Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

On The dole and going to las vegas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

As long as the car loan are your only obligations (mortgage, kids, family etc.) then why not. Go have a blast and then come back to the reality our government and banks have created. If you have other obligations and plan to spend your money on a holiday then thats a different story altogether and no you should not go. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,862 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Dempsey wrote: »
    Nobody from Leixlip on my trip!

fair play to ya dempsey for goin. though if ur unemployed u should come back to oz! I had a dream about ya last night and u were a business man here in melbourne! cant get more concrete a sign than that!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

ronaneire wrote: »
    Beats hanging around Bray. :D
    Anything would beat that.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 onehundred

Can't wait to get laid off. Earned 62k last year and haven't had a holiday for three years. Can't afford to go out for a meal or a drink, can't even afford to go to the cinema. I pay over half my income to the state and by the time the bills are paid (mortgage, car loan, insurance, commuting expenses, etc) there's nothing left. These jokers are going to Vegas on the dole and I can't even afford a trip to the Zoo with the kids? This country is seriously ****'d...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

onehundred wrote: »
    Can't wait to get laid off. Earned 62k last year and haven't had a holiday for three years. Can't afford to go out for a meal or a drink, can't even afford to go to the cinema. I pay over half my income to the state and by the time the bills are paid (mortgage, car loan, insurance, commuting expenses, etc) there's nothing left. These jokers are going to Vegas on the dole and I can't even afford a trip to the Zoo with the kids? This country is seriously ****'d...

See where I highlighted? That's your problem, nobody elses... it's YOUR fault you can't afford anything... not mine, or the OP's.

The cheek of you to call the op and everyone else on social welfare a joker, I saved 600 quid for my car insurance while on social welfare. You see, you have rubbish monetary skills, over spending, wasting it, while we save and use it wisely we get bashed for it... I will be heading to Belgium after Xmas too for a weeks holidays, it's going to be great, oh and I was away last year 3 times :)

You see, I didn't foolishly take out a mortgage for a colosal amount, nor did I buy a brand new car or spend my money on crap. We are unfortunate to have no work, and giving out about your 64k? haha, you make me sick... I have a Honors degree and I would kill for a job that paid me 20K a year.

I love how spiteful people begrudge people everything they have, because the spiteful person made a balls of his spending in the past... I have no pity for ya.

The most expensive family ticket to the zoo is 52 quid... I am sure you can pay 52 quid out of your 64K minus tax... lol.

Miss the point much?
    I never said it was anyone elses problem. Also, I'm not sure where you got the notion that I called everyone on the dole a joker? It was only the ones going to Vegas.
    I'm not looking for sympathy or anything like it, sure I was fooled like all the other young people that bought homes during the boom, but the point is that if I was on the dole I would be looking for a job, not heading off to Vegas AND rubbing peoples noses in it...

Also, if you were able to save €600 while on the dole then I think any fair minded person would agree that you were getting too much.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,434 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Thank god I'm working...that way I can go to Vegas every year.;)
    Hope the Op enjoys Costa del Kilkee next year and the year after when he's still on the dole :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

I have never been unemployed, I have been constantly working since I was 16 years old (I'm 28 now). This means I have been paying taxes for 12 years now (10 fulltime).

If I lost my job, am I sponging money from the government? Or am I infact mearly availing of one of the benefits of paying taxes? What exactly gives anyone here the right to tell me how I should spend that money?

OP, feck 'em, enjoy your holiday and best of luck in the job search when you get back. I know a few people in your line of work and they got shafted too =(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Vegas sucks balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Firefox10

I know of sevral people who have recently been made redudant and are planning on going on holidays. These people have worked hard for several years and are getting generous reduncancy settlements and are not laden with debt so they are perfectly entitled to take some time out and go on holidays as they so wish. So fair play.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Make sure to check your bathroom for tigers.

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

Are you trolling? This is hilarious. So you get a mortgage, car loan and have kids when you can't even afford it? That to me is the worst form of gambling. You are gambling with other peoples money and your own kids! Which is worse-that or someone with no responsibilities going to Vegas which was booked with their own money? And you have the gall to come on here and complain? See what you just described is a perfect example as to why this country is fcuked and the sad thing is that you're completely oblivious to it. You should hang your head in shame after that post. Unbelievable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

j2u wrote: »
    Hi im on the dole and im going to las vegas in a few weeks.i had booked it before i got layed off from work. Just wondering are there many others on the dole going to vegas?

fair play to ye have a ball dont spend too much:) when i got let go done the same thing went spain for 3 weeks!!!

some people need to wake up if you think 204 euro a week is too much for the dole only for my redundancy money when i got let go i would have been screwed with debt.

ps debt and holiday paid for by redundancy not state;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Miss the point much?

You should be asking yourself that question...
    I never said it was anyone elses problem.

You begrudged the OP his holiday, which he is very much entitled to.

Also, I'm not sure where you got the notion that I called everyone on the dole a joker?

It's somewhere in the next sentence:

These jokers are going to Vegas on the dole
    It was only the ones going to Vegas.

So it's only the OP then? Is it ok to go elsewhere? Do we need your permission?
    I'm not looking for sympathy or anything like it, sure I was fooled like all the other young people that bought homes during the boom

Good, you realise your mistakes, that's fair enough.
    but the point is that if I was on the dole I would be looking for a job, not heading off to Vegas AND rubbing peoples noses in it...

When or where did the OP say he wasn't looking for a job? Everyone is entitled to a holiday, you don't have to look for a job every single day 24/7. Holiday was pre booked, get over it.
    Also, if you were able to save €600 while on the dole then I think any fair minded person would agree that you were getting too much.

That's the general consensus these days, if anyone on the dole has enough money to spend on anything other than Tescos own brand food and rent, they are getting too much. Is 204 too much for anyone? Nope...

You see, you seem to have a problem with those that can spend wisely. I do not drink, I do not smoke, I do not spend money on anything but what I need. This allows me to save for more important things, like insurance. I know people on social that go out every weekend and piss their money up against the wall... I don't. Yet you still have a problem with it. We are entitled to live also, we paid our dues, so get over it.

Oh and it's not your money, it's fcuking my money... simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Sage'sMama

I've been on the dole now for the last 10 months and am off to New York in December for a week.Managed to save up by by shopping in the north for all my needs.Also stayed away from becoming a middle class wanna-be during the boom years.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Sage'sMama wrote: »
    I've been on the dole now for the last 14 months and am off to New York in December for a week.Managed to save up by by shopping in the north for all my needs.Also stayed away from becoming a middle class wanna-be during the boom years.

Why would anyone want to be middle class? It's terrible. They don't let us drink tea with sugar in it any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

Mayoegian wrote: »
    I think all you're trying to do here in posting this is:

'Hey look guys, I'm heading to Vegas to get loose cash and women, mwhahaha, enjoy the recession!'

FYI, we're not jealous Vegas FTW

FYP :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Why would anyone want to be middle class? It's terrible. They don't let us drink tea with sugar in it any more.

They don't????

Damn this government! Damn them to hell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

So if you start signing on and your income is cut to 11k a year (204 x 52), how is this going to change exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭j2u

Can't wait to get laid off. Earned 62k last year and haven't had a holiday for three years. Can't afford to go out for a meal or a drink, can't even afford to go to the cinema. I pay over half my income to the state and by the time the bills are paid (mortgage, car loan, insurance, commuting expenses, etc) there's nothing left. These jokers are going to Vegas on the dole and I can't even afford a trip to the Zoo with the kids? This country is seriously ****'d...[/QUOTE
    , i dont have kids , dont have a wife or woman either and dont want one. I do have to give money to the mortage and my car loan which i have already covered for the month and as i said previously i saved €650 from doing that work thing that you do for your 62 k and payed for the holiday before i lost my job. So i saved €750 of my dole money by staying in for several weeks and not spending as little as i could. If you earn 62K a year and cant afford to go to the zoo then you must have mad some terrible financial gambles that diddnt pay off and you probaly should have just went to vegas and put it all on red. thats what im gonna do. Cheers:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

fair play to you!
    enjoy the trip and fúck the begrudgers..

LET IT RIDE!
    :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Hope you hear "Winner, Winner Chicken Dinner" alot. Love Vegas been twice.

Don't bank on Gambling to get free drinks, you need a solid game and they don't service the slots area as much as blackjack. If you know how to play decent blackjack you might do alright on the drinks front. If you play at a table and don't know how to play, make sure you are not to the far left of the table as your decisions could be very heavily criticised especially if there are some players playing high stakes. My opinion on this is they should play higher stakes tables however be aware.

My drink of choice would be absolute 7 while playing blackjack, in the MGM. My Wife and I pulled 700 dollars from the table our last night and drank 10-15 vodkas while doing it. Good Luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭idunnoutellme

When you come back will you let me know where are the best places to go I'm going in Feb :D Vegas baby oh yeah!! (I'm not on the dole but sometimes I wish I was, can't beat free money :p)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Miss the point much?
    I never said it was anyone elses problem. Also, I'm not sure where you got the notion that I called everyone on the dole a joker? It was only the ones going to Vegas.
    I'm not looking for sympathy or anything like it, sure I was fooled like all the other young people that bought homes during the boom, but the point is that if I was on the dole I would be looking for a job, not heading off to Vegas AND rubbing peoples noses in it...
    Yes you where made a fool of by the banks and now your crying that the people suffering from your mistakes. The ones on the dole that lost their jobs because the banks gave people like you too much money. I'm 28 and had the opportunity to buy houses even build my own house but it was painfully obvious to me the entire time that house would be nothing but a burden, every economist said so throughout the boom.

I go on holidays at least once a year, usually two or three times and I never borrow a penny, I'm always tempted by the way others decide to go on a holiday by getting a loan and paying it off, but I'd rather save the money. I always hated the thought of being in debt and to this day owe no money to anybody. I seen most of Europe at this stage however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

Mayoegian wrote: »
    How's about ya go searching for a job here before sponging off the government funding a trip where youre gonna lose more money. Wow, some people can be such ninkimpoops:mad:

They can be nincompoops, people who spell nincompoops incorrectly:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 40,865 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Good man yourself OP, Vegas is quality.

Stayed in Excalibur myself and definitely take up the advice of cancelling your existing reservation and book a new one at the cheaper rate.

Also save a bit of cash by eating two meals a day - breakfast and then a dinner buffet in the casino restaurant. Costs feck all for all you can eat and it'll fill you til the next day.

Have a good time, and keep saving that scratcher money for your return trip ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭j2u

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Good man yourself OP, Vegas is quality.

Stayed in Excalibur myself and definitely take up the advice of cancelling your existing reservation and book a new one at the cheaper rate.

Also save a bit of cash by eating two meals a day - breakfast and then a dinner buffet in the casino restaurant. Costs feck all for all you can eat and it'll fill you til the next day.

Have a good time, and keep saving that scratcher money for your return trip ;)

Thanks, while your probaly right about the price of accomadation gone down the last time i checked thr price of flights was pretty high and it would still be cheaper to stick with the same package than to book separately. Im flying with delta airlines who are the cheapest when i last checked. Also there would probaly be a cancellation charge if we cancelled now. We booked them through travlepaths.ie.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭shoegirl

Hi im on the dole and im going to las vegas in a few weeks.i had booked it before i got layed off from work. Just wondering are there many others on the dole going to vegas?

That has to be the most bizarre start to a thread I've yet seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Firefox10

Thanks, while your probaly right about the price of accomadation gone down the last time i checked thr price of flights was pretty high and it would still be cheaper to stick with the same package than to book separately. Im flying with delta airlines who are the cheapest when i last checked. Also there would probaly be a cancellation charge if we cancelled now. We booked them through travlepaths.ie.

Stick all your redundancy money on Red.....it will be a hell of a toboggan ride.:D