Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Elecricial Phase 2 Please Help!!!

• 14-10-2009 6:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 38

Guys i cant seem to get my head around the phase 2 for electricial is there any books or websites that mite help me???:(i really need help i feel quite embrassed that i cant even pass phase 2 i really wanna pass my repeats any help would be most greetful thanks:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

What part?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 biffo22

The Two theory exams:o:oi cant seem to get my head round ohms laws and kirchoffs voltage law:odoes ny1 have any old phase two exam papers???any help be most greetful:D

• Registered Users Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

biffo22 wrote: »
    The Two theory exams:o:oi cant seem to get my head round ohms laws and kirchoffs voltage law:odoes ny1 have any old phase two exam papers???any help be most greetful:D

If you are finding phrase 2 very hard, P4 and P6 are going to be extremely hard. 4 and 6 are tough enough for most, but phase 2 is normally said to be to easy.

How far are you thru the 20 weeks? Do you go over the notes you have? You cant get past exams fas wont allow that, but the instructor can give you some sample questions to give you an idea.

I finshed mine last june and now fas have contacted me to do these repeats to be hounst i acted like an ejjit in fas and missed a lot of days nd suppose the days i was in i was hungover:obut serval months later and currently on 40euro a week social welfare i have decided that my only chance is to cop on now and try to pass these exams so am lookeing for some kind of lets say a book phase 2 for dummies or sumthin along that line:Dand as u can imagine i cant really afford grinds as they r chargein an hour wat i make a week:eek: any help guys would be greet:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

Best advice. Find someone who is easy with the material in your class and ask can u study with them. I did for some fellas for an hour a week.

Btw. Are you sure u are actually putting the study in. Too often I heard fellas say they cant grasp it a week before exams when they had been missing classes, dossing and not doing one minutes study.

Sadly the guys that had the worst base coming out of school have to work harder at maths. Get those sample papers and do them over and over.

Edit: i just saw above post as i hadnt refreshed thread. Try call a guy from your class you can trust. If u end up really stuck message me and ill see what i can do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP

We were giving this

265.jpg

Don't know where you would get it or if it would be of any use to you because I'm only in phase 1 but I'd imagine it should do you, it's full of theory.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

OLP wrote: »
    We were giving this

265.jpg

Don't know where you would get it or if it would be of any use to you because I'm only in phase 1 but I'd imagine it should do you, it's full of theory.

You can get it in easons or online in amazon etc. Their is part 1 and part 2. Tbh its more complicated that whats needed to pass phase 2. The books would be more for phase 4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭hey_hey

Everything you need to know is in your books that were given to you your first day. If you sit down and read through them and summerise each section you should be ok. Also remember a lot of the questions can be found in the rules and regs book....so get familiar with searching through it. I also remember a fella that had to repeat some exams sitting in with our class a couple of times. you could ask your instructor could you sit in with his class when he starts revising. Although if he remembers that you didnt make an effort last time he might not be too keen to take you in, but sure its worth a try, best of luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP

Davy wrote: »
    You can get it in easons or online in amazon etc. Their is part 1 and part 2. Tbh its more complicated that whats needed to pass phase 2. The books would be more for phase 4

Yeah I thought it might be overkill alright. We were just giving the two volumes when we started and I've only really flicked through volume 1. Leaving cert physics can actually go a long way though.

Thanks guys for the greet info can some1 please tell me if they rember for the first exam how far into electrical science do the questions go ie. is it half and half for each exam or wat any help on that would be a greet help thanks:D

• Registered Users Posts: 328 ✭✭Codofwar

As far as I know the phase 2 exams changed in the last few years. When I went through phase 2 it was a simple tick the box type exam wheras now I think it a more advanced version of it to better prepare you for phase 4 and 6.
    Your best bet as suggested above is to try and get onto one of your class mates who was good to take notes and attend and see if you can convince them to help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭clinchy

where did u do phase 2 ?

Did it in athlone:eek::(:o

• Registered Users Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭.G.

Thanks guys for the greet info can some1 please tell me if they rember for the first exam how far into electrical science do the questions go ie. is it half and half for each exam or wat any help on that would be a greet help thanks:D

Did you get electrical science books made specifically for FAS?
    the 4 FAS produced books were called electrical science 1 and 2 and craft theory 1 and 2 and are largely based on Whitfields Electrical craft principles books.

If you have the books The first theory exam will cover electrical science 1 and craft theory 1,the second exam will cover mainly craft theory 2 and electrical science 2 but beware it will also have questions from the books covered in the first exam.

Codofwar wrote: »
    As far as I know the phase 2 exams changed in the last few years. When I went through phase 2 it was a simple tick the box type exam wheras now I think it a more advanced version of it to better prepare you for phase 4 and 6.
    Your best bet as suggested above is to try and get onto one of your class mates who was good to take notes and attend and see if you can convince them to help.

The curriculum was updated but its still tick the box in some centres but its done on computer in alot of centres so as to discourage copying as the order of the questions can be given to each student differently

Thanks for all the info so far..
    yea i have craft theory 1 and 2 but there is not only one electrician science book so wat i really want to no as the repeat exams will be a couple of weeks apart i want to no how far into electrical science does the 1st exam go wat will i need to no in electricial science for my first exam?
    looking forward to hearing from ye and many thanks again:D

Since your repeating I can't guarantee you won't get questions from science 2 in the exam for science 1 since at this stage your supposed to know the contents of both however this is the layout a student faces first time around:-

Theory paper one consists of questions on:-

Craft theory 1 book,
    Ohms law and the basic circuit,
    Resistance network measurement,
    Power and energy.

Theory paper two consists of some questions on all of the above plus:-

Craft Theory 2 book,
    Magnetism,electromagnetism,and electromagnetic induction,
    Capacitance,
    Introduction to AC,
    The Transformer,
    Induction Motors,
    Motor control Circuits.

Happy studying:)

thats what i was exactly looking for:Dru an instructor by any chance;)

No I'm an apprentice who turned up everyday and listened when I was in phase 2 not so long ago;):)

:o:o:o:o:o
    Damn i taught of mite have been able to get sum advice off ya;)
    u hardy have ny mock papers lyeing around?:cool:

No mate but get yourself the whitfield books mentioned earlier in the thread.

They have mock questions and answers at the end of each chapter.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,931 ✭✭✭dingding

First thing, you should focus on understanding this not just passing the exam. These are fundamental calculations that you will use on a frequent basis as a sparks.

Second Thing, some great internet resources if you look.

Some great stuff on youtube.

Here is an example of an ohm's law lecture.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kjZd-6seopE

Loads of other stuff if you do a search.

Also you can pause the lecture and go back over the bit's you don't understand.

If there is anything specifically you are having trouble with, post here and someone might be able to help.

It can be hard to get the difference between voltage and current and the role resistance plays in it.

Once you get that a lot of the other pieces should fall into shape. Kirchoffs laws are based around some very simple rules but you need to understand current and voltage first.

I would suggest you try to understand the material in the order that you studied it in class, as often earlier concepts are built on in the later topics.

Also if you have sample questions, understand what is happening in the question and why the correct answer is the correct one, it should make it easier for you.

Another good site is how stuff works

http://www.howstuffworks.com/search.php?terms=electricity

And it is also worth using google to find more information on the topics you are working on.

Also there are a number of circuit simulators that you can find on the internet.

http://www.falstad.com/circuit/

If you consider the difference between voltage and current, a key point is that current is the movement of electrons around a circuit. and the voltage is the force that moves the electrons around the circuit.

The resistance prevents the flow of electrons around the circuit.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Euzzw0287i8

Think of a pump pumping water around a pipe. The more pressure (voltage) the pump has, the more water (current) that will flow around the pipe, assuming the pipe (resistance) does not change. However if the pump pressure voltage is constant, the volume of water that pumps around the pipe varies depending on the diameter of the pipe. A larger pipe (less resistance) will allow more water through.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 509 ✭✭✭bertie1

I finshed mine last june and now fas have contacted me to do these repeats to be hounst i acted like an ejjit in fas and missed a lot of days nd suppose the days i was in i was hungover:obut serval months later and currently on 40euro a week social welfare i have decided that my only chance is to cop on now and try to pass these exams so am lookeing for some kind of lets say a book phase 2 for dummies or sumthin along that line:Dand as u can imagine i cant really afford grinds as they r chargein an hour wat i make a week:eek: any help guys would be greet:D

Why bother helping him.He won't help himself. He was paid to attend a course but was too busy socialising to get up in the morning thus taking up a place ( wasting one really ) that somebody else would love to have. Now his employer has got rid of him as well. He is now asking for help ( or free grinds) even though he wasted a place for 5 months & the instructors time trying to teach him the days he showed up. Imagine employing him, do you think you could count on him to show up on Mondays & Fridays and do a productive days work!
    There are loads of very good apprentices out there that showed up every day , knuckled down did their work , passed their exams & through no fault of their own are out of work due to the current recession. In my opinion they need the chance & the oportunity to get their training finished and get a full qualification. When this lull in work passes they will show up sober & work when they are supposed to.

I do but i was not exactly sacked due to failing my exams i was sacked because of lack of work i worked with a big dublin company who did mostly goverment work hence why they had to let people go due to shortage of work i was a good worker and kept my head down so it was nothing to do with my work and also i did turn up to work mon-friday in the 2years i worked i only missed 2days of which i had a cert so it was notin to do with my work as the reason i got let go from my job..i will admit i messed around abit in coll i realise that now but iam trying to get meself back on track so please less of the negative comments..and iam not so much looking for free grinds just sum websites or links that people found useful...
    thanks to every1 for there advice.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,931 ✭✭✭dingding

The OP might be worth helping.

He seems to have learned the errors of his ways and he showed the initiave in comming here for advice.

Also he needs to be aware that you are only allowed a certain number of attempts at the exam. HE should not waste an attempt if he is not ready.

I am not sure but you could use an attempt if you apply for the exam and don't show up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

ok then OP, back to dead basics.

what DO you understand about electricity? do you know what voltage, current, power, capacitence, resistance, etc are? can you work ohms law even if you dont understand it? can you work out power consumption? draw phase diagrams?

also, what level of maths can you do? long divide? multiply fractions? integration by parts?

tell us what level you are at now and people here can try help

your work ethic seems to have picked up, you just gotta start learning.

mawk wrote: »
    ok then OP, back to dead basics.

what DO you understand about electricity? do you know what voltage, current, power, capacitence, resistance, etc are? can you work ohms law even if you dont understand it? can you work out power consumption? draw phase diagrams?

As far as i know you dont go in to Phasor diagrams and capacitence until phase 4. And only do the very basics in power consumption..

Capacitance is in phase 2, phasors are phase 4

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

also, what level of maths can you do? long divide? multiply fractions? integration by parts?
    I agree that maths is important, but my understanding is that the maths required to be an electrician with the current phase based system never included integration. In fact I don't think any of the maths required goes beyond pass leaving cert maths. If you are someone that is now an apprentice that did the leaving cert please correct me if I'm wrong.

Perhaps if the OP were to post some example questions that he is finding hard some of us could assist.

superg wrote: »
    Capacitance is in phase 2, phasors are phase 4

capacitance are in phase 2 now???????????? u sure? i dont think they go in to them in detail like..... 2 x (pie) x f x c..... and all that crap :D