Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nursing Student..essay!

Options
  • 27-10-2009 4:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

Hi,
    I am a final year student nurse, today i got a 2000 word assigment:

"critically discuss the relevance of law in contemporary nursing",

one has to draw on clinical examples, court cases relevant to ireland etc. I dont really know where to begin. i want to look at the issue of informed consent concerning minors perhaps? i think we are free to pick whatever subjects we want really, such as clinical negligence, consent, confidentiality etc.
    can anybody give me some ideas please? i usually do well in assignments and most of the time i have no trouble drawing up plans etc but this one is proving to be extremely difficult
    I would really appreciate opinions. Thanks :)

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭etymon

Hi there,

In general you want to look at medical negligence which is within the branch of Tort (or 'Civil Wrongs') Law... McMahon & Binchy have the best text with a great section on professional negligence and the caselaw to go with it.
    Deirdre Madden also has a good text (although a bit waffly, but better suited to essays if you are not a lawyer) which is called 'Medicine, Negligence and the Law' or something. Any college library will have them.
    She also writes in journals (maybe search www.imt.ie for articles?) on these issues.