Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What County,

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

lightening wrote: »
    Dublin accent... hated by male blokes outside Dublin. Loved by women everywhere. This is why women swarm to the city and let Dublin lads have their way with them. Most of them end up marrying Dublin fella's.

Why, is riding a Dublin fella like riding a fat chick; not something you want other people to know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,733 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Carlow...just to be different lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Why, is riding a Dublin fella like riding a fat chick; not something you want other people to know?

They just don't want you lads to know, it would make you feel angry and inadequate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭D-A-V-E

has to be the limerick accent! very unique, always able to distinguish it from anywhere else..dunno how people mix it up wth the cork one!

here it is

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DsX2TV1oBCs&feature=related

D-A-V-E wrote: »
    has to be the limerick accent!

Paul O'Connell's accent is cool. Specially when he's taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

They just don't want you lads to know, it would make you feel angry and inadequate.

Your ideas are intriguing to me, and I would like to subscribe to your newsletter.

Well, seeing that it's a mutual appreciation day, I would like to tell you I like your name!

Anyway, do you see all the county girls logging on and denying my claims? Noooo! They are reading with guilty smiles on their faces, then gazing out the window (towards Dublin) with wistful looks on their faces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Nebit

THE WESSSSHT!!!!!:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭damselnat

Nebit wrote: »
    THE WESSSSHT!!!!!:D:D:D:D:D:D
    Tommy you shame me :eek::eek::eek:

Anyway gonna stick my neck out here and say......none of them really........even my own weird hybrid accent Some are OK, some not so OK

Could listen to Bob Casey talk all day though.....but if I said that South Dublin drawl I'd probably get jumped :o.....
    Galway's alright, some of them....
    Louth accents kill me though. No. Just no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

damselnat wrote: »
    Louth accents kill me though. No. Just no.

jimmy magee,anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 HT5

Even if we were in prison? I'd say you sure gotta pretty mouth.

Prison!? I don't think so. I tend to stay clear of dodgy types like yourself. I don't think that's ever going to happen, so you might as well get that fantasy out of your head right now.
    Anyway, do you see all the county girls logging on and denying my claims? Noooo! They are reading with guilty smiles on their faces, then gazing out the window (towards Dublin) with wistful looks on their faces.

Time for you to take a reality check! Do you think "all the county" (or did you mean "country"?) girls have nothing better to do than follow your meaningless and boring rambles?

HT5 wrote: »
    I don't think that's ever going to happen, so you might as well get that fantasy out of your head right now.

You see how accusing me of being gay made you look silly? You need to visit Dublin city and rid yourself of the demons in your head!!

No, not really. I must have missed that.

But I think most people here will agree with me that making all the "country girls" visiting Dublin out be some kind of **** made you look pretty stupid.

"Accusing you" - you make it sound like being gay is a crime or something.

I'm going to keep avoiding Dublin like the swine flu. I've been there enough times to know I won't be making any social visits. And then there's the risk of bumping into people like you. No thanks!

being gay is a crime

No it's not. Be yourself, it's fine, make splinters of that closet door.

(this just gets funnier)

Back on topic, what accent to you have? I'd say it's soooooo cute. x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

No it's not. Be yourself, it's fine, make splinters of that closet door.

(this just gets funnier)

Back on topic, what accent to you have? I'd say it's soooooo cute.

Is cute the opposite of sounding like a knacker?

SV wrote: »
    Is cute the opposite of sounding like a knacker?

Good point, traveler accents! Where the hell do they come from? They don't sound like a Dublin or Cork accent, which is closest to them? Galway, Carlow??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Good point, traveler accents! Where the hell do they come from? They don't sound like a Dublin or Cork accent, which is closest to them? Galway, Carlow??

its not english, its not irish,

its just pikey :P

I'm pretty sure it's the Dublin accent that's closest.

Traveler accent? No, it's definitely a rural accent, more West and Midlandish than Dublin.

Yes, it is. We all know it, but it seems some people here are in denial.

But this video sums it all up I think...

And lightening, stop twisting my words.

But this video sums it all up I think...

Brilliant, classic Dublin phraseology! The girls go wild for it.
    And lightening, stop twisting my words.

Ah, I'm only ribbing you for your little homophobic rant earlier on... XXXXX

You're a virgin aren't you?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

If by girl you mean:
    http://www.grimmemennesker.dk/data/media/1/ugly-goth.jpg

Then yeah, I'm sure they're "madferrrdiiih" :D

Jaysus, Pornabster, Don't fancy yours.

You're a virgin aren't you?

Sorry honey, try elsewhere, this cherry has popped a long time ago. But be careful, virgin hunting could get you in to trouble.

Jaysus, Pornabster, Don't fancy yours.
    Thats the type of humour I would expect from an 8 year old. Try harder.

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Thats the type of humour I would expect from an 8 year old. Try harder.

It's just a gag, "don't fancy yours..." no need to get upset, now, back on topic, which is your favorite accent Pornabster?

Oh yes, I'm balling my eyes out...

A northern accent. Fermanagh/Down/Armagh area, Donegal/Tyrone/Antrim/Cavan/South Monaghan (as long as they aren't too strong) aren't bad either. North Monaghan is a repulsive accent. I don't really mind the accent from the Kells area either.

Midlands accents are probably my least favourite, followed by North Dublin/Inner City Dublin.

A northern accent

I see where you are coming from, I find the stronger ones a bit harsh. What about your own accent? Do you like a girl with a strong Cavan accent?

Nope, I like a slight Cavan accent, same with a slight South Monaghan one. A strong Cavan or Monaghan accent is just wrong...

A strong Cavan or Monaghan accent is just wrong...

I agree, I have met many many many many Monaghan and Cavan women on "shopping trips" and "girls nights out" in Dublin. The strong accent is wrong. (The Cavan women always have TK MAX bags. :D)

Good for them... Most of your Dublin girls "shop" up the north nowadays... ;)

Only the poor ones we don't want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

Awww I'm always sad that Meath never makes it onto these lists....neither good nor bad. We just seem to get lumped into parts of Dublin / the border / midlands. We need to start creating an accent identity for ourselves!

If I HAD to pick one, my fave accent would prob have to be from galway, but I don't really like any harsh irish accent tbh, I like when someone has lived in another country (or a different county) for a few years so it's softened it out. THEN the irish accent is nice since there is only a little lilt (eg, liam neeson...YUM)

Only the poor ones we don't want.
    Nah mate, I think you'll find that most of your posh Dublin women "shop" up here looking for their boirgans. Most of them are looking for "holiday" homes up here you see. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

When I moved to Dublin for 2 years way back in 1988, my Waterford friend told me that I would pick up girls at the drop of a hat because of my east Donegal accent. I didn't believe him. But he was right. :D Two years I will never forget. ;)

But my favourite accent is the Mayo weshtern acchent.