Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Structural Engineering with Architecture

Options
  • 08-10-2009 6:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 7

Does anybody have any info on the Structural Engineering with Architecture course in UCD?? I'm a Leaving Cert student and can't decide between this course and one of the Civil Engineering courses in the country. Is the course challenging? Is there much Architecture involved? What subjects are studied? etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭pljudge321

Like all the engineering course it'd be quite math and physics heavy. Its a 3 & 2 course, 3 year Bachelor of Science followed by a 2 year masters of Engineering. You can cut and run after the three years but the dgree wouldn't be worth much if you are looking to work as an engineer.

Heres the modules for the first three years.
    https://sisweb.ucd.ie/usis/w_sm_web_inf_viewer_banner.show_major?p_term_code=200900&p_cao_code=DN078&p_major_code=NAS1

Get in contact with the programme office and come in to the college for a chat, they are always happy to help, ask to speak to a current 2nd or 3rd year in the course as well as some of the lecturers can be a bit too enthused about their subject area.

Good luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Chet T16

pljudge321 wrote: »
    Like all the engineering course it'd be quite math and physics heavy.

^^

Two of my friends are doing this course, i'm in omnibus and we share 5 out of 6 modules this semester.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,010 ✭✭✭✭bnt