Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cold Distilling??

• 13-10-2009 7:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭

I've been brewing my own beer for about 8 months now. At a party another brewer described cold distilling to me. The theory is that as alcohol has a lower freezing point than water, therefore if you half freeze a bottle of home brew beer, and save the liquid part; then you will have a drink with a higher level of alcohol. This process probably needs to be repeated several times in order to have significant impact.

Has anyone ever tried this or heard of it before? I don't want to try regular distilling because quite a lot of equipment is involved and I know its dangerous if it is done wrong. But I'm tempted to experiment with this cold distilling idea.
    Tagged:

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

I put a Bicardi Breezer in the freezer over the summer during a rather hazy night, took it out the next morning and drank what was coming out of the bottle (Not a lot!), which was pretty strong tasting.

It seemed to take most of the flavouring out of the drink too (Ethanol being an epic solvent, at least that was my conclusion!)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

This can be dangerous too. As well as concentrating the ethanol, you'll get concentrated amounts of whatever nasty alcohols are in there as well. I suspect it's also illegal.

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭myk

BeerNut wrote: »
    I suspect it's also illegal.

I'm not in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Mantel

myk wrote: »