Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Irish people racist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

caseyann wrote: »
    How has that anything to do with me not wanting my daughter to marry non whites :confused:

No that would mean they were blind ;)

So you would rather me pretend i dont have a problem with my daughter marrying non whites.Lets get this straight i dont care about anyone elses preferences and treat everyone no matter what colour as equally if they treat me with same respect back.Still doesnt change how i feel about my daughter marrying white :)
    I think your expressing the views of many people who may /may not come out and say it as you do but it is a fact , not just belonging to Irish people in general but many white English and other white races feel the same .The question is ,is it being Racist to feel this way ? I think the overall opinion would be yes.

But should your daughter wish to marry a non white person then you would just have to accept it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

just mine wont.

And who are you to decide for them?

Now this is very Irish indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

How can you possibly know that? Have you already sorted out an arranged marriage?

Ofc not :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

No i am not racist i hate every other race equally, i don't discriminate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Everyone is inherently racist, most people just dont realise it. Its just a case of natural prejudice.

And who are you to decide for them?

Now this is very Irish indeed

Her mother :D

And thank you i will bow now :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

ro09 wrote: »
    The only thing is if we all start marrying foreign people and having kids, there won't be any real thorough bread irish left in years to come.

Are you anticipating a mass movement of Irish marrying dem foreigners? There are not enough foreigners/too many irish for that to happen.

Also your definition of Irish appears to be trapped in aspic, the Irish of 2009 are different to the irish of 1009 or 0009. What the Irish peeple consist of geneticly speaking is always, slowely changing

We are evolving as a race and no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should

wiat ...that highlited bit is from Desiderata :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

Ofc not :rolleyes:

Then how can you know? It's a very silly thing to say. No one knows what the future holds for themselves, let alone for their children.

Look at your life now, whatever it is - do you think you're living it exactly like your mother thought you would?
    If you are then maybe your daughter will do just what Mammy says, too.
    If you aren't, why do you think your daughter will be any different?

I'm not saying your daughter will marry someone who's not white, just to annoy you. What I'm saying is that there is no way you can know who she'll marry.

Latchy wrote: »
    I think your expressing the views of many people who may /may not come out and say it as you do but it is a fact , not just belonging to Irish people in general but many white English and other white races feel the same .The question is ,is it being Racist to feel this way ? I think the overall opinion would be yes.

But should your daughter wish to marry a non white person then you would just have to accept it

I already said that it is racist to an extent and i wouldn't deny it to anyone.I am entitled to feel how i feel.
    And been honest with you Latchy it wont happen so i wont have to accept it.I know you are hoping i would say yes,but she wouldn't be allowed even start dating anyone who is black or Arab or Pakistani so never would be able to develop into anything in first place never mind dating till she is 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭schween

twinytwo wrote: »
    racist is a word that is branded around by many to get their own way... i was called a racist because i stopped and african women in a shop because she tried to skip the very long queue... she starts going on about how im racist and was only stopping her because of the colour of her skin... I then pointed out i was stopping her because she had decided that the queue didnt apply to her which had nothing to do with her skin colour. As i have seen so many times in this country everything that is said or done against them is done only because they have a different skin colour

This happened to me as well. I work in a shop and I had just returned from my break. I was rushing as I was late so and a piece of food got caught in my throat so I started coughing all over the place. Next thing, the guy I was serving goes crazy, starts shouting at me in front of everyone, saying that he had to put up with that sh!t everyday and he was sick of it and that I must think he's awful stupid. I had to ask him what he was talking about cos I was so confused/frightened but he was just seething with anger. Eventually I copped it and I said that I was the victim of racism here as he just assumed a white guy that starts coughing is doing it maliciously.

Anyways the lesson is, don't be late and don't eat at work ...:pac:

As regards racism in Ireland in general, I think the majority aren't racist but I've met so many people that say they aren't racist and are all smiles and chat to foreigners, then as soon as they turn their back they give them looks and start bitchin about them for no reason at all.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Thanks and i wont either.As many of my friends wouldnt either,some wouldnt even think of marrying non Irish.
    I never said i would force my views on anyone else i pointed out that racism works on all sides with the Blacks asians etc.. would be alot more against outside race and religion marriages then Irish,some here dont even want their kids to be friends with non muslims and non whites never mind marrying them.But they are not called racist only white people are.
    Like i said i dont have a problem with anyone marrying outside colour just mine wont.

Are you going to disown them, should they not follow your advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

,but she wouldn't be allowed even start dating anyone who is black or Arab or Pakistani so never would be able to develop into anything in first place never mind dating till she is 18.

Would love to see the fireworks when daughter is told "no dating arabs or pakistanis, and no dating until you're 18".

Prediction: Daughter to run out and marry a black Pakistani Arab on her 18th birthday. :D

Personally, I would want my kids to be happy, but I guess that's not important, as long as they don't marry an Ay-rahb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

grenache wrote: »
    Everyone is inherently racist....

People who annoy you, for 10 points:

N_GGERS

MikeC101 wrote: »
    Would love to see the fireworks when daughter is told "no dating arabs or pakistanis, and no dating until you're 18".

Prediction: Daughter to run out and marry a black Pakistani Arab on her 18th birthday. :D

My late father-in-law was the most vociferous racist that I ever met. He hated anyone who wasn't white or English. Fortunately his daughter didn't fall for the ignorant racist sh1te spewed out by him, or she wouldn't have married me.:D

.I know you are hoping i would say yes,but she wouldn't be allowed even start dating anyone who is black or Arab or Pakistani so never would be able to develop into anything in first place never mind dating till she is 18.
    Not so much hoping as allowing for the fact that some white girls do marry non white men and obiously your daughter is not going to be one .

Just dont put the ' no blacks ,Arabs or Packastanis here ' sign in the window on her 18th birthday :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

The older the person the more racist they are in my experiences, the auld lads don't really know they're being racist though.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Moomoo1

ro09 wrote: »
    The only thing is if we all start marrying foreign people and having kids, there won't be any real thorough bread irish left in years to come.

If you look at england it is an example of what i am talking about. I don't mind immigration into this country up to a point, but at present we are flooded with immigrants. way to many.

Of course I will be called racist now but I would sit down and have dinner with foreign people and befriend them but at the same time we cant let there be a free for all like over in England and that seems to be happening at present.

ahem... 92% of Brits are white. Not only are you racist, you are wrong on top of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

Yeah because you can tell Irish and Albanians apart :rolleyes:

I can.
    I'm Albanian myself :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭TheCandystripes

hard to say. i think racism is overstated. by talking about it all the time it leads to unnatural relationships with people who happen to be immigrants. i live in dublin now and in my school its a melting pot and everyone gets on good.

all this bull**** about 'true irish' is just crap.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    if you had a daughter and she brought home a black man, would you have a problem with it? I must be racist, because I think I would, I would rather her partner was white like me

Why would you judge someone based on their race?

also i think other european countries are more xenephobic. think about it, ireland had one country invading it but mainland european countries have had many countries invading them from all different angles for centuries. i think bigotry against english people is pretty big in ireland.

Moomoo1 wrote: »
    Why would you judge someone based on their race?

He didn't say he would.
    He just said he'd be more comfortable if his daughter brought home a white man(like himself).

I'd prefer if my child brought home someone who was working, as opposed to someone on the dole.
    Not that I'd presuppose anything, it's just a preference.

dyl10 wrote: »
    He didn't say he would.
    He just said he'd be more comfortable if his daughter brought home a white man(like himself).

I'd prefer if my child brought home someone who was working, as opposed to someone on the dole.

but why would he be more comfortable with a white than a non-white? Does that no pre-suppose that he judges the person on appearances?

working is different: you want a man to be able to earn money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭tim0ney

It can depend on age - I work in a setting where there are a lot of elderly people coming and going - some of the things they say! Perhaps that's just ignorance on their part, and it's hard getting used to big social changes when you're 80+....?

I have religious friends, non-religious friends, anarchist friends, country friends, townie friends, and not a single one of them is racist. All aged 20-28.

Moomoo1 wrote: »
    but why would he be more comfortable with a white than a non-white? Does that no pre-suppose that he judges the person on appearances?

working is different: you want a man to be able to earn money.

Maybe he wouldn't feel as comfortable with a man of foreign origin(for several legitimate reasons).

Although being black doesn't guarantee that you aren't Irish, it certainly does raise the chance that you were born elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭WeWillBeReborn

The thing is if we were all racist then it wouldn't be an issue now would it? ;)
    No, it wouldn't if that was the case. But what I meant that while we're all a bit racist, some are moreso than others. That's where the problem lies.

Extreme racism means that even minor racism is considered just as bad. If everyone was slightly racist, and nobody was excessively so, then racism would have much less sinister connotations than it does the way things actually are.

Maybe he wouldn't feel as comfortable with a man of foreign origin(for several legitimate reasons).

Although being black doesn't guarantee that you aren't Irish, it certainly does raise the chance that you were born elsewhere.

fair enough, but I think every person should be considered on merit. If she goes out with a a beard-wearing jihadi with a penchant for Sharia law, then find, maybe you could be excused for feeling uneasy. But most people born abroad are no different to people born in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

He didn't say he would.

But surely, a bit of good old fashioned snobbery is a completely different to racism and racial prejudice. Altogether much more negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

OP, Every country has racists, but if you're asking if the Irish people as a whole are racist? no, just the ignorant bafoons who say things like "They took our jerbs" and go on stormfront to vent their frustrations out on the fact that they are all inbred hicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Just out of a matter of interest does anyone think there is a difference between parents from Ireland who would'nt want their son/daughter to go out with a black man/woman and the parents of an Indian son/daughter who forbid them to marry a non indian. Imo both are racist no?

OMG YES YES YES YES, now i know u were expecting/wanting someone to say thats different but no that is also racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

OMG YES YES YES YES, now i know u were expecting/wanting someone to say thats different but no that is also racist.
    :confused: Okay so.

But surely, a bit of good old fashioned snobbery is a completely different to racism and racial prejudice. Altogether much more negative.

Well that's it.
    One of the few reasonable arguments Nick Griffen made(whether he was sincere or not, I don't know) was that he didn't think of Foreigners as inferior, he just wanted England to be white-Christian, of people who had white-Christian values. That's an argument of preference as opposed to ignorance.

It shows a great level of maturity to be able to discuss that argument without boiling down to the level of calling people racist.

Extreme immigration views may be mistaken for, but not actually be racist.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

hello932 wrote: »
    Are Irish people racist?
    Bad B!ue slips into a Lamborghini Murcielago LP640 Roadster with 12 cylinders V60, 6.5 liter 640 HP, and top speed of 209 mph, revvvvvvs the engine, then LOOKS at the OP, and says "Who me?" :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Nebit

Well that's it.
    One of the few reasonable arguments Nick Griffen made(whether he was sincere or not, I don't know) was that he didn't think of Foreigners as inferior, he just wanted England to be white-Christian, of people who had white-Christian values. That's an argument of preference as opposed to ignorance.

It shows a great level of maturity to be able to discuss that argument without boiling down to the level of calling people racist.

Extreme immigration views may be mistaken for, but not actually be racist.

this was the man who denied the holocaust i hardly think his in anyway mature and anyone who believes his gobble on that website have very weak small minds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭hello932

From what i hear, a lot of people say that being white in this country is very important. For example i heard the other day while doing some shopping two middle aged women saying that a certain non white minority were taking all the social welfare...in fact ive often heard words to this effect being said all over Dublin by various segments of the Irish demographic. There seems to be a wide spread consensus that foreigners in this country are just spongers off the welfare state. Do people object to this idea? or agree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Nebit

From what i hear, a lot of people say that being white in this country is very important. For example i heard the other day while doing some shopping two middle aged women saying that a certain non white minority were taking all the social welfare...in fact ive often heard words to this effect being said all over Dublin by various segments of the Irish demographic. There seems to be a wide spread consensus that foreigners in this country are just spongers off the welfare state. Do people object to this idea? or agree?

all my black m8s have jobs, in fact its white, middle aged people particularly in the west who mainly scam off the dole, imo. most who have jobs as well. but people are unwilling to blame those who yo tend to associate with more (in this case white people) and so pick on the minority (black).
    i think people need a bit of cop on tbh

I would say that there are more non-foreign spongers than foreign ones, and also many people making wild assumptions that have no bearing on reality, a bit like a Daily Mail reporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

oh i think so! anything wrong with that?! :D

I can.
    I'm Albanian myself :rolleyes:

Did i say an Albanian cant tell Albanian from other nationality ;) Ofc you can on basis of language and few other things.As i can based on look and accent even when speaking English and language.How ever majority of Irish would not be able to distinguish from mere glance at someone running off or cycling in his smart ass case away on his bike and if they heard Albanian they wouldnt know the language either.

Si je? :)

• BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    if you had a daughter and she brought home a black man, would you have a problem with it? I must be racist, because I think I would, I would rather her partner was white like me

Of course it's racist. You would have a problem with someone because of their skin colour. That's the very definition of racism. If you had made the typical Irish 'I'm not racist, but...' argument of "they're from a different culture/speak a different language so they wouldn't get along" then MAYBE, maybe, you'd have a point, at a push, but no, it's all about the skin colour. It amazes me how many people have no idea how racist they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

[quote=[Deleted User];62672773]Of course it's racist. You would have a problem with someone because of their skin colour. That's the very definition of racism. If you had made the typical Irish 'I'm not racist, but...' argument of "they're from a different culture/speak a different language so they wouldn't get along" then MAYBE, maybe, you'd have a point, at a push, but no, it's all about the skin colour. It amazes me how many people have no idea how racist they are.[/QUOTE]

Its a good point, if my daughter came home with a burkha on and said her boyfriend/husband said she had to wear it I would not bother telling her to take it off. I would go find the boyfriend/husband and break his face with a hammer.;)
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Its a good point, if my daughter came home with a burkha on and said her boyfriend/husband said she had to wear it I would not bother telling her to take it off. I would go find the boyfriend/husband and break his face with a hammer.;)

I must be a racist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Daragh101

i dont think the irish people are racist!!...
    you might see some drunkN idiot on a saturday nite shouting racist abuse at someone but i dont really think thats because they hate that particular race, but moreso to piss them off! they dont actually hate their race!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

[quote=[Deleted User];62672773]Of course it's racist. You would have a problem with someone because of their skin colour. That's the very definition of racism. [/QUOTE]

It's not racist. It's xenophobic, but not racist.

Racism means you are prejudiced, that you pre-judge, that you make assumptions about people based on their appearance or place of origin, or their accent.

Preferring that your daughter had an Irish boyfriend is not necessarily racist, it's a reaction based on xenophobia, fear of the unknown, the foreign. This does not mean it's racist. People misuse the word racist so much, they should look it up:

racism

1 : a belief that race is the primary determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race
    2 : racial prejudice or discrimination

Racism is a doctrine, a pseudoscience, a philosophy, a systematic ideology. Different in character to mere xenophobia.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Yes.

• It's not racist. It's xenophobic, but not racist.

Racism means you are prejudiced, that you pre-judge, that you make assumptions about people based on their appearance or place of origin, or their accent.

Preferring that your daughter had an Irish boyfriend is not necessarily racist, it's a reaction based on xenophobia, fear of the unknown, the foreign. This does not mean it's racist. People misuse the word racist so much, they should look it up:

racism

1 : a belief that race is the primary determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race
    2 : racial prejudice or discrimination

Racism is a doctrine, a pseudoscience, a philosophy, a systematic ideology. Different in character to mere xenophobia.

That post displayed what I consider to be racial prejudice, so yes, it is racist. He said he'd prefer his daughter to date a white person, why is that? Is it not because he feels white = superior?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

some are. some aernt.

Bit of a Stupid question, its so general:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭chrissb7

saying something about coloured people = racist,

coloured people is a racist term in itself,their not white people coloured in their black people like their is white people.The fact the black population want to be called black shows that although your intentions are honest and noble you're not in tune with racial equalism.