Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ieboards Blackout Cup II Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Frankiestylee

Quite happy to be in the "Almost there" yokey, tis a step up from the Try Harder last time. Though.... not very happy with some of the other "Try Harder" teams, some pretty damn tough competition there and just when my league situation is desperate :(

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

This Yermen chap is going to be in a whole world of pain. :mad: :D

Orizio wrote: »
    This Yermen chap is going to be in a whole world of pain. :mad: :D

Pft, I have a fiver on Yermen to go all the way!

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭MarVeL

Wish I'd known I would have taken some of that off you to pay for the bandages I think we'll need :(

MarVeL wrote: »
    Wish I'd known I would have taken some of that off you to pay for the bandages I think we'll need :(

Stay strong young sir, I have faith!

I'm hoping to do the first round of the play-offs on the 21st of December, hopefully the fixtures will be in put by Sunday at the lastest, so pay attention. ;)

Obviously, people are free to organise friendlies for the coming Monday.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭eoferrall

I'm hoping to do the first round of the play-offs on the 21st of December

And I could be playing you again... damn it... in my league and the Boards cup.. how am i supposed to win anything! -> might just have to move from my regular WNWIM monday slot!:p

and beat bogwarriors... so ye not optimistic at all!

Results and fixtures for the playoffs are up now. As per usual, shout if you see problems.

How did you decide who is ranked where? The first ranked person should be the team with the most points, the second ranked person the team with the second most points and so on. Surely its fairer that way?

So for example, looking just at 'The Champions Cup' play-offs, the rankings based on highest to lowest points should be...

1. Daves Dangerman
    2. Scorched Earth
    3. Everyone Likes A Tryer
    4. Munster Mark II

5. Bogwarriors
    6. Forza Juve
    7. XaviXV
    8. Yermen

Then it would 1 vs 8, 2 vs 7 and so on. Or am I confusing myself?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

So for example, looking just at 'The Champions Cup' play-offs, the rankings based on highest to lowest points should be...

1. Daves Dangerman
    2. Scorched Earth
    3. Everyone Likes A Tryer
    4. Munster Mark II

5. Bogwarriors
    6. Forza Juve
    7. XaviXV
    8. Yermen

Then it would 1 vs 8, 2 vs 7 and so on. Or am I confusing myself?

No, you are correct. I used this system for the try harder trophy, to allow for the missing team. For the other playoffs, I used the original system:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055596303

Give me a nod, and i'll change the other playoffs to the rankings system you have outlined above.

No, you are correct. I used this system for the try harder trophy, to allow for the missing team. For the other playoffs, I used the original system:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055596303

Give me a nod, and i'll change the other playoffs to the rankings system you have outlined above.

Ah right, its my fault for the confusion then. I actually used the 1 vs 8, 2 vs 7 etc system last season for all the play-offs (and will doing the same this season), wasn't aware I outlined it differently originally.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Ah right, its my fault for the confusion then. I actually used the 1 vs 8, 2 vs 7 etc system last season for all the play-offs (and will doing the same this season), wasn't aware I outlined it differently originally.
    No worries, I've updated the offsite accordingly.
    For the record, the order of merit for the almost there award quarter finals is as follows:
    Team Points (Points Difference)
    polk high 16 (78)
    curly sue 16 (39)
    rebels 15
    killarney 14
    gnomes 11 (5)
    simpeltons 11 (-25)
    geraldine 9
    t.rucked 9

Fixtures have been inputted, quarter-finals due to begin on the 21st of this month. Please ASAP.

Accepted - let the research begin!

Geraldine RFC?! Ah fudge. I can't remember who I had before, but I fancied my chances.

Nah he's been trash this season.

That why Ajefferes has gone so quiet here?! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

accepted mine too. Think i should have a pretty good chance again mine too. They were in my pool and i beat them 50-0 the last time

MORE MEAT FOR THE TABLE

seems like something appropriate to say in my pre-game psycho-out fest.

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭MarVeL

Well I'm much happier obviously:rolleyes:

MarVeL wrote: »
    Well I'm much happier obviously:rolleyes:

Dave is trouble alright

Unfortunately, about 7 teams have failed to accept their fixtures. So get to it quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

Unfortunately, about 7 teams have failed to accept their fixtures. So get to it quickly.

if they haven't accepted by a certain date can we make our own friendlies? hate to miss out on weeks worth of in game training.

Sunday 6 p.m. sound alright?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

Sunday 6 p.m. sound alright?

yep grand. cheers.

Buh buh buh, I was expecting to spend the next 4 days in a drunkin' blaze!:(

Now I'll have to emerge from my post class madness to set my team and/or find a friendly. Poo.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Sorry lads, been flat out lately and forgot about it.

Accepted now anyway. Cheers for the reminder Orizio.

Alright for playing WNWIM Xavi?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Yeah mate. I have it set as that anyway.

corny, WNWIM on monday?