Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the most scared you have ever been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

was in a plane that was delayed 2hrs due to a maintenance problem, then we had a particularly bad flight with heavy turbulance& as we came into land in the wind & pissing rain i saw the ground come to meet us pretty quick,wasn't feling too good and basically the pilot hopped the plane down onto the runway rather than land it,this was followed by silence.......

pilot comes on the radio then and says "well thanks for flying british airways and if anyone wants to know how if feels to land on an aircraft carrier thats a pretty good example you've had just there"......fkn hilarious

was pretty scared the next time getting a flight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

soundsham wrote: »
    was in a plane that was delayed 2hrs due to a maintenance problem, then we had a particularly bad flight with heavy turbulance& as we came into land in the wind & pissing rain i saw the ground come to meet us pretty quick,wasn't feling too good and basically the pilot hopped the plane down onto the runway rather than land it,this was followed by silence.......

pilot comes on the radio then and says "well thanks for flying british airways and if anyone wants to know how if feels to land on an aircraft carrier thats a pretty good example you've had just there"......fkn hilarious

was pretty scared the next time getting a flight

Try being mid way over the atlantic and suddenly be on one Engine, Still Kangerlussuaq and Nuuk in Greenland are pretty cool.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

The first time I went Paragliding on my own, it had a habit of folding up in a ball and dropping 20 feet only to reopen. (I burned the piece of crap)

Motorbike crash, definately thought I was dead.
    Car crash, definately thought I was dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Loopy wrote: »
    Mine was getting caught up in a current on a beach in Noosa, Australia. Im a strong swimmer but totally panicked and started waving frantically to my friend on the shore, she thinks Im giving her a friendly wave, takes a bloody camera out and starts taking pictures:eek:

I obviously got out of it but I was shattered and totally in shock afterwards. I hurt my friend badly, although in her defence I have some deadly photos of me 'nearly' drowning..

Do show them:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

When I was lost on my own in a dodgy part of L.A when I was 12. It was scary.

A few weeks ago my friend was driving us back to her apartment at night and two cars came towards us side by side with eachother (One being on the wrong side of the road). We just missed being in a head on collision.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,974 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Nico22 wrote: »
    This post reminded me of all the times my little sister has made me petrified about the possible outcome of what she was doing. She has autism and many moons ago when she was between 10 and 16 she had zero fear.

She used to climb out on window sills and sit their breaking her heart laughing. Sometimes we wouldn't know till aneighbour would knock at the door.

I would have to go up into the bedroom and just pretend it wasn't an issue and slooooowly say 'You're dinner's ready there chicken' while inside I'd be :eek::eek::eek: .. heart pounding off me.

Sometimes also she would just open the hall door and tear down the driveway and run right accross the road to the green without taking her eyes of a her new pair of runners :eek: .. :)

Oh jebus, that reminds me of another one! I was at my OH's brother's house one evening, we were all in the front room having a chat watching tv etc. My nephew had been put to bed about an hour earlier (he was 4 at the time) and I could hear what I thought was him singing in bed, we were actually giggling about how cute it was. I had to go up to the bathroom, but said I'd stick my head in to check on him on my way down.

When I opened his bedroom door my heart nearly stopped, he had the bedroom window open and was swinging out the window holding on to the frame doing the 'Tarzan' jungle cry thing, this was in an upstairs room of the house! My first instinct was to scream at him, but then I realised that this might give him a fright and cause him to let go, so I had to sneak up behind him really quietly and just grab him! He told me he'd been watching Tarzan on DVD, and wanted to be like him.

Needless to say, the next day the Tarzan DVD went in the bin, and child locks were put on the bedroom window ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭Klingon Hamlet

Tried salvia once, years ago. Thought my friends were impostors, it really turned me massively paranoid. Ten minutes later I was right as rain, but that was a long ten minutes. Never again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Waking up at 4am in the morning because the doorbell rang... I didn't think too much of it until it rang again then I heard the side gate opening and someone going round the side of the house. He came back and rang someone and said, I kid you not, " I'm at number 25 and there's nobody here you can bring the van around"!! And my dad was away - that was terrifying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭chickenpoo

Waking up at 4am in the morning because the doorbell rang... I didn't think too much of it until it rang again then I heard the side gate opening and someone going round the side of the house. He came back and rang someone and said, I kid you not, " I'm at number 25 and there's nobody here you can bring the van around"!! And my dad was away - that was terrifying

Jesus! What did you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

chickenpoo wrote: »
    Jesus! What did you do?

Rang the guards... and had some sort of twisted logic that I didn't want him to be scared away to come back another night, I wanted him to be caught. So as I heard him on his phone I thought he'd hear me so I rang the guards and whispered down the phone to them :o they were very good - someone stayed on the phone with me until the car got there and told me it was ok to go out now. Well actually the guard on the phone was good - the ones who arrived were gob****es. The guy said he thought it was his friends house so I told them what I heard and the guard kept saying things like "are you sure you weren't out tonight and invited him back and forgot" or "invited him back and then thought better of it"... yes that's why I'm standing here in my fleecy pjs on the verge of tears :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Toots* wrote: »
    .. he had the bedroom window open and was swinging out the window holding on to the frame doing the 'Tarzan' jungle cry thing, this was in an upstairs room of the house!

My first instinct was to scream at him, but then I realised that this might give him a fright and cause him to let go, so I had to sneak up behind him really quietly and just grab him!

Isn't it mad how quick your brain processes it all you make the right decision. Doesn't bear thinking about what would happen if we were screamers (so to speak :))
    He told me he'd been watching Tarzan on DVD, and wanted to be like him.
    Needless to say, the next day the Tarzan DVD went in the bin, and child locks were put on the bedroom window ;)

For the best really :o ... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Was out with an ex-gf abroad and came fairly close to the two of us being hopped by a gang of Morrocans in Amsterdam. I'd no real qualms about taking a kicking, and didn't have anything valuable on me anyway, but she was never that healthy and would never have been fast enough to run away, even with a delay.

Thankfully some cops walked around a corner before things got out of hand...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

was stopped in Fermanagh one night on the way from Dublin to Donegal at what seemed to be a check-point 20 years ago+, but when we pulled up and opened the window the armed men were masked and dressed in black. We were in a Southern reg car and my dad was driving, we were told to drive on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

You can laugh at this one...

[I've posted this before in a thread in AH, can't remember which one it was but ]... I was crushed by a bouncing castle.

We had a bouncing castle at my house for the day, a few years ago. We decided to take the pegs out as a few of the guys wanted to run to the back of the bouncing castle and make it go up into the air. The rest of us stayed outside the castle and agreed to push it up off the ground, as they ran to the back, to make it go higher.

We did this, but the bouncing castle started to come back down much sooner than expected. The rest of my friends ran out in time, but I was too slow and looked up to see this massive bouncing castle falling on me. Terrifying.

Then, I was crushed. Crushed by a bouncing castle with ten guys in it.
    Face down in the dirt, I thought my time was up. But luckily, they managed to pull me out after about a minute.

I came out covered in mud and completely scarred. People didn't know whether to laugh or ... ask if I was ok. They laughed. Pricks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

First time I got stoned, I was stopped and searched by the police on my way to Supermacs. That, maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭ham_n_mustard

Mr.S wrote: »
    Being stranded at 4am in the ****test part of East London, not knowing how to get back into the city centre. Everywhere and everyone looked so dodgy and scary. Later, i actutally found out where i was, turns out it was one of the most popular places for gun and knife crime in London :eek:.

haha, same thing happened me. i was pissed and trying to find myuncles place in Leyton. i ended up on the wrong night bus that was going to walthamstow, only a few miles up the road. on the bus i thought i had nothing better to do than talk to strangers about how London had changed cos here was this drunk paddy on the bus with a gearbag and nobody was panicking. anyways the driver overheard me and told me to shut up or he'd throw me off the bus (with good reason in fairness). i apologised to everyone and got off the bus at walthamstow station. it was here that i got chased by crack heads looking for money. being that scared poopless sobered me up sharpish. eventually some big rasta lad driving a cab slowed down for me and gave me a lift to the uncles place. drama over

reading back on this i realise this isnt even a good story, sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

reading back on this i realise this isnt even a good story, sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

A few years ago, my dad was driving me to school and we were having a wee chat in the car. His answers started to become a bit mumbly so I asked him was he alright. He didn't answer. I thought he was just thinking about something. A few seconds later, I looked at him and realised he was having a seizure.

People tend to find seizures funny but they're really not. He was rigid but shaking and foaming at the mouth and.... he was driving! I couldn't drive at the time so I'd no idea what the fcuk I was supposed to do and I honestly thought the car was gonna crash and the two of us would die.

I put on the hazard lights and the car slowed down as he obviously wasn't accelerating anymore. I just steered as best I could and eventually applied the handbrake. I rang 999 and was crying down the phone, trying to tell them that my dad was epileptic and there were loads of cars behind beeping and I had no idea what to do.

An ambulance came and after a good ole sleep, my dad was fine as he usually is after a seizure. I've never forgotten it though and every time I'm in the car and he's driving, I'm half watching him to make sure he's ok.

Are you allowed to drive when you've been diagnosed with epilepsy?

Yup. Generally, if you have a seizure, you need to go one year seizure free before you can drive again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 616 ✭✭✭pearljamfan

i have a couple of things th@t scared me....

1:. i 'woke' up in the night once + started screaming + freaking out about THE MaN THE MAN!!!! The tv on top of the wardrobe really looked like someone with red eyes standing over me! just the feeling of someone in the room with me, i was in bits!!

2; when my baby was 6 weeks old he got a cold + it was the middle of the night + every time he coughed, he had plegm+his nose was blocked + i just remember hoping hed get his breath each time.was a sleepless, helpless, scary nite!

3: on honeymoon, getting lost in Los angeles driving from the airport to naples in florida, had slept in the airport in uk so was wrecked tired, been watching too much csi + thinking we were going to get mugged +killed. my husband still takes the piss out of me but i was hysterical for the whole 3 hours in the car:D

Novella wrote: »
    Yup. Generally, if you have a seizure, you need to go one year seizure free before you can drive again.

I didn't know that, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

The one and only time I took magic mushrooms. Feeling my brain sliding away from me was the most terrifying feeling in the entire world. Just that moment of realisation that I might be like this for life now and would never be normal again, with all my mother's horror stories of acid trips and the doors of perception never closing going around in my mind. Stupid hippie mother.

It sounds stupid now but I was actually shaking for a week after it. Kept getting flashbacks, couldn't even have a drink for months because I was so terrified of losing my mind.

Another one was when drunk in a taxi one night, the female taxi driver pulls up the car and asks me for the money. Now I had recently read some crime novel in which a woman was posing as a taxi driver and murdering people or some such. And instead of just saying "that's ten euro", the woman turns around with what I took to be a manic gleam in her eye and said "now the bad news is..." and paused. In my drunken state I became absolutely convinced that she was about to murder me. It was horrifying. I frantically tried to open the door but couldn't find the handle. It was probably only about 10 seconds, but my God the longest 10 seconds ever. I still shudder a bit now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

Diving in Gozo where the Azure window is. We went straight down 17 metres and I was fine, then my regulator started to fill up with water, I cleared it, then my mask started to fill up, I cleared then I thought that my ears hadn't equalised..... I freaked out and went straight back up. I knew if I didn't go back down I never would so I tried to get over it and went down again, terrified. Later on in the dive we had to go through a tunnel that was about a metre squared........ I was petrified!

It's good to get out of your comfort zone though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

3 times, kind of different situations:

1. I'm kind of jumpy, particularly when I'm half asleep. When I was younger, my brothers thought it would be hilarious to hide under my bed before I went to bend. They waited til I had the light switched off for 5 minutes, and then they grabbed my feet under the covers. I got such a fright, I had a pain in my chest after it.

2. One time when I thought my sister was missing. She had gone out with college the night before, and we were supposed to be meeting up for lunch the next day. She never turned up. Called her mobile, now answer. So I called her flat, and one of her housemates answered, said he hadn't seen her, and that she hadn't come home the night before. I thought we'd find her floating in the canal or something. Turned out she had just slept it out. Could have killed her for not having her phone switched on.

3. When I learned how to bodyboard, and the board flipped over, I could see the sand coming towards me, and you know that time-slows-down thing when you're in trouble, I kept thinking that I was going to smash my skull and drown. Ended up just with a bloody nose and a chipped tooth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

my logic is so fcuked up with fear that i think that because Aer Lingus and ryanair's safety record is so good that they are overdue a major accident and that major accident will be on that plane with me on board

i loathe flying

SNAP!.

I always think, well someone has to be on the first plane which crash's and its gonna be me!..

'Partatmygaff' one of the lads who train's with me is a pilot with Aer Lingus and he's tried to explain the whole thing - to no avail!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭pmg58

I watched a programme about sleep paralysis once (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sleep_paralysis), and ended up experiencing it for the next couple of nights. I couldn't move any part of my body except my eyes and I was hallucinating. The first time I could see a ghostly woman standing over me, the second I could clearly hear two men outside my bedroom window discussing how they were going to break in and kill me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

This thread just convinces me that boardsies are in general absolutely terrified of the stupidest things. :D

Once I almost had to go to see a Brendan O'Carroll play. That's the most scared I've ever been.

pmg58 wrote: »
    I watched a programme about sleep paralysis once (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sleep_paralysis), and ended up experiencing it for the next couple of nights. I couldn't move any part of my body except my eyes and I was hallucinating. The first time I could see a ghostly woman standing over me, the second I could clearly hear two men outside my bedroom window discussing how they were going to break in and kill me.

That's happened to me twice aswell, thought it was real until this woman on the Ray D'arcy show explained it a couple of weeks ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Sitting at the back of a tiny cramped plane, waiting and watching the altimiter creep up. Pilot signals when we reach our height, door opens and everyone infront of you jumps out, then the instructor points for you to get into position. You shuffle up to the door, hold on to the frame with one foot on the outside, you do your checks with the instructor, then jump out into nothing.

Yep, definately the scaryiest thing I've done so far. Just wish Irelands weather wasn't so ****ty that I could do it regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

I always think, well someone has to be on the first plane which crash's and its gonna be me!..
    exactly, people say you should give up smoking, or not drink drive etc and you should never think "it wont happen to me" then when you're afraid of flying - what do they say "it wont happen to you" :confused:

Your question about checking for loose bolts/tears etc as you're boarding. My stupid logic kicks in then. According to all of the programmes, it takes a tiny tear to cause a problem. So according to my logic, I wouldn't see a problem anyway. Oh yes, my brain can be logical when it comes to flying. So long as the logic is terrifying too.

One day, I tried to call my OH in his office and the receptionist picked up his line and very gently told me that he hadn't turned in after lunch and was not answering the phone. I tried to get him too, thinking he may be avoiding work for some reason. His boss rang me a while later asking if I knew if he was ok that He had basicially vanished since he left work for lunch. I rang his mams house, no sign, his dad was panicking and drove to meet me after work.

I got home, he wasn't there (I had visions of him lying at the bottom of the stairs). I was on the phone to his mother at about 9.30 that night, talking about calling the guards or something when he arrived home.

There had been a mix up with work and he was actually on site all day. Had lost his phone and couldn't call me. I was so happy to see him, so angry for him not having called me,, relieved, frustrated and basicially a bawling mess.

His mam chewed him on the phone, she was livid too.

That was probably 4 years ago and I still get angry when I think about it. :mad: It really must be someones worst nightmare to have a loved one go missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭secman

Last Sunday night driving from Ballyanew to Gorey, I dimmed my headlights as you do when traffic coming towards you, waited about 10 sec and put on full beam................. A huge JEt Black Cow was about 20 feet in front of me,smack bang , arse towards ditch and head towards centre of road, i was doing 80km, slammed brakes on , just knew i would not be able to stop, instinctively flicked steering wheel to left and immediately right..........

Still don't know how we avoided hitting 1 ton of meat ......... Myself and wife barely spoke all way back to Dublin....... in complete shock. Only spoke about it last night. I said I still do not know how I managed to swerve around cow as there was no room on road, she said we went into ditch and straight back out........... Thankfully the car responded brilliantly, traction control, stability **** and ABS all worked a treat, But still think someone was looking down on us. Scared **** out of both of us...........

Ps just about managed to ring Emergency services to report it, but guy in car had alreadt done so. can only imagine what it looked like from behind ........

Had beef for dinner last night !

Secman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

secman wrote: »
    Last Sunday night driving from Ballyanew to Gorey, I dimmed my headlights as you do when traffic coming towards you, waited about 10 sec and put on full beam................. A huge JEt Black Cow was about 20 feet in front of me,smack bang , arse towards ditch and head towards centre of road, i was doing 80km, slammed brakes on , just knew i would not be able to stop, instinctively flicked steering wheel to left and immediately right..........

Still don't know how we avoided hitting 1 ton of meat ......... Myself and wife barely spoke all way back to Dublin....... in complete shock. Only spoke about it last night. I said I still do not know how I managed to swerve around cow as there was no room on road, she said we went into ditch and straight back out........... Thankfully the car responded brilliantly, traction control, stability **** and ABS all worked a treat, But still think someone was looking down on us. Scared **** out of both of us...........

Ps just about managed to ring Emergency services to report it, but guy in car had alreadt done so. can only imagine what it looked like from behind ........

Had beef for dinner last night !

Secman

:D:D I misread: thought that you tried to avoid hitting a jet black cRow.

My OH has to drive from Holland to Germany every week for work and he hit a bird (he thinks it was a crow or pigeon, wasn't much left of it) at about 100 miles an hour on the autobahn.... He said he saw it but if he'd tried to avoid hitting it.... I don't even want to think about it to be honest. I'm still a bit apprehensive when he leaves every week now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Insurance is null and void if you do not state that you epileptic though (not saying your dad didn't declare it, just making the point).

I have a friend who has it and they need a doctor's cert stating that he has been fit free for a year in order to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 kilkenny_kid

On a school exchange trip few years ago in Poland. Getting lost in Auschwitz scared me big time, I saw some people go into the Gas chambers, so I decided I'd have look so in I went, and then all of a sudden the doors were locked, lights were turned off and and hissing noises came on. I started panicking and screaming to let me out, the people inside were trying to calm me down and tell me it was stimulation to get the sense of terror like the jews got before they were gassed. During the three minutes, I kept hearing screams in my head and coldness around my neck. I had nightmares for months and could not sleep with the lights off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,474 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Can only remember just the once really...
    Myself and the mates on a banana boat...after we were thrown off it one of them who couldn't swim grabbed me after his jacket fell off and the 2 of us started to sink...tried reasoning with him to no avail..ended up having to punch him in the face..
    I did save his life though :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

kingtut wrote: »
    I have a friend who has it and they need a doctor's cert stating that he has been fit free for a year in order to drive.

Friend of mine has it and she said the same. She'll need a doctor's cert before she's given a licence.

On a school exchange trip few years ago in Poland. Getting lost in Auschwitz scared me big time, I saw some people go into the Gas chambers, so I decided I'd have look so in I went, and then all of a sudden the doors were locked, lights were turned off and and hissing noises came on. I started panicking and screaming to let me out, the people inside were trying to calm me down and tell me it was stimulation to get the sense of terror like the jews got before they were gassed. During the three minutes, I kept hearing screams in my head and coldness around my neck. I had nightmares for months and could not sleep with the lights off.

That must have been terrible.

I know someone who's mother went to the toilet while she was visiting Auschwitz with a big group, on the last tour of the day. She took a bit longer than is normal, and by the time she came out, everyone had gone and the gates were locked. I think she was in there only about half an hour before someone came back for her but she was very shaken.

kingtut wrote: »
    Insurance is null and void if you do not state that you epileptic though (not saying your dad didn't declare it, just making the point).

Oh yes, I know that! His insurance company do know that he's epileptic. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

It's weird to share this with people I don't even know :o.
    The most scared I've ever been was when I found my brother hanging from a tree when I was ten and realised he was dead. Childhood ended then with a bang. Changed my, and those in my family's, lives forever.

On a more positive side, however, the idea of regretting anything I've done in my life is something I don't understand or participate in.;):)

Warfi wrote: »
    The most scared I've ever been was when I found my brother hanging from a tree when I was ten and realised he was dead. Childhood ended then with a bang. Changed my, and those in my family's, lives forever.

On a more positive side, however, the idea of regretting anything I've done in my life is something I don't understand or participate in.;):)

I don't know what to say.

My condolences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭happyfriday

WTF!! That's going to give me nightmares tonight!! :( Read a book about Auschwitz a few years back and it was very graphic it still haunts me from time to time!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Warfi wrote: »

Wow. Thats absolutely horrible. You poor thing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

I started panicking and screaming to let me out, the people inside were trying to calm me down and tell me it was stimulation to get the sense of terror like the jews got before they were gassed.

I'm sorry for your ordeal but I just had to laugh :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

Yesterday I was on the 19A and I heard a man and a woman discussing Boards.ie... It was the scariest moment of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

davyjose wrote: »
    Sherlock Holmes?

No,he wasent at the rally.
    cian1500ww wrote: »
    Was that during the Donegal International last year ?

Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

A few years ago, my dad was driving me to school and we were having a wee chat in the car. His answers started to become a bit mumbly so I asked him was he alright. He didn't answer. I thought he was just thinking about something. A few seconds later, I looked at him and realised he was having a seizure.

People tend to find seizures funny but they're really not. He was rigid but shaking and foaming at the mouth and.... he was driving! I couldn't drive at the time so I'd no idea what the fcuk I was supposed to do and I honestly thought the car was gonna crash and the two of us would die.

I put on the hazard lights and the car slowed down as he obviously wasn't accelerating anymore. I just steered as best I could and eventually applied the handbrake. I rang 999 and was crying down the phone, trying to tell them that my dad was epileptic and there were loads of cars behind beeping and I had no idea what to do.

An ambulance came and after a good ole sleep, my dad was fine as he usually is after a seizure. I've never forgotten it though and every time I'm in the car and he's driving, I'm half watching him to make sure he's ok.

That happened me with my Mum aswell. We were on a country road with no verges, luckily the car swerved to the one bit of the road where the council had cleared the ditch to make space for them to park, otherwise we would have had a nasty crash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Charged by an elephant whlie eating my dessert. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

Most scared I've been was probably on Halloween night about ten years ago. Myself and my mates were out egging cars (I was about 12 years old at the time), but in particular 'souped-up' cars. We got one guy in particular who was driving quite a loud car, and as soon as we hit with the eggs, the driver pulled a lightning fast U-turn and raced after us. I honestly thought I was going to be run over.

We ended up jumping through a few bushes and getting away though!