Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assualt on cyclist on the Belgard Road/Hill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

I got things and people thown at me. I am sure it's a global phenomenon though, seems like scumbags gather in urban areas and reproduce to easily, and the you know about scumbags inbreading ...

I got beeped at in France this week, but people in the country side seems to be more encouraging, I think someone yelled ' Allez Jeannie' at me last tuesday lol

They think you look in your 50's on the bike? Whoa.....
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

The amount of incidents posted here is scary to read.

Assault on cyclists is sickening....innocent yet targeted simply because we are easy targets and defenceless. Cowards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭TimAllen

Acoustic wrote: »
    happened to me before , some bloke chucked a banana skin out at me , thought he was being smart , but i caught up with him at a busy T junction and put my foot through his window

cycling shoes are great for that , the little w**ker didnt know what to do

i dont suggest voilence at all , but this same p***k who used to beep at me while i was cycling

Karmas a bitch aint it :)

Scumbag throwing a banana skin or scumbag breaking a car window = scumbag pot calling the scumbag kettle black .... meanwhile, back in reality, walter mitty wakes up after another day dream

How many posts on here start off with a genuine OP relaying a pretty bad experience (I condemn the actions of the motorist outlined by the OP) ends up with some "hard man" cyclist posting a fictitious story of sorting out a motorist - pathetic really and what makes it even more pathetic is the number of other users who post "thanks" for someone triumphantly admitting to a serious criminal offence (though I dont believe this acoustic walter mitty wannabe for a second) ... grow up lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Come on Tim, it's Sunday...at least have the good grace to wait until Friday rolls around again.

I was walking from home back into town after a hard Saturday's work and it had been raining heavily earlier on when this known ape decides to drive straight into a puddle right beside me and soaks me from head to toe. He drove on and all his mates were roaring at me from the car.

Got into town only to find his car parked at the side of the road near where I was going. Luckily I had my New Rock boots on. I calmly smashed off both his wing mirrors and shattered each of his hubcaps :) Nothing came of it because there was no witness!

Needless to say he didn't do it again...

walter mitty??? - really you need to diffentiate between what you would like to have happened and what actually happened. If you saw the car parked in town (which I doubt) you cycled on thinking about how nice it would make you feel to damage it

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Come on Tim, it's Sunday...at least have the good grace to wait until Friday rolls around again.
    surely you have some story about teaching some boy racer a lesson by committing criminal damage? No?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Junior

Can I just say Nazis, Hitler and in before the eventual lock.. :D

TimAllen wrote: »
    surely you have some story about teaching some boy racer a lesson by committing criminal damage? No?

Unfortunately not Tim. I know that you won't believe this because you have a distorted view of cyclists and that we are all law breaking, criminal hippies who don't pay tax and want to stick it to the man. Worst I have done is shouted at someone, I'm also terrible for "flipping the bird" at people who cut me off.

I also keep my car topped up with petrol when I drive, I don't have any amusing/embarassing stories about running out of petrol and having to park my car illegally on a cycle track. I mean, I would have to be really stupid to do something like that!

Tim has a cunning plan actually, Junior just made me realise it.

Get into any thread where people are talking about assault/bad driving, totally upset the cyclists by being obtuse, forcing the moderators to step in and lock the thread.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,443 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

blorg wrote: »
    It's a Friday, someone has reported a serious assault a motorist made on a cyclist and Acoustic reports he put his foot through a motorist's window who threw something at him!*

Cue TimAllen in 3...2...

I will take bets on Tim not considering the guy who was egged and had to be taken to hospital if he does appear...

Regarding how seriously the gardaí will take it, honestly they will take it seriously and follow it up, especially as the cyclist was hospitalised.

*Note: throwing something at someone is legally an assault, even if it does not contact!
    It took a couple of extra days, but Timothy finally makes an appearance.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Unfortunately not Tim. I know that you won't believe this because you have a distorted view of cyclists and that we are all law breaking, criminal hippies who don't pay tax and want to stick it to the man. Worst I have done is shouted at someone, I'm also terrible for "flipping the bird" at people who cut me off.

I also keep my car topped up with petrol when I drive, I don't have any amusing/embarassing stories about running out of petrol and having to park my car illegally on a cycle track. I mean, I would have to be really stupid to do something like that!
    There are quite a few on here who fancy themselves as a hardman - just checking if you were also one. But apparently you fancy yourself as a comedian - dont give up the day job Dirk! I'm humbled that I have had such a memorable effect on users in this forum that you still recall something that happened a long time ago - I dont share the same fascination with you so wont be looking over your old posts in a feeble attempt to be a smartie pants:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭jimm

walter mitty??? - really you need to diffentiate between what you would like to have happened and what actually happened. If you saw the car parked in town (which I doubt) you cycled on thinking about how nice it would make you feel to damage it

Take a break from your anti-cyclist mode and read the post again. the poster was a pedestrian.

Beasty wrote: »
    It took a couple of extra days, but Timothy finally makes an appearance.
    wow, in most forums a thread recounting (and therefore offering tacit approval of) criminal damage would have been locked immediately .... no so here ... days later I can come on and offer outrage at the nature of the posts

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

_files_troll_2.jpg

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

NoSantaClaus.jpg

Planet X wrote: »
    NoSantaClaus.jpg
    wow planet, slimfast plan? well done you!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

troll-web.jpg

Seriously...:rolleyes:

On topic,

I've had a group of lads try to rob my bike before while cycling home in Walkinstown. It was dark and there were easily 15-20 of these scrotes. being so slow in their minds they just threw glass beer bottles at me and chased me down a laneway I diverted down. God knows what would've happened to me if that little laneway wasn't there!

Other occurances was 2 lads near Clonee running after me on a country road. I could barely see them. Again Glass bottles. There must be something about me that attracts mindless sh|theads and their bottles of beer! Needless to say there wasn't much I could do but cycle off quickly outpacing them on foot.

There are quite a few on here who fancy themselves as a hardman - just checking if you were also one. But apparently you fancy yourself as a comedian - dont give up the day job Dirk! I'm humbled that I have had such a memorable effect on users in this forum that you still recall something that happened a long time ago - I dont share the same fascination with you so wont be looking over your old posts in a feeble attempt to be a smartie pants:P

Search function is down, you will have to thank my amazing memory for that one.

Alas, Dirk has no day job. In between looking great and posting on boards, I don't have time for much else.

Seriously, have you no better come backs? I expected more from you Tim, I'm starting to think someone has hacked your account and is merely impersonating you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

I got things and people thown at me. I am sure it's a global phenomenon though, seems like scumbags gather in urban areas and reproduce to easily, and the you know about scumbags inbreading ...

I got beeped at in France this week, but people in the country side seems to be more encouraging, I think someone yelled ' Allez Jeannie' at me last tuesday lol

Allez journee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Jumpy wrote: »
    Allez journee [/ quote]
    i am not sure i got that one;
    and for those of u who noticed my words mix ups and mistakes, azerty keyboards are shiit , cant type w/ them

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,443 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

wow planet, slimfast plan? well done you!
    It's me actually. Nothing to do with Slimfast - this cycling lark has done me the world of good - lost 30 kilos over the past couple of years.

Going to have a shave before tomorrow's commute though - I don't want any angry motorists who may be reading this thread recognising me.

• I had some little 8/9 year old scumbags using a slingshot firing pebbles at me one day, I hadn't a clue what to do, so just stuck the head down and raced through. It was strange being confronted with such young aggression. I didn't know the appropriate solution!

Another night, after working a 10 hour shift, I cycled out of Dundrum and down the main street, a VW Golf pulled up alongside me, and two girls opened the windows and started spraying me with super soakers. This was all very not funny to me after having such a long shift. I got the cars details, but didn't end up reporting it to the guards because at the next lights I caught the car, and unfortunately broke my bike lock as it "accidentally" collided with / destroyed the Golf's left back brake light. It was beautiful, the light was green for a cyclist to continue, and the driver was stuck at the lights and I just dissapeared into the night. I doubt the lad who took his two friends out in his Mum's car is going to get another go of it soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Just read this story and it hits home how serious this can be
    Youth blinded nurse in 'egging' attack from car
    By Conor Gallagher
    Friday November 06 2009
    A youth blinded a nurse in one eye by "egging" her from a passing car, Dublin Circuit Criminal Court has heard.

David Morgan (18) was out "egging", or throwing eggs, with his friends when he hit the woman as she was out walking.

The victim previously rejected an offer of €10,000 compensation. Judge Katherine Delahunt adjourned the case until next month to find out if she would accept the money going to charity instead.

Morgan, of The Green, Woodbrook Glen, Bray, pleaded guilty to assault causing harm to Ann Dooley on the Bray Road on March 26, 2008.

Morgan took the stand to read out an apology to the victim, saying he "would have done anything for this not to have happened".

Ms Dooley's victim impact report stated: "Not a minute goes by where the attack does not affect my life." She said she suffers from regular headaches and is self-conscious about her appearance. She rejected Morgan's offer of €10,000 as an "insult" which belittled her injury. She refused to accept a letter of apology from him.

Detective Garda David Jones said that Morgan had never been in trouble with gardai before the incident and was genuinely remorseful. Judge Delahunt heard that Ms Dooley did not want him to go to jail.

Det Gda Jones told prosecuting counsel, Garret Baker, that Morgan had met up with his friends to go a party and "egg" the people there. They bought 30 eggs on the way.

En route, Morgan saw a group of young people and was going to throw an egg at them, but then saw Ms Dooley and her friends. He threw the egg at them instead, hitting Ms Dooley's left eye.

She was in "very severe pain" and was brought to a nearby house where her husband picked her up, before bringing her to Dublin's Royal Victoria Eye and Ear Hospital.

The lens of her left eye was almost completely destroyed. She lost all sight in the eye, had to get a prosthetic cover fitted and was told there was a chance the eye might have to be removed in the future.

Earnings

The victim incurred medical expenses of nearly €12,000 and claimed she had lost earnings of €1.5m -- as she was planning on returning to work as a nurse but could no longer do this.

A man whose house was egged from a car gave investigating gardai the registration number, which was traced to one of Morgan's friends. Morgan admitted everything to gardai and said he was shocked when he realised he had thrown the egg at a grown woman and not another youth. Defence counsel, Justin McQuade, called it a "practical joke gone wrong".

Adjourning the case, Judge Delahunt commented: "There are elderly people in this city who are being attacked in the same way as Ms Dooley."

- Conor Gallagher

Irish Independent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Even if there was no serious injury, its still an assault and has to have an impact on the victims mental state, especially in vunerable people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭Bicyclegadabout

... grow up lads!

No. YOU grow up!

:rasberry emoticon:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭mr. pleasant

it's as simple as that: throwing an egg (or any other dangerous object) at a pedestrian or cyclist is an attack on this persons health. smashing a car window/light/mirror is not.

i know that this doesn't make it legal, but the difference is still very obvious.

it's as simple as that: throwing an egg (or any other dangerous object) at a pedestrian or cyclist is an attack on this persons health. smashing a car window/light/mirror is not.

i know that this doesn't make it legal, but the difference is still very obvious.

The intent was there regardless no?

did i say it wasn't?

i give you another hint: if i attack someone, i kind of have to expect that this person will be upset. makes sense, no?

we are not talking about smashing random cars here. we are talking about reactions on being attacked.

I thought you were talking about an egg hitting the bike not the person. I didn't see the comment on the previous page.

If you'd done that to the wrong people, they might have escalated it further and run him down. Red mist and all that.

ah, ok, misunderstood you there.

just to sum it up again: if someone throws an egg at a cyclist, i think it is okay to go after him. if that persons car is getting a bit damaged in the process it might be not legal but i would still like it for 2 reasons: one is that a car is not a living object, its just material damage. second and more to the point is that the car has been used in the first place for being out of reach for a counter attack. only serves these guys right if that doesn't work out.

having said all that, i would never do anythin like that because i am WAY to chicken for any response. the times when i had been shouted at/thrown things at me i was more or less shocked and angry, but to scared to go after them. i always have the idea of me approaching these guys in a furious manner and run into a maniac with a knife or any of that ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

just to sum it up again: if someone throws an egg at a cyclist, i think it is okay to go after him. if that persons car is getting a bit damaged in the process it might be not legal but i would still like it for 2 reasons: one is that a car is not a living object, its just material damage. second and more to the point is that the car has been used in the first place for being out of reach for a counter attack. only serves these guys right if that doesn't work out.
    I don't think its ok, thats just vigilantism, if you can go after the car then you can get his reg and ring the gardai. Its basically assault, and could easily have done you alot of damage directly or indirectly. What is the upside of attacking the car? potentially done for criminal damage? escilating it into a fight?
    i always have the idea of me approaching these guys in a furious manner and run into a maniac with a knife or any of that ****.

Why its not clever regardless if you have the nerve/balls to do it or not. You never know who's in the car, what they might do.

I don't think its ok, thats just vigilantism, if you can go after the car then you can get his reg and ring the gardai. Its basically assault, and could easily have done you alot of damage directly or indirectly. What is the upside of attacking the car? potentially done for criminal damage? escilating it into a fight?

Why its not clever regardless if you have the nerve/balls to do it or not. You never know who's in the car, what they might do.

++1

Gives cyclist a bad name too

ok, going for the reg. and report is a good point. might be obvious to you but i never really thought of it. call it a mix of shock and not trusting the gardai to do anything about it.

but thinking about it seems to be the most resonable response. (also it is a good way for me to disguise that i am to afraid to be vigilant. because really in the end it is the fear of escalating it into out of control rather than the legal part that keeps me from doing something.) reporting the f****** is probably the best way to "pay back".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭ckeego

Very interesting thread, fellas and gals..Over the space of 25 odd years on the wheels, Ive had cans, ashtrays and snowballs to mention a few as well as being Tboned by a drunk in Dundrum a few years back resulting in a cracked frame and a trip to A and E.

The auld Red Mist when it descends can cloud the decision making process..I went after a guy in Lucan about 5 years ago and when I gave the reg to the Guards, the fella had a rap sheet that stretched into tomorrow.

Another guy recently threatened me in Greystones because I was doing about 45kph on the road and was not on the cycle path (that's full of glass, prams and dogs by the way!) He said that the next time he saw me he was going to "mow me down"!!

Whadda ya do?

I smiled about the post of unclipping and putting a shoe through a window..Came very close to doing that up Callary over the Summer...To a good old mate who had just pulled in along side me to say hello!! Hadn't seen him in years, and his wing came very close to getting a good look at my Shimano size 10!!

Unfortunately thers are a lot of drivers out there that don't give yo a wide enough passage or side swipe you or pull hard left across you after overtaking, but given that there is an element there that do it on purpose...Well, that's just downright despicable..

Hopefully the Karma comes back to them, but the Guards really should do more. Met a bloke recently that wears asmall camera around his neck to take pics of anything that happens to him.

Overall..be safe out there..