Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

who would you want in your team?

• 30-10-2009 5:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭

moving on from a discussion in the Utd thread.

some seriously good strikers in world football at the minute.

who would be your pick? (poll to follow)

who would you want in your team? 179 votes

Eto'o
    0%
    Villa
    3%
    Kingp35keano_afctdvGillingtonY2J_MUFCSteelyDanJalapeno 6 votes
    Ibra
    15%
    RasTaFenixHoPpiEKoldIago[Deleted User]doonothingHolstenmicksd22ontouriregkkinaldoanonymous_joeciaran76SizzlerArsenal1986Killme00dfx-TheresalwaysoneEvil_Clown 27 votes
    Torres
    9%
    Bounty HunterSeanehBogglesmikemacpodge018eZe^leninbenjaminBubs101curry-muffNaiveMelodiesIRISHSPORTSGUYMr MaroonHalloweenJackIrishIrishtitan181mcampo1Leixlip_Red 17 votes
    Rooney
    46%
    NemesisPHBDont be at yourselfPepe LeFritsPalefacecournionisuper_furryzAbboHelixChucky the treeniallith[Deleted User]T-b0n3SuprSiDavey DevilmayordenisBrando_ieMr.Nice Guycashbackvestanpance 84 votes
    Drogba
    11%
    astrofooleclectichoneywyntersTheDocDSBdavyjosePCroskoHdQuintDancorRicsKev_ps3martinr5232brennaldoheavyballsFlipz4RollzLiam OCol200sx3hn2givr7mx1scIron Hide 21 votes
    Adebayour
    13%
    Neil3030Corben Dallasjesus_thats_greHeadshotjemctrl-alt-deleteZiMZuMstovelidOPENROADJimiTimekryogenpremierstoneGonzovisionstakerCHDInvincibleSlickRicDeeper Bluelaoisforliamcivis_liberalis 24 votes

Rooney
    Torres.

/end thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Rooney
    Fernando Torres.

The end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,432 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Drogba
    oh dear god :rolleyes:

you know there is football outside the premier league?

Rooney still does more for the team and plays in the hole so shouldn't be included with these imo.

Cocks out. 1-2-3-GO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Rooney
    Anderson.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Rooney
    Drogba is better all round but his attitude and play acting seriously piss me off so I picked Torres

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Cocks out. 1-2-3-GO

Finished

Rooney
    Liam O wrote: »
    oh dear god :rolleyes:

Fowler?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Rooney
    i've made the poll choices public too just so you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,432 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Drogba
    Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    Anderson.

why have some Liverpool fans just started saying random United players in threads? Have I missed something?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Torres
    Torres is a good goalscorer but theres a load of other players id prefer to have in my a team, all depending on what team that is too of course, Ibrahimovic is one of the top because he is such a well rounded player with speed skill and work rate, then of course who wouldnt pick Didier Drogba, probably the most feared striker in the world. Rooney would be quite the nightmare also because of his work rate, you would need a defensive midfielder on him and not just a centre back marking him because they would be out of position all the time. Villa is about the same level of Torres in my opinion he doesnt have the strength of the rest but he makes up for it with his finishing skill and speed.

If i had to choose one it would probably be Ibrahimovic, Drogba a close second, porbably Torres 3rd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭manutd

Rooney
    Torres. Well it depends on what team it would be. Adebayour and Ibra close behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Torres
    Went for Ibra, he is on fire at the moment, would like to see him and Rooney up top.

Torres
    Liam O wrote: »
    why have some Liverpool fans just started saying random United players in threads? Have I missed something?

Lucas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Rooney
    From what was on the poll list, I went for Torres.

Torres
    I noticed alot of Liverpool supporters are picking Torres.

He is already in yer team. So from my understanding ye shouldn't really pick him.

Also I presume Xavi picked Ade?

Can the poll be restarted?

Rooney
    its not who would you want in your team that you don't have, its who would you choose in your team out of the above players. as you well know boggles.

Rooney
    Being a Liverpool fan, I wouldn't replace any of the names in that list with Torres. Simply because he's proved himself worthy when we're on top form, and when we're more than average. The likes of Ibra will flourish in strong teams with creative players around him. So will any top forward. But I doubt he would do the same job if you stuck him in the middle of an average team.

Torres
    Mr Alan wrote: »
    its not who would you want in your team that you don't have, its who would you choose in your team out of the above players. as you well know boggles.

Ball sack Al, thats not clear at all.

It will just turn into 400 votes for Torres.

Way better off sticking with my idea. As there is no point otherwise.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Rooney
    Wouldn't mind seeing a front three of Arshavin, Torres and van Persie (or Theo, Rosicky, Eduardo, etc)...

Rooney
    why is there no point?

already a good few Utd fans have chosen Torres & Ibra over Rooney....club loyalty isn't everything Boggles.

Torres
    why is there no point?

already a good few Utd fans have chosen Torres & Ibra over Rooney....club loyalty isn't everything Boggles.

Thats because they already have fooking Rooney!!!

I picked Ibra over Rooney as a partner, not instead of him.

Rooney
    i think people understood the option Boggles. i think they made their choice because they rate Torres & Ibra ahead of Rooney.....for example LiamO (utd fan) had no problem picking Rooney, Xavi had no problem picking Adebayour.

Torres
    i think people understood the option Boggles. i think they made their choice because they rate Torres & Ibra ahead of Rooney.....for example LiamO (utd fan) had no problem picking Rooney, Xavi had no problem picking Adebayour.

Balls.

I didn't understand. I want my vote back.

I'm starting my own proper thread.

Is this assuming the other 10 players in your team as are? Or if one were to pick say Drogba for United, is that then assumed that he replaces Rooney or can he replace Berbatov?

Rooney
    ffs, if a mod wants to reset the poll & amend the OP...fire ahead...i don't know how.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Xavi had no problem picking Adebayour.

I had a massive problem with you feckin spelling it wrong though.

Rooney
    i can never spell it right :o sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Rooney
    Well the OP says 'Striker', as opposed to 'Forward', not sure if that was intentional or not. For me the difference is that a striker is more about sticking the ball in the net, whereas a forward is a more all round player.

Anyway, went for Torres based on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Rooney
    I wouldn't swap Torres for anyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Rooney
    who is the best striker in the world end of ****in story boggles knew well what al ment coz it was his idea ffs he just being a dick as usual

Torres
    redzerdrog wrote: »
    who is the best striker in the world end of ****in story boggles knew well what al ment coz it was his idea ffs he just being a dick as usual

No need for the personal abuse kiddo.

And no if you read my post I picked Ibra to partner Rooney.

Rooney
    boggles, do you genuinely think Rooney is the best striker in the world?

Torres
    boggles, do you genuinely think Rooney is the best striker in the world?

I wouldn't swap him for anyone in the list.

All of them have failings including Rooney.

But for what he brings and ultimately what he has won, I wouldn't swap him.

So I suppose the answer is yes.

And by the way, I think everyone on that list is world class or there abouts. Not picking Torres or Drogba does not mean I think there shíté.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Rooney
    Can I take Rooney and Torres?

Personally... I think Torres, but to have the two would be class.

Rooney
    this is my order of preference.

Torres
    Villa
    Drogba
    Ibra
    Rooney
    Eto'o
    Adebyeour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Rooney
    Torres and RVP up front...

*drools*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Torres
    Honestly cant believe so many people choosing Torres..

The timing of this thread is a HUGE factor so Im taking it with a pinch of salt.

Torres
    Boggles wrote: »
    Thats because they already have fooking Rooney!!!

I picked Ibra over Rooney as a partner, not instead of him.

I did the same, i dont see the point in this thread turning into a club loyalty thread, it would have been oh so easy to pick the only united player on the list

Rooney
    Frisbee wrote: »

*drools*
    Then Fabregas and Arshavin around him. Good god that would be phenomenal.

Torres

*drools*

You'd have to have decent back though, sicknotes. ;)

Rooney
    Also regardless of when this thread was I was always going to be picking Torres, with Ibra a close second

Rooney
    You'd have to have decent back though, sicknotes. ;)

Bendtner, Eduardo, Walcott and Vela would be grand for cover ;)

Torres
    Bendtner, Eduardo, Walcott and Vela would be grand for cover ;)

Side note Frisbee, but do you actually like/rate him?

Rooney
    Side note Frisbee, but do you actually like/rate him?

Yes, he gets massive amount of stick, and probably isn't a leading premiership striker, but he's only 21, and is grand for a back up.

I think he'll be quite capable of leading a line within the next few years, technically he's very good and when van Persie calls someone 'One of the most technically gifted players he's ever worked with' I'll have a little faith.

Torres
    Also regardless of when this thread was I was always going to be picking Torres, with Ibra a close second

Had this poll been made after the United Tottenham match, im sure Rooney would have a good few more votes than he has.

Had United-Liverpool not bein playing on the weekend and instead everyone watched the Barca Zaragoza match, Ibra would be streaking away with this.

Rooney
    only1stevo wrote: »
    Had this poll been made after the United Tottenham match, im sure Rooney would have a good few more votes than he has.

Had United-Liverpool not bein playing on the weekend and instead everyone watched the Barca Zaragoza match, Ibra would be streaking away with this.

Are we all that fickle? ;)

Torres
    rarnes1 wrote: »
    Are we all that fickle? ;)

No maybe its just me!

Just suprised at the amount of votes torres is getting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Rics

Drogba
    No option for Jermaine Beckford?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Berbatov