Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats Clondalkin Like??

• 06-10-2009 2:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27

Thinking of renting in the Clondalkin area, suits a few of us living together and in middle of work areas. But i'm a small bit sceptical about moving into the area with all the talk of Gangland wars etc in the area.

What parts are nice and safe to move into. I know probably 95% of clondalkin is probably grand, but which areas should i be avoiding??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭DO'Carlo/Wex

Don't close yir' mind to anywhere in Clondalkin area.
    I lived up the road in Newcastle but socialised & shopped & drank on a Saturday Morning in Clondalkin.
    It is awesome. A most beautiful village & extremely walkable or cycleable. If I was living there (& I would ondly I'm back at home UE now) I'd easy keep fit.
    There's the beautiful Corkagh Park where yu can fish away & stroll around.
    There's the Canal down by Ninth Lock.
    There's Tesco, Dunnes, Aldi & Lidl.
    There's plenty of decent pubs from Lock & Key (or is it Lough & Quay) which is now Waterside, Swallows, Capital (Village Inn now is it?), Steering Wheel & my favourite Laurels.
    Most do decent food & plenty of takeaways too from Dominoes to Malaysian to Chinese.
    Few Polish Shops in village too. Locksmiths. DIY Stores.
    The village is a beauty & has got a bad-press for too-long.
    It's time to celebrate it.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Swallows,

everything but that is correct :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭DO'Carlo/Wex

dreamers75 wrote: »
    everything but that is correct :D
    I usedta live in Westbourne Grove at starta noughties decade & one night I were out in Dublin & got mugged.
    Made my way home on 51B & threw the head around the door into Swallows. I was still a bit shook-up but to those that were there I say thanks. They settled me down & got in touch with my landlady as my phone & keys'd been nicked. Bought me a drink & some food was ordered. It was a cold winters' night too so to be in the warmth of a pub with nobody judging you was a real comfort.
    Can't say a bad word about the place.
    It's been done-up recently & as a structure is even better now. It's a bit out of the way from the village p.o.v. but that area of Clondalkin isn't well-served. There's a Centra there now with Medical Centre & Takeaway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭currythis

99% of Clondalkin is great,I've lived here all my life and have never found myself in the middle of a 'gang war',that stuff tends to be blown WAY out of proportion in the press,as long as your not a gangster yourself then you'll be grand!

The village itself has everything that you could need-supermarkets,pubs,restaurants,takeaways,gym's and even a trad music shop!

Depending on what part of Clondalkin you're living in,the public transport can range from good to fairly shoddy though,up where I live it's quicker to walk to the luas station than to get the bus.

Clondalkin's a grand place though,ignore what the media say!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Have to say I've always loved Clondalkin village, pity the place became so built up over the years...a bit like Lucan in that regard :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Always liked parts of Clondalkin myself. It's a nice village, and parts of it like Monastery and the estates near the Green Isle hotel (?) seem nice and quiet.

I've deleted a few unconstructive posts, let's try to keep them constructive from here on...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

I lived on Newlands road myself for 3 years, best time of my life, clondalkin village is a great place, and until you actually live there you dont realise how nice it is. in the 3 years i was living there i never saw or had any trouble. The pubs down in the village are great, especailly the laurels and the village inn has a late bar until 2:30 i believe at the weekends. I miss the popadom indian take away. I have never had better indian food than that place. if you up the end near newlands road ( the back of which faces onto the naas road) its quite up there no trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Klingon Hamlet

It's grand bar Neilstown, that would be the roughest area. Everywhere else is quiet and settled.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

It's grand bar Neilstown, that would be the roughest area. Everywhere else is quiet and settled.
    kilmahuddrick and bawnogue are way worse imo

Okay, lads and ladies, I know you're all trying to help the OP but please try to refrain from naming 'bad' areas and instead name the 'nicer' areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭gwjones42

Well since we're supposed to name the good areas, I say that Bawnogue has plenty of good parts too, unlike what a previous poster wrote. It's way too simple to just label an area as bad in one sentence and expect that be the last word on it.

Having grown up there, I can tell you that Ashwood and Alpine Heights Estates (where I spent most of my time) are great with nice houses and neighbours. The other estates (Lealand & Lindisfarne) don't really deserve the bad press they get either because there's LOADS of nice people living in them too with a few excpetions....just like anywhere else.

If you're moving into a house anywhere you need to be careful of who your neighbours will be, be it in Monastery or Bawnogue!

Hope that helps!

Excellent post gwjones, couldn't agree more!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

gwjones42 wrote: »
    Well since we're supposed to name the good areas, I say that Bawnogue has plenty of good parts too, unlike what a previous poster wrote. It's way too simple to just label an area as bad in one sentence and expect that be the last word on it.

Having grown up there, I can tell you that Ashwood and Alpine Heights Estates (where I spent most of my time) are great with nice houses and neighbours. The other estates (Lealand & Lindisfarne) don't really deserve the bad press they get either because there's LOADS of nice people living in them too with a few excpetions....just like anywhere else.

If you're moving into a house anywhere you need to be careful of who your neighbours will be, be it in Monastery or Bawnogue!

Hope that helps!

To be honest I would go against this post, Lealand & Lindisfarne would be better parts of bawnouge, but I would avoid bawnouge all together if I could. Unfortunatly I've lived here for most of my life and if I had the choice, I wouldn't live here. I've had drug dealers and worse as neighbors and the amount of things that have gone on here are unreal!

Sorry for the anti-bawnouge post r3nu4l & gwjones42 but I've lived in Bawnogue for years (still do) and I wouldn't recommend to move here.

Monastery is a very nice area, along with a lot of Clondalkin, a few friends live in the dutch village (Woodford) which is a nice area and I've never heard anything bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭lud

Just to add my pennies worth..I've lived in GrangeView for eight years and on the whole have found it to be ok but as these pics demonstrate anyone can have bad luck with bad neighbours..Lots of social rental housing here now,especially to "travellers" and things can get very hairy at times.All in all try stay close to village and Monastery area if possible...
    Hope this has been of help to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 hippoman

ontheditch wrote: »
    Thinking of renting in the Clondalkin area, suits a few of us living together and in middle of work areas. But i'm a small bit sceptical about moving into the area with all the talk of Gangland wars etc in the area.

What parts are nice and safe to move into. I know probably 95% of clondalkin is probably grand, but which areas should i be avoiding??

I have family living up there and they do not have a problem.You will get problem's any were you go now because Ireland has change all over.Drugs is the problem all over.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

My dad lives in Old Church, moved there about 8 years ago. We moved there from a bungalow in the countryside so were a bit worried about the area because it had some bad press. In the first week his car was stolen & we thought, that's it, he's going to have a terrible time. But since that he's had absolutely no trouble and really likes it. That said even a small place like that has good & bad parts.

Op when you find places you like, maybe then you should ask what people think of the specific area. Clondalkin in so vast that it's impossible to say that its all good or bad and some of the areas like Neilstown, Woodford, Bawnogue, Cherrywood etc. are really big so there are good & bad parts of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭tazzzZ

have lived in clondalkin all my life. have grown up here. 26 yrs old and still here. i myself would not live is particular areas. simply for me it comes down to wether or not id bring up kids in the area. tbh i would not bring up kids in bawnogue or neilstown or anywhere near these areas. there are bad and good points to each of these areas however i think in these areas the bad outweighs the good. and if kids are a factor then its a 100% i would not live in these places.

but its very true that clondalkin village and the locality around it is a great place to live and grow up. I recommend living here and bringing up kids here. however i would make sure i knew the area i was moving to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 coleg

I work in clondalkin awhile now and more recently live here, not out of choice. But all in all its fine, most of the people are VERY NICE and I have dealt with many in my job, I have nice neighbours on both sides which makes a big difference and clondalkiin is close and easily accessible to most of dublin pretty quickly.

However, I would not bring up kids here. I am saddened by the attitude of some of the kids and teens in clondalkin. Again most are very nice, but those left to wander the estates and hang at the shops harassing the bouncers and passersby, the should be locked up. And they love to litter too. but what can you do!:mad:

Even all summer to see the teens lying on the footpath chatting at noon. Is there not anything to do, would love to bring them of surfing or something.
    having a whole summer off to spend lying on the footpath, when there is a whole list of in expensive hobbies they could be practising or a beautiful country to visit. come on guys!!! and parents, the only way they will probably do these things if you in still it in them. good luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭kranog

As a man whom grew up in Clondalkin, went to school in Moyle Park and Clonburris before that.
    When I got to 18 I couldn't wait to get out of Clondalkin as I hated everything about it!
    I rented an apartment in town and lived in the city centre for about 8 years (in various spots of course!)
    Time came to consider buying a house but in order to save for the deposit - I moved back to Clondalkin - living in Oakwood Grove, then Dunawley and then Boot Road (I just kept saving while looking for a house to buy!)
    Being back in Clondalkin, especially Boot Road, had me thinking how much I've actually missed the place - when it comes down to it, it's actually an awesome area.
    I just bought my house on the Fonthill Road, in a place called Rochfort - which is between Lucan & Ballyowen.
    And I can tell you this - I'm already seriously considering selling the house and moving back to Clondalkin!

If you'd like a few places in Clondalkin to look out for, just PM me sure...

kranog wrote: »
    As a man whom grew up in Clondalkin, went to school in Moyle Park and Clonburris before that.
    When I got to 18 I couldn't wait to get out of Clondalkin as I hated everything about it!
    I rented an apartment in town and lived in the city centre for about 8 years (in various spots of course!)
    Time came to consider buying a house but in order to save for the deposit - I moved back to Clondalkin - living in Oakwood Grove, then Dunawley and then Boot Road (I just kept saving while looking for a house to buy!)
    Being back in Clondalkin, especially Boot Road, had me thinking how much I've actually missed the place - when it comes down to it, it's actually an awesome area.
    I just bought my house on the Fonthill Road, in a place called Rochfort - which is between Lucan & Ballyowen.
    And I can tell you this - I'm already seriously considering selling the house and moving back to Clondalkin!

If you'd like a few places in Clondalkin to look out for, just PM me sure...
    :eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭kranog

yes phasers?

I'll pray for you.

Enough of that phasers, thanks.

kranog, do a Google search for your area and see what you come up with. I know there are areas in Dublin with 'reputations'. Some are deserved, others aren't but are still perpetuated by word of mouth. I'd rather we didn't do any of that in this forum, deserved or not. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 507 ✭✭✭mark17j

living in the village all my life,i'm 27 now. grew up in an estate on Monastery Rd. really nice spot up here, and it always was..very quiet, no crime in this particular location, you could let your old granny walk by herself at night up here and not be concerned.
    Perfect place to live, great village with everything you need.. love it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

I grew up in Quarryvale, the bad end. I loved it though, most folk are sound and once you know everyone you're okay, but can why it has a bad reputation but the place had character and in these kinda estates there is a real sense of community. That said, I wouldn't wanna bring up kids there. The Village, yes. Nice area.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Ok here my cents worth, Ive lived in around Bawnogue all my life and if i could id avoid it, yeh some parts are nice but theres nicer parts in Clondalkin let be honest.

If i had my pick of places to live it would be Monastery, Floraville, Laurel Park, Newlands or Cappaghmore.

With Monastery, Floraville and Laurel Park very central to the village but still nice and quiet areas.

Newlands and Cappaghmore would also be very nice quiet areas but public transport links wouldnt be as good.

As for Clondalkin itself a great place to live never mind what you see in the media sure there hardly going to report the good things to do.

You have plenty of shops and pubs especially in the village with The Laurels, The Village Inn and Quinlans all having late bars now on a Friday and Saturday night your certainly not stuck for choice. The Laurles or Quinlans being my prefered choice,The Village Inn can have a few characters in it.
    You have Corkagh Park in Clondalkin aswell which is very nice with fishing lakes, playgrounds etc.

The Village itself is well laid out and does look well, and its a place steeped in history with the one of the few standing remaining round towers in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 MikeyJohn

Not all parts of Clondalkin village is good. Some parts of Woodford, Riversdale, Killians and Riverside are quite bad. The rest of the village is fine but just stay away from Watery Lane and parts of Woodford and you're grand :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

MikeyJohn wrote: »
    Not all parts of Clondalkin village is good. Some parts of Woodford, Riversdale, Killians and Riverside are quite bad. The rest of the village is fine but just stay away from Watery Lane and parts of Woodford and you're grand :D

06-10-2009 1st asked, hope by now mickeyjohn the OP is sorted ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

I am living in Clondalkin now 5 years. Having moved here from Tallaght. I live on the Boot Road.
    I find where I live is fine.

I have to say Corcaigh park is, I'd say one of the best parks in the country. It has so much and it's something for Clondalkin to be proud off.

But the one thing that is bugging me and now making me hate Clondalkin. Is LITTER. Its crazy the dirt of the place. Even in the good areas all you people are mentioning. It's just everywhere. Now it's probably got to do with the times we are in. But it's just hard to see and understand the people that do it. I see a lot of dumped bags everywhere. Obviously people won't pay to get them collected. So they now dump them.
    The weird thing is some people don't seem to see it.