Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arcade and Retro forum beers! (AKA the night of the scandalously drunk retro geeks)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

I'm heading to japan too in November so I'll pick my own thanks :pac:

What's that? You're bringing me back a copy of Super Aleste? Good man, will fix you up when you're home :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,633 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I'm happy to see a discussion on Japanese culture and the more idiosyncratic elements and themes being brought to light but if you could pop the discussion into its own thread, it might be best.
    If there's an interest in a proper discussion I'm happy to see it in the forum, but I'd rather a facetious discussion be avoided on the topic.
    If that's ok with everyone.

Re Beers, no Atavan is quite a blow, meaning others will have to shoulder his twerking duties.
    Volunteers will be appointed according to seniority and audition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,265 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

When's the beers, is it the 30th?

I may have a family do that night, hopefully not! Will see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

And to bring it back on topic

I'm out :(

Have to work that night

Bloody job getting in the way of fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭MrVestek

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I'm happy to see a discussion on Japanese culture and the more idiosyncratic elements and themes being brought to light but if you could pop the discussion into its own thread, it might be best.
    If there's an interest in a proper discussion I'm happy to see it in the forum, but I'd rather a facetious discussion be avoided on the topic.
    If that's ok with everyone.

Re Beers, no Atavan is quite a blow, meaning others will have to shoulder his twerking duties.
    Volunteers will be appointed according to seniority and audition.

Only seeing this now as the thread had moved onto another page.

Fair enough as it is off topic... but as you can see I feel rather strongly about these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

I'm heading to japan too in November so I'll pick my own thanks :pac:
    So jelly. Someday maybe I'll get there when I have the balls to go on my own, maybe i'll rent-a-friend over there to keep me company lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Sera wrote: »
    So jelly. Someday maybe I'll get there when I have the balls to go on my own, maybe i'll rent-a-friend over there to keep me company lol

Shure stall it over with me like.

I just found out that I'm getting a separate performance related bonus and it's quite significant.

I hope it isn't taxed to balls because if it's not then a trip to Japan might actually be on the cards for me! :-D

Shure stall it over with me like.
    I'd love to, or I had a job lol on sure you'll go back again :3

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,633 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

So, who is coming along next week?
    And who is, yet again, washing his hair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

I have to work that day on an OB so I'll be in Dublin and will be along.

DinoRex wrote: »
    I have to work that day on an OB so I'll be in Dublin and will be along.
    You're missing Knavecon so? :c raging for you
    It's up to Retr0 so if he's free I'll be there.

Is there two GameCube BB adapters out there?
    I fancy some 8 player Mario Kart!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,063 ✭✭✭Doge

Is your place accessible by bus cidonaman?

If you could pm me your address it would be great, and I'll see if I can make it. :)

No real bus service here, but there should he a lift or two out of town.
    I'm afraid I'll be working the following day so I can't offer a bed to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

Doge wrote: »
    Is your place accessible by bus cidonaman?

If you could pm me your address it would be great, and I'll see if I can make it. :)

I will be heading out, will sort out things during the week. If you can make it out to Clonshaugh on the 27 you're good for a lift.

Is there two GameCube BB adapters out there?
    I fancy some 8 player Mario Kart!

Yep. All that needs to be provided are some controllers and preferably 2 copies the same region of the game. Oh and what ever crap we did with the spare router.

I think you lads need to invest in cars
    (^_-)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,886 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

But think of all the games you can get for the price of a car!

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    But think of all the games you can get for the price of a car!

If it's your car not many games!
    Possibly a few unboxed copies of Fifa for the MD. ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,886 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

:(
    Must be a response to the car joke, for a moment I thought the rule of Enternow was in full effect.

I'm sorry Retr0, you have as lovely a car as I've ever seen in Balbriggan ;)

Leave Nicole alone! :cool:

Your car has a name?
    Deary deary me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

Nicole? Jaysus i thought every person from ireland called their car betsy

Was far from a car named nicole ye were rared

Leave Nicole alone!
    chris-crocker-crying.jpg
    FYP

Papa!

That's pretty much where the name came from since it's a 'vintage' Clio.

The Clio not considered retro yet no?

Now, did we discuss a theme to this Beers?
    Or is it running too late?

Now, did we discuss a theme to this Beers?
    Or is it running too late?

The roaring 20's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

The roaring 20's.

The prohibition era, don't think it would suit you of all people.

Jojo's Bizarre Adventure!
    But I'm saving my Earthbound tee for that night

Why don't we just do a general cosplay theme so people can wear what they want?

That would add a bit of variety.

general cosplay theme

Finally, an excuse to not attend the beers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BGOllie

Is this gathering of fellows open to new members like myself ?

Why don't we just do a general cosplay theme so people can wear what they want?

That would add a bit of variety.
    Retr0, get out our sailor fukus!
    1441175_397438157053375_1215927453_n.jpg

Myrddin wrote: »

Well I meant a general dress up theme, not necessarily cosplay! :p
    LongZ wrote: »

Only if you whip your banjo out for us! ;)

That sounds so wrong. :(

If you come along I'd say we'll get a record turn out, even Myrddin will want to go! :p

Retr0, get out our sailor fukus!

That's literally you and retr0 in 20 years time :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

I should be there! :D

Well I meant a general dress up theme

That's literally you and retr0 in 20 years time :P
    Japanese girls do seem to go crazy about his “nice legs” http://www.odditycentral.com/news/meet-hideaki-kobayashi-the-famous-japanese-man-who-dresses-as-a-schoolgirl.html

Yeah it will be!

Japanese girls do seem to go crazy about his “nice legs” http://www.odditycentral.com/news/meet-hideaki-kobayashi-the-famous-japanese-man-who-dresses-as-a-schoolgirl.html

Yeah it will be!

OMG, I can happily die after watching that video! My life is complete.

Myrddin wrote: »

Can give you a lift if travel is an issue...?

Star Lord wrote: »

You'll need more than a lift to get him to a beers...

May I suggest a cattle prod?

You'll need more than a lift to get him to a beers...

May I suggest a cattle prod?

A van with people in hotline Miami masks to abduct him?

Ah , we'll keep the theme until Halloween

Star Lord wrote: »

Appreciate the offer Damo Galaxy King....I just don't have much free time on Fridays/weekends though :( Attending another one is definitely on my to-do list though

LongZ wrote: »

Of course, and bring the Banjo!
    480px-BanjoBanjoTooie1.jpg