reps
    80kg-10 reps*PR!

dumbell rows
    19kg-10 reps
    22kg-20 reps*PRreps on that weight.

tri pushdown
    20kg-10 reps
    35kg-10 reps
    40kg-12,15,15
    20kg-30 reps=pump

ez curl bar+15kg
    3x10 reps

some cable curls.

db power cleans
    6kg 3x12

kroc rows
    20kgx10
    22kgx30-pr

deads
    40kgx5
    70kgx2
    80kgx2
    110kgx2
    120kgx1
    130kgx1-pr

legpress
    50kgx10
    100kgx10
    170kgx20x10x10

smith calf raises
    60kg 15repsx5

ez bar curls+10kg
    3x15-too light.

db stiff leg deads 20kg
    10reps x5

happy with the 130kg deadlift.I had to do the rows first because there was loads of rugby guys in practicing hang cleans with empty bars.ALL the bars!Anyhu once i got the db power cleans and rows done they were gone so I did the deads.

Wednesday

Clean and press.50kg 3x5-no rest

single dumbell push press 3x10 25kgbell.-no rest

barbell curls-25kg-3x15

good session this.simple but effective.since I took no breaks I was in a muck of sweat afterwards.

goals for tommorow;
    clean and press 50kg 5x5
    db bench 22kg 3x10
    front squat 60kg 3x5
    deadlift 90kgx10(bodyweight=90kg)
    hanging leg raises x dont know yet.
    sandwich curls supersetted with liter of choclatte milk raises..
    please god the showers are working tommorow.:rolleyes:

Friday.

Db power cleans 3x12

50kg clean and press 3x5-no rest{bar returns to ground after every rep}

Db bench 20kg 3x10

front squat
    60kgx1-aint gonna happen going forward onto my toes.
    50kg 3x5

Deadlift
    90kgx10

Bench dips;BW,20,20,20,20,

hanging leg raises
    3 reps-grr damn my weak core

hanging knee raises 5x5

Thoughts.
    I was sweating buckets after the clean and press.There was a bit of leg drive during the military press portion of the lift but it wasnt quite a pushpress.The dumbell bench was nearly relaxing to get to lie down on a bench after the c&p.God the front squats were ugly!My core is really letting me down.I have the strength to front squat about 90 or 100kg in my legs but I just keep tipping forward onto my toes.Ho hum just something that needs to be worked on.The deads were nothing to write home on.Its bodyweightx10 so I might work on moving the weight i can rep on the deadsx10.Bench dips were sweet...Hanging leg/knee raises again highlighted how weak my core is.That is all.

non lifting day.

11:30ish-massive bowl of muesli with a liter of Milk.

2:30ish-3 fried eggs and a half liter of oj.

4:00ish-(supermacs)smokey bacon burger and large chips.

5:00ish-smokey bacon burger,larger chips,medium choclatte milkshake,medium milk,medium coke.

5 mile walk

7:00ish-2 fish oils.

8:00ish-2 fish oils

9:30ish-10inch spicy beef pizza,2 beers.

First day free after a few tough exams.feel ready to destroy myself!Gym membership is up so its going to be me utilising a 50kg barbell and dumbell set for the time being.It sucks but it will do for the interim.My workouts will be in a kinda metcon fashion to get the most out of the light weight.

25kg barbell.as fast as possible
    10 stifleg deads
    10 barbell rows
    10 military press
    10 btn press
    1 minute rest then;

25kg barbell lunges
    25yardsx5-about 2 minutes rest in between each 25.

single arm db floor press
    21kg dumbell
    each hand x5
    each hand x 10-core feels like it knows me.

2 more 25 yard lunges.

25kg barbell curls
    10 repsx5
    reverse curls 10 repsx3

I doubt he reads this but I have to thank Barry Oglesby for that vid he posted up.Lunges always felt weird but I widened my steps and they feel good now.

food today was good today but I fell in the latter part of the day down when I went to Dublin to catch the Munster match.

9:00;4 sausages, slices homemade bread,2 large glasses of water.

1:00;2x sirloin steak and 2 cups of veg.{boiled carrots,peas,sweetcorn from frozen.1 large glass of water.

5:00;{bugger}7inch pizza pepperoni,bbq chicken,bacon.bottle of deep river rock.

8:00;{bugger bugger}half a crappy hotdog with cheese.

11:00;1 glass of water,1 glass of milk.

2:00am;large bowl of muesli with milk and an apple
    plan for tommorow and forseeable future;do something hard.

Ok so Im 6:2 now and 205 pounds.I have never done much cardio ever because I was always very lean untill I made the effort to lift and eat allot but noticed I am getting very unfit so I tried this today;

10 thrusters{35kg barbell}10 burpees x3 without any rest.

time:10 minutes 20 seconds

God I am one unfit backstard!That nearly killed me and it was no weight at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Remmy wrote: »
    That nearly killed me and it was no weight at all.

Burpee Deadlift FTW :pac:

that sounds tough..must give it a go!

one giant set with 35kg barbell with no rest between exercises.

10 bent over rows
    10 stiff leg deads
    10 hang cleans
    10 front squats
    10 military presses
    10 backsquats
    10 behind the neck presses
    10 good mornings

repeated twice.I rested for two minutes after the first giant set and then did it again.

My first set was 8 min 44.
    my second set was 7 min 56.

tough tough.

later on that evening

franley:21,15,9-1st time.=8minutes 32. fcuk..

5 pullups~crap.

barbell curls

20kgx10
    25kgx10
    30kgx10

snatch grip rows
    30kgx10x5

db swings-20kg bell.
    1st set-10 each hand
    2nd set-10 each hand
    3rd set-10 each hand

upright rows-barbell.
    15kgx20 reps
    25kgx15 reps
    30kgx12 reps
    30kgx10 reps
    35kgx10 reps

chest n tri

bench
    20kgx20
    30kgx10
    45kgx20

skullcrushers
    15kgx15
    25kgx10
    35kgx3-nearly lived up to its name FCUK.
    30kgx10
    25kgx20

db flyes
    7kgx20
    12kgx10 x5sets-me likee.

bench dips bw 20,15,15.

shoulders n traps

seated db press
    12kgx10
    17kgx10
    17kgx10
    17kgx10
    17kgx10
    17kgx10

one arm barbell snatch
    bar + 15kg- 5 each arm
    bar + 20kg- 5 each arm
    bar + 25kg- 5 each arm

bent over rear laterels
    7kg bells x 15
    12kg bells x7

laterall side raises
    7kg bells x 20
    12kg bells x 20

later on that night while watching the international{btw kickass film}

pushups
    10repsx5 sets

situps
    10 repsx4 sets

back n biceps

chinups

snatch grip Rows
    20kgx10
    30kgx10
    40kgx10

regular grip
    40kgx10
    40kgx10
    40kgx10
    40kgx10

barbell curls
    10kgx10
    20kgx10
    30kgx10
    25kgx15

pinwheel curls
    12kg bells-20 each arm
    20kg bells-20 each arm-some body english

bent over dumbell rows
    20kgx10
    22.5kgx10
    32kgx15 repsPR!woo

did this then my friend got a new car so I said I'd go in with him for spin.Was planning on doing 30 mins steady state on the treadmill but my body had other plans.

treadmill incline walk 5 mins warmup

50 dc broom disclocations

row 500m.time=2 mins16
    row 500m.time=2 mins 7
    row 500m.time=2 mins 8

took about 1min-rest in between each.

deadlifts
    60kgx5
    80kgx2
    85kgx1
    110kgx2
    130kgx1
    100kgx10rep pr

squat. worked up to 80kgx5 .

military press
    worked up to 50kg i think.

db bent over row.
    40kg x10 x4

rowing
    500m 1 min 55.~its a pr but sweet baby jesus.I went all out untill 300m then i just died and coudnt keep up the same speed.

First time in a squat rack.Its soo cool not having to clean and press it in and out of position!I have doms in my quads i have never had before.plus there was some absolute monsters inn the gym today.

plan for tommorow is chest and triceps.

went to a crappy community gym filled with gaa heads and feck all weight.

db bench{slight incline}
    worked up to 30kg bellsx5-heaviest bells in the gym nothing saying much is it.

some pushups off a medicine ball trying to be 'ard'.

rope tricep pushdowns
    worked up to 45kg on the stack

overhead troponin pushdowns
    worked up to 40-45kg

smith barbell shrugs
    worked up to 100 kg x10

smith rack deads{pure gayness}
    just wanted to do these to be a cnut and use all the weight off the smith machine rack which also is to be used for the bench press.WHAT THE FCUK?
    150kgx10.

Back to college.Did fcuk all training over the summer and got a bit fat. I should throw up some pictures of my gayness.meh...Time to get serious.so..

had less than 40 mins cause I had to catch the bus home

chest and tri

barbell bench
    bar x a metric fcukton
    40kg x 10
    60kgx10
    70kgx3:mad:pr3rd rep took about 7 seconds.:rolleyes:no spotters.

flat dumbell bench
    22.5kg

incline dumbell flyes
    16kgx10prCan you count flyes in pr's?:D
    10.5kgx20

ez skull crushers
    bar+20kg

ran out of time

kinda crappy.Im usually able to rep 30kg db's by 10 but the barbell bench must have taken a bit away from me.My pushing strength sucks ass for some reason dunno why.May just have too work harder at I guess.

Just checked my weight .Im 194 pounds.frick.

back/bi's

bent over barbell row
    60kgx10
    70kgx5
    70kgx5
    70kgx5
    70kgx5
    70kgx5

reverse grip bent over row
    60kgx15

lat pulldown worked up to 110kgx10 and 150kgx5.150 was with straps.

cable row
    100kgx15

alt dumbell curls
    worked up to 18kgx7

pinwheel curls
    20kg bellsx10

concentration curls
    18kg x10x3

barbell curls
    20kg+however much the barbell weighsx3

crosstrainerx5minsx30cals.

not bad.luurve barbell rows.Never tried the reverse grip before. damn they really torched my lats.

yay I finally know what IDIBISHDI means:cool:

shoulders

warmup
    btn push presses with just the bar x lots.

strict press
    40kgx10
    50kgx3
    45kgx5
    45kgx5
    45kgx5

dumbell overhead press
    20kgx8

high incline press
    20kgx12

rear laterals and side laterals

plate side raises
    10kgx10x3

5kgx20x3

barbell upright rows-30kg x20

God I hate training shoulders.They are so ****ing weak.Im gonna stay goin with the linear progression on the press.I reckon once I can manage 70kgx5x3 my shoulders are gonna look different.peace..

Legs-uber machine gheyness

smith machine squats
    40kgx10
    60kgx10
    80kgx5
    100kgx5

Romanian deadlifts
    40kgx10
    60kgx10
    80kgx10
    100kgx5-straps on
    100kgx5-no straps mixed grip kinda more speed deads.

leg extension
    80kgx10
    90kgx10
    100kgx10
    120kgx10

lying ham curl
    40kg-10xeach leg
    80kg-both legs
    100kgx15

smith calf raises
    40kgx15
    60kgx20
    80kgx20

arsein with oly lifts..gaze at hot girl on treadmill..finito.

arms day-had to put this in after reading that thread.oh and upper back and shoulder stabilty.

bench
    barx20
    40kgx10
    60kgx5
    65kg5x3

kennelly extensions
    15kgx10
    19kgx10,5,5

bench dips
    bwx10
    bw+10kgx10
    bw+20kgx10
    bw+40kgx10

reverse grip tri extensions-great pump!40kgx10x2 sets

seated alt dumbell curls
    10.5kgx10

standing alt dumbell curls
    20kgx3x5-rawr

standing pinwheel curls
    20kgx10
    22.5kgx10 rawr

seated dumbell powercleans
    IDIBISHDI
    9kgx10
    6kg-5,5,5,5,5

plate shrugs
    25kg plates x 50

face pulls on latpulldown-major funnage.
    50kgx25
    80kgx10
    100kgx10
    120kgx10,10

good craic today.Not that anybody reads this crap but...... I AM GOING TO BENCH 100KG AT XMAS IF IT KILLS ME!!.That is all..

'heavy'lol bench day

diesel crew muscle snatch
    3x10-savage exercise!shoulders really felt warmed up and ready to go after this.

overhead shrugs oly bar
    3x10

dumbell scap rows
    10.5kgx3x10
    14kgx3x10

bench 60kg 5x5

palms in flat db press
    22.7kg
    x10
    x9
    x8

incline db flyes
    11kgx10
    15kgx10

flat flyes
    17kg bells
    x5
    x5

face pulls on lat pull down
    50kgx20
    90kgx15
    110kgx10
    130kgx10

inverted rows-chest not touched bar feet on box.
    3x10-

steady state cardio for about 30 mins.reading up about beradi and g-flux so..

grand aul session.I looked up some scap stuff and tried some different things out.The 'muscle snatches' really feel awesome on my shoulders!I really improved my bench form.Kept cueing myself to tuck my elbows on the way down and flare on the way up.That plus scaps retracted +leg drive=these felt well handy.Also cause I was concious of lowering the bar slowly to tuck my elbows there was about a one second or more pause on each press.Grip was a finger width inside the rings.I'd say I have 80kgx1 in me easy if I use that kinda form.Im not gonna test my 1RP untill xmas though.

Right, I had to finish off an assignment today so didnt get to hit the gym but Im gonna make up for it tommorow and hit shoulders/press and back and biceps.Should be a volume filled fun-fest.

I wanna hit the following tmr;

shoulder rehab
    muscle snatch oly bar 5x10

50kg press 3x5
    bent over row 70kg 5x5
    clean pull 100kgx10 without straps.
    barbell shrug with straps 120kgx10
    kroc row 30kg x20 with straps-this is gonna be tough!
    jm press-get a feel for it perhaps 40kg 5x10.
    'cutler raises' 12kg 3x10
    face pulls on lat pull 100kg 5x10.
    standing alt curls 18kg 5x10

we shall see how I get on cant wait!

training today:

press
    50kg3x5-

bent over row
    50kgx10
    70kg5x5-felt strong.

clean pulls-meh didnt bother tbh.

barbell shrugs with straps-
    100kgx10
    120kgx10

kroc row restpaused with straps
    31.5kg x20 -meh pretty easy.felt awesome on my upper back!!

jm press-cannot get my head around this.felt so alien

face pulls on lat pull down
    100kg
    5x10

standing alt curls
    18kg 5x5.solid.

rowing felt great as did shrugs and presses.