Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arcade and Retro forum beers! (AKA the night of the scandalously drunk retro geeks)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    There's too many birthdays around February between friends and family so it's the only day I can have it unfortunately :(

Including my birthday party tomorrow night with a sci fi theme.

It's going to be deadly, rented out a smoke machine for it. Decorated the place with a blow up dalek and Silurian life size cardboard cutout. I'm also heading to Maplin later to grab a blue police box swirly light thing... will have star motifes on the walls too.

If any of you are around the Monkstown area you're more than welcome to come along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

o1s1n wrote: »
    Need I mention my drinks cabinet again?!!? :pac:

I'm sure you can change his mind before the 9th ;)
    If I could change his mind I would have done already >: I'd rather go to the dentist than go out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,269 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

There's too many birthdays around February between friends and family so it's the only day I can have it unfortunately :(

No golden wallpaper for Retr0 :(
    Achilles wrote: »
    Including my birthday party tomorrow night with a sci fi theme.

It's going to be deadly, rented out a smoke machine for it. Decorated the place with a blow up dalek and Silurian life size cardboard cutout. I'm also heading to Maplin later to grab a blue police box swirly light thing... will have star motifes on the walls too.

If any of you are around the Monkstown area you're more than welcome to come along.

That sounds deadly! I hope you're wearing a TNG uniform?
    Sera wrote: »
    If I could change his mind I would have done already >: I'd rather go to the dentist than go out

Sure come out to mine without him. It'll be much more craic :D

Don't be encouraging me! :P (already thinking about it lol)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,890 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Don't be encouraging me! :P (already thinking about it lol)

:'(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,755 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Ha you make a night out with Retro's friends sound like such an enticing prospect :p

Master of the Universe

Don't listen to this emotional blackmail Sera. You know where all the cool kids will be that night. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Oooh, Trouble in paradise!

Come to o1s1ns, we'll be doing coke off naked hookers.

There will be hookers right?

Master of the Universe

There will be hookers right?

You're coming aren't you?

If so, then yes :pac:

You're coming aren't you?

If so, then yes :pac:

Grand.

I should be there anyway!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,500 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Actually when you think about it, retr0's birthday happens every year. Beers at o1s1n's is a much rarer event indeed. :cool:

About as rare as retr0 not sh1tting on someone's new GET.
    About as rare as Cidey resisting trading in that new game he never played only to re-buy it later.
    About as rare as an evening passing without Atavan spewing drunken verbal diarrhea on the forum.

:p

Ha you make a night out with Retro's friends sound like such an enticing prospect :p
    sure they're all like not into anime or the same game I'd play,
    so dunno what normal things people talk about, politics? films I've not seen? babies?

Master of the Universe

Football. It's always football :(

oh stop! I go comatose, everytime my brother comes out he'd talk to my dad about it for hours, not even just footy, almost every other sport too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,755 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

There was a really good score yesterday though, from the far side of the field.

I also heard some lad moved from one team to some other team for like £1,000,000,000 per week or something.

Et cetera.

Master of the Universe

Just to note, there is a policy in place in my house where if someone mentions football, they are locked in the pantry for an hour with the ghosts.

Best not to exalt the virtues of Marco's Magic Football just to be safe?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,890 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Just to note, there is a policy in place in my house where if someone mentions football, they are locked in the pantry for an hour with the ghosts.

Hint: This is a good time to steal the beluga caviar.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,633 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

So, is there a retro gaming safe sport?
    Formula 1?
    Rally Sport?
    Pretending you're in an issue of Initial D, with the arrangement drifting, Hill climbs and descents and teenage angst?
    Curling?
    Sonic 2 Speed Run?
    Fishing! Just ask Sparks, his second favourite subject after Repton!

Master of the Universe

I should probably start provisioning for this seeing as it's this Saturday!

So how many heads should I be expecting?

If anyone is unsure how to get out, send me a PM and I'll forward you on the directions. As I was saying before, it's extremely easy to find :)

With regards to consoles, I have the following set up.

Megadrive & Mega CD with Everdrive (not many Mega CD games though)
    Saturn with lots of CDRs
    PC Engine with Everdrive
    PSone with lots of CDRs
    Snes - this is my downfall, most of my Snes games are in storage so I don't have too many
    Gamecube - Not many games for it though :(
    Dreamcast - lots of CDRs. If someone has Powerstone that might be worth bringing :)
    Arcade cab - if someone can bring an MVS multi cart it might be handy, saves me switching games all night :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,633 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I'll bring the MVS multi thingy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

When I get the music going on the pinbal.
    l beers will be in mine I promice
    Quote me in the repair thread :)

Master of the Universe

Only two interested people so far :eek:

Don't tell me I'm going to have to Rule of Enternow my own beers?! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    So, is there a retro gaming safe sport?

WWE, its real life No Mercy :pac:

Sorry man, but sure at least the event will be of an "intimate" nature, and if there's only the three of us we can revisit the "pants must be worn" rule!!
    Time to start PMing people, come on guys, this may be the only chance we have to see a real pantry, outside of Downton Abbey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Jack burton

I'd love to go but I'm going to Kilkenny for the night for 2 birthdays and one of those amazing hotel baths the next morning!

Master of the Universe

Retr0 already used the Birthday excuse. You'll have to try harder than that :pac:

I've run out of money trying to buy a Silverline arcade cab... oops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

I have to use the same excuse as Sera as it's my girlfriend's birthday on Saturday apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

I might put in an appearance tomorrow, How many are heading down to you? At least it's a lot less daunting than trying to find Cidermans rustic dwelling.

Master of the Universe

Monkeykube wrote: »
    I might put in an appearance tomorrow, How many are heading down to you? At least it's a lot less daunting than trying to find Cidermans rustic dwelling.

The plan was to have it on Saturday. Only two confirmed so far. I'll leave the invite open until the end of today - if everyone is pretty much tied up in other stuff I'll call it off and have it another evening.

Have Fridays been more successful for us, historically?

Historically yes, sexually, you'd have to ask Atavan
    And, since when did Dinorex have a girlfriend?

Bizarrely someone on here actually asked her to go to o1s1n's independently of me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

EnterNow wrote: »
    The Beer Night Template:

Poster 1 - Beers at Mine, yay!

Poster 2 - Great, I'll be there for 8pm
    Poster 3 - Great, I'll be there for 8pm
    Poster 4 - Great, I'll be there for 8pm
    Poster 5- Great, I'll be there for 8pm
    Poster 6 - Great, I'll be there for 8pm
    Poster 7 - Great, I'll be there for 8pm
    Poster 8 - Great, I'll be there for 8pm

The Beers Night Arrives:

Poster 2 - May not make it, somethings come up
    Poster 3 - I'm out for tonight guys, have fun
    Poster 4 - Forgot about something lads, can't get there
    Poster 5 - I'm working tonight, can't get out of it
    Poster 6 - Argh, I have the flu
    Poster 7 - Possibly may not make it tonight
    Poster 8 - Can't wait! (Likely Atavan)

:p

DinoRex wrote: »
    Have Fridays been more successful for us, historically?
    I think they've been okay but some people don't go if it's like super far and working. But I've a funeral either tomorrow or Saturday so still couldn't go
    (T-T)

So, in a nutshell, we have to wait another 5 years before going to O1s1ns for a Beers??

Master of the Universe

Hah! :D

We can have a beers in mine literally any weekend. I've no kids, a girlfriend who doesn't mind and no Birthdays/weddings/funerals to attend any time soon that I know of.

The hardest part is getting all you feckers in a room at once!

It's true, well, we'll wait for you to call the ball O1s1n.
    We'll get to yours eventually!

Master of the Universe

How's folks availability next Friday/Saturday?

Friday is good.

Saturday Pretty in Pink is showing at the Lighthouse.

Master of the Universe

Friday should be alright for me next week as I'll be finished work at 15:30.

Saturday is good too.

As is Sunday.

Feck, I really need to start making some plans for my weekends!!! :eek:

Next Friday would be best here too.

Apparently Wreck It Ralph himself John C. Reilly is playing country rock in a church in Dublin this Saturday night. I'd feel bad missing an event of such profound oddness.

Friday is ok, should be anyhow......
    I'm working but sure, I'll be there by 9 or so....

DinoRex wrote: »
    Friday is good.

Saturday Pretty in Pink is showing at the Lighthouse.

I'm trying to pick between Muriels Wedding or Roman Holiday on the 14th....

Oh, sorry, Mariels Wedding!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

Friday is fine for me, though i'll have to record Tallafornia

So it's next Friday now? That should be fine by me.

It's my birthday again next Friday.

I've no plans til March really this is the only week I'm busy

It's my birthday again next Friday.

Again?! It's like you go out of your way to have one of those every year...