Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arcade and Retro forum beers! (AKA the night of the scandalously drunk retro geeks)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,633 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Can't do it, probably be in Sligo with my better half, I'll make pantrylads though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

o1s1n wrote: »
    you lads up for coming to mine sometime in January? On the plus side, I cant really rule of enternow my own house!
    pantrybeers is it still going ahead?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,633 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

He'll probably be the first person to host a Beers but not be able to attend it at the last minute!

Although, to be honest, I always figured that honour would go to EnterNow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,269 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Sera wrote: »
    pantrybeers is it still going ahead?

Tis! Havent set a date yet as enternow is doing a cap kit on my cab soon. Just want to make sure thats up and running again first.

Are there any saturdays over the next few weeks which would suit folk best?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

26th and the 2nd are probably out for me.

When I get the cab installed here I'll see about hosting one, might be later on though, might see if we can invade Mordor, I mean Retr0's gaff before then!

33521120.jpg

Alternatively hows about a southsider Beers?
    Save the likes of Pdbhp, Johnny and Atavan from having to trek over here

Saturdays are usually okay for me to host as well.

Will look at doing it again in Feb.

Are there any saturdays over the next few weeks which would suit folk best?
    Once it's okay for Retr0 it's okay for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Alternatively hows about a southsider Beers?
    Save the likes of Pdbhp, Johnny and Atavan from having to trek over here

Yes won't somebody please think of us southsiders! :P

Master of the Universe

I live on the Southside of the Northside....!

Yeah but you're still in DNS*.

*De North Soiyd.

Come on then, we're still no closer to a Beers date!

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Come on then, we're still no closer to a Beers date!

I work most weekends so any date really suits me. I wouldn't be able to host anything for the foreseeable future as I don't have a free gaff anytime soon.

I don't mind consulting with the management here and host another one, but I think peeps may be getting a bit bored over here, or at the very least tired of the long drive!

Master of the Universe

I could do Saturday the 2nd or Saturday the 9th?

Dinorex said he might not be around on the 2nd though :(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

I could do Saturday the 2nd or Saturday the 9th?

Dinorex said he might not be around on the 2nd though :(
    2nd is very much out for me too..

Master of the Universe

Dr Bob wrote: »
    2nd is very much out for me too..

Anyone ruled out for the 9th?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,755 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Cool for the 2nd or 9th. The following two Saturdays will likely have film fest stuff on, so early Feb. would definitely be best!

Oh, and just a general thanks to everyone who has hosted / will host these evenings. I'd love to hold one myself but alas my house just really isn't setup for a major influx of retro gamers (plus, y'know, Bray ;)). It's much appreciated those who can!

Master of the Universe

9th it is so!

Will see if I can get my A1200 back up and running beforehand. Coupled with that Commodore monitor we can have a little Amiga workstation corner for Dinorex. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

Yahey a beers, I'll be there.......... unless the rule of Enternow happens

Master of the Universe

To stop the rule of Enternow happening, everyone who turns up can take a complimentary piece of golden wallpaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

To stop the rule of Enternow happening, everyone who turns up can take a complimentary piece of golden wallpaper.

Roughly translated "Im redecorating and you are helping"

I should be on for this cant wait

Master of the Universe

All I'm saying is a pair of overalls wouldn't go amiss...

9th of Feb sounds good, old Kerb' is getting hitched on the 2nd so I would have only been able to come over for a while....

9th is good for me.

Given the venue, is this a smoking jacket and pipe event or are pants optional? (like in Atavans)

I'll dispense with the fedora and wear my top hat.

Master of the Universe

Pants are optional, but monocles are a must!

A pantsless monocle party?! Can't wait! Have a pint of bourbon ready for me so I can look classy

I say go the whole hog and get a bottle of Brandy, and make a Pikachu monocle..

Master of the Universe

Should I put a lock on the drinks cabinet to deter atavan?

Or would he be one step ahead and bring a lock pick kit?

Should I put a lock on the drinks cabinet to deter atavan?

Or would he be one step ahead and bring a lock pick kit?

You just admitted you have a drinks cabinet. Rookie mistake.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

drinks cabinet eh? candy or just plain oul woody? :)
    yeah 9th should be grand for me so.

Master of the Universe

You mean you guys don't have a drinks cabinet?

monocle-shock-238x300.jpg

Next you'll be telling me you don't have a piano either.

You mean you guys don't have a drinks cabinet?

Alcohol doesn't have time to reach a drinks cabinet in my house.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,890 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

In other words atavans mam keeps the booze under lock and key because just like the gremlins if atavan gets at the alcohol after 9pm all hell breaks loose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

Alcohol doesn't have time to reach a drinks cabinet in my house.

I'm saying nothing as the last time I fell foul to the rule of Enternow.

Wow, better not let Atavan know I have a cabinet full of drink in my house..... oh, bugger.....

Master of the Universe

Just an update, so as my cab is now fixed and working again, we are 100% good to go on the 9th :)

Awesome!
    Now, just hide the priceless artifacts and lock up the drink, perhaps release the hounds!

I have it pencilled in on the calendar, doing a course on Pantry Appreciation!

it's Retr0's birthday and he wants to go for drinks on the 9th
    tumblr_m2plz6Eho01qit92oo1_500.gif

Can't he have both?
    I mean, a night of gaming bliss in O1s1ns is a rare thing, Shirley!
    We'll buy him drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭MrVestek

o1s1n where is your place located if you don't mind me asking?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,500 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Achilles wrote: »

He wouldn't know the address or how to get there, his chauffeur would though. You're looking for something like this. :pac:

downton-abbey-house.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

YOU_RANG_M__LORD_by_molibali.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,755 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

O1s1n was once asked the price of a pint of milk. He got it wrong as it had been some time since anyone but his butler had done the shopping. So he bought the dairy and set the price of a pint to what he said it was.

EnterNow wrote: »
    YOU_RANG_M__LORD_by_molibali.jpg

Sue Pollard works on staff in O1s1ns palatial home!
    Great Scott!

Ha, only kidding, she doesn't....
    She is kept on retainer to run his summer home in the Cotswolds, for when he likes to get away and shoot some poachers...

Master of the Universe

Need I mention my drinks cabinet again?!!? :pac:

I'm sure you can change his mind before the 9th ;)
    Achilles wrote: »

Clontarf. Really handy to get to. 10 minutes on the 130 from Abbey Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Ohhh handy, I may just make it to this one this time! :-)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,890 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

There's too many birthdays around February between friends and family so it's the only day I can have it unfortunately :(