Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crazy Audi driver today!

• 16-10-2009 2:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭

going to work with a friend this evening and had was passing the eye and ear hospital in dublin. I was stopped by a set of pedestrian lights outside which then turned green. Because there is an entrance beside the lights the stop line is around 10metres away (to allow ambulances I assume). Anyway took off no problem when a blue Audi a6 shot out from inbetween some traffic on the right! I and the taxi behind had to slam on.

So, Assuming the driver made a genuine error I let a brief beep of the horn to make him aware of myself. At this he stopped dead in the road. Hit reverse then stopped. Several cars beeped and I was pushed for time so flashed my lights and beeped again. At this the driver got out of his car and started towards mine. Not one for backing down I got out too. He started shouting the lights were red and I broke em and (some things best not to repeat but i'm sure you can fill in the blanks).
    Anyway an arguement broke out until the taxi driver behind me shouted out to back me up (thanks if your reading this pal).

Audi man got back in his car only to come to this busy crossroad (see pic) and then cut out on the wrong side when the lights turned red narrowly missing two pedestrians, a cyclist and a van which were crossing the junction.

I've never seen road rage like this and while the chap may be under stress his reactions and driving endangered lives, was causing potential for up to 3 major accidents on a busy road during rush hour. He appears to work across the road from the eye and ear.

By the way the pic of the Audi in the pic IS him. I was so shook up from this it took quite a while to calm myself down. I've never had to get out of my car to confront people nor have I ever as i'm quite patient.

Bottom line: I'm putting his pic up to shame him.
    Mods don't delete pic please.
    F*cking spa... (i'll save that for R&R)

Sorry for long rant. I feel a lil better now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Did you phone Traffic Watch? And take the details of the taxi driver who also witnessed this driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

I was in moving traffic however I did memorise his car and taxi plate. Fair play to him. I won't give his plate over on this but It was a toyotoa corolla with one passenger at around 17.45

As for traffic watch I didn't think of this at the time although I thought of calling the gards I felt by the time in rushhour traffic they tracked him it would be a wild goose chase and a waste of their time. If anyone else dirving nearby witnessed this i'd like to hear from yas. I was driving a Red 06 Almera. My passenger who is a fellow boards user might post up at some point tomorrow to fill any blanks.

If the driver of the Audi was on this and has noticed his reg being shamed for his behaviour I believe an apology is due:
    to myself, my passenger, the taxi driver + passenger, any traffic either side held up, the pedestrians, cyclists and a van driver. Is there any point me escalating this with the gards? I was pretty shook up by this today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

what a prick, tell this to the cops, if they have any decency they will track the loon down

im not a specialist, but this seems like pretty crazy behavior
    {break up, mid life crisis sorta thing...}

anyway, he needs to be named and shamed, over roads are bad enough without assholes like this tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭B11gt00e

He wasn't mad at you... he was angry at his own error and directed all the rage of his own failed existence at you as you're flashing of the lights was a red-rag to the anger that has been bubbling up inside of him for whatever reason.

I too am patient and have witnessed some of these nuts on the road recently... hard to say how to engage with them, as its on a case by case basis... but their dangerous and disgruntled.

It's like making accidental eye-contact with a psychopath... once they're engaged by that slightest oppertune moment, its very hard for you to get out of it.

Car culture is weird sometimes... you can be sitting in your seat only metres apart from somebody, but where you're mind and mood are lying can be light years away from each other...

... had an incident with one of these psycho's yesterday but water off a duck's back...

... in the future, let him get out of his car, jump around the place like a gorilla for awhile exposing his true craziness in front of his place of work and other traffic, while all the time ignoring him and he'll soon see what a plonker he is.

... thanks for the post... you portrayed the incident well and got the frustration of your chest at the same time... I know that road well and if it was the junction at the leeson street bridge he went through, the fool's lucky he didn't cream and kill some unfortunate...

There's nuts out there... They're ten a penny... You seem to have found a hazel boy.

... Watch out for the pistacios!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,954 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

WIth 3+ years driving experience I've seen and had a lot. Especially that day (yesterday) people bullsh*tting on the roads and my friend running outta time. I may have been his catalyst for setting him off but still I believe if I didn't get out of my car and match him up in that sense this could have led to him doing some damage to my car! The last thing I want is violence at any point and I had to hold back a moment before taking off again.

Once again the taxi driver should be praised for coming to my aid in this case as 2 against one put your man in place until he reached that crossroads which both myself and passenger watched in shock as he bullied and pushed across one of Dublin cities busiest roads!

I don't want to see this driver again and while we've all been stressed out while driving for any reasons. His actions were completly un-called for. I'm 19 years old so *a higher risk* yet here was a man in his late 30's early 40's causing more mayhem than any of my friends who drive have in their time

Edit, Thanks captain Morgan for coming on and verifying things.
    Just to add. The place where the driver pulled out was around 12-15 metres after the lights. It was the fact he shot out with little or no consideration other than an assumption

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Shocking stuff, but very little surprises me on the road these days. Only yesterday a bus pulled out in front of in as I was going through a roundabout, I was inches away from a smash. What got me was the bus driver was looking directly at me...all I could do was sit on the horn, took about 30mins to get over it.

Anyway, fair deuce for hopping out of the car to face the pr1ck...I would of done the exact same myself. I mean, if thats the way he drives and he's driving through the city centre, you'd imagine that a Guard would see him at some stage. He does not deserve to drive such a nice car.

Shocking stuff, but very little surprises me on the road these days. Only yesterday a bus pulled out in front of in as I was going through a roundabout, I was inches away from a smash. What got me was the bus driver was looking directly at me...all I could do was sit on the horn, took about 30mins to get over it.

Anyway, fair deuce for hopping out of the car to face the pr1ck...I would of done the exact same myself. I mean, if thats the way he drives and he's driving through the city centre, you'd imagine that a Guard would see him at some stage. He does not deserve to drive such a nice car.

He doesn't deserve to drive full stop! I know modern day driving is seen to as a mere turn key and place your foot on a pedal but in realistic terms there are stress levels and mental well being involved in driving. I am a pilot and speaking from experience you cannot allow anyone racey or panicy like himself in command of a vehicle. Not on public roads with the above examples.
    I feel like shopping him in but to be honest. Would any use come of it? I do have witnesess but the best the law will lay is maybe abuse and harassment?

I can sleep tonight knowing I got out of the car and confronted the driver. I want it to be noted that I never advanced towards him but rather got out to make a point and held a defensive position from my car. The idea is to not have made it a physical and I'm thankful it didn't end that way. I just hope that in the remaining part of his journey he did not further endanger the lives/ well being of other people to such an insane extent. honestly I've never seen or heard of someone like this on the road in my own experiences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Theres some right lunatics out there. Well done for not losing the rag
    your self. But one of these days he'll probably stick himself and he's
    fine piece of german engineering into a wall(just hope he doesnt hurt anyone else).
    Traffic watch and the Gardai might help if you wanna take it futher.
    Be great if something could be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

hey OP did you tell the cops ?? if not do so ...face to face, not by phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

congo_90 wrote: »

Audi man got back in his car only to come to this busy crossroad (see pic) and then cut out on the wrong side when the lights turned red narrowly missing two pedestrians, a cyclist and a van which were crossing the junction.

cockrell-2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

well OP any update on this, did you tell the cops? did they find him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

congo_90 wrote: »
    going to work with a friend this evening and had was passing the eye and ear hospital in dublin. I was stopped by a set of pedestrian lights outside which then turned green. Because there is an entrance beside the lights the stop line is around 10metres away (to allow ambulances I assume). Anyway took off no problem when a blue Audi a6 shot out from inbetween some traffic on the right! I and the taxi behind had to slam on.

To clear something up.
    The Audi came from your right hand side, from the carport used by some public service office, dept of foreign affairs perhaps?

The most dangerous aspect of this drivers actions
    would be the danger he presents to motorcyclists,
    who are forced to filter up that cogested road.
    Sounds like he pulled out quickly without due care.

It also sounds like he cut you up, which is unpleasant.
    When he got out of the car, why didn't you walk up to him,
    and put your nose up to his? They love that, and always bottle it.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

Congo,
    Fair play to you for having the nerve to act calmly.
    And +1 to the taxi man, had a similar situation with a taxi man before where he backed me up and actually scared the fu*ker into apologising!

Im trying to get my head around exactly as to were he came from.

Well done for name and shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Smokerkl

RMM555 wrote: »
    did you get all that info for free??? how??

http://cars.donedeal.ie/donedeal/offsite/?url=http%3a%2f%2fmywheels.ie
    S..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I'm afraid i've had to delete all recognizable details of the Audi from this thread. Don't take this personally congo_90, but anyone could post a picture of a car belonging to someone they just didn't like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 RMM555

cabrwab wrote: »
    Congo,
    Fair play to you for having the nerve to act calmly.
    And +1 to the taxi man, had a similar situation with a taxi man before where he backed me up and actually scared the fu*ker into apologising!

Im trying to get my head around exactly as to were he came from.

Well done for name and shame.

well done is right

Anan1 wrote: »
    I'm afraid i've had to delete all recognizable details of the Audi from this thread. Don't take this personally congo_90, but anyone could post a picture of a car belonging to someone they just didn't like.

Fair enough Anan1, I wasn't sure about it anyways but at least several posters saw it and at the very least I know him myself!

It wasn't you by any chance? :P *joking*