Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCG Projects '10

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Rossie17

JerCotter7 wrote: »
    Yea should be nice to have one project out of the way. Then I can concentrate on the other 3. We don't get the DCG project back after we are done do we? I'll be sad to see it go. Although I would probably never look at it again after but when you put so much effort into one thing :(

Your teacher saves it in the "scanned assignment" so you could print it off again but I dont think you get then originals back again. Maybe you do, Im not sure really.

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭Rich1691

Rossie17 wrote: »
    Your teacher saves it in the "scanned assignment" so you could print it off again but I dont think you get then originals back again. Maybe you do, Im not sure really.

You dont get back the originals after, but they should all be scanned in anyway so you can just copy the folder to a Memory Stick and take it home if you want it!

Rich1691 wrote: »
    You dont get back the originals after, but they should all be scanned in anyway so you can just copy the folder to a Memory Stick and take it home if you want it!

Im definately doing that, some of my mod development drawings took 2-3 days to complete so I cant just say "here you have them" :P

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭slickmcvic

7explodedview.jpg
    ...did you get it back together alright JER7?!
    Snowyy wrote: »
    PHOTOREALISTIC.jpg

let me no what Yous think

...BRUTAL...shockin bad!!...your photobucket account gives you away BTW!

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Snowyy

i know its shocking its because this teacher in my school is useless on solid works and i didn't know how to do anything + photobucket account is about 4 years old ha

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭3_BOoYA_X

slickmcvic wrote: »
    7explodedview.jpg
    ...did you get it back together alright JER7?!

...BRUTAL...shockin bad!!...your photobucket account gives you away BTW!

Ah here thats just harsh ...:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Bubblebeard

I ended up doing a concept design instead of just modifying what i already did , the fecking Wii remote and all ! -_-
    Tbh , i know ill get ripped outta it for this but the projects a little sexist ! Lads are the ones who play with video games and not girls , even one of my teachers that i never agree with said so :E

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭hevsuit

...................................................................................................................................................................niiiicccceee:D

I ended up doing a concept design instead of just modifying what i already did , the fecking Wii remote and all ! -_-
    Tbh , i know ill get ripped outta it for this but the projects a little sexist ! Lads are the ones who play with video games and not girls , even one of my teachers that i never agree with said so :E

Well I dunno. I never played a nintendo DSi before I modelled it on solidworks. Maybe for part B more lads would know what needs to be modified I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 danazzy

Rossie17 wrote: »
    Well I dunno. I never played a nintendo DSi before I modelled it on solidworks. Maybe for part B more lads would know what needs to be modified I suppose.
    DAMN!!! I'm really jealous wit da man who made the psp... lol It's perfect to perfection.
    I feel like sharing mine as well, :D I've seen one of my mate (from my class) has put his as well. (Thanks for the inspiration KEV ;)

Here goes my Wii Mote:

http://img706.imageshack.us/img706/1657/wiimoteexploded.png
    http://img684.imageshack.us/img684/7727/wiimotewhite.jpg

critics are welcomed

Just as a matter of interest how many people decided to do a modification instead of a concept?

Rich1691 wrote: »
    Just as a matter of interest how many people decided to do a modification instead of a concept?
    i don't know what you'd call mine, i'm confused if u'd call it a concept or a modification
    i used some of the buttons from my wii mote, otherwise it's completely new idea

I did mods.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

danazzy wrote: »
    DAMN!!! I'm really jealous wit da man who made the psp... lol It's perfect to perfection.
    I feel like sharing mine as well, :D I've seen one of my mate (from my class) has put his as well. (Thanks for the inspiration KEV ;)

Here goes my Wii Mote:

http://img706.imageshack.us/img706/1657/wiimoteexploded.png
    http://img684.imageshack.us/img684/7727/wiimotewhite.jpg

critics are welcomed

Nice job. I like what you did with the buttons, i just did them individually and stuck them into extruded cuts, because i kept the "top" and "bottom" all one piece and did a fairly accurate cutting around the sides to give the illusion of it.

Also, you're "A" text is on the top of the button, it's actually on the bottom. Small thing, will probably go unnoticed, but the fact the letter A is the same from and back you can easily stick it on the bottom too.

I didn't even attempt the bottom battery cover, I hope they don't pick me up on that...

Sorry I didn't get the part about the 'A' text :D pardon me
    do you mind posting some pictures of yours please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 hmmmbruff

I did a gameboy colour for output 4 what do ye think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Reillyman

jabn wrote: »
    I have been out of school for ages due to personal reasons and I only started the project last week. I am ok on everything except the handles of this controller http://www.kustompcs.co.uk/acatalog/4707.jpg? How did anyone get the curves right? I would really appreciate any help:confused::(

You'd need to do a "Loft".

It's a difficult enough feature to get the hang of but great for things link that. Basically just make a plane where the bottom of the handles are and draw the shape of the handle as it cuts that plane. Do this up along the handle where the shape changes.

Well , bice big fail for me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Annie2

I did the psp and i cant think of any modifications that i could make to it because it has everything. Has anyone any suggestions. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 28 danbo115

Annie2 wrote: »
    I did the psp and i cant think of any modifications that i could make to it because it has everything. Has anyone any suggestions. Thanks

Second Analogue stick so you can play first person shooters on it. Thats one

Fair play ! Its awesome :O

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Mmcd

Annie2 wrote: »
    Built in microwave - itd be difficult but Id buy it!

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

danbo115 wrote: »

Nice. And here is my part B. I did it all today since my other part B was too simply. Now I need to sketch it.

http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/995/5photorealisticpartb.jpg

http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/8240/4explodedpartb.jpg

Nice. And here is my part B. I did it all today since my other part B was too simply. Now I need to sketch it.

sim will be complaining haha

I like the DS. Its funny how you have extrudes for the volume indicators:p, nice background too.

Very similar design to the PSP Go with a few extra buttons stuck on!:D
    Still though, I have no doubt it'll get you the marks, especially if you have explained how you came up with it....

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭IrishKev

Has anyone gone over the limit of 14 pages for Higher or 12 for Ordinary? I think I might have one or two too much, do the examiners pay much attention to it? And does the front cover saying "Student Assignment 2010 (Exam No.) and the pics of Part A and B count as a page?

Btw JerCotter you did that in ONE DAY???? :O Fair play :D

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

IrishKev wrote: »
    Has anyone gone over the limit of 14 pages for Higher or 12 for Ordinary? I think I might have one or two too much, do the examiners pay much attention to it? And does the front cover saying "Student Assignment 2010 (Exam No.) and the pics of Part A and B count as a page?

Btw JerCotter you did that in ONE DAY???? :O Fair play :D

Started about 1 when we finished our tests. Finished half an hour before uploading and I just had to wait for it to render.

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭IrishKev

That is too good, A1 without a shadow of a doubt once your portfolio is any half bit decent :D