Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Week off...... what are your plans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭NightOwl91

Lol I learnt 10 french words this morning lol and loooked over the cold war last night...
    Why do I have a feeling I should be hardcore studying 9hours lol????
    I feel like Ive done nothing lol but my mam made me clean my room yesterday so..:p
    Im planning to get my research study done with at the weekend...hopefully...
    If you hand it up before xmas tests you get 20% of test ...regardless lol
    woo:rolleyes:
    Yeah, watched gilmore girls all this week...part of the problem lol
    Jesse does it for me lol

• Registered Users Posts: 40 cheesydoodles

laura93 wrote: »
    This week off equals lots of sleepy time for me :D
    I have 4 essays to do and about 10 pieces of Stair na Gaeilge to learn, 3 units to learn in business and I have to start my history project :(

yeah who are you doing your history project on? I have no idea how to start off mine :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭laura93

yeah who are you doing your history project on? I have no idea how to start off mine :(

I'm doing mine of the Prohibition (I'm doing something specifically on it, just haven't decided yet). My teacher hasn't explained it or anything, I think for now he just expects us to know what we're doing. For now I'm just reading through a book on it :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Reillyman

NightOwl91 wrote: »
    I feel like Ive done nothing lol but my mam made me clean my room yesterday so..:p

FAIL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭NightOwl91

Reillyman wrote: »
    FAIL

Yeah well...it needed to be done lol

• Registered Users Posts: 40 cheesydoodles

laura93 wrote: »
    I'm doing mine of the Prohibition (I'm doing something specifically on it, just haven't decided yet). My teacher hasn't explained it or anything, I think for now he just expects us to know what we're doing. For now I'm just reading through a book on it :P

cool. how many sources do you have? sorry about all the questions lol, it's just that i have no idea how to go about this thing. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭laura93

cool. how many sources do you have? sorry about all the questions lol, it's just that i have no idea how to go about this thing. :P

One. I know I need at least 3 though, so I need to find a reliable internet source, and I'll ask my teacher for advice on the last one :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭TheCandystripes

seriously i dossed right through fifth year and have done a bit of study the last 2 weeks and think im on course for a decent lc.

business well i know chapters 1-14 nearly off by heart after about 6 hours study in the last 2 days-a few things i don't know but will have so much time go go back over it.

geography-should be sorted. i think the question ''why volcanoes occur along pacific ring of fire' will come up as well as how humans interact with rover processes.

for biome i think charachteristics will come up this year...hopefully.

history-still not sure but should be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Selohesra007

seriously i dossed right through fifth year and have done a bit of study the last 2 weeks and think im on course for a decent lc.

business well i know chapters 1-14 nearly off by heart after about 6 hours study in the last 2 days-a few things i don't know but will have so much time go go back over it.

geography-should be sorted. i think the question ''why volcanoes occur along pacific ring of fire' will come up as well as how humans interact with rover processes.

for biome i think charachteristics will come up this year...hopefully.

history-still not sure but should be grand.

so otherwise your f****d:D

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭MaggieNF

haha i have been in school studying most of the week its really good, get loads done then come home at 1 and do nothing

but you should also relax this weeeeeek

and i want to sleeeeeeeeep all weekend :)

i slept till 4 today :( up watching porn all night lol

• Registered Users Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Hmm I said I'd start at 5. Its now 18:40....

Oh Motivation! Wherefore art thou!?!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭theowen

i slept till 4 today :( up watching porn all night lol
    Oh my...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Mary007

Just a general question regarding the history syllabus! Whats the craic with it? My whole class are in the dark..like I'm talking essay wise do you pick 2 sections of the book to know really well or whats the story? Thanks in advance:D

Document-Northern Ireland-1 of 3 topics come up. Easy enough document questions with a 40 marker long question.

Main Essays:(100 marks)

Irish-I presume you do 1912-1949(Civil War, 1916 Rising, Anglo-Irish Treaty) 5 questions given, pick one.

Then you do 2 essays from Europe and the wider world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Mary007

Document-Northern Ireland-1 of 3 topics come up. Easy enough document questions with a 40 marker long question.

Main Essays:(100 marks)

Irish-I presume you do 1912-1949(Civil War, 1916 Rising, Anglo-Irish Treaty) 5 questions given, pick one.

Then you do 2 essays from Europe and the wider world.

Okay cool thanks! So like with the main essays can ya just pick two topics like eg. United States to study? And then another one like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

My friends (one or two fellow repeats,ten or eleven current sixth years from my old school who did TY) have been studying like crazy this mid term. 7-8 hours a day,most of 'em. I'm not used to people admitting that they're studying (last year,everyone's "I haven't opened a book!" comforted me,I didn't feel so bad about my own procrastination,thinking we were all in the same boat.) And now,they're studying diligently,and I am just delighted that I did my French homework before Sunday. I am so screwed for this year,again. Like,one of my friends is going for 280 points and is putting in 5 hours a day.I'm going for 570 or so (pah) and I literally haven't done a thing. Balls.

3 hours of stoichiometry, oh ye:rolleyes:

i really have to do some study 2day. to me the lc doesnt seem hard. ok i know im not aiming for top points but i dont think its that hard if you know what their looking for and know how to study properl.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 327 ✭✭zoom!

theowen wrote: »
    3 hours of stoichiometry, oh ye:rolleyes:
    that chapter takes an hour at most, about 40 or so minutes to study and spend 20 doin an exam question.

zoom! wrote: »
    that chapter takes an hour at most, about 40 or so minutes to study and spend 20 doin an exam question.
    In your case maybe. My teacher gave us every question that's been asked, plus some from the old syllabus :rolleyes:

Oh didn't realise you were like given questions to do. That kinda sucks, stochiometry is fairly easy compared to things like molecular shapes and stuff like that. Anyway good luck, paintball time :P

Well it's haloween, I still haven't got enough done yet for my tests next week so I'll be on candy duty while studying..... ugh :(

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Mazda

After reading this I suddenly feel very guilty.....

I've done 3 Business questions all week :( oh poo...

English essay, 7 chapters of Chemistry, Genetics, 5 sections of Irish oral and the first draft of my History research topic (which I haven't even finished researching) await me today :(

Mazda wrote: »
    After reading this I suddenly feel very guilty.....

I've done 3 Business questions all week :( oh poo...

English essay, 7 chapters of Chemistry, Genetics, 5 sections of Irish oral and the first draft of my History research topic (which I haven't even finished researching) await me today :(
    :eek::rolleyes:

well that week didnt go according to plan. happy enough with my business tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Making It Bad

Well I have done nothing school wise all week. I had been planning on catching up in Physics which I so desperately need to do, but nothing has been done on that. I can say at least that the midterm has been great what with the numerous 18ths and all. That and I also got and finished Batman:AA (great game, buy it).

I know that now I really should go and do some now but I really couldn't be bothered. Now maybe I will regret this come June but at the moment life couldn't really get any better.

Well I have done nothing school wise all week. I had been planning on catching up in Physics which I so desperately need to do, but nothing has been done on that. I can say at least that the midterm has been great what with the numerous 18ths and all. That and I also got and finished Batman:AA (great game, buy it).

I know that now I really should go and do some now but I really couldn't be bothered. Now maybe I will regret this come June but at the moment life couldn't really get any better.
    Batman really is amazing:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Only did the homework but I had a ****ing great mid-term break :D I'll be hungover tomorrow so I won't get too much done.

Have a great Halloween LC'ers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Reillyman

This Mid-Term has been unbelievable! I've been on the beer since tuesday, no joke!

I, like everyone else, had great plans for this mid-term, study wise, but that basically went out the window. I actually don't even feel bad for doing nothing, I'd rather go back to school having to do a bit extra in the next few weeks rather than saying "****, I had a crap Mid-term!"

Studying a topic will be forgotten about, memories of nights out last forever.

The last few weeks I have been so happy, good moods everyday like. I think it's because I know that in 10 years time I'll be managing a hedge-fund on Wall St, making millions on commision, while the scumbags around here will be sweeping the aisles in tesco. My Life Is Great!

PS: Opinions expressed in this post are not the responsibility of <Reillyman> but rather the by-product of excessive binge-drinking.........LOVE IT!!!