Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Question Re Rent Allowance

Options
  • 22-10-2009 2:30pm
    Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭

I've been renting a room in a shared house in Cork since May 2008. I lost my job and have been on the dole since April this year. When I was first laid off I contacted my landlord about rent allowance. He said he'd think about it etc. Kept phoning him back about it - he needed to talk to his accountant, his wife, he was very busy. Finally, in August he said he was ok with taking rent allowance.

I filled in my half of the form, and gave it to him to fill in his half. I then spent the next few months chasing him down to try and get the form off him - he came to the house every month to collect the rent, but never dropped over the form despite constant reminders from me. He lost the first form and asked me to get him another to fill, which I did. All this time he assured me he would sort it out every time I spoke to him. I just spoke to him again, and he told me what I've suspected for a while now, that he is not going to take rent allowance.

My rent was €320 when I moved in, recently they reduced it to €290. I share with two other girls who are working. So what are my options? Is he legally allowed to refuse rent allowance? If I move out will I be able to get it elsewhere? I can't really afford to keep paying the rent out of my dole payments.