Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Should i buy an 05 Bmw 523i!! Help PLease!!

• 11-10-2009 9:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30

I have fallen in love with the most beautiful car, its a navy 05 523i 2.5ltr petrol and full leather interior and with my own 02 318i trade in, I am getting what I think a good deal- 10k..

However I am apprehensive about the fuel consumption of a 2.5ltr engine??? Will I see a big difference from my own 318?? I know tax is already shooting up but I can deal with that if my petrol costs remain about the same.. I have put the deposit on the car but it is fully refundable.......

Any advice greatly appreciated?? Bear in mind I love this car!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

goldenlass wrote: »
    However I am apprehensive about the fuel consumption of a 2.5ltr engine??? Will I see a big difference from my own 318?? I know tax is already shooting up but I can deal with that if my petrol costs remain about the same.. I have put the deposit on the car but it is fully refundable.......

Any advice greatly appreciated?? Bear in mind I love this car!!!!!!!
    Hi, I used to own an E39 523iA 1997, 2.5 with Steptronic transmission and my total average fuel economy was as good (or as bad) as 30.8mpg / 9.2 l/100km (have in mind that this is my average for an automatic). All about the fuel economy is the way you drive it and the road conditions (short trips or long runs, heavy traffic or open road, driving speed, breaking, accelerating, winter or summer time, flat or hilly roads, etc.).
    The engine and the transmission is fine, smooth and not bad on fuel (with a manual transmission should be even easier). Things to watch out for is the cooling system, quite sensitive for lack of service, but easy to work on if you can hold a spanner yourself. I can't comment on the price deal, as it would not be in my bracket.
    Good Luck with it and go for it if the car is worth the money. Make sure you do a proper inspection prior to making the deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 goldenlass

thank you for your reply- the car is a dream to drive and I am getting a three month warranty from the garage.. I will keep a close eye on cooling system as I actually am having problems with that in my own car, I am a bit away from using a spanner yet!!!

The warranty is a good thing there, so at least you are covered if anything goes wrong. Yes, they are lovely cars to drive, I sold my one only for an economical reason. However I had to change the cooling system thermostat (cost 9.50 GBP in UK), thermostat housing (11 GBP) and finally the coolant pump went (cost about 50 Euro + half an hour of my labour) and that was all and as you can see - all related to the cooling system.
    If you drive a 318i now, I would expect the fuel economy to be about 20 to 25% worse in the new car, if you drive in similar road conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

3 months sounds a bit backstreet to me, TBH. Is the car automatic or manual? Does the car have a FULL service history? Have you verified the stamps/invoices with the garages who did the work? What mileage is showing?

I thought 3 months was a bit short as well, I thought i would get at least 6 months- but it's a 3 month warranty and a year free service.
    I have only put a deposit on the car and havent received any books yet, the dealer told me it had a full joe duffy bmw service history but I will definitely be checking that out before I give any money. The mileage is 59000, and its 6 speed manual.

Ring Joe Duffy with the reg and they'll tell you whether/how often the car has been serviced there and what was done. Never take anything you're told about service history on trust, always double-check everything yourself. Do you have a link to the ad? Might help if we could see it. Also, are you sure you're happy with manual? Automatic suits a 523i much better, and manual cars are worth less and will be harder to resell. Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

I'd push for 6 months warranty. I managed that on an 02 5 series from a main dealer without breaking a sweat. Well worth the effort I'd think.

Re the warranty, you also need to get (and understand) an exact description in writing of what is and what is not covered, and for how long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭dragonsgates

Price is too high.

Sell your own and get an 06 520d instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

3 months warranty is the minimum legal requirement(AFAIK). The seller is not really giving you anything other than what he is forced to provide.

I always have the same argument with a dealer. They should provide a 6-12 month warranty and if they do not then are they suggesting there is something wrong with the car and they do not want to fix it which is the basis of my argument when car shopping.

ok i am gonna push for the 6 month warranty

WItrh regards selling my own car I am not willing to go down that route because truth be told I'd have too much to do to it before I could sell it privately to anyone.

This is the link - thank you all for replies.
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/5-Series/523-SE-F/200941195417169/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

You're prob looking at somewhere around 30mpg for a 523i manual at a guess. I'm basing that off my 525i auto which averages around the 25/26 mpg mark but that's mainly around Dublin. What you get out of the 523i will depend a lot on the type of driving you'll be doing.

Is that 59000 km or miles ? Switch over from mph to kph was 01/01/2005 iirc so instrument panel is most likely in kph unless it's a very early 05 model (or an import).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,276 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

be careful with sarsfields, dont take anything at face value and verify everything independently,

that car is not an easy sell so be sure you are happy with the trade value

Price is too high.

Sell your own and get an 06 520d instead
    The 2.0d is a rough old beast compared to a 6 cylinder petrol.

Are the tyres ok on that car? Slightly OT, but i'm not sure that i'd be happy with the '666' in the reg.;) In any case, i'd second Cyrus's advice when buying any car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,794 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

OP, I understand you love the car, but remember: there are ton's of car's for sale, and there is always, always, another one !

But, if you're happy with the numbers, and thecar itself is sound, then I see no reason for you to NOT have it!

As for fuel consumption, I can tell you this: my sis-in-law went from a 318 to a 323 (same 2.5 engine as you're looking at), auto transmission in both, and only noticed a 1 or 2mpg difference. The bigger engined car is much, much nicer to drive, and is in fact, a better engine. The 523 is a bit heavier/bigger, but I think the difference in mpg will be small, and I wouldn't let that influence me if the car is the one you want.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Is that 59000 km or miles ? Switch over from mph to kph was 01/01/2005 iirc so instrument panel is most likely in kph unless it's a very early 05 model (or an import).

59000 miles im nearly positive.

Oh stop about the reg, i m trying to ignore that!!!! theres a 3 at the end that cancels it out tho:D

those tyres are bald as a coot but If i purchase it will be fitted with new tyres. So basically I should just do my own research with joe duffy before I do anything yes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭dragonsgates

I love these cars to, but with the dakota cream or beige leather and the woodstrip accross the dash. These are €935+ tax a year too.

10 grand with your own is too much

its 895 tax a year- I was going to go for cream but you would want to be cleaning it the whole time!

How much do you think so I should be getting it for?? My own car has 120k miles on it

thanks for that galwaytt, makes me feel better on one aspect at least!!

Definitely verify the service history. I'd also consider having someone who knows what they're doing have a look at it - maybe the likes of AC Car Sales, they're a BMW specialist. Between the bald tyres and the tax being out since April i'd have my guard up, but it may well still be a good car.

how would i get in contact with them?? Do they come with you to the garage or something?
    It felt really nice to drive and we took it for a long test drive but I suppose you never really know

Here's a link to AC Car Sales: http://www.accarsales.ie/

I don't know how they'd do it, I suppose the best thing would be if the car went to them. Maybe talk to both AC and Sarsfields and see what you can work out. The 523i is a deeply impressive car, you just need to be completely sure that this particular one isn't hiding anything bad. AC are very good, i'd recommend them for service/maintenance if you do buy the car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

set of tyres for that could set you back a grand! if you were to use what should be on it,,,, its nice car but been petrol its costly to run, i too would rather th 520d,,they are refined,, not loud!

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mercedes-Benz/E-Class/220-CDI/200936195076543/advert?channel=CARS more sensible buy,,, will hold its value more,, cheaper to run,,, 2.1 diesel... 55mpg on open road,,, cheap tax,,,

argosy2006 wrote: »
    This one is really nice, but the wheel arches - some disaster :eek:.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mercedes-Benz/E-Class/220-CDI/200936195076543/advert?channel=CARS more sensible buy,,, will hold its value more,, cheaper to run,,, 2.1 diesel... 55mpg on open road,,, cheap tax,,,
    Why not go the whole hog and put the OP in a Passat 1.9TDI? Believe it or not, some of us would happily pay an extra €112pa on tax and more on fuel for a 6 cylinder petrol. If the OP wants to be in an E220CDI they can always hail a cab.

Seweryn wrote: »
    This one is really nice, but the wheel arches - some disaster :eek:.
    yea a tatty add on i agree

Anan1 wrote: »
    Why not go the whole hog and put the OP in a Passat 1.9TDI? Believe it or not, some of us would happily pay an extra €112pa on tax and more on fuel for a 6 cylinder petrol. If the OP wants to be in an E220CDI they can always hail a cab.
    a taxi come on, more passat taxis than any other car,, mercs are top brand, and lots are taxis too, but can say that about most cars,, not the bmw 523i ironically :D

The OP is looking at a 2.5 straight 6 petrol - not a bicycle, not a moped, and not (as far as I can see) a 4 cylinder diesel. By all means suggest alternatives, but keep them comparable.

they do compare, im sure he's not looking to race the bmw 523,,merc e class same size car,,,, in this class of car its 5 series v e class,,, its one or the other in this market,,, but yea he could go for pertol e class which would compare more to the 523i.
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mercedes-Benz/E-Class/240-Auto/200941195465415/advert?channel=CARS but most diesel models are quicker that petrol models these days,,, its not 1988,,
    diesels have more torque ,more mpg and as quick if not quicker that same model petrol version,,,,,,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

The W211 E-Class is a terrible car and certainly a low point in Merc history. The E60 5 Series is a far better buy imo.

That sounds like an opinion of the uninformed, to be honest.

argosy2006 - If the OP indicates an interest in a diesel Mercedes then fine - until then keep it on-topic.

Anan1 thanks for all your help- I am definitely going to go with a BMW mind so whoever was trying to shaft the merc on me - aint gona happen.

I purchased my last car in Aherns BMW dealership in Kerry and truth be told I'd love to go with them again, customer service in my opinion was second to none!
    Might give them a shout tomorrow to see if they can do anything for me. At the moment I am leaning more and more away from this particular car due to a bad unprofessional salesman and the running costs that may ensue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

Im sorry OP but 3months warranty on a 05 car is balls.
    Id of walked out of that garage at that, lovely car though.

Think the price there giving you is a bit steep, i know id rather drive that then the 520 just for the engine.

Id get it well checked over first by a specialist as somebody else said. i just smell something maybe wrong with it.

Best of luck with your search.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Garages can now buy 6 month warranties for 250 Euro approx, which insures them against problems provided they put the vehicles through their own version of the NCT. Why buy a car from someone only offering a 3 month warranty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,276 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

diesels have more torque ,more mpg and as quick if not quicker that same model petrol version,,,,,,

some examples of these quicker diesels please ?? ive rarely come across any, and long may it continue

@ the OP

if you do go through with this i would be specific about the type of tyres you want fitted, you can be sure they will fit some €50 linglongs if you let them to their own devices

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Cyrus wrote: »
    be careful with sarsfields, dont take anything at face value and verify everything independently,

that car is not an easy sell so be sure you are happy with the trade value

Would agree with this, I know a couple of people with "dodgy" experiences with them.

But its a nice car

ya I'm ringing them now again tomoro so will ask for the tyres I want and for a 6 month warranty. Have to get a car now, just back from garage with my old baby and it ain't good...
    What do ye think of the price? Is ten good with my own or not? I mean mine has 120k miles on it and is a 02...

Got onto Joe Duffys, no records of the car!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

That is a walk away case then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Did Sarsfield Motors have some sort of documentation (i.e. forged) to supprt the "service history"? If so, you (or someone here :D) should get onto the NCA and SIMI about it. There are threads here and on other sites about similar dodgy dealings with this crowd. The 3 month warranty is a joke tbh, I would expect 12 months from a reputable garage.

he told me he would have when I came to collect car.. cheeky fecker. I mean it was easy to trace it, dunno why he lied because according to mywheels.ie, the car had just one owner.. there must be something wrong with it. Ya suppose I should contact someone, save someone else from gettn taken for a ride. For now its time to go back on the car hunt:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Just be careful with accusations. My only concern here is boards.ie

I mean he *could* have been mistaken and meant to say Frank Keanes or Maxwell Motors

Fair point ! I have emailed a few more bmw dealerships to see if any of them can vouch for the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

he told me he would have when I came to collect car.. cheeky fecker. I mean it was easy to trace it, dunno why he lied because according to mywheels.ie, the car had just one owner.. there must be something wrong with it. Ya suppose I should contact someone, save someone else from gettn taken for a ride. For now its time to go back on the car hunt:(

get your deposit back before you say or do anything!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Fair point ! I have emailed a few more bmw dealerships to see if any of them can vouch for the car.

you will have to check the service book in the car and ring the garage in question. theres no point ringing Joe Duffys if the full service history is with Frank Keanes and vice versa, and etc etc if the history is with Maxwells or M&G or one of the many other BMW garages.

Is it a UK import?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭Moanin

Was the service book not in the car when you went to look at it? This is one of the first things I will look for before buying a second hand car.
    I then look for the stamps from where it was serviced and as said earlier ring the garage where the car was serviced to verify the history.

am nope there was no book! said it would be there when I picked it up, to be honest I'm just gona get my deposit back and leave it!! cheers to all the advice here!! ye're stars!!:D:D