Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

On The dole and going to las vegas

• Registered Users Posts: 674 ✭✭✭gollyitsolly

Best thread of the day:D. Gwan ya gud ting.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,048 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

j2u wrote: »
    In conclusion i going to vegas and im bringing down the house .BOOM BABY.

You'll never get past Homeland Security:eek:

Good luck with the water-boarding.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 passion4fashion

i say fair play i'm sure u've worked hard enough and paid taxes in the past so that if u were ever to get made redundant u would receive the dole ...thats what its all about......it is your money after all, i went to vegas this summer so heres some tips on not blowing a fortune.....we pretended to every bouncer of every night club that we were on the guest list and even though our weren't we pretended we had rang ahead and put our names down and said to them that we had come all the way from Ireland for the weekend, it worked every time!!!! i think in Coyote ugly club on wednesdays girls drink free!! most casinos bring you drinks at the slots and u don't have to be putting much in, theres ones that take 25 cents, eat in mc d's, dont shop as its a rip off anyway and just sun yourself all day.........we had a ball, wanna go back!!!!!!! have fun:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

Mayoegian wrote: »
    How's about ya go searching for a job here before sponging off the government funding a trip where youre gonna lose more money. Wow, some people can be such ninkimpoops:mad:

If you know were all the jobs are!! Please let us in on the secret. Todays spongers are yesterdays workers. Only this time is not the 80s. Today's spongers OR looking for a jobers Can't be accused of that because most of the people who had a job would love to have another to continue with the good life we all deserve. OP if you have the funds then enjoy.. when you come back you can look for a job. Don't forget you are not on this earth for a long time so make sure you have a good time..

Whatever anyone wants to do with their dole is their own business I reckon, so long as they do not have partners or kids. Especially folk who have worked and are not career dole receivers. Enjoy the holiday :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Hey OP do you know the the very top of the Stratosphere Tower.......

Go Hang your bo**olks on it !!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Beats hanging around Bray. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭j2u

i hear the stratasphere has a rollercoaster on top of it so ill probaly give it a go but ill have to hold onto my cowboy hat and have zipup pockets for all the money im gonna win on poker and roulette, But i dont know if that will be enough i might need a wheelbarrow and a shovel.
    im staying at the excalibur hotel €487 for 7 nights.
    if im allowed post pictures here i will when i get back. i heard the same about the cheap drinks once your gambling and ive been looking forward to the limo rides to strip clubs and the nite life in general.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPuKoqu6kMk

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

i hear the stratasphere has a rollercoaster on top of it so ill probaly give it a go but ill have to hold onto my cowboy hat and have zipup pockets for all the money im gonna win on poker and roulette, But i dont know if that will be enough i might need a wheelbarrow and a shovel.
    im staying at the excalibur hotel €487 for 7 nights.
    if im allowed post pictures here i will when i get back. i heard the same about the cheap drinks once your gambling and ive been looking forward to the limo rides to strip clubs and the nite life in general.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPuKoqu6kMk

What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas

The only thing that stays there is your money;)

But fcuk it have a great time and fcuk the begrudgers on here :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

As a Vegas semi-regular myself heres a couple of money saving tips.

If you've already booked your hotel then check their website again. The prices get much cheaper the closer to the date that you get. And they allow you to cancel anytime you want up to 36 hours before arrival. So you can cancel and then rebook straightaway. My first time I booked Excalibur at $99 a night a few months beforehand and then cancelled and rebooked for $49 a night 2 days beforehand.
    Alternatively you can always cancel and book a cheaper hotel.

If you are going clothes shopping then go to the Premium Outlet mall. Have a look on the Internet and you will find discount coupons which you can print off.

Buy literally nothing in the shops in your hotel. They are the biggest ripoff merchants ever. There's 4 or 5 Walgreens dotted along the strip which is where you should purchase snacks and stuff. Walgreens outside the MGM hotel = $1 for a 1.5 litre of water and 80c for a Twix. Shop inside the MGM hotel = $4 for a 500ml bottle of water and $3 for a Twix. They are incredibly expensive shops inside hotels.
    Buy some cheap beers in Walgreens or an offy as well to have in your hotel before you go out.

Is there a nightclub in your hotel. If so go to reception when they are not busy with your room key and they will arrange to put you on the guestlist for that night. Can save you up to $40 (+ the priceless bonus of queue skipping).
    If you see a sign like Mirage nite club free in before 12pm, then don't saunter up at 11.30, the queue won't move until 12.01. Get there about 10. Always bring id unless you look over 40. Seriously.

Dont waste money on taxis. Walk or get the 'deuce' bus. Its $3 a pop, but you can get a 48 hour pass for about $12.

Do you smoke? If not fantastic. I bought 1000 Silk Cut for less than $100 in JFK airport last year, around €1.70 a pack of 20. You could flog them to your mates at €4.00 a pack and make a few quid back.

There is loads and loads and loads and fricking loads of free stuff to do and see. Lion shows in the MGM, the fountain show at Bellagio, the hourly volcano at Mirage hotel, the free Sirens Show at TI, the indoor gardens at Bellagio, the aqaurium at the Flamingo hotel.

Enjoy, Vegas is the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

ejmaztec wrote: »
    You'll never get past Homeland Security:eek:

Good luck with the water-boarding.

Its a fair point; Ive heard that the number of young males being refused entry by the lovely DHS people has been increasing in recent times.... :eek:
    Best of luck with it OP....

cheers for the advice mate, do you need to wear a suit to get into the nite clubs? friends of mine are all getting suits and seeing as im a bit strapped for cash after changing nearly all i had into dollars i was not going to bother or maybe just buy a suit jacket over there. are the restaurants expensive? is drink in the clubs expensive?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

not everyone whos on the dole is sponging, there are some who have been made redundant and who are genuienly trying to find another job, and are only claiming what they are intitled to whilst looking for that job, thats not sponging, its called trying to survive

there are plenty out there who are sponging, either have a job and claiming, are who have no job and no intentions of getting one, and claiming

good luck to ya OP, i'd love to go to vegas and i have a job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

pebbles21 wrote: »

So mature and not in the least bit begrudging.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

cheers for the advice mate, do you need to wear a suit to get into the nite clubs?
    I got stopped going in wearing Timberland boots. 'Sorry, no boots allowed, is there any chance you could change into a pair of white runners instead?'

So from then on I just wore a decent tshirt, jacket, jeans, and a pair of runners and no problems whatsoever.
    Are the restaurants expensive?

You can pay up to $300 for a Kobe steak if you want. Or you can get 50c burgers at some fast food joints.
    I don't eat much on holidays and used to just get chicken nuggets/burger and fries for maybe $8 in a hotel bar.
    You should look into the all-you-eat-buffets. Usually around $15 for brekky and $25 for other meals. They generally have a bit of every cuisine in the world and you can go up as often as you want. Stuff your face, one meal a day!
    Warning - the buffet in the Excalibur is foul.
    Is drink in the clubs expensive?

I've a vague memory of $10 a drink in some places, $20 for a cocktail. Only went clubbing a few times though.

pebbles21 wrote: »

they'll be no good to him up there pebbles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Purple Gorilla

Attention whore much.

The fact that he's on the dole and going to Vegas isn't annoying..He booked the holiday before he lost his job so you can't blame him..

BUT...wtf is the point of this thread other than "Hey everyone! give me attention!!"
    He wanted people to know he was going to Vegas while on the dole and he knew he'd get a rise out of people..then to try and make his post look in some way decent, he threw in a pitifully stupid question.."Anyone else going to Vegas?"...wtf?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

tell Crystal i said hi

• Registered Users Posts: 9,029 ✭✭✭Lockstep

• Registered Users Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭kingtut

OP enjoy the trip, just remember to continue the job hunt as soon as you get back :)

There are plenty of jobs out there, not high quality and not the best paid but they are out there :) polish up the old CV!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

HoPpiE wrote: »
    I can only afford Atlantic City myself.
    Tramore:mad:

HoPpiE wrote: »
    I can only afford Atlantic City myself.

atlantic homecare for me

:(

to be honest myself and the other mates going got into a conversation about how i was probaly the only person the country going to vegas while on the dole and i just want to see if i could prove him right or wrong and i thought the best way or at least the only way to try and see was to ask here on boards.ie. if i really wanted to just get a rise out of people i would have just said i was going to vegas whilst on the dole and asked people what the thought. i dont think i asked anybodys opinion on the matter just started a thread enquiring if anybody is in the same situation and the fact that its somewhat controversial to some people is irrelavant to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭mega man

Hi im on the dole and im going to las vegas in a few weeks.i had booked it before i got layed off from work. Just wondering are there many others on the dole going to vegas?

I'm on the doel but I'm going to Barbados for 3 weeks. I thought I needed a break from all this recession craic.
    Good for you man.

kingtut wrote: »
    OP enjoy the trip, just remember to continue the job hunt as soon as you get back :)

There are plenty of jobs out there, not high quality and not the best paid but they are out there :) polish up the old CV!!!

Hi i dont mean to be a smart ass i have looked for work i might have a chance at but i have not seen much. i think it would be best to study part time to put something to the cv. id love to go to college full time but cant unless i can get a part time job as i would not be able to go to full time college and work collect the dole. Seriously if you hear of any kind of work at all going send me a pm and let me know.ive been working for a commmissioning engineering company for the past 5 years or so. Im 22 now years old now and other than a leaving cert i have no other qualifications. most people dont really know what commissioning enginerring is and basically its testing and balancing air conditioning and plumbing systems , i worked in the office and sometimes on site if i was needed,So you see why it might be difficult to find a job without getting some sort of qualification first.

mega man wrote: »
    I'm on the doel but I'm going to Barbados for 3 weeks. I thought I needed a break from all this recession craic.
    Good for you man.

Fair play , they way i see it is that im broke now and i still will be broke and on the dole when i get back so what difference does it make in backing out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I'm going to Vegas in March can't feckin wait

• Registered Users Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

I really wish I was going to Vegas...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

kingtut wrote: »

I don't know whether you're in a time warp. It's 2009, not 2009.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy