Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

College Fees Scrapped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

The reg fees normally go up every year anyway. I can definately see a steady increase, but with supply and demand, how could the college afford to charge students 5K+ for a course? The colleges would be empty. Anyway, people can apply for a grant and pay nothing...

Steady?

It went from €900 to €1500 in a year. €600 is not steady, another €600 next year is going to be horrible.

That to me, is one giant step against mankind!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

ascanbe wrote: »
    Whether free third level education actually contributes healthily to social mobility is open to debate; it certainly helps to further enrich many people who have no desperate need of it.
    Your point on 'the miraculous transformation of the Irish economy and society' - you do realise that our economy and society is currently on the brink of collapse?
    Many of those most responsible for this, having already been saved by the bank bail-out, will now benifit from the scrapping of fees.
    Quite a few of these people are the type of 'avaricious ideologues' that rail against the very idea of social welfare.
    '
    How so? (Genuinely)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Namlub wrote: »
    How so? (Genuinely)

The people I am referring to are people who would have been devastated by allowing the banks to collapse - as they should have been going by the principles of the 'free market'.
    They are people of a certain income level who have no need for financial help in putting their kids through third level education - many of them currently pay for their kids to attend private schools, helped out by the state who pay for the staff.
    In doing so the state helps to foster a two tier education system.
    It's argued that free third level education helps to universalise admisson to third level institutions; this is debatable.
    At this moment, one fifth of those who enter third level institutions come from private schools.
    Investment in primary level schools and a restructuring and proper implementation of the old third level grant system would arguably be a much preferable route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

mars bar wrote: »
    Steady?

It went from €900 to €1500 in a year. €600 is not steady, another €600 next year is going to be horrible.

That to me, is one giant step against mankind!

Yea, steady... it goes up gradually. Every college is differant though. Most wouldn't see that much of an increase.

• mikemac wrote: »
    If you get a grant then you don't pay the registration fee :)
    Or more correctly, you pay the registration fee and claim it back when you grant comes through

A middle class tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Lame Lantern

ascanbe wrote: »
    Whether free third level education actually contributes healthily to social mobility is open to debate; it certainly helps to further enrich many people who have no desperate need of it.
    Let's not accept the fallacy that society is divided between the poor and the uber-wealthy. While free education is certainly vital to lower income households, the burden it alleviates on lower middle and middle income homes is also enormous. The only class of people that won't benefit from not having to drop 18 grand a year to educate three children are the uber-wealthy.

Your point on 'the miraculous transformation of the Irish economy and society' - you do realise that our economy and society is currently on the brink of collapse?
    The point stands that free education contributed enormously to the recently curtailed boom period by generating a society of highly employable people (among many other things). Free education has nothing to do with the current financial crisis.
    Many of those most responsible for this, having already been saved by the bank bail-out, will now benifit from the scrapping of fees.
    Quite a few of these people are the type of 'avaricious ideologues' that rail against the very idea of social welfare.
    '
    And their opinions are entirely contrary to the national interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

[quote=[Deleted User];62496568]A middle class tax.[/QUOTE]

Enough of these middle class references
    Average industrial wage is what? Around 35k I think. It's a decent wage anyway

http://www.ncii.ie/VEC_Grants.htm
    A family with an income of €38,675 and less then 4 dependant children get a full maintenance grant . If you earn more you get a lower percentage but that still goes up to 45,290.
    The grant isn't a huge amount but it does include registration fees.

Are you not middle class if you earn less then that? :rolleyes:
    I got a grant in college, didn't realise my family was poor....

And if you have two working parents on good salarys then you won't get a grant but then, you should be able to get by
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Oh boo hoo... You give a guy 3000 and he b!tches about the 400 euro he has to spend to get the 3000... I mean, WTF?

Of course reg fees will go up, they have been going up since I started college, first year was 250, 4th year was 830. People b!tch and whine about this, but then they only spend 40 a year on the college gym, 10 to see the doctor (my doctor was 4 euro in first second and third year, 4 fcuking euro)

Biggins, at the very least, the next few years the increase in reg fees will happen either way, and I doubt they will be as much as the original fees would have been anyway. Universities always charged higher, that's not going to change. The big differance will be the IT's imo.

So they went from €250 to probably €2,000 this year and people still don't cop what is happening?
    mikemac wrote: »
    If you get a grant then you don't pay the registration fee :)
    Or more correctly, you pay the registration fee and claim it back when you grant comes through

Just give it a few years and we'll be back to the old system. People paying €4/5,000 a year who can't get grants, all so everybody can get it "free". It was introduced as a Labour Sop to the middle classes and they'll be the ones to pay for it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

FYI, €1500 is the current legal maximum for student registration fees. It won't be going up unless there's a change in the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Didn't they find out recently that free fees hadn't increased the numbers of people attending college?

I'd be perfectly happy if fees were introduced for people whose parents have a certain income per year.

If they're not saving money on college fees it'll come from somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

FYI, €1500 is the current legal maximum for student registration fees. It won't be going up unless there's a change in the law.

Like a Budget.
    mikemac wrote: »
    Well apply for a grant so!
    The rules are the same for everyone. It's under three and a half thousand a year and registration fees. Not exactly enough for someone to live on. It's a grant to support someone and open for anyone to apply for

If you are slightly over the means tested limit then that's unfortunate, there has to be a cut-off somewhere

I was going to quote you but I see you edited your second point pretty quickly

Didn't change the substantive point.

A graded system could be brought in and free fees could be means tested properly with disposable income, rather than Gross Income counted.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• mikemac wrote: »
    Enough of these middle class references
    Average industrial wage is what? Around 35k I think. It's a decent wage anyway

http://www.ncii.ie/VEC_Grants.htm
    A family with an income of €38,675 and less then 4 dependant children get a full maintenance grant . If you earn more you get a lower percentage but that still goes up to 45,290.
    The grant isn't a huge amount but it does include registration fees.

Are you not middle class if you earn less then that? :rolleyes:
    I got a grant in college, didn't realise my family was poor....

And if you have two working parents on good salarys then you won't get a grant but then, you should be able to get by

No, they're not poor because they're not paying for everything. That is my entire point. If your parents earned slightly above the cut-off for grants and had to fork out 5K per child, I'm sure they would be feeling it! There are a hell of a lot of people in that middle ground between their kids qualifying for a grant and being able to comfortably pay fees.

I'm not getting into what is or isn't middle class, but 38 or 39 grand is not a high income at all, especially when there's multiple children in college at the same time. It's grand to get by on, but what if you had 2, 3 or more kids in college and had to pay 5 grand in tuition fees for each of them? And remember that a lot of people (including myself) had no choice but to live away for college, as there wasn't one within commuting distance. My rent alone cost about 5 grand a year, then add food, bills, etc - same for my siblings. Our combined college costs were in excess of 30 grand a year, and that's not counting tuition (my brother and sister went to the UK so they took out loans to pay it). If my parents had footed the bill for everything, they'd have been paying about 45 grand a year. Even if we had lived close to a college, 15 grand a year on tuition alone is a hell of a stretch for a family with a combined income of 38K. So, if you think a lower middle class, or even a comfortably middle class family could realistically afford to pay fees, you're on another planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Let's not accept the fallacy that society is divided between the poor and the uber-wealthy. While free education is certainly vital to lower income households, the burden it alleviates on lower middle and middle income homes is also enormous. The only class of people that won't benefit from not having to drop 18 grand a year to educate three children are the uber-wealthy.

The point stands that free education contributed enormously to the recently curtailed boom period by generating a society of highly employable people (among many other things). Free education has nothing to do with the current financial crisis.

And their opinions are entirely contrary to the national interest.

I didn't posit the theory that society is divided between the poor and the uber-wealthy.
    It is my contention, as stated in a post above, that a restructuring and proper implementation of the old third level grant system, allied with heavy investment in primary level eductation, would be much more benificial to those on lower, lower/middle level incomes.

The problem was that the boom period wasn't curtailed by our government years ago; this is why we are now, individually and collectively, mired in debt.
    Most third level graduates here were working in the sales and services sector; their degrees were often irrelevant.

Regarding your third point: agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Fees will be brought back, just not this year.
    Besides, the 'registration' fee will probably rise to 3000 next year.

Free fees me arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭DigiGal

3000 is better than 35'000 tbh...

Be happy with what you can get I know I am.

That is a shame, tax payer will have to pay for wasters still
    Awh look who is all upset cause she didn't get a degree

I work so I pay for my own "wasting" as you call it

So would you rather go to a doctor who wasn't a waster and didn't get his medical degree and have a lawyer who didn't piss around getting his law degree
    Oh and of course a teacher teaching your kids who didn't piss about getting that teaching degree

I have to love how you think you are special paying tax....we all do it love, even us waster students who get degrees so we can do our jobs properly and make money for the country

you should try going to college might open your mind a tad so you wont make such arrogant generalisations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Yeah don't ignore the win this is. As long as they have to call fees, registration fees, then they can only charge so much with them.

They were 700 euro when I was going into first year in college and that was seen as taking the piss.

I didn't posit the theory that society is divided between the poor and the uber-wealthy.
    It is my contention, as stated in a post above, that a restructuring and proper implementation of the old third level grant system, allied with heavy investment in primary level eductation, would be much more benificial to those on lower, lower/middle level incomes.
    Could you explain that? I can't see any benefit to households arising from compelling them to pay for the education of their children
    The problem was that the boom period wasn't curtailed by our government years ago; this is why we are now, individually and collectively, mired in debt.
    I don't agree that the bottom fell out due to excessive expenditure on public services. Individuals are mired in debt due to a culture of fantasy financing. The national debt is being paid from cash reserves this year without recourse to financial restructuring, so it's more than manageable. The state's issues finding ways to justify its current expenditure commitments.

Most third level graduates here were working in the sales and services sector; their degrees were often irrelevant.
    Third level qualifications are vital to work in tertiary industry, especially from the perspective of foreign direct investment. However, you're overlooking the tech and financial services sectors, Ireland's viability in these areas owing enormously to our access to higher education.

thebman wrote: »
    Yeah don't ignore the win this is. As long as they have to call fees, registration fees, then they can only charge so much with them.

They were 700 euro when I was going into first year in college and that was seen as taking the piss.
    Mine was 1500 this year, It was alot! But still....It was worth it as I worked really hard to get in
    Alot of people couldn't afford this without a grant tho. If it gets much Higher i'd say it would limit alot of people from disadvataged areas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

and on the plus side.......

everyperson with a job in this country will once again be expected to get 5 euros or more a week taken of there wadges and how exactly is that fare ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

everyperson with a job in this country will once again be expected to get 5 euros or more a week taken of there wadges and how exactly is that fare ?

Its not fare! Their wadges shud be leaved alown!

We do you think that is about college students..what a ridiculous view.
    Its more than likely paying for the TD's Curtians manicures and private jets

Our Taoiseach is payed more than Barrack Obama and you think the money from your wadges is going towards college students seriously???

I realise that people who pay tax seem to think they can lay claim to the bleeding universe well I'm a student and I pay a **** load of tax and work a hell of a lot of hours to pay for college so Is that ok with you...I just got let go infact and now am desperately looking for another job so I can get my degree and live....

So if you think students have it easy you are wrong, I'm an 18 year old girl with no parents from a poor area who could easily piss about drinking and robbing people and being a general gob****e but instead I'm going to college so I can give my kids a better childhood than I had..
    Is that ok with you...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

I don't agree that the bottom fell out due to excessive expenditure on public services. Individuals are mired in debt due to a culture of fantasy financing. The national debt is being paid from cash reserves this year without recourse to financial restructuring, so it's more than manageable. The state's issues finding ways to justify its current expenditure commitments.

Exactly government expenditure was only extravagant because it expanded on a once off tax bulge from property sales that was never going to last. People got into debt because they were basically told credit was never going to end, go forth and buy. Also credit was being referred to as free money because interest rates were so low. Couple with basically a removal of key regulations on the financial industry, this lead to lapse standards and the current crisis we are in. Obviously other factors being omitted but it is unrealistic to say government spending has caused this crisis.

Government spending is currently a crisis and governments caving to union demands based on a temporary bulge in property taxes has lead to our economy being less competitive at the moment but overall you know what our biggest problem is? Our cripplingly poor infrastructure in almost all areas. The government has failed to adequately invest in roads/rail/broadband/public transport and this is what the real problem is.

Rather than investing in these areas so we could compete with other developed economies they preferred to please the unions in the hope to buy votes.
    Third level qualifications are vital to work in tertiary industry, especially from the perspective of foreign direct investment. However, you're overlooking the tech and financial services sectors, Ireland's viability in these areas owing enormously to our access to higher education.

Exactly it sure as hell isn't our infrastructure that has these companies here. It is our people and our education which is seen as being above the norm on average in these and other areas. All nations have a lack of people in sciences and financial areas ATM because people are avoiding math subjects but having no fees improves the numbers because people that can do maths and want to do math based college courses can afford to go on to do them.

To turn our back on that is throw away one of the few advantages we still have over other economies. We are in a mess, no point throwing away the few things we have going for us.

DigiGal wrote: »
    We do you think that is about college students..what a ridiculous view.
    Its more than likely paying for the TD's Curtians manicures and private jets

True but the tax payers still pay towards your education.
    I agree the TDs rip the piss with exspensises why arnt they ona ryan air flight. surely saving money is there key ghoal?
    Our Taoiseach is payed more than Barrack Obama and you think the money from your wadges is going towards college students seriously???

I dont actually pay tax. only on the goods I buy. and yes he does get payed more then every one else but i thik you'le find that was the work of are ever glorious theif bertie. Unfortunatly I am unemployed but insted of going to collage Ive saved for the past 6 mnths to get myself on a course where there is sustainable employment!

I realise that people who pay tax seem to think they can lay claim to the bleeding universe well I'm a student and I pay a **** load of tax and work a hell of a lot of hours to pay for college so Is that ok with you...I just got let go infact and now am desperately looking for another job so I can get my degree and live....

I'm sorry to hear your circumstances, I know all to well whats its like being a student or beng umeployed, my heart does go out to you because i know its anything but easy. But my thoughts are this every student should at least be expected to contrabute towards there education after they've gained a degree and employment.... I think it perfectly reasonable they do it in the uk. Considering the irish governement, follows english maybe its time they adopted the sceme...
    So if you think students have it easy you are wrong, I'm an 18 year old girl with no parents from a poor area who could easily piss about drinking and robbing people and being a general gob****e but instead I'm going to college so I can give my kids a better childhood than I had.. Is that ok with you...?

Yeah you could, rob steel drink take drugs and do all those nasty things you've mentioned.... But you've made your choice, you knew things wer'nt going to be easy. and yes you should be receiving fianacal help from the governement... but of course some little ugg wearing rich kid is getting the well collage is free so daddy give me t150 a week to have fun with. where that 150 a week should be going to her education not on chi lattes and coffees dates with her friend and of course her I phone...

So no Itds not allright with me to be honest because thats the problem to many rich people get it to easy and the poor people what do they get nailed up the ass day in day out. :mad:

True but the tax payers still pay towards your education.
    Well I pay tax, In fact I payed a hell of alot of tax this year which more than payed my fees for the year.....

I dont actually pay tax. only on the goods I buy. and yes he does get payed more then every one else but i thik you'le find that was the work of are ever glorious theif bertie. Unfortunatly I am unemployed but insted of going to collage Ive saved for the past 6 mnths to get myself on a course where there is sustainable employment! .
    I had to save up for more than 6 months to pay for my books and regestration fee and accomodation which will guarantee me plenty of sustainable employment....
    Also we need graduates to supply the country with sustainable employment, you think any company is going to want to invest in a country with no college graduates..honestly....do you think your prospective employer doesn't have a degree
    Oh a FAS course was i...FAS who stole loads from our tax payers???
    Maybe you should have gone to college then you would know not to make such arrogant statements.,

I'm sorry to hear your circumstances, I know all to well whats its like being a student or beng umeployed, my heart does go out to you because i know its anything but easy. But my thoughts are this every student should at least be expected to contrabute towards there education after they've gained a degree and employment.... I think it perfectly reasonable they do it in the uk. Considering the irish governement, follows english maybe its time they adopted the sceme...
    I don't want anyone to feel sorry for me as I am using my circumstances to better myself, I'm overcoming adversity.
    I will contribute plenty towards my education with all the tax i'll pay in full time employment and my 1500 a year fee
    They don't do that in the UK they do it in aus and If I was left in debt after college I would be tbh fcuked..Do you know why its not acceptacble....Because little miss UGG boot, 2 cars mansion bitch parents will pay for her eductauion when she is finished while i'll continue to struggle for another few years trying to clear my debts..

No its not easy and do you know what makes it harder...when you think you are doing something worthwhile and people dismiss you as a money grabbing waster....

Yeah you could, rob steel drink take drugs and do all those nasty things you've mentioned.... But you've made your choice, you knew things wer'nt going to be easy. and yes you should be receiving fianacal help from the governement... but of course some little ugg wearing rich kid is getting the well collage is free so daddy give me t150 a week to have fun with. where that 150 a week should be going to her education not on chi lattes and coffees dates with her friend and of course her I phone......

I don't wat to recieve nay help, I didn't even claim a grant as I knew there wa someone out there who needed it more But I should not be made to feel guilty about you having low wages just because I want to stop woirking ****ty low paying jobs and struggling through life.....

Mine was 1500 this year, It was alot! But still....It was worth it as I worked really hard to get in
    Alot of people couldn't afford this without a grant tho. If it gets much Higher i'd say it would limit alot of people from disadvataged areas

1500 is still piss all, and I am unemployed. Go to college in america and pay 100K for your four years, that's if you are lucky.
    thebman wrote: »

My fees were 260 or there abouts for my first year... I thought we started around the same time...
    Its not fare! Their wadges shud be leaved alown!

Mo no speak Engrish.

Snow-monkey, Brendan, you two are right, this is not fair. The 5 euro that will be taken from your wages should be put into educating people how to speak English proparly, there should be a law against butchering it.

At least those who are at college (not collage) can show their education, unlike some.

Johnny paid the fare for his journey.

Johnny was given a fair trial.

No matter what happens, people will still b!tch and whine and moan about it. This is a great thing for students all over Ireland, yet some ignorant people are angry at this, because they might lose a few quid. Regardless of this happening, you would be taxed the same. They do not calculate to the closest decimal. It will be rounded up to the nearest whole number. You are taxed one way or another, this college fees thing will not change that. If it didn't happen, you would have been taxed anyway.

The amount of begrudgers in this thread is sickening.

I'm glad you can aford to think that 1500 is piss all! Go You!

but thats food for half a year...or 5 months rent to me
    In fact its working 7 hours a day, 7 days a week for a few months at my last wage

I'm glad you can aford to think that 1500 is piss all! Go You!

but thats food for half a year...or 5 months rent to me
    In fact its working 7 hours a day, 7 days a week for a few months at my last wage

You know I agree with your points and your posts?

It is relative. I paid about 2000 in total for 5 years fees. Probably a little more. I still think 1500 a year is really low. I rather not see them go up. Compared to other contries, we have it good.

If you are entitled to a grant take it. Don't listen to other fools who think they know better, they don't. They are jealous of what you have. ;)

You know I agree with your points and your posts?

It is relative. I paid about 2000 in total for 5 years fees. Probably a little more. I still think 1500 a year is really low. I rather not see them go up. Compared to other contries, we have it good.

If you are entitled to a grant take it. Don't listen to other fools who think they know better, they don't. They are jealous of what you have. ;)
    Its piss all compared to what we would have to pay if fees came in I suppose

Yeah you could, rob steel drink take drugs and do all those nasty things you've mentioned.... But you've made your choice, you knew things wer'nt going to be easy. and yes you should be receiving fianacal help from the governement... but of course some little ugg wearing rich kid is getting the well collage is free so daddy give me t150 a week to have fun with. where that 150 a week should be going to her education not on chi lattes and coffees dates with her friend and of course her I phone...

So no Itds not allright with me to be honest because thats the problem to many rich people get it to easy and the poor people what do they get nailed up the ass day in day out. :mad:

More begrudgery... so what if the posh kid can afford it and pisses 150 up against the wall every week, what's it to ya?

What you need is communism...

Dude....don't say the C word...I can see this heading envoking Godwins law...Last thing we need here!

Its piss all compared to what we would have to pay if fees came in I suppose

Don't get me wrong, 1500 is a lot of money, a LOT. I was looking at going back to college and my reg fees were about this amount, which was fine, but then I was told I would have to pay a further 2800 for my course. Meh, I have a degree already, not paying that much for a second one. If I am paying for anything it will be a masters when the time comes.
    Dude....don't say the C word...I can see this heading envoking Godwins law...Last thing we need here!

:eek: sorry :P

I had to save up for more than 6 months to pay for my books and regestration fee and accomodation which will guarantee me plenty of sustainable employment....
    Also we need graduates to supply the country with sustainable employment, you think any company is going to want to invest in a country with no college graduates..honestly....do you think your prospective employer doesn't have a degree
    Oh a FAS course was i...FAS who stole loads from our tax payers???
    Maybe you should have gone to college then you would know not to make such arrogant statements.,

Do you think any company will want ot invest in ireland when they can employ 4 people for the price of one in the likes of india ?

Wow maybe I should of gone to collage and you know learned so i couldnt make such arrogant statments....
    How do you know I have'nt actually been to collage?
    I hold a City & Guilds Diploma in Sound Engineering & Music Technology. So please save me the self rightousness of it all because I had to pay for my self to go to collage.

I don't want anyone to feel sorry for me as I am using my circumstances to better myself, I'm overcoming adversity.
    I will contribute plenty towards my education with all the tax i'll pay in full time employment and my 1500 a year fee
    They don't do that in the UK they do it in aus and If I was left in debt after college I would be tbh fcuked..Do you know why its not acceptacble....Because little miss UGG boot, 2 cars mansion bitch parents will pay for her eductauion when she is finished while i'll continue to struggle for another few years trying to clear my debts..

Yeah then why say it?
    Yes sure thats why out of a hand full of a large majority of english people I know all have dept of studenet loans. Maybe i didnt eplain my self coherently enough for you.

what I was saying collage shouldd be some what means tested. Those who can afford to pay some what of a contrabution should be expected to, those who are in the circumstances it should be free.

No its not easy and do you know what makes it harder...when you think you are doing something worthwhile and people dismiss you as a money grabbing waster....

who does ? I havent said anythign about being a money grabing waster.

I don't wat to recieve nay help, I didn't even claim a grant as I knew there wa someone out there who needed it more But I should not be made to feel guilty about you having low wages just because I want to stop woirking ****ty low paying jobs and struggling through life.....

well then i guess thats all on you!

More begrudgery... so what if the posh kid can afford it and pisses 150 up against the wall every week, what's it to ya?

What you need is communism...

yes of course its begrudgerey! :rolleyes: ..... whats it to you if i don't agree with it.

No communisim does'nt work every one knows that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Snow-monkey, Brendan, you two are right, this is not fair. The 5 euro that will be taken from your wages should be put into educating people how to speak English proparly, there should be a law against butchering it.

At least those who are at college (not collage) can show their education, unlike some.

FAYLE! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

"Proparly" Epic Fail :D

1500 is still piss all, and I am unemployed. Go to college in america and pay 100K for your four years, that's if you are lucky.

My fees were 260 or there abouts for my first year... I thought we started around the same time...

Mo no speak Engrish.

Oh and yes im dislexic... and sure sign of not being able to argue a point is to go for the old you can spell routine well done...

No matter what happens, people will still b!tch and whine and moan about it. This is a great thing for students all over Ireland, yet some ignorant people are angry at this, because they might lose a few quid. Regardless of this happening, you would be taxed the same. They do not calculate to the closest decimal. It will be rounded up to the nearest whole number. You are taxed one way or another, this college fees thing will not change that. If it didn't happen, you would have been taxed anyway.

One word for that BOLLOAX this is'nt about loosing a few quid this is about how much people are taking home !!!

You say oh we get an education great for you bully for you! People who are on the minium wadge who work hard to make ends meet may as well be on the fvcking dole! because they even get taxed so hard.
    where ther insentive to work ?
    The amount of begrudgers in this thread is sickening.

Its nothign to do with brgrudgery. Its do so with what people earn and what they actualy take home and cleerly you don't know what your talking about.

there are people who are working full time taking just over 240 euros a week.. Then wait for it every collage in ireland are loseing between 5 11 staff.

and 12% off the wadges Either way i hope your greatfull!

Oh and yes im dislexic... and sure sign of not being able to argue a point is to go for the old you can spell routine well done...

I do apologise, I was unaware that you were dyslexic.

One word for that BOLLOAX this is'nt about loosing a few quid this is about how much people are taking home !!!

You say oh we get an education great for you bully for you! People who are on the minium wadge who work hard to make ends meet may as well be on the fvcking dole! because they even get taxed so hard.
    where ther insentive to work?

It sure does suck for those people, but there are options out there. You said it yourself earlier "you knew it was going to be hard, you are the one that made the choice" ;)

You are attacking the people who are taking advantage (not abusing) the system, do not do that, try and sort out the tossers who made a balls of the system in the first place. I worked for 4 years of college, but in my final year I quit my job, and got the grant. I then applied to the college for further funding.
    Its nothign to do with brgrudgery. Its do so with what people earn and what they actualy take home and cleerly you don't know what your talking about.

there are people who are working full time taking just over 240 euros a week.. Then wait for it every collage in ireland are loseing between 5 11 staff.

and 12% off the wadges Either way i hope your greatfull!

I payed for most of my schooling myself, I have nobody to thank but myself. I wouldn't even tank any of ye, or the government for the poxy grant, because it's a joke.

While it's sh!t that people are working for crap wages, it's also their choices that got them there, not mine.

People ARE begrudging those who have got education, you are begrudging every student in Ireland by saying what you say.

Why don't you go after the politicians, the unions and all the other assholes that made a right mess of everything? Instead of the easily targeted students, ffs...

Because every one else is being targeted!

people who own there own buisness's
    People who worked hard for 5 years
    People whove studied hard for 10 years who can't get jobs.
    people parents who have slaved away for the past 40 years working hard.
    Saving a nest egg and loosing half the retirement fund...
    People whove baught house for 400,000:00 grand that are now worth 125,000:00 sitting in complete negitive equaty.
    People who risked all with new companys and fentures lossing it all.
    people who eearn minium wadges..

if every one else is feeling the crunch. Why shouldnt students ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Delighted to see this stupid short sighted decision reversed. I firmly believe it wouldve been a blight on the country in years to come.

• DigiGal wrote: »

What do they do in Aus that they don't do in the UK? I'm in the UK system myself, and everyone has to pay tuition fees (so most take out a loan for it) and most get a maintenance loan as well. You start paying it back when you earn above a certain level. It's not nice, at all, but at least everyone is in the same boat. Poorer students get a grant, but along with the loans.

Do you think any company will want ot invest in ireland when they can employ 4 people for the price of one in the likes of india ?

Wow maybe I should of gone to collage and you know learned so i couldnt make such arrogant statments....
    How do you know I have'nt actually been to collage?
    I hold a City & Guilds Diploma in Sound Engineering & Music Technology. So please save me the self rightousness of it all because I had to pay for my self to go to collage.

Yeah then why say it?
    Yes sure thats why out of a hand full of a large majority of english people I know all have dept of studenet loans. Maybe i didnt eplain my self coherently enough for you.

what I was saying collage shouldd be some what means tested. Those who can afford to pay some what of a contrabution should be expected to, those who are in the circumstances it should be free.

who does ? I havent said anythign about being a money grabing waster.

well then i guess thats all on you!
    i spend ages replying to every point but got logged out and am not arsed doing it again... Just oen thing i have to address

You did in fact tell me you didn't go to college but saved up for a course where there is sustainable employment...

SOUND ENGINEERING.....SUSTAINABLE EMPLOYMENT. ARE YA FOR REAL
    SERIOUSLY....
    My OH holds the same diploma as you from Pulse Recording college.I also hold a similar diploma which was cheaper however mine was payed by an authority (a scholarship for students who express high musical skill and ability) (Just wish someone could have told me its near impossible to succeed in live sound as a female)
    Anyway my Oh And I both worked in two sucessful Dublin Venues, which have both since closed down, along with loads of other bars in Dublin which have gone into recievership! (Radio City-Gone, Le Cirk-Live music Gone, Pravda, Winding Stair., Thomas Reads, The Oak-recievership, Eamonn Dorans- Under new managment, sound engineer-gone!, Pal Joeys Gone, The 319 Club gone, The Village-****ed since MCD stoped putting gig in, and tahts only for starters, sound engineer in ambassador dropped, works in Whelans the odd time now)

There is NO sustainable employment in teh irish msuic scene. Luckily enough my OH is a very talented sound engineer who has connections with Litton Lane and MCD due to previous work and has managed to secure a new job! I'm not being biased about that by the way he secured a job his first day out of college, turning down a much coveted internship in Windmill Lane and has worked directy with Beauford Jones, Tony Perry and Andy Colbert(I'm sure you know who they all are)
    He still managed to be let go from 2 seperate venues and reduced to stage hand work!

I also have friends from Pulse many who got jobs in Post Production and In Irish Studios as well as with Dublin Indie bands(freelance work)
    2 of them now drive vans for Cavs and Sennheiser, one works in HMV, 2 are on the dole. In total 3 people who went to college with my OH currently have jobs!

Don't think you are better than anyone else because you payed for college because that does not make you better than anyone so you are the one who can stop the self righteous crap, paying for college is no bleeding achievement. I don't think I'm better than anyone for going to college, In fact I'm very thankful I managed to get in as I worked very hard as did many of the people in my course and we deserve to be there, I also feel sorry for alot of my friends who were denied the oppertunity due to money worries.
    There is nothing wrong with wnating to get a job insted of going to college, each to tehre own etc...but don't be a begrudger just because students dont have to pay fees, its hardly our ****ing fault and wages are not going to be cut becuase I'm going to college, and if they are well tehy'll be cutting plenty of students wages too, including mine

[quote=[Deleted User];62499874]What do they do in Aus that they don't do in the UK? I'm in the UK system myself, and everyone has to pay tuition fees (so most take out a loan for it) and most get a maintenance loan as well. You start paying it back when you earn above a certain level. It's not nice, at all, but at least everyone is in the same boat. Poorer students get a grant, but along with the loans.[/QUOTE]
    I dont give a **** about other countries tbh cause I don't live in them so they can do what they want

Because every one else is being targeted!

people who own there own buisness's
    People who worked hard for 5 years
    People whove studied hard for 10 years who can't get jobs.
    people parents who have slaved away for the past 40 years working hard.
    Saving a nest egg and loosing half the retirement fund...
    People whove baught house for 400,000:00 grand that are now worth 125,000:00 sitting in complete negitive equaty.
    People who risked all with new companys and fentures lossing it all.
    people who eearn minium wadges..

if every one else is feeling the crunch. Why shouldnt students ?

Right so...

I'm a student so are 2 of my closest friends we
    All earn minimum wages
    My friend lives in her car because she can' afford accomodation
    My grandparents slaved away for more than 40 years and now their nest egg is gone.
    My grandparents home is neg equity
    I know students who can't afford to eat for the week
    People who've studied hard for 10 years and can't get jobs....So what were they for 10 whole bleeding years....STUDENTS...THATS RIGHT!!!!!
    At least Im only going to college for 4
    Why do you sem to think that students don't feel teh crunch, do you think we pull money out of our arses or something..
    Excuse me while I **** out some money so I can pay for my food this weeka nd not work after college 5 days a week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

2zf0njm.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭irishvamp90

Im in L.i.t in Limerick in 2nd year and i can honestly say if there was fees at least 70% of the numbers would drop.The amount of people ive met in college just for the laugh and social life is unreal,complete morons that got their points but have zero interest in their courses or drive and ambition.Even if fees came in id find a way to get the money

They are the people who should pay, not the ones who actually want to be there

I dont give a **** about other countries tbh cause I don't live in them so they can do what they want

Way to miss the point. The point is, 'poor' people in other countries can and do go to college. You think you're badly off now? You're not. You're extremely lucky to have received so much help. I'm middle class and I've had to fund my education on my own, with some help from my parents, but far less than the grant is worth. So the Irish working class students with a chip on their shoulders are grating on my last nerve. If you lived in England, you'd have to take out loans every year of your course and probably work part time as well, whether you were working class or middle class. The poorer students still get grants, but at least not a totally free ride while others are getting into personal debt.

I wish grant recipients would just realise how bloody lucky they are. As I said earlier, I'm on a grant this year (funded by the university for academic merit, i.e, I earned it) and I can still hardly believe that I have the chance to go to college without having to work 30 hours a week, or adding another ten grand onto my student loan. I still have to work, but less than I would have and my tuition was paid for me. It's a huge weight off my shoulders and I am very grateful for it. Yet, most of the people I know of who get grants for third level act like it's their God given right and moan that it isn't enough. Someone on this thread described their grant as 'poxy' and said they're not thankful for it. I can't understand that mentality, at all, as someone who has never been entitled to 'free money' until now.

[quote=[Deleted User];62502386]Way to miss the point. The point is, 'poor' people in other countries can and do go to college. You think you're badly off now? You're not. You're extremely lucky to have received so much help. I'm middle class and I've had to fund my education on my own, with some help from my parents, but far less than the grant is worth. So the Irish working class students with a chip on their shoulders are grating on my last nerve. If you lived in England, you'd have to take out loans every year of your course and probably work part time as well, whether you were working class or middle class. The poorer students still get grants, but at least not a totally free ride while others are getting into personal debt.

I wish grant recipients would just realise how bloody lucky they are. As I said earlier, I'm on a grant this year (funded by the university for academic merit, i.e, I earned it) and I can still hardly believe that I have the chance to go to college without having to work 30 hours a week, or adding another ten grand onto my student loan. I still have to work, but less than I would have and my tuition was paid for me. It's a huge weight off my shoulders and I am very grateful for it. Yet, most of the people I know of who get grants for third level act like it's their God given right and moan that it isn't enough. Someone on this thread described their grant as 'poxy' and said they're not thankful for it. I can't understand that mentality, at all, as someone who has never been entitled to 'free money' until now.[/QUOTE]
    You know nothing about my situation and what help I have recieved and I will not give out the details here so I'm not bothering to argue with you...

I'm not trying one up peoples misery here.....
    A FREE RID...IU DONT GET A ****ING FREE RIDE...

I'm not going to even bother arguing with you as I'll say something that will get me permabanned....

Also I didn't get a ****ing grant and I do ahve to work part time....I never said anything about anything being my God Given Right

How dare you make such assumotions about me HOW DARE YOU!

You know nothing about my situation and what help I have recieved and I will not give out the details here so I'm not bothering to argue with you...

I'm not trying one up peoples misery here.....
    A FREE RID...IU DONT GET A ****ING FREE RIDE...

I'm not going to even bother arguing with you as I'll say something that will get me permabanned....

Also I didn't get a ****ing grant and I do ahve to work part time....I never said anything about anything being my God Given Right

How dare you make such assumotions about me HOW DARE YOU!

I'm not talking about you specifically. I'm talking about the attitude of a lot of people I've encountered. I know you aren't getting a free ride, but you're getting quite a bit of help, from what you've said. You were the one who brought up the system in the UK. I mentioned something about it because I live here, and I said you are better off than you would be here.