Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help with buying a tailor made desktop.

• 25-10-2009 11:44pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭

Hey.

I'm thinking of getting a desktop. Currently I have a XPS M1710 gaming laptop which cost me a rotten €3,500 three years ago. Here's the specs:

CPU
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T7600 @ 2.33GHz by GenuineIntel
    2330Mhz L2 Cache 4096KB 32 bit
    Iin Microprocessor Socket @3.3V

Memory Modules
    1024MB DIMM
    1024MB DIMM
    Total physical memory 2145MB

Video Card
    NVIDIA GeForce Go 7950 GTX
    Chipset NVxx
    512MB

What really pee'ed me off was when I recently discovered that I could'nt upgrade(due to it been a laptop). Yes I should have researched this before I bought...but thats what a noob gets! Lesson learned.

Anyways I'm seriously thinking of getting a custom made desktop. Since I'm a relative computer noob(basic knowledge) I won't be able to build one myself so my only other option is to get your advice and get one custom made from dell.

I've a budget of 2k to work with.
    I don't need a monitor or keyboard/mouse.
    Just the desktop itself.

I use the computer every day and its left on most of the day.

Main uses
    Gaming!! I need a system that will allow me to play all the latest high spec games.....like arma 2, cod etc.

I use photoshop alot and a few other light programs.

So basically I would like something that has enough juice to allow smooth hassle free gaming and also is decently fast!

As I said, I'm a cnuting noob in a way regarding the technical details of computers so any help would be great guys.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Leman_Russ

Well you will want an i5-750, an ATI 5870 and 8 GB of ram, but i would very much recomend building it yourself rather than prebuilt, but thats your choice I suppose :)

2k for just the tower will get you an unbelievably silly system from Dell, but will get you a OMFGHAXXMYEYESTHEYIZMELTINGAHHHHHHHHHHHHH! DIY System :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

i mocked this up for someone a few weeks ago and I think it's a good starting base for discussion:

hwsbuild.jpg

now it's missing a CPU cooler. I'd normally recommend a Noctua myself, as they are a great compromise cooler between performance and noise. But i don't know if the LGA1156 mounting kit is available yet...

as for the GPU: with you're budget you'll probably want to get a 5870 instead (although personally i wouldn't bother, you're just paying a premium for DX11, i'd get a 4890 to bide me over for a year or so til DX11 matures).

as for 8GB RAM, fine if you want to. But you don't need it at all for gaming, most games are designed for 32bit systems that can't see the additional RAM anyway... i have 6GB in my machine, and i rarely ever come close to max usage unless i'm using something like MATLAB.

case is pretty much up to you, what size you want, what you like the look of. Coolermaster and Antec would be the most common brands.

btw: if anything of the above doesn't make any sense just let us know :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

I've a mate who's a computer wiz so he might be able to help me out if i decide to build myself.

How long would it take to assemble typically from scratch?

I've a mate who's a computer wiz so he might be able to help me out if i decide to build myself.

Less than a day. Takes me a few hours at most. The main thing is knowing what goes where. Once you know that, everything is easy :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

2-3 hours including the OS.

my first build took me about half a day, primarily because I went dog slow to make sure absolutely everything was in it's correct place and double checked everything as I went along. So it'll take you no longer than that. I'd say average is about 2-3 hours like the others said.

The main thing about building is to read the motherboard manual, that will tell you where everything should go.

Typically a build goes as follows:
    a) you just prep the case, put in the PSU, screw in the motherboard stands, and put in the drives if you want.
    b) slot the CPU into the motherboard, assemble to cooler and attach it, then stick in your RAM, then put the mobo into the case.
    c) then it's a case of slotting in the graphics card and any other devices and just wire everything up, referring to the motherboard manual for the fiddly bits like the front panel connectors.

the only really concern when building is to avoid any static discharge. This can be done by simply grounding yourself on the case before you touch anything.

Ok guys,

I spent severly hours last night looking up youtube vids: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNbEBARu6LY
    Very inslightful for a noob like myself.

From what I've read on boards and on the net regarding building up my own machine I've decided that I'm prepared to give it a go, with the help from my mate who I said would be able to configure it anyways.

So based on my initail budget, I've decided to lower it to €1,500.

Bear in mind that I want it to be a powerful gaming machine with enough juice to play the likes a Arma 2(which is very intensive on juice).

I also work alot with photoshop CS2 and apart from that, I won't be using many other hard programs.

My monitor that I have a the moment is a HP w2216 with current resolution at 1680z1050 -60Hz.

So here is my initail components for my build along with price, and link.

I've left out CPU and GPU until I get some recommendations. Also, I don't know if everything is compatable etc...so that's why I would appreciate some expert input.

Mobo - Gigabyte GA-p55m-UD4 ip55 socket 1156 8 channel audio mATX - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/173533 - £119.98

SPU - Corsair 650W HX modular - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/173104 - £90.84

RAM - Corsair dominator DDR3 1600Mhz 4GB CL9 - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/173122 - £84.99

Hard drive - Samsung spinpoint F3 1TB HD SATA 2 7200rpm 32mb CACHE - OEM - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/173804 - £56.94

Optical Drive - LG GH22N50 22 x DVD RW DL +SAM SATA BLACK retail kit - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/172821 - £17.68

Case - CM Storm case 120mm + 2x 140m fans included - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/165238 - £74.89

So far thats £445 but I have only looked on ebuyer for prices so far.

As I said, please give me as much feedback as possible regarding what you think. I don't mind as ye are the ones that know this stuff, so its your advice that I will ultimately be taking for the final setup.

what GPU and CPU would you recommend?

Thanks again lads.

GPU depends, seeing as it's sole purpose is gaming that's where you should spend your most money. Do you want Nvidia PhysX support (i.e. for better effects in Batman/Mirror's edge etc.?)? then look at the GTX285/295. If not, ATI is undoubtedly the way to go. a HD5870 is what you want (have the Sapphire VaporX versions come out yet?). Although as I said above, my preference would be to hold off for a little bit and get a HD4890 until DX11 matures and we start to see some games out.

as for CPU, for you're budget you could build an LGA1366 machine. These are the higher end CPUs from Intel (designed mainly for highly parallelised applications). But it's an enterprise platform and given what intend for it you wont see much difference between that and an LGA1156 build. I'd recommend an i750 for your purposes really. Just get a good cooler and have a go at overclocking it and it's as good as anything for your purposes.

as for the mobo you've listed: that's an mATX board. Those are designed for small form cases, not nigh end gaming towers. The ASUS P7P55D i had above, or the Gigabyte GA-P55. Both get good reviews afaik, so it's really down to brand preference.

As for the Case: I'd spend €20 more and get the HAF922. Not much difference really, the HAF comes with better fans I believe and has more room inside making life a bit easier for a first time builder.

Ok, here's first update based on above comment:

CPU - Intel Core i5 750 2.66GHz Socket LGA1156 8MB L3 Cache - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/172755/show_product_reviews - £149.68

Mobo - Gibabyte GA-P55 - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/173525 - £114.99

RAM - Corsair dominator DDR3 1600Mhz 4GB CL9 - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/173122 - £84.99

Hard drive - Samsung spinpoint F3 1TB HD SATA 2 7200rpm 32mb CACHE - OEM - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/173804 - £56.94

Optical Drive - LG GH22N50 22 x DVD RW DL +SAM SATA BLACK retail kit - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/172821 - £17.68

Case - Coolermaster HAP 922 - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/164961 - £89.19

Graphics Card - Sapphire Radeon HD 4890 1GB GDDR5 - http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.aspx?sku=479564 - €171.50

= around £780 = €850

I notice with the CPU it has a 2.66Ghz speed. would It not be better to go for a 3.0Ghz speed? My concern is that it would'nt be strong enough for ARMA 2 which has a recommended CPU spec of Quad core CPU or fast dual core CPU, intel core 2.8GHz or AMD 64x2 4400+ or faster.

What's involved with overclocking? I have no idea about this.

How is the above build shaping up?

I notice with the CPU it has a 2.66Ghz speed. would It not be better to go for a 3.0Ghz speed? My concern is that it would'nt be strong enough for ARMA 2 which has a recommended CPU spec of Quad core CPU or fast dual core CPU, intel core 2.8GHz or AMD 64x2 4400+ or faster.
    Don't let the speed fool you. Clock for Clock, the i5 is much faster than a 2.66GHz C2Q. Also, My i5 overclocked to 4GHz 24 Hour Prime 95 Stable on a GA-P55-UD3 Mobo with a No-Brand Powersupply, you will be able to overclock it with the 1 click gigabyte software to 3.6 no problem ;)
    What's involved with overclocking? I have no idea about this.
    There are 2 Ways:
    The Easy Software Based way: 1 Click and it does it all for you. Achieves a respectable Overclock, but not the maximum possible.
    The Hard Way: Dive into the Bios, tweak Voltages, boot, crash, clear CMOS, try again, repeat, stress test, lower voltages by 1, repeat etc etc. Takes a lot more time and know how but will eek out the last few MHz. Unless you are a major enthusiast, you can stick with the easy way :)
    How is the above build shaping up?
    Only things I don't like are the Ram and the GPU. The Ram is because I am a Kingston Fanboi, but the ram is fine otherwise. The GPU I really recommend against. It's outdated tech, you want a 5850. It might seem a bit much, but it is more than worth it, and it uses less power too :)

To add, since you don't need a Monitor etc, use the rest if your budget on a second Hard Drive (for Backup or Raid if you so wished) and the 5850 :)

Leman_Russ wrote: »
    Don't let the speed fool you. Clock for Clock, the i5 is much faster than a 2.66GHz C2Q. Also, My i5 overclocked to 4GHz 24 Hour Prime 95 Stable on a GA-P55-UD3 Mobo with a No-Brand Powersupply, you will be able to overclock it with the 1 click gigabyte software to 3.6 no problem ;)

There are 2 Ways:
    The Easy Software Based way: 1 Click and it does it all for you. Achives a respectable Overclock
    The Hard Way: Dive into the Bios, tweak Voltages etc etc. Takes a lot more time and know how but will eek out the last few MHz. Unless you are a major enthusiast, you can stick with the easy way :)

Only things I don't like are the Ram and the GPU. The Ram is because I am a Kingston Fanboi, but the ram is fine otherwise. The GPU I really recommend against. It's outdated tech, you want a 5850. It might seem a bit much, but it is more than worth it, and it uses less power too :)

That sounds cool. So whats your view on the above? I forgot to add windows 7 for the list.

The above is fine ;)

Make sure you get the 64 Bit Windows 7 though, otherwise you will not be able to use more than 3.5GB of the ram :)

And if your budget can take it, get 4GB more ram as well as my recommendations above.

Why? Hell, why not I say! :D

whats the difference between the 5870 and the 5850? just the price?

5870 is a little bit faster but a lot more expensive. It's for people with more money than brains.

The 5850 is the Mid Level High End Card and IMO offers the best Price: Performance ratio.

The 5770 and 5750 are the Low End Mid Cards, but ATM the 57xx are way overpriced. The 5850 is only a tiny bit overpriced, but well worth it when you consider the crap nVidia have put out recently.

This is great info dude thanks. Well going by the info i've gotten so far I'm def going to try and build it.
    Would I need anything else added to this list? Any extra cables or fans needed?
    Basically I want all the gear before I land over to my mates gaff for him to put together.

How many USB ports will I have with this system?

2 USB ports at the front + whatevers at the back of the Motherboard.

Speaking of which, you don't need that Motherboard. Get the P55-UD3. The only difference is the UD3R has additional RAID options you don't need.

As for the Case Fans, you need to get a 120mm Fan for the Bottom slot and a 200mm Fan for the side slot. If you cannot find a 200m fan, replace the top fan with the 2x 120mm option (for a total of 3 120mm fans bought) and put the top 200mm fan on the side :)

2 USB ports at the front + whatevers at the back of the Motherboard.

Speaking of which, you don't need that Motherboard. Get the P55-UD3. The only difference is the UD3R has additional RAID options you don't need.

As for the Case Fans, you need to get a 120mm Fan for the Bottom slot and a 200mm Fan for the side slot. If you cannot find a 200m fan, replace the top fan with the 2x 120mm option (for a total of 3 120mm fans bought) and put the top 200mm fan on the side :)

would you be so kind and add a link for both the mobo and fans that you recommend?
    Will there not be fans included in the case? Or are these just additional fans that you need?

would you be so kind and add a link for both the mobo and fans that you recommend?
    Will there not be fans included in the case? Or are these just additional fans that you need?

Why Certainly old chap :D

There are fans in the case, but there are more slots for extra fans.

For the fans, check out QuietPC for a wide selection I recommend the Scythe Slipstream series, but that's just me.

As for the motherboard, get a UD3 or a UD4 :)

Another Update:

CPU - Intel Core i5 750 2.66GHz Socket LGA1156 8MB L3 Cache - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/172755...roduct_reviews - £149.68

Mobo - Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD4 -http://www.ebuyer.com/product/173533/show_product_reviews - £119

RAM - Corsair 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz XMS3 Memory CL9(9-9-9-24) for i7 motherboards - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/152640 - £114.99

Graphics Card - ASUS Radeon HD 5850 1GB GDDR5 - http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.aspx?sku=499572 - €277

Fans -Kaze Jyuni 1200RPM Slip Stream 120mm Fan - http://www.quietpc.com/ie-en-eur/products/scythefans/sy-kazejyuni-1200 - €8.64 x 3 = €24

How's this looking now?

Lose the 5870. Get a 5850 instead :) €100 less for perhaps a 10% drop in real world performance. Buy 4GB of ram or moar Hard Drives with the difference. :D

As for the fans, what I meant was that your case has 2 Optional Fan Slots, one 120mm Slot at the Bottom and a 200mm Slot at the side. However, 200mm fans are hard to come by, and the top 200mm fan has an option to be replaced by two 120mm fans. So, I suggest getting 3 120mm Fans, Putting 1 on the bottom, 2 at the top and then using the top 200mm fan you replaced with the 120mm fans on the side 200mm slot.

As for those Fans, eh, not that impressive imo. I'd recomend this one. I have the 1900RPM one, but I am nuts and don't mind the noise (and have a fan controler ;)). The 1200 RMP one will be more than sufficient. An 800rpm 120mm fan won't blow a decent ammount of air.

It's outdated tech, you want a 5850. It might seem a bit much, but it is more than worth it, and it uses less power too :)

the 4890 is not outdated tech. It represents the current state of technology. how many DX11 games are out yet?

(btw, I'm not advising against a 58xx, but I personally wouldn't bother yet as i just dont see the point).

Another Update:

CPU - Intel Core i5 750 2.66GHz Socket LGA1156 8MB L3 Cache - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/172755...roduct_reviews - £149.68

Mobo - Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD4 -http://www.ebuyer.com/product/173533...roduct_reviews - £119

Graphics Card - ASUS Radeon HD 5850 1GB GDDR5 - http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.aspx?sku=499572 - €277

Fans -Kaze Jyuni 1200RPM Slip Stream 120mm Fan - http://www.quietpc.com/ie-en-eur/pro...kazejyuni-1200 - €8.64 x 3 = €24

and now?

Nononono. Ram is bad! The 1156 Socket requires 1.5v Ram.

Also, LGA1156 is Dual Channel memory, you want to stick with 2 or 4 Sticks of Ram, not 3.

Swap the Ram back and you are fine.

Also, the 8.64 for the fans is without VAT ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭jonny72

You should spec a solid state harddrive (ssd).. they are expensive, but up to double the speed of a normal harddisk.. boot up times, loading times, game loading times, everything is speeded up..

One will set you back about 200 euro for a good 80 gig version, but if you put your OS and arma2 on that drive it will be lightning fast load up. Then have the f3 1 tb drive as your second drive.

ok mate, I fixed the Ram above. How's it shaping up now?

I also obviously want a wireless card for internet. Any specific types? I have eircom broadband.

would a sound card also need to be got?

jonny72 wrote: »
    You should spec a solid state harddrive (ssd).. they are expensive, but up to double the speed of a normal harddisk.. boot up times, loading times, game loading times, everything is speeded up..

One will set you back about 200 euro for a good 80 gig version, but if you put your OS and arma2 on that drive it will be lightning fast load up. Then have the f3 1 tb drive as your second drive.

Sorry mate, but you've lost me there :(??

Those case fans shift a lot of air, but still seem a little noisy to me. Just so you know...

just in case noise is an issue you might consider these fella's:
    http://www.quietpc.com/ie-en-eur/products/120mmfans/nf-s12b-uln but they only push half as much air as the scythe's at twice the price. So it's up to you.

The other thing is, you should probably get a CPU cooler if you want to do any overclocking at all. I have this one and I can't but recommend it: offers a healthy overclock while remaining pretty damn quiet. Other performers are the TRUE but I'm not sure how easy it is to get a mounting bracket for it.
    ok mate, I fixed the Ram above. How's it shaping up now?

I also obviously want a wireless card for internet. Any specific types? I have eircom broadband.

just look for a wireless N one (for future proofing purposes). I bought an Edimax one there recently, seem to get decent enough reviews but i've yet to install it. They tend to be pretty generic anyway.
    would a sound card also need to be got?

It's up to you. Most people don't bother with one, but there are plenty of options out there for you. I don't think it's hugely beneficial unless you're playing with a 7.1 setup or recording music.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭massy086

can u not mount 775 coolers on 1156mobo,s quite easy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hNcje3JRO0A i would use nylon washers just to be safe

Mobo - Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD4 -http://www.ebuyer.com/product/173533...roduct_reviews - £119

CPU Cooler - NH-U12P SE2 Dual Fan Quiet CPU Cooler, Intel and AMD - http://www.quietpc.com/ie-en-eur/products/lga1156-coolers/nh-u12p-se2 - €71

Fans -Kaze Jyuni 1200RPM Slip Stream 120mm Fan - http://www.quietpc.com/ie-en-eur/pro...kazejyuni-1200 - €8.64 x 3 = €24

apart from windows 7 64 bit and the wireless N card am I missing anything else?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭DECEiFER

According to your board's specs on the Gigabyte website, the supported RAM speeds are 2200MHz, 1333MHz, 1066MHz, and 800MHz and all of type DDR3.

Source:
    http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/Motherboard/Products_Spec.aspx?ClassValue=Motherboard&ProductID=3166&ProductName=GA-P55M-UD4

The RAM you chose is out-of-stock, but I can see it runs at 1600MHz and at 1.65v. You need to re-think that one, or allow me to point you to a 4GB kit that should work:

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/158711

When buying RAM for a motherboard, you should always check what RAM the motherboard will support. Most manufacturers will have a list of tested modules that are confirmed to work on the board. That doesn't mean other modules won't work, but it does mean that there is no confirmation and it's 50-50. So, if your memory is on the list of whatever board you're planning on buying, then you're pretty much set to have it working properly, leaving out the guess work.

The Qualified Vendors List for your chosen board says that KVR1333D3N9/1G is supported. The RAM I suggested is KVR1333D3N9K2/4G. I'd say that's close enough, and you can be fairly assured that it will work.

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/FileList/MemorySupport/mb_memory_ga-p55m-ud4.pdf