Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Day at the Races

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Mon 18th July
    5m easy around the Park with the club

Tues 19th July
    2m race - 12.03. Went for a power snooze after work, woke up at 7:15 in an absolute daze, hardly knew my own name. Needless to say I never really got going in the race. Good craic all the same as usual though.
    5m total

Sat 23rd July - intervals
    Was too hungover to hang with tbb and his intervals on Fri, so arranged to meet a buddy to do these in St Anne's Park. 1.2 wu, then 6 x 800 (5.57 avg w/ 90 secs rest), then another 1.2 wd. Good session, paced myself well and finished well and truly knackered.

Sun 24th July
    LSR - 12m @ 8.32 pace. Lap around Howth, this is the longest I've run in 5 months, but it's nice to get back on the road to DCM '11 (pacing). Beautiful evening#

WTD 27.5m

Mon 25th July
    8:17 on the boards tt route in Howth on the bike. Report http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=73478685&postcount=150here, this is very tough and a really good blow out

Tues 26th July
    Lord Mayors Series Race. 2m - 11:53. Got around the first lap in 5:40, but just had nothing in the 2nd lap - nothing. Painful, not sure what it was, maybe tiredness from the cycle, maybe I had too much food and coffee in the belly after overindulging during the day. 5.5 in total, I'll get the hang of this distance some day....

Fri 29th July
    Easy lap of St Anne's Park - 5 miles

Mon 1st Aug
    6.3 @ 7.35 with a new club mate. Nice evening for a run, after a very lazy long weekend (3 x gigs: morrissey, prince and rodrigo y gabriela).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

8:17 for that Howth TT is savage stuff. Well Done.
    I hope you sobered up yesterday!
    See you 2morrow!

Macanri wrote: »
    8:17 for that Howth TT is savage stuff. Well Done.
    I hope you sobered up yesterday!
    See you 2morrow!

Hope I (??!!!) sobered up? :rolleyes:

Tues 2nd - Lord Mayors Series
    2m in 11:30. Felt better than the previous 2 weeks. First mile 5:37, 2nd 5:53. I made too many 'moves', didn't run as steady as I should have as was pointed out to me by a clubmate. Still, happy enough with the time considering. Good to see bb67 and the other boardies get nice PBs

Weds 3rd
    2 laps - 9 miles @ 7:53 pace in the Park. Good run after the race, ran with the same guy as Monday last. He's hoping for 3:15 in DCM so he's around the same training pace as me which suits.

Thurs 4th
    Very slow 1 lapper with some older clubmates. Ca. 8:30 - 9:00 pace. Want to start varying training speeds more and that means running slow ones slower which I did tonight. Good to run with some of the clublads I wouldn't normally hang with.

Sun 7th
    2 miles - abort mission, ABORT MISSION. Spent the weekend training my liver for next weekend's stag in York, so wasn't feeling sharp for this one. But hey - 2 miles is 2 miles so they're going in the log.

OK week, need to start prioritising running a bit more, especially in the lead up to DCM. Electric Picnic and a wedding in September means LSRs are at a premium in the next couple of months.

Mon 8th
    5.5m easy enough pace around the Park

Tues 9th - Lord Mayors Series
    2m in 11:25. Another step forward over last week, let's see can we nip another PB (11:23) before the series ends...

5.5m total

Thurs 11th
    5m at 6AM. Happy to get out for a morning run, never find these easy.

Fri - Sun was at a stag in the UK so needless to say there was zero running!

Mon 15th
    9.5m @ ca. 8.20 pace. With a couple of clubmates, 2 laps of St Anne's Park. Horrific weather, we were soaked by halfway. Character and some HTFU was invoked to get us around the 2nd half. I was comfortable for the whole thing, good to get some more "pacer-specific" training done.

Have a couple of running-distractions before DCM - Electric Picnic and a wedding, but otherwise plan is to race a few more times in Aug in the Raheny Lord Mayors Series (2 x 2m and 1 x 3m handicap race), then just do as much distance as possible. 26.2 @ 9.15 pace will be a doddle come Oct 31st - looking forward to it already :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

christeb wrote: »
    Mon 8th
    26.2 @ 9.15 pace will be a doddle come Oct 31st - looking forward to it already :)

That'll get you home in about 4:04 ;)

menoscemo wrote: »
    That'll get you home in about 4:04 ;)

Sorry, forgot to mention I'm planning to drop the hammer at 25 so we can dip under the 4. That'll test out those stragglers!

Might as well update while I'm here.

Tues 16th - 2mile Series
    11:25 (again). Went through halfway in a slightly-too-pedestrian 5:40 and left it too late to up the pace in the 2nd lap. I was pipped on the line by a tri-head I passed at halfway, there wasn't a clubmate shout to be heard, so by the time I reacted the line was on top of us. Keeled over on the lineas usual, these races really take it out of me.

5.5m in total, a solid night's work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Have a couple of running-distractions before DCM - Electric Picnic

Great line up: P.J. Harvey, Interpol, OMD. Would love to go myself but unfortunately it clashes with the national half marathon.
    Are running Dublin marathon Briano?

tunguska wrote: »
    Great line up: P.J. Harvey, Interpol, OMD. Would love to go myself but unfortunately it clashes with the national half marathon.
    Are running Dublin marathon Briano?

the lady has us sorted with VIP camping, t'wud be rude not to go! Just pacing DCM again EB - 4:00. Good craic last year, hope your training is going. Resurrect that log man!

Weds 17th
    7.5m - out to Sutton X, a lap pf the church and back home. Easy paced with 2 clabmates, they were both running on Sat and just wanted to take it ham n' cheesey.

Fri 20th
    5m, easy lap of the park with a clubmate. He later went on to do 65 in the 10 miler, solid going the day after.

Mon 23rd
    6.5m around the park with a clubmate.

Tues 24th
    Last 2m race, finally got another PB. 11:18. Felt stronger for the 2 laps, didn't go through any "dead" zones like I normally do. 5.5m overall, good buzz around hte club with it being the last series race and lots of people PBing, espesh macanri. 11:01 - phew!

Thurs 25th
    Easy cycle with the lads are Howth

Fri 26th
    7m @ 7.18 w/ theboyblunder. First run with him in a while, enjoyable.

Sun 28th
    7 a side, putting this in as training as it was! Tough, I wasn't sharp as it's been a while.

Mon 29th
    1m wu, 5m @ 7.18, .5m wd. Good pace during a lap and a half with the club.

Buddy from the States brought back 2 pairs of Kinvaras, fair play to him. Turns out they're sz 10 (I'm usually 10.5 / 11), but wore them tonight and they seemed great. Light, comfortable and they look good.

EP is this weekend, but a couple of the clublads are doing a 14m MSLR on Weds, I plan to join them on that. I'm lacking distance, although I'm running well and feel good.

Tues 30th
    5m easy around Bull Island solo

Weds 1st
    14m @ 8:05. good run with one clubmate up to Howth summit via the corkscrew and home. Pace was consistent, ran them in the Kinvaras which felt great the whole way. Had plenty left at the end, well not plenty but enough! Nice to get a long one in, it was a while since the last double-digit run.

Fri 3rd
    Ate a ton of pizza in work, so plan was to see how long I could stay with theboyblunder and his LSR miles. 1m wu, 1m @ 6:25, 1m break and joined him for 2m @ 6:25 each to finish. Wasn't far from a technicolour yawn after that.

Weekend - Electric Picnic, unbelievable stuff!
    Mon - post EP and b'day, deserved a day off.

Tues 6th
    Guessing time, nice club run in miserable conditions, although they cleared up. Pace ca. 7:45

Thurs 8th
    7.5m @ ca. 7.20. Again guessing time, god run with the club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Going well, man.
    Happy belated birthday!:p

OK I haven't been updating, I suck I know. Running pretty well if still light on mileage, avaging 30-35 / week. Felt great on today's 16m which included half of Howth Hill. Looking forward to pacing on the 31st now.

Also, I've decided I'm going sub 3 in Copenhagen in May. Yep, just like that !

Right *drum roll* like Britney, I am back.

I've officially enlisted the book-crunching encyclodaedic services of theboyblunder for a sub 3 training block towards CPH on May 20th (thanks tbb). He knows me well, and knows what areas I'm good (and conversely - ****) at. So here goes:

I (we?)'ll be doing 2 pre-training weeks - then an 18 week Daniels' plan up to ~ 70mpw.

Pre training week 1

Mon - 10m @ 7:38
    Tues - 8m @ 7:26
    Weds - Bikram yoga
    Thurs - pace session - 2m wu, then 3 x 1m (6:07 avg) w/ 3 min rest. This should have been with only 1min rst, but misread the plan. No wd, as I had to make a woddle home (yep!).
    Fri - 5m @ 7:51. 6am start.
    Sat - Nada
    Sun - 13.5m @ 7:34 pace. Good, last 3 miles were against the wind but we were comfortable. Shoulder was sore for the last 2.

42m total, pretty much bang on as prescribed and I'm happy with the pace and comfort on runs. My shoulder is still sore after ca. 10 m (broke collarbone in March '11) or so of longer runs, but I'm confident this will iron itself out.

Feelin' good overall, looking forward to getting stuck in, as I'm focussed on the job at hand and ready for the challenge. Bring on week 2....

That last comeback didn't last long, so let's make this one a little less bombastic, shall we?

A little update, no major goals in place but that'll change depending on progress.

Weds 2nd Jan
    8.2m @ 7.54 pace. Raheny / Offington Pk / Raheny loop. Windy on the way back on the coast rd.

Thurs 3rd Jan
    8.3m @ 7.52 pace. Same loop as yesterday, this time with the club. Still feeling the Christmas excesses, but we ran well into the wind on the way home. Each person (4 of us) took a lead for a minute and we rotated.

Sat 5th Jan
    5k race - 20:24. Parkrun, paced it badly and slowed right down during the start of the last mile. Garmin came in at 3.00 which resulted in a mad sprint by me in the end. 12k cycle to / from the race and finished with an easy 5k with herself to ease into the afternoon.

Sun 6th Jan
    10.8m LSR with club. Garmin died but it was around 7.55 pace. Felt good, never really struggled. Enjoying being back into a routine.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

That last comeback didn't last long, so let's make this one a little less bombastic, shall we?

A little update, no major goals in place but that'll change depending on progress.

Weds 2nd Jan
    8.2m @ 7.54 pace. Raheny / Offington Pk / Raheny loop. Windy on the way back on the coast rd.

Thurs 3rd Jan
    8.3m @ 7.52 pace. Same loop as yesterday, this time with the club. Still feeling the Christmas excesses, but we ran well into the wind on the way home. Each person (4 of us) took a lead for a minute and we rotated.

Sat 5th Jan
    5k race - 20:24. Parkrun, paced it badly and slowed right down during the start of the last mile. Garmin came in at 3.00 which resulted in a mad sprint by me in the end. 12k cycle to / from the race and finished with an easy 5k with herself to ease into the afternoon.

Sun 6th Jan
    10.8m LSR with club. Garmin died but it was around 7.55 pace. Felt good, never really struggled. Enjoying being back into a routine.

about time B :)

now lets get some publicly stated goals on the internet....

I thought you were a write off Briano to be honest. Last time I talked to you was this time last year when you gave paddy a loan of your garmin for the raheny race. And you seemed pretty apathetic about the whole thing. Good to see you're back, are you gonna have a crack at a sub 3 hr marathon?

I've been enjoying staying fit in a myriad of ways, been doing a lot of yoga recently. Bikram and other stuff including 10 sessions in Bali ! Running hasn't been totally forgotten, and now that work has moved to an office with showers, I intend to include runmutes as a core part of my mileage.

Just got engaged a month ago which may limit my racing somewhat, but let's see what the first few weeks bring.

I'll be helping out for late entries for the Rah 5 again this year, do say hello!

Mon 7th Jan
    5.5m runmute home from work.

Tues 8th Jan
    Bikram - new studio and the heat was pumpin'. Had to sit out a couple of poses, not like me. Got through it though, and felt amazing after.

Weds 9th Jan
    4.5m runmute into work. Achilles started seizing up on me when I got to the IFSC, so I grabbed a bike from there the rest of the way. Am I able to string a little training together without my glass body breaking? Is yoga the only sport I can comfortably do without risking injury? Who knows.

Fri 11th Jan
    Bikram. Better this time, did my best standing bow pose I can remember. Achilles still killing me, so no running for the weekend. It's a little looser today (Mon 14th) after plenty of icing and stretching over the weekend, so I might try a runmute tomorrow or Weds.

So the achilles took me out for a number of weeks. My buddy is a physio so he guided me through the rehab to a point where there was no pain on runs.

Started back on the 2nd of April and clocked up 123 miles for the month, mostly 5.15m runmutes in and out of work. Miles that don't cut into your day are the best. In there was a 41:38 Night Run 10k too. Legs felt great that evening but I got the food wrong so stomach was sore. It's frustrating when legs / body aren't in sync and one wants to go faster when the other won't allow!
    So back to some regular logging (?)
    29 Apr 2013 Mon 5.15
    30 Apr 2013 Tue 5.50
    1 May 2013 Wed 5.15
    2 May 2013 Thu 5.15
    3 May 2013 Fri 5.15
    4 May 2013 Sat 5.00 - inc Parkrun 5k - 19:00. Woop, delighted with this time. Kept pacing pretty consistent the whole way through and was pleasantly tired at the end. Almost too a nice club scalp, I'll get him next time.
    In the afternoon I did a circuits session on Dollymount with my buddy who's training mostly for a white collar boxing fight. Farmer's walks, keg walk, keg pushup / cleans, medicine ball throws, medicine ball situps x 4!! Brilliant session, felt great after it.
    5 May 2013 Sun 11 - LSR with the club. 9 @ 7:38 in here until I peeled off the group and jogged home, sore but happy. Amazing sunshine and Mick Wallace on the Clontarf seafront were spotted on this run! Oh and a walked lap of the Howth Cliffs after this with the OH means it was an unofficial 18m for the day!!

Weekly total 42 miles.

Feelin' good, eating great (I've got 4 hens providing us with the world's tastiest eggs). The mind meanders forward to October 2013 - DCM??!

7 May 2013 Tue 8.40m - PM runmute plus another 3.3m @ 10.00 min/mile pace with the OH when I got home. Felt pretty good the whole way 'round.

8 May 2013 Wed 4.00m
    went down to the club, forgetting it was Weds (sessions night). No one there to run with, but bumped into a new guy on the way out, so we decided to head towards the park and maybe pick up a few intervals as there was a session on that I'd just learned about. 1.5m after we got there, and it's a bunch of (mainly) kids doing 250s (incline). Joined in on the 4th and did 7 in total (missed one in-between).
    41s, 42s, 4 x 43s and a rogue 51s in there too! Nice to get the legs whizzing again, I was leading the group for most of them but there are some fast 12/13 yr olds in Raheny Shamrock AC !! Finished keeled over and another 1.x mile for a decent night's training.

9 May 2013 Thu 5.20m - PM runmute
    10 May 2013 Fri 5.20m - AM runmute - heavy bag on my back.

I haven't been logging runs via the GPS as my ANT+ is broken, should really get a new one. Rumnutes are somewhere in the 7:50 - 8:20 pace range, although starting off on Tuesday's run I was in the sub 7:00 range. The Howth Rd normally straightens me out!

Plan for the weekend is much the same as last (Parkrun, circuits Sat - "LSR" Sun) but I've to negotiate a night's socialising to make that happen...

11 May 2013 Sat 4.00

inc Parkrun 5k. tough conditions this week. 19:30 finish, good enough for 14th out of 380 or so. Mistimed the pre-race visit to the bushes so I had to negotiate half of the field too. Driving wind and rain meant that a course PB was never going to happen, but I'm happy with pacing and how I felt for this.

Did another circuits session with my boxing buddy after. This week we did a lot of medicine ball and keg work. Really great overall body workout.

12 May 2013 Sun 8.00 @ 7:15 pace
    Club LSR. A little wine and a late night the night before, combined with pace which was a little rich for me, meant I tapped out of this one a little earlier than hoped.

Another good week down - 35 miles in all.

13 May 2013 Mon 5.20 0:43:00 8:16 pace (est.)
    PM runmute. Tough run home, damn hailstones got me around Connolly station.

14 May 2013 Tue 5.15 0:40:38 7:53 pace
    AM runmute

15 May 2013 Wed 5.20 0:42:00 8:04 pace (est.)
    PM runmute. Threw in 3 x 100m strides at the end. They zapped me!

16 May 2013 Thu 5.19 0:39:11 7:32 pace
    AM runmute, Happy with the pace here, not bad with a belly full of eggs and porridge! Perfect morning for running. Did plenty of foam rolling and stretching last night, legs felt good as a result. Mental note: do more foam rolling.

17 May 2013 Fri 8.20 1:01:50 07:32 pace
    5.2m runmute into work, 3m run home to the in-laws after. The last 3 were with theboyblunder at a nice pace (for me!)

18 May 2013 Sat 4.00 0:31:00 07:45 pace
    Quick jog around St Anne's Park. Wanted to do more but couldn't find the motivation / time. No LSR this week due to a wedding and hangover for the rest of the weekend. This will be recified this week.

Weekly total: 33 miles. Need to start increasing...

20 May 2013 Mon 8.00m 1:10:00 0:08:45

Runmute home + 3 miles w/ the OH @ 10:00 pace. Wasn't 100% after the previous Saturday's wedding, damn age and reduced capacity of consume alcohol.

21 May 2013 Tue 5.15m 0:41:00 0:07:57

Morning runmute. After work I met up with my boxer buddy who sold a circuits session in the sunshine too me. Palmerstown Park, and the 6 stations were sandbag drags, keg carries, keg pushup + cleans, farmers walk, fireman's carry and finally a medicine ball throwing thing. We got a few strange looks, particularly during the fireman's carry where we alternate carrying each other 20m back and forth. Dogs and kids seemed to like it, though!

22 May 2013 Wed 5.00m 0:39:00 0:07:48

0530 start to cycle into a Bikram session. My first in way too long. Evening runmute home. Tough. I took a sneaky break in Fairview Park but the tiredness wasn't leaving my body as it didn't emanate from running. So I just had to grit my teeth and get on with it.

23 May 2013 Thu 5.20m 0:40:30 0:07:47

Morning runmute, felt pretty strong given the last 2 day's activities.

Got any races targeted Brian or are you just gonna build things up for now?

Just building Eoin, need to get strong before I consider anything more serious.

Friday 24th - nothing, I was zapped from the previous couple of day's activities. Hamstrings (mostly left) were quite tight too, so did a little foamn rolling.

25 May 2013 Sat 3.10m 0:18:10 0:05:51pace
    Parkrun 5k, a surprising 5k PB (prev 18:28). Delighted with this, rocked up to the start with a couple of mates with no warm up (apart from the sun). Perfect day for it. Legs felt great from the start, one of those things where I just timed it right. Passed a clubmate halfway through the first mini-lap, kept a nice consistent pace going through the start of the 2nd lap. The guy right in front of me was slowly being reeled in, even though he was cutting onto the grassy bits where he could. This annoyed me just enough to overtake him on the final little hill with 100m to go. I always try to skip a breath and make a decisive move so people aren't tempted to come back at me in the finish. Almost took a wrong turn at the end but held off the guy for a nice 8th place. Didn't have a watch so was waiting impatiently all day for a time by email. I know this course very well now, which helps so much with pacing.
    Alll in all a good morning's work

26 May 2013 Sun 12.50m 1:33:30 0:07:28 pace
    LSR. Felt good for the start, the lads were taking it a little easier than normal due to a race later this week. A magnificent morning, really enjoyable the whole way around. My arm started to get sore from 10m on, it's a pain near the tricep. Not sure if it's fromm circuits, I've been doing some pullups recently too so maybe I'll know them on the head. 11.85 miles @ 7:26, a slow 1m to finish.

39m for the week, with 1 x bikram, 1 x circuits and a 5k PB. "We're getting better all the ti-iii-ime."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Great time, sub 18 is closing on the horizon!