Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hawtin and Dubfire kicked out of Berghain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

jonny68 wrote: »

I've zero interest in these type of clubs with elitist door policies, .

the berghain is far from elitest (well from what i seen anyway), its predominently a gay club, there are rooms were men go and openly ride each otehr in the place, fair share of muscle men and leather trousers, the people who run the club dont want people coming in who would get drunk and act the cvnt, i got the impression they really just want people who are into techno and are open minded and if on first impressions you dont fit that criteria then you wont be getting in, when i was there there was a group of 2 or 3 lads wearing shirts and shoes, didnt look like they were into anything other then drinking, needless to say they didnt get in, then there was 15 of us, been out in clubs most the weekend, looked like we hadnt slept a wink (bar me i slept loads) had no trouble after a little chat at the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Hawk Wing

Planning on heading here Sunday morning around 11ish, what time does it finish up around in the evening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭francois

Felixdhc wrote: »
    Good to know I'm in the 'scum' camp now... Must remember that next time I listen to 808 State :pac:

Indeed Felix, you filthy knacker :D
    Gotta love some of the cliched generalizations being bandied about on this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

dont forget to hit Tresor!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

brianc27 wrote: »
    the berghain is far from elitest (well from what i seen anyway), its predominently a gay club, there are rooms were men go and openly ride each otehr in the place, fair share of muscle men and leather trousers, the people who run the club dont want people coming in who would get drunk and act the cvnt, i got the impression they really just want people who are into techno and are open minded and if on first impressions you dont fit that criteria then you wont be getting in, when i was there there was a group of 2 or 3 lads wearing shirts and shoes, didnt look like they were into anything other then drinking, needless to say they didnt get in, then there was 15 of us, been out in clubs most the weekend, looked like we hadnt slept a wink (bar me i slept loads) had no trouble after a little chat at the door.

well if there are gay men having sex there there's not a snowballs chance in hell id be into going anywhere like this, ive nothing against gays but not a chance would i be into somewhere like this,jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

well if there are gay men having sex there there's not a snowballs chance in hell id be into going anywhere like this, ive nothing against gays but not a chance would i be into somewhere like this,jaysus

looks like the liberal spirit of the rave generation does have it's limits.

Lol, you dont have to indulge if you dont want to Johnny,its not that in your face, this club and Tresor are possibly the best clubs in the world, Ibiza,the infamous Hacienda and the likes are nothing compared to these places RAW, original, ground breaking music in savage venues!!! as well as being in possibly the best city in Europe, check it out you won't regret it.:)

empirix wrote: »
    dont forget to hit Tresor!!

I'm a regular there and lived in Berlin in the mid 90's when the old one was the best club in the world. Its still class, the dungeon is mental! a bit too hard for me these days, but its all good! Prefer Globus now at my age. I've heard a lot about Berghain and want to check it out, but I cannot stand this bull**** with hassle on the door. I have no problem queueing for a while, but to be rejected by some tosser who thinks he is God without even being spoken to is too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

Just to give you a laugh. I nearly picked up Hot Press in Easons the other day after a quick glance at the cover, to read the Richie Hawtin interview:

5889854_33-20-Andrew-Maxwell-Cover.jpg

Vs.

RHTraktor_minus.jpg

Seperated at birth perhaps?

Lol, you dont have to indulge if you dont want to Johnny,its not that in your face, this club and Tresor are possibly the best clubs in the world, Ibiza,the infamous Hacienda and the likes are nothing compared to these places RAW, original, ground breaking music in savage venues!!! as well as being in possibly the best city in Europe, check it out you won't regret it.:)

seriously man think about what you are saying:eek::eek::eek: The Hacienda is widely renowned as being the best and most famous club of all time, no other club with the exception of Studio 54 (different era) comes close, i do wanna go to Brlin though, ive ben to Hamburg, Frankurt (briefly) and Munich (also briefly) but Berlin is on the list of places to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

seriously man think about what you are saying:eek::eek::eek: The Hacienda is widly renowned as being the best and most famous club of all time, no other club with the exception of Studio 54 (different era) comes close

A little bit of an exaggeration surely? Widely renowned amongst the Old skool ravers surely, but you'd be hard pressed to find a dance enthusiast under 25 who would say that the Hacienda was better than Berghain.

I mean, do you expect people who were never old enough to go to the Hacienda are going to say that it's the best of all time?No.I'd say in 10-15 years it will be remembered as a fantastic club but hardly "The best of all time".Same with Berghain.

A little bit of an exaggeration surely? Widely renowned amongst the Old skool ravers surely, but you'd be hard pressed to find a dance enthusiast under 25 who would say that the Hacienda was better than Berghain.

I mean, do you expect people who were never old enough to go to the Hacienda are going to say that it's the best of all time?No.I'd say in 10-15 years it will be remembered as a fantastic club but hardly "The best of all time".Same with Berghain.

What you fail to realise is that The Hacienda was at the forefront of the Acid House scene and is widely recognised as being the catalyst that brought Rave to the masses,it is recognised as the best ever club,even big name DJ's will acknowledge that, it wasn't just a club, it was an institution that people to this day (even those who were never there regardless of age) talk about, there have been books, films, documentrys, countless DJ Mixes, worldwide tours,etc,etc all about the Hacienda, so if you are seriously trying to suggest some new "hip club in Berlin) is better than a legendary club like the Hacienda then my friend im sorry but that is amongst the most craziest things ive heard regardless of your age!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

What you fail to realise is that The Hacienda was at the forefront of the Acid House scene and is widely recognised as being the catalyst that brought Rave to the masses,it is recognised as the best ever club,even big name DJ's will acknowledge that, it wasn't just a club, it was an institution that people to this day (even those who were never there regardless of age) talk about, there have been books, films, documentrys, countless DJ Mixes, worldwide tours,etc,etc all about the Hacienda, so if you are seriously trying to suggest some new "hip club in Berlin) is better than a legendary club like the Hacienda then my friend im sorry but that is amongst the most craziest things ive heard regardless of your age!!!

everything you wrote there can be applied to Tresor if you replace acid house with techno and id be pretty sure theres an equivalent club for every major genre of dance music, so saying it is recognised as the best club ever is stretching it a bit far. Fair enough you think its the best club ever but it certainly is not THE best club there has ever been, i dont think theres any club that can take that mantle because there is not 1 club that has/is catered to everyones tastes.

I'll agree you to an extent that Tresor could be recognised as one of the best ever Rave clubs no doubt about it and Germany and Belgium when it comes to Tchno in Europe was/is what's it's at, but the Hacienda wasn't just a club, it was the catalyst for the scene we have today,it's not just me though it's widely recognised by everyne from top DJ's to media to normal punters.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Hawk Wing wrote: »
    Planning on heading here Sunday morning around 11ish, what time does it finish up around in the evening?

Bout 2am on Monday morning when it finished the time I was there.....

:p

Then everyone went to some other club!

the venue alone blows the Hacienda away! mental

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

were you in the Hacienda?

nowhere beats The Hacienda period........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭FLYNN-DOG

nowhere beats The Hacienda period........

Where u there jonny?

No but i seen it on tv:p, have you been to Bergain, i cant imagine another club topping such a venue,it would be just to mental!

Seriously, tell me what the fuck mental about it? If your homosexual it goes without saying but in fairness, you, like most people in this thread, are making it out to be some sort of heaven on earth. Its actually pissing me off - acting like a bunch of little girls yapping on about some new hip club....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 john2984

Does the terrace at Space come near either of these 2 clubs?

Surely it must

No big deal I found. Very good no doubt. For sheer atmosphere, The old Tresor, Sir Henrys and the likes of Space were just as good imo, different strokes for different folks and all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 john2984

Yea personally dont know how anything could outdo the terrace at Space. But i'd be willing to investigate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

john2984 wrote: »
    Yea personally dont know how anything could outdo the terrace at Space. But i'd be willing to investigate!
    http://www.ryanair.ie

trust me i am anything but hip, i just like alternative electronica and venues, i hate commercialism period and that represents Ibiza for me, Berghain looks like a delapidated building(power plant) but inside is pretty cool, - i just think its cool and i am very far from gay
    http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/a5/Berghain.jpg
    http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/73/In_Berghain.jpg
    http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2348/2410474549_c6454a4b39.jpg

i actually prefer tresor myself
    tresor:

http://margaritasdigitales.googlepages.com/TresorModem.1.jpg
    http://www.beatportal.com/uploads/news/tresor_1.jpg
    http://www.angela-mahr.de/webseiten/images/stories/screenshots/tresor_berlin/tresor_berlin_1.jpg

tresor_berlin_1.jpg

Im honestly taken aback...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

Jesus!

Likewise.

Im going to have to make a trip over to Berlin. Only been to Germany once and that was for Time Warp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭acman

Kinda reminds me of the "Blood Bath" nightclub scene from that Blade movie:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Holy crap those photos are amazing, definitely want to try to get over and experience it for myself

Just booked for January - anyone know of any good clubs which are open mid week? Im heading from Mon-Thurs....cheers folks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Bet the bouncer had just bought this T-Shirt: http://media.fanfire.com/images/product/large/U2T/U2T47696.jpg
    What you reckon there are two U2 fans in the world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

What you reckon there are two U2 fans in the world?

More the standing up to rock starts bit...or did you decide my joke wasn't funny enough to acknowledge? :(

there will be a lot of clubs open, i have really only went at weekends, amazing city, very interesting and lots to do during the day,also great for shopping and of course the one and only schneiders beuro - its a very big city though also has some excellent strip clubs:D but seriously - do some research before going over on what clubs you want to go to etc,it will save a lot of hassle

Looks very raw and industrial the way i like it:D although i think their door policy is elitist (are they trying to be like Studio 54 or something:p:D)

there will be a lot of clubs open, i have really only went at weekends, amazing city, very interesting and lots to do during the day,also great for shopping and of course the one and only schneiders beuro - its a very big city though also has some excellent strip clubs:D but seriously - do some research before going over on what clubs you want to go to etc,it will save a lot of hassle

I hear it's cheap in Berlin too is that right?

Defo on my list of places to go:cool:

More the standing up to rock starts bit...or did you decide my joke wasn't funny enough to acknowledge? :(

Jaysus :rolleyes:

Think you need a dyson to get rid of the sand from your vagina

changed flights, figured why not, dying to go to Berghain and hopefully get in! If anyone wants a return trip to berlin in jan for free i'd be more than happy to give it away to someone who'd want to go...

great piece on RA on berghain today by the way.....essential reading!

I hear it's cheap in Berlin too is that right?

Defo on my list of places to go:cool:

well everywhere is cheaper than here!!! it is cheap but not overly so, beer is cheap enough if you stick to the local brews, clothes are cheaper too, might be say 20 quid difference in a pair of diesel jeans etc,good transport system etc but again the place is huge,most of the nightlife(youd be interested in) takes place in the east

,most of the nightlife(youd be interested in) takes place in the east[/QUOTE]

There is a hardcore breaks scene in Berlin??!

(couldn't resist)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

FLYNN-DOG wrote: »
    great piece on RA on berghain today by the way.....essential reading!

yeah great read.
    the place is really starting to have a huge mythology build around it now. sounds awesome even if it is very very very full on.

gorgeous looking building.

i can only presume ure rippin the piss about the gorgeous building thing!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭DannyKing

Are we all forgetting the Paradise Garage????