Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

On and On - We Carry On

• Registered Users Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

seanynova wrote: »
    good session tonight, be a good one to build on, eg the 5* mile next week....6*mile etc...

are you doing dungarvan 10 by any chance? i have my entry but not running with the last week with injury, and no sign of it getting better even after 2 visist to the physio....PLAN B regarding goal races i think....pity cos i wanted to race dungarvan, but if im running ill do it as a LSR, might as well as its paid for and get a t-shirt out of it lol.

Yeah doing Dungarvan, will do the BHAA 4mile race in Little Island too next Sunday if your around?
    Any update on your injury?

+1 good session tno. I did a mile rep session last night and by the end I was running round a 400m long puddle - definitely harder on a gravel track when it rains.

Im doing dungarvan - might see you down there.

tx tbb, your in top form yourself I see from your own log! def be good to catch-up in Dungarvan.

Well since that 4*mile session on Tuesday, things went downhill. Had a bit of dose of the flu last few days, off work with it as well. Thought I was done with it then yesterday, but, I feel like crap today again, like I've no energy.

Pity like, cos at the start of the week, I thought I was gonna get a good weeks training in. I'll have to hold that thought till next Monday now I think!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭seanynova

tisnotover wrote: »
    Yeah doing Dungarvan, will do the BHAA 4mile race in Little Island too next Sunday if your around?

looks like we are both in the wars then...still injured and its not getting much better, have an appointment with a back specialist on monday(although i have to change that to tuesday)...was told last monday by the physio to stay off the bike also so i havent done a stroke all week :( all i can do is use ice & ibuprofin and see what happens now.
    if i get running next week ill do the BHAA but pace will be set at "easy" tempo i think, depending on if i get back running next week that is.

Monday: Gym, 3miles on threadmill and weights session

Tuesday:
    CIT track

Track was frozen over and very slippy at top-bend so couldn't do mile repeat session. Coach came up with an alternative session, where we did 16laps of the track with 300m fast/hard and 100m jog on the slippy part. Was a good session, legs tired after it. 7miles total.

Hope to get a few easy miles in after work tomorrow.

whats the plan for sunday TNO, are you racing this or running it as a tempo in prep for dungarvan?
    i might tempo run it, 4m....and then tempo run dungarvan next week, maybe 6miles there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

whats the plan for sunday TNO, are you racing this or running it as a tempo in prep for dungarvan?
    i might tempo run it, 4m....and then tempo run dungarvan next week, maybe 6miles there?

Hoping to race on Sunday. Didn't enter Dungarvan as likely away that weekend.

Gringo78 wrote: »
    Hoping to race on Sunday. Didn't enter Dungarvan as likely away that weekend.

should see you down there all going well...how are you looking time wise for it?

4.4 miles under a moon-lit farm. Cold tonite, I reckon pace was 8min/mile, didn't have gps on.

Seany I'll be "racing it". I won't know what that means until I get into it, but I'm aiming for 24 I'd say. Dungarvan's pace will be decided upon after this Sunday. Haven't raced in a good while, looking forward to opening up the lungs! :-) will see ye down there sure.

should see you down there all going well...how are you looking time wise for it?

I ran just under 24 back in mid December without the watch and off very little training. Things have been going well so far in January so thinking sub 23

• Registered Users Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

I ran just under 24 back in mid December without the watch and off very little training. Things have been going well so far in January so thinking sub 23

I think 4m is my favourite distance,not total gung ho like a 5k and a mile shorter than the 5m...just about right i think for a right good lash.
    Its probably to far for you cork lot but the club 4m on Easter Sunday is a very fast route...alot of fast times recorded last year...2 runners under 19 mins...i ran 22:18 and i was only 18th ...

Best of luck with it

4.4 miles under a moon-lit farm. Cold tonite, I reckon pace was 8min/mile, didn't have gps on.

Seany I'll be "racing it". I won't know what that means until I get into it, but I'm aiming for 24 I'd say. Dungarvan's pace will be decided upon after this Sunday. Haven't raced in a good while, looking forward to opening up the lungs! :-) will see ye down there sure.

im going to give this one a miss actually i think....injury is back (was never really gone) so a tempo wouldnt be a good idea on it this soon.

good luck with the goals lads, sub23 will be nice going and would set things up niecly for the final few weeks going into ballyc

im going to give this one a miss actually i think....injury is back (was never really gone) so a tempo wouldnt be a good idea on it this soon.

Sorry to hear bout injury coming back Seany, thats tough luck. Saw that you started a new training log, some good goals there, all best with the new log and hope your back injury free soon.

6.4miles with 7*400m with 200m jog recoveries. Ran these with Niamh and was glad of company, been a long time since I did a 400's session. Track was icey again on top bend, and had to be careful on it, Niamh was in her spikes and had no bother, but not much grip in the HyperSpeed's at times ;)

400m splits: [83,84,83,81,83,83,84], all done in Lane 3. So averaged 83s, which is about 80s/400m in Lane 1. nice session. Will add 2/3 tomorrow.

Sorry to hear bout injury coming back Seany, thats tough luck. Saw that you started a new training log, some good goals there, all best with the new log and hope your back injury free soon.

i think its best i reshuffle things and that way hopefully ill get through a full training plan without injury....might still run dungarvan anyway but ill see how the mileage is next week.

you might have to invest in a pair of spiks for the next month or so for the tues/thurs sessions!

Little island 4 mile race today in 25:0x.

Ran this as a tempo run as I wanted to get feel for pace for dungarvan. Few of us are gonna do the 3k in midleton on Tuesday too.

I hit 6:15pace overall but I felt I was working hard for it. Not sure I would have broke 24 today if I raced it.

Great crowd out, maybe 480 at it!

8miles total.

Little island 4 mile race today in 25:0x.

Ran this as a tempo run as I wanted to get feel for pace for dungarvan. Few of us are gonna do the 3k in midleton on Tuesday too.

I hit 6:15pace overall but I felt I was working hard for it. Not sure I would have broke 24 today if I raced it.

Great crowd out, maybe 480 at it!

8miles total.

Is 62min the target for Dungarvan?

Had to skip the race as child was sick and I picked up a vomiting bug. Wasn't too disappointed as I got a tempo on Friday evening as I thought odds of making race were only 50-50 with child sick

Is 62min the target for Dungarvan?

Had to skip the race as child was sick and I picked up a vomiting bug. Wasn't too disappointed as I got a tempo on Friday evening as I thought odds of making race were only 50-50 with child sick

How did you find the tempo on Friday? Did you hit the pace you wanted?

Yeah, 62 is the target, glad I ran it like that today, needed the tempo run, they have been neglected for a while now!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Yeah, 62 is the target, glad I ran it like that today, needed the tempo run, they have been neglected for a while now!

I'll be looking for 62-63 (probably closer to 63) in dungarvan too tno. might be able to work together for a bit.

Well done on showing restraint today tno...no medals for killing yourself when not ready to race hard.
    I will see you up in Dungarvan next week,i'll keep an eye out for ya.
    Are you running the Kilmac 5 this year ? its a fast one...good memories for you,your first sub 30 if i remember correctly.

Roll on next week

Had to do the tempo on the treadmill and so no idea really what the pace equates to. The last few tempos on the treadmill have involved starting out very easy and incrementing the speed 0.1kph every 45sec. Takes about 35minutes to get HR up to >86%HRR and then I hold it at that speed for 30minutes allowing HR to drift up to 89%HRR max and then ramp back down. Its a good 75min run with prob a good 40min at or around LT HR. I'm finding this year I can sustain higher HR's on my tempos yet feel comfortable that I could sustain it for an hour. I'll hopefully get my next tempo done on the road and try to replicate the treadmill run to get a calibration of pace.

I'll be looking for 62-63 (probably closer to 63) in dungarvan too tno. might be able to work together for a bit.

I hope that was a typo and you meant closer to 62. I actually think you should be going for something closer to 61....you're a real stamina runner so 10 mile races should be your forte. if you can knock out those 6min miles towards the end of LSR's then I really think 63 is a very very soft target.

Dungarvans a great race with a big crowd, i went out a little slow last year and suffered by not being in a good group so tuck into TNO's sub 62 group but be prepared to push on after 5 miles (you might be able to coax TNO to push on along with you...he, like you, suffers from convervatism :D)

Gym Session.

3miles on threadmill, 12k/hr, 1% gradient and weight m/c's after.

Legs not too bad after yesterday, the compression socks do definately help recovery!

Be good to meet up! I think u shud be pushing bar a bit higher than me tho, judging by those sessions you've been putting in last while, but starting out steady and pushing on is the way to go!
    Sosa wrote: »
    Well done on showing restraint today tno...no medals for killing yourself when not ready to race hard.
    I will see you up in Dungarvan next week,i'll keep an eye out for ya.
    Are you running the Kilmac 5 this year ? its a fast one...good memories for you,your first sub 30 if i remember correctly.

Be good to meet up Sosa, watch out for the Eagle singlet, not sure i'll need the white cap tho ;) When is Kilmac on ? Yeah, that was my first sub-30, pb is there for taking if you push for it there.

Roll on next week[/QUOTE]
    I hope that was a typo and you meant closer to 62. I actually think you should be going for something closer to 61....you're a real stamina runner so 10 mile races should be your forte. if you can knock out those 6min miles towards the end of LSR's then I really think 63 is a very very soft target.

Dungarvans a great race with a big crowd, i went out a little slow last year and suffered by not being in a good group so tuck into TNO's sub 62 group but be prepared to push on after 5 miles (you might be able to coax TNO to push on along with you...he, like you, suffers from convervatism :D)

Conservatism be my middle name alrite, but there's no top-100 shirts given out in Dungarvan! Thats the goal for a certain race in March this year! Are you heading to Dungarvan too ?

Didn't enter as was likely to be away for the weekend. Eagle 5 looks like nice timing as warmup for ballycotton.

A few of us headed down to the 3k series in Midleton tonite. A good crowd out, maybe 150 and the usual east cork ac lads!

Ran it in 10:41 I think, very happy with that, was aiming for 10:30 to 10:45 like. Niamh, my club-mate passed me on the 2nd lap (1k loop) but I couldn't hold gap to her.

A long while since lungs were opened up like that, good tho, will try and get down to next one too.

6miles total.

A few of us headed down to the 3k series in Midleton tonite. A good crowd out, maybe 150 and the usual east cork ac lads!

Ran it in 10:41 I think, very happy with that, was aiming for 10:30 to 10:45 like. Niamh, my club-mate passed me on the 2nd lap (1k loop) but I couldn't hold gap to her.

A long while since lungs were opened up like that, good tho, will try and get down to next one too.

6miles total.

Good going. The 3k course is a good one....it's more typical of a XC setup with the short tough uphill each lap. It takes a good few attempts to work out the correct pacing

Yeah the 3k is a tough cookie. I remember finding the track 3k really tough last summer when I went out too hard! Def good to head down to it tho, the pace is frantic from the start, results up there, show that James McCarthy won it in 8:48 !!

I'll be out to beat Niamh the next time, she paced it better than I did, but she has been doing two track sessions/wk last while whereas I've been only doing the Tuesday (great to have a target to beat!). One thing I was happy with was that I felt strong on the hill each lap.

Be good to meet up Sosa, watch out for the Eagle singlet, not sure i'll need the white cap tho ;) When is Kilmac on ? Yeah, that was my first sub-30, pb is there for taking if you push for it there.

Feb 20th 11am ... i wont be missing that one.

Another fast one is our own 4m on Easter Sunday @ 11am also...maybe a bit far for you but its really quick...2 under 19 mins last year,my 22:18 barely got me top 20

Aswell as those West Waterford are having a 10k on the following week...27th @ 11am...not as quick as Kilmac but very fair,i ran my PB there last year.

Link for West Wat AC : http://www.westwaterfordathletics.org/

Just go to Fixtures

Sosa wrote: »
    Feb 20th 11am ... i wont be missing that one.

Another fast one is our own 4m on Easter Sunday @ 11am also...maybe a bit far for you but its really quick...2 under 19 mins last year,my 22:18 barely got me top 20

Aswell as those West Waterford are having a 10k on the following week...27th @ 11am...not as quick as Kilmac but very fair,i ran my PB there last year.

Link for West Wat AC : http://www.westwaterfordathletics.org/

Just go to Fixtures

Thanks for the links, Waterford Clubs always put on good races like. I might be missing Kilmac on the 20th, our own club 5mile race is on that morning. Will have a think about the others tho! :)