Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

ROIs playoff for 2010 World Cup.. teams to avoid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,270 ✭✭✭✭briany

But we're also the only second placed team not to have lost. I think that counts for something don't you? It'll be those damn away goals again.....:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

heyjude wrote: »
    I just don't get this idea that we are the team that everyone wants.

We did well to finish second in the group.

On their day Russia, France and Portugal have the players to beat us but we just showed we can match the likes of Italy so while Greece may have a similar style to us, which won't suit, they are the most limited of our potential opponents and so give us the best chance to win a low scoring tie over two legs.

FYP

No 1st seed team should have a preference. Only 2nd seeds should want Greece. There is no easy game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

I'd rather we got France as we seem to raise our game when playing the big boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,137 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

The idea that we'd produce a flat performance if we draw Greece, and would therefore be better off against a better team (and the other 3 are undoubtedly all significantly better than Greece) is nonsense. Its a World Cup play-off, the players will be up for it regardless, we're best off drawing the worst team in the pot.

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Jam-Fly

Ireland will not get 'hammered' or 'destroyed' in the play offs. I don't care what team we get, I guarentee you we won't lose by more than 4 goals over the two legs.

Whatever about saying we lack creativity or we play quite dismal football, the one thing Ireland is not, is easy to beat. We have history (post recent and non-recent) of being a hard team to beat, even for the heavyweights of world football (Italy, Brazil, Holland, France, Germany, Spain etc.). We have a great home stadium that any team would fear coming to. We have a top manager that (regardless of what else you want to say about him) does seem to have good organisation. We have a great goalkeeper, a solid centre-half, and one or two players than can provide a bit of magic. All in all, we are far from a terrible team. We have to be considered decent at least.

I know people are saying that our performances have been dire despite getting results.
    Well, when Trap was first given the job, I was very optimistic. A world class manager we had in my eyes. Then, as the campaign got under way, and match after match, I was beginning to lose faith in Trap. He looked way too negative and stubborn. I started to think maybe it was just an old man, not willing to change his ways, taking the Ireland job as a pre-retirement gig. Well, now, at the end of 10 games, we have finished 2nd in our group (which, at the start, imo was the toughest group of the 9). Job achieved it would seem. Now I am beginning to wonder, maybe Trap knew what he was doing all along. He hasn't failed. In fact he has succeeded. So now, I'm thinking, maybe I should just give him the benefit of the doubt. He probably knows more about football than me. Maybe Trap knows what's best for Ireland and knows the best way to bring us to the World Cup. It's easy to question and criticise, but the simple facts are, he has gotten the results thus far. I know the performances haven't been up to scratch, but you can't deny the results. Whose to say that when the going get's tough, the Trap get's going? Maybe Trap will be able to pull something out of the bag in the play-offs if we need it.

Who knows, but I'm deciding to try and be confident and have faith in our manager.

Also, we will DEFINITELY get Portugal in the playoffs, and I think we'll beat them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Jam-Fly wrote: »
    I don't care what team we get, I guarentee you we won't lose by more than 4 goals over the two legs.

Phew, that's a weight off then.

What a relief ;)

Wonder should we start a seperate thread on the lead up to and on the draw itself? As far as I know the draw will be streamed live of the FIFA website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

briany wrote: »
    Wonder should we start a seperate thread on the lead up to and on the draw itself? As far as I know the draw will be streamed live of the FIFA website.

no, no you shouldn't.

Lol, honestly I wasn't going to. Really.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

Sorry if I'm being presumptious here but given that Greece would probably be the preferred choice of opponent of about 70%+ of Irish supporters I think. No disrespect to Greece intended - we'd still be the underdogs imo just not as big underdogs ;) Anyway out of the other 3 who next would you most like (dislike least) to get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I have a feeling this thread is gonna get merged but I suppose the next best matched team would be Portugal and that's saying something.

Frisbee wrote: »

I know it's getting largely covered in that thread, just thought a poll might be a bit of light-hearted interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

France. As I've stated before, like Italy, they are capable of buckling under the pressure. Domenech is a clown and they struggled during the group stages. Also we didn't do too bad against them last time out, especially away from home where we should have won.

Portugal would be tougher I reckon. They are a tighter unit than France. As for Russia-the thought of going to Moscow in the winter would be daunting for any team.

I'd have to say France, I just don't see them as big as a threat as they used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭8-10

It's amazing how Russia's fortunes have changed recently. A couple of years ago we'd have taken them instead of Greece as first choice. But they are quality these days. Pat's did ok playing one of their league teams in Europe out there though.

I gotta pick Portugal. I just think that France can always pull it out of the bag with their experience. Whereas Portugal have been very hot and cold this campaign, a bit like their star player who as we all know can go missing when it counts. Then again he can also destroy people. But he is coming off a dodgy looking injury.

I don't think we'd get anything out of Paris and that French defense and keeper. And Ribery + Benzema + Henry is frightening.

Of the possible places to go, I'm 100% YES to Lisbon.

8-10 wrote: »
    It's amazing how Russia's fortunes have changed recently. A couple of years ago we'd have taken them instead of Greece as first choice. But they are quality these days. Pat's did ok playing one of their league teams in Europe out there though.

I gotta pick Portugal. I just think that France can always pull it out of the bag with their experience. Whereas Portugal have been very hot and cold this campaign, a bit like their star player who as we all know can go missing when it counts. Then again he can also destroy people. But he is coming off a dodgy looking injury.

I don't think we'd get anything out of Paris and that French defense and keeper. And Ribery + Benzema + Henry is frightening.

Of the possible places to go, I'm 100% YES to Lisbon.

Personally I think it's a close call between Portugal and France. You rightly say Portugal have been hot and cold - but there's two problems with this assessment. One is that the hot part of Portugal's play has all been recently! Secondly I'm probably one of the few boardies who has seen some of Portugal's games, the game they lost to Denmark they did so in the last few minutes by giving away two goals after having dominated most of the game and in the draw to Albania they did everything but score tbh. They simply did not have that much luck early on rather than actually playing bad. So going on form I defo don't want Portugal, that's why I picked France - simply coz great players though they have, right now they are far from their potential best.

Saying that since I live in Portugal it'd be a right buzz for me if we drew them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Im sorry but i find these threads pointless. (yes i know im posting in it)

France Portugal and probably Russia would destroy us, dont fool yourselves!

Not being negative, just comparing the available players for each nation in that respect.

Im really hoping we can get Greece, but as the OP`s question excludes Greece ill go with Russia(weather permitting:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Threads merged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭Cake Man

If we're very lucky, we'll get Greece, if we're very unlucky we'll get Russia so I'd say we'll prob avoid those two. Therefore, I think it's going to be between France and Portugal. I dunno who I'd rather there, a Portugal side with the possibility of missing Ronaldo for the first leg or a French team that has a manager that could make some stupid decisions for them. I'd prob go for Portugal, just have a feeling they would be a bit more beatable.

My biggest fear tho and worst case scenario is that we get home advantage for the second and deciding leg and end up getting hit for 2 or 3 goals in the first leg away from home, thus more or less deciding the tie. Really hope that doesn't happen but IMO, if we are win the tie it'll surely be by a goal maybe 1-0 or 2-1.
    Can't wait for the draw tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

For the sake of any Oirish fans travelling I'd say Russia, they'll run riot on yous if you don't either hiberate in your hotel or stay will the oul police.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=htNElvJhxKs

I just wish the playoffs would get here, it's this month of waiting for them that sucks.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

I just wish the playoffs would get here, it's this month of waiting for them that sucks.

What dates are the games on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

luckylucky wrote: »
    Sorry if I'm being presumptious here but given that Greece would probably be the preferred choice of opponent of about 70%+ of Irish supporters I think. No disrespect to Greece intended - we'd still be the underdogs imo just not as big underdogs ;) Anyway out of the other 3 who next would you most like (dislike least) to get?

I prob go France myself.

Really dont want Russia we just wont get result out there

14th and 18th of November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

For the sake of any Oirish fans travelling I'd say Russia, they'll run riot on yous if you don't either hiberate in your hotel or stay will the oul police.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=htNElvJhxKs

Whats with the 'oirish' reference?:confused:

Really? I didn't know the Russians had such an element. Moscow seems like an unwelcoming enough place without having to worry about getting your head kicked in. Then again, you could get your head kicked in anywhere if you take a wrong turn. Would be nice not to have it done in sub-zero temperatures though.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Really? I didn't know the Russians had such an element. Moscow seems like an unwelcoming enough place without having to worry about getting your head kicked in. Then again, you could get your head kicked in anywhere if you take a wrong turn. Would be nice not to have it done in sub-zero temperatures though.:rolleyes:

ON the bright side, swelling would be at a minimum :D

Yeah. Well maybe a punch in the face wouldn't be so bad when it's already numb from the cold. If it is the case that there is a significant hooligan element in Russia, then obviously I hope we don't draw them (even more so).

for second taught it was Bohs ultras v Rovers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I'm staggered that 24 people (so far) would have France as their second preference. They have several world class outfield players and we have a grand total of zero.

O I agree but lets put it this way I rather play France in Paris where we might have decent Irish crowd at it, then going to cold and hostile atmosphere in freezing temperatures in Moscow.

I think myself the away leg is massive and as little chance we might nick result or away goial in Paris think we have zero chance of getting result in Moscow imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,519 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I am not going to get into a huge debate with you about it here if you disagree but Given, for me, is easily world class.

We have a number of other class premiership performers at least in Dunne, O'Shea, Keane and Duff. Its a label which has never been held higher in esteem than it is right now due to the strength of the league.

Nevertheless, I don't want to go anywhere near a team with Henry, Benzema, Ribery, Malouda and Anelka in it either,

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Yeah people are completely underestimating France imo. Henry, Ribery, Benzema, Anelka and co. No thanks. I know their manager is a halfwit and he'll probably leave a few of their best players on the bench but they would still be horribly dangerous.

Portugal have fewer scary players, they're my second favourite.

What's the dream scenario for Ireland in the playoffs anyway? An away leg first with a nil all and then say a one nil or two one victory at home? The fact of the matter is that Ireland, judging on current form and habits, are guaranteed to give away at least one goal to the opposition so I really hope that whatever happens they can nick an away goal because it could just make the difference.

noodler wrote: »
    I am not going to get into a huge debate with you about it here if you disagree but Given, for me, is easily world class.

We have a number of other class premiership performers at least in Dunne, O'Shea, Keane and Duff. Its a label which has never been held higher in esteem than it is right now due to the strength of the league.

Nevertheless, I don't want to go anywhere near a team with Henry, Benzema, Ribery, Malouda and Anelka in it either,

If you read what I wrote, I said "They have several world class outfield players and we have a grand total of zero."

There is no greater fan of Given than me but he's our only world class player. I think you agree with me on that. I agree the names you mentioned are class Premiership performers (though I think Duff is not what he once was) but there is a major gulf in class when you compare them to some of the French players.
    Pro. F wrote:
    Yeah people are completely underestimating France imo. Henry, Ribery, Benzema, Anelka and co. No thanks. I know their manager is a halfwit and he'll probably leave a few of their best players on the bench but they would still be horribly dangerous.

Portugal have fewer scary players, they're my second favourite.

I agree with you. Especially with Ronaldo looking like he's out of the first leg. If it's Greece of these guys I reckon we have a decent chance. If it's the other two...well, I'll be praying for a miracle.

There's only four days or so between the two legs, any chance that Ronaldo would be out of the second one as well? Ronaldo on his day could be a difference maker on his day, no? I saw that clip of him diving on youtube but the ref lets play go on and when the camera pans back, Ronaldo is up and fit as a fiddle. Bloody cheater.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Whats with the 'oirish' reference?:confused:

from urbandictionary.com
    1. oirish
    fake irish, plastic paddy
    good way of describing Irish Americans
    never been there, never will go there

Yeah. Well maybe a punch in the face wouldn't be so bad when it's already numb from the cold. If it is the case that there is a significant hooligan element in Russia, then obviously I hope we don't draw them (even more so).

Russia have a huge "hooligan element" as yous like to call it, to them it's a passion for their clubs and their country tbh.

But ye it's one of the dodgiest places for any club or side to go to place a match, just find a United fan who heads over there on Wednesday, they'll tell you either they had to be confined to their hotel or they just went with the police escorts. (also ask if they seen a Shels scarf over there, swapped a Shels scarf for a CSKA Moscow Hooligans scarf there a few months back with a Russian:D).
    for second taught it was Bohs ultras v Rovers ;)

Ye what now!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭gary82

I had a google around and can't seem to find out. And will it be on TV or viewable online?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭gary82

Thanks!!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

copacetic wrote: »
    1pm tomorrow, on rte.ie and on TV during one o'clock news.
    Is that live or they just replaying it then? Have break in college from 12-2 so would be nice to watch it :)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I suppose its only a question of the size of the groan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

mike65 wrote: »
    I suppose its only a question of the size of the groan.

Have a bit of faith lads.
    It may not be pretty, but they're actually better than most people think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Tomorrow now lads, all will be revealed!:)

I reckon it will be France. Place your bets now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

France.

Portugal or Greece I guess. They're the two teams who we stand a good chance against relatively speaking. If all else fails, anyone but Russia. Oh please anyone but Russia. What are the chances that FIFA will be accused of rigging the draw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

What are the chances that FIFA will be accused of rigging the draw?

My mole in Zurich has reported the following to me.

"Abramovich has paid FIFA mega millions to guarantee Bosnia with the 2nd leg in Moscow.
    Platini has used his political influence to get Slovenia for France but doesn't have enough influence to get the 2nd leg at home, thats still 50/50.

Fifa want Ronaldo at the World Cup and have therefore given Portugal a choice between Ireland and Ukraine. Portugal have decided to pick..."

And my mole had finished pouring the wine at that stage and had to leave the room. :mad:

On soccer republic they have little press dosiers profiling what the press of other countries are saying about the possibilty of drawing Ireland in the playoffs and they all say pretty much the same thing: Trapattoni, tenacious, premiership players etc. etc. I bet the top three seeded teams would love to draw Ireland given their history in playoffs and their habit of giving away goals at the death of games. A brief history of this last habit: Holland(2000), Macedonia(1999), Croatia(1999), Israel(2005), Slovakia(2007), San Marino(2008,lucky escape), Wales(2007) and those are just off the top off my head, I'm sure there's a few more that could be added to that list.