Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Hawtin and Dubfire kicked out of Berghain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

saw dubfire mention it on twitter this morning. calling the bouncers pricks (quite a rare thing for an american - i thought 'douchebag' was their word for prick).

it's not the first time I've heard of problems on the door of that place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭acman

FLYNN-DOG wrote: »

Wow...so much for the "do you know who I am" card eh! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Wouldn't have happened to me.

that goes without saying!!!

you've gotta love the german efficiency of it. apparently a curtain fell down behind the booth and loads of people got kicked out. No exceptions for Messrs Hawtin and 'Fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭FLYNN-DOG

Sounds like a brilliant club but completely up its own arse. Whatever about Hawtin being a bit of a gayer these days, he's still a legend and you can't be doing that!

As for Dubfire, rumours that he was making a rinsing sound when leaving the club can't be confirmed at this stage

haha. the techno comedy stylings of flynn dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Love it. I didnt make it to Berghain when I was in Berlin was having too good a time in Watergate. Some friends who went were initially refused but when they didnt give any agro about it and said thanks to the bouncers they changed their minds and let them in. Said it was amazing.

I'm sure Hawtins crew were acting the dick and its nice to see that they got treated the same way as anyone else who was acting the dick would have got.

I'm sure Hawtins crew were acting the dick and its nice to see that they got treated the same way as anyone else who was acting the dick would have got.[/QUOTE]

I dunno, u have to grant some people a sort of immunity in this situation. It's like kicking pele out of the stands of a world cup final ffs!

i dunno, Pele doesn't seem to have a Native Instruments endorsement deal and his own clothing line.

jtsuited wrote: »
    i dunno, Pele doesn't seem to have a Native Instruments endorsement deal and his own clothing line.

He has the viagra one...way better!

He does however endorse an erectile dysfunction cure.
    30522655-1.jpg

haha vinyl junkie beaten by flynn dog.

Not fair, I had to look up the dictionary.

I dunno, u have to grant some people a sort of immunity in this situation. It's like kicking pele out of the stands of a world cup final ffs!

Yeah but the thing about Berghain is that no one is a superstar in there. Everyone is to be treated the same. They want people to go there to dance and enjoy the music if you dont look like thats what you are there to do they wont let you in. Thats why the door policy is so strict if you look like someone who is just coming to be seen there or to say you went you wont be allowed.

Same with people acting the maggot and thinking they are above everyone else they dont tolerate it. They are trying to maintain the unique vibe that has made it the so called best club in the world and if Richie's gang of liggers and pariahs were ruining that for the regulars they should be turfed out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 OV

Hopefully Dubfire was given a thorough kicking outside.

The story about Hawtins groupies pulling the curtain down is probably not too far from the truth. He does like to surround himself with plenty of gob****es, no doubt waving their hands in the air to another Dubfire 'banger'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Was there in February, phenomenal place, hadn't experienced anything like panorama bar. Only two of us out of a group of about 16 got in (we split up into pairs), class night though, one of the best nights out I've ever had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭acman

eZe^ wrote: »
    Was there in February, phenomenal place, hadn't experienced anything like panorama bar. Only two of us out of a group of about 16 got in (we split up into pairs), class night though, one of the best nights out I've ever had.

Why (if you dont mind me asking), were the others not let in? Do the bouncers there have the same "doorman's code" as we do in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

One of my mates brothers and his friends were refused when the bouncers were told they were Irish - perhaps its to do with alcohol, or that they were only in their early 20s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

Notoriously difficult to get into!

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭brianc27

most of the clubs in berlin dont want tourists in there, they refused us once at first but we told them we just wanted to go in and dance, named all the djs that were playing that night, told them we came over from dublin especially for it, they let us in then.

its good that hawtin and co got ****ed out, if one of their "crew" pulled down a curtain like that then they were obviously acting the cvnt and should be thrown out like any one else would, hopefully dubfire got a good hiding on his way out too.

I agree, On a side note however whats your beef with dubfire?

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭brianc27

he's sh!t

Fair enough

acman wrote: »
    Why (if you dont mind me asking), were the others not let in? Do the bouncers there have the same "doorman's code" as we do in Ireland?

It's weird really, they have cameras monitoring the entire queue, and I think they may look to see what your general demeanor is as you start making your way through it. We just kept our heads down the entire time, kept speaking English to a minimum (apparently they are less likely to leave in foreigners). There is no real dress code, we were wearing normal clothes like.

It's really weird, and I guess their selectivity means that they get more and more people trying to get in for the experience, which is a bit **** when there are alot of people who get turned away who genuinely want to go and listen to some awesome music in a cool atmosphere. Panoramabar was my favourite part anyway, just a few dj's playing some nice house music and alot of spaced out Berliners moving to the beats. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Aww, I love the Berghain, except them bouncers who nearly kicked me out for having a sneaky film of the Panorama bar going off at 5pm on a Sunday Afternoon.......

:p

No one is a superstar there in fairness!

Fieldog wrote: »
    Aww, I love the Berghain, except them bouncers who nearly kicked me out for having a sneaky film of the Panorama bar going off at 5pm on a Sunday Afternoon.......

No one is a superstar there in fairness!

they're pretty strict on cameras right??

just asking because of some DJ T wrote about it in his tour blog.
    and the fact you rarely see videos/photos of what's regarded as the best club in the world by many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 OV

Yeah they're taken off you at the door and stored in a locker.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIuRWAgO3Cs

One of the only vids ive seen online of the place, the bouncer just made me delete what I filmed then politely told me he'd kick the **** out of me if he caught me again..... and I did try film it really on-the-sly!

I've never seen a scarier man than that vampire looking bouncer with the tattoo's on his face, he looks like he is from the gears of war games or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭gsparx

sounds like a ****ing nightmare place.

gsparx wrote: »
    sounds like a ****ing nightmare place.

Go there and come back to me, you'll see all sorts of sh1t in the place, ive been to what I thought were the wildest clubs in the world, (DC10, Amnesia, Razzmatazz etc) then I went there, wilder than africa!

It was described to me as exactly what your mother is hoping you wont be doing in Berlin.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭gsparx

Ahh, that puts a different perspective on it. So the bouncers are trying to keep that "wild" vibe going by not letting in a more conservative or boozed-up tourist crowd perhaps?
    I have a couple of friends living in Berlin.....planning a visit to the city at some point.

gsparx wrote: »
    Ahh, that puts a different perspective on it. So the bouncers are trying to keep that "wild" vibe going by not letting in a more conservative or boozed-up tourist crowd perhaps?
    I have a couple of friends living in Berlin.....planning a visit to the city at some point.

Absolutely,

They vet you on the CCTV before you have even got to the door, then when you do bang on the door they have a wee chat and see if your alright, then let you in, its kind of like the Mc Gruders of Berlin!

I wont even go into some of the stuff I saw that day, ive only been once, got in at 5pm on a Sunday afternoon, place was going off since Friday night and hadnt stopped..... madness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Jaysus that club sounds like hell, you wouldn't get clubs like the Hacienda back in the day (arguably the greatest club of all time and immensely popular) having a door policy like that, the POD circa 1994 used to be ars*holes and only let D4 heads in, or unless you were "well known";) ,although having said all that of of Hawtin and Dubfire may have been throwing their weight around.

Fieldog wrote: »
    Absolutely,

They vet you on the CCTV before you have even got to the door, then when you do bang on the door they have a wee chat and see if your alright, then let you in, its kind of like the Mc Gruders of Berlin!

I wont even go into some of the stuff I saw that day, ive only been once, got in at 5pm on a Sunday afternoon, place was going off since Friday night and hadnt stopped..... madness!

Couldnt imagine it being much more than monged out ket heads and two lads sucking off each other in the corner....

(this post aint going to go down well, but really, some of you are making this place out to be utter bliss)

meh seems reasonable to me. strict door policies need to be enforced in clubs like berghain.

1/3 of residentadvisor members had a look at this story online yesterday - scary!

Also, Jonny, a bit like minimal techno - you'll only know what it's like if u tried to get in. No hardcore breaks nights in the berghain unfortunately though....

1/3 of residentadvisor members had a look at this story online yesterday - scary!

Also, Jonny, a bit like minimal techno - you'll only know what it's like if u tried to get in. No hardcore breaks nights in the berghain unfortunately though....

You wont hear Hardcore Breaks in many clubs, its an underground scene and i hope it stays that way (although i realise you were being sarcastic)

I've zero interest in these type of clubs with elitist door policies, im from the old skool where everyone regardless of age,sex,colour,class or creed came together and had the time of their lives where there was no pathetic door policy..end of story.

jonny68 wrote: »
    You wont hear Hardcore Breaks in any clubs, its an underground scene and i hope it stays that way (although i realise you were being sarcastic)

I've zero interest in these type of clubs with elitist door policies, im from the old skool where everyone regardless of age,sex,colour,class or creed came together and had the time of their lives where there was no pathetic door policy..end of story.

fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Places that have no door policy whatsoever quickly become pikeyville.

Ah so thats why old skool, Trance, Hard House etc. atracts so much scum.

Well, ive never heard a single scummer in my life listen to Trance etc that isnt commercial bollox. Vocal trance is usually their cuppa....

Look at Breakcore, far, far more intense than any hardhouse / gabber, yet not a single scummer listens to it? Same goes for Hardtechno really....

The majority of folk that go to them types of gigs are not people I would like in my living room. Thats what is great about so called underground minimal and techno nights they can be enjoyed with good people.

Well, ive never heard a single scummer in my life listen to Trance etc that isnt commercial bollox. Vocal trance is usually their cuppa....
    you're joking???

trance has such a bad name in this country that most venues won't go near it with a barge pole. anything hard dance/trance related brings the peasants in their droves. and with that comes the inevitable stabbings etc.

the local breed of scum around my area are of course big oldskool heads too.

oldskool to what extent?

Doubt any of them are 808 state heads etc....

Whatever oldskool they listen to is just the Deadmau5 of their day....

oldskool to what extent?

Doubt any of them are 808 state heads etc....
    eh funny you mention that, as they're all obsessed with that stuff. some of their older brothers were big sides heads 'back in the day' and it seems to have rubbed off on them.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

jtsuited wrote: »
    eh funny you mention that, as they're all obsessed with that stuff. some of their older brothers were big sides heads 'back in the day' and it seems to have rubbed off on them.

Good to know I'm in the 'scum' camp now... Must remember that next time I listen to 808 State :pac:

eh Old Skool doesn't attract "scum" you'll rarely if ever see any sort of fight or anything of the sort at an old skool event, i cant speak for Trance or Hard House.

Davei141 wrote: »
    Places that have no door policy whatsoever quickly become pikeyville.

Well unfortunately thesedays that would be true in a lot of cases, however that doesn't mean a club has be to elitist like this club which takes it to the extreme, you can easily identify undesirables and refuse them entry.

Give me an underground club anyday with friendly people and no elitist door policy.