Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Radio for Morons Run By Morons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Thanks for wasting 2 minutes of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Greaney

Actually, I've been waiting a long time to have a rant on this matter....

WHY OH WHY DON'T DJ'S SHUT UP AND PLAY MUSIC!!!!!

They are under some illusion that they are stand up comedians or thier brainless natterings are amusing/enlightning/ new!!

I'm going crazy jumping from one station to another. I actually like talk radio done properly (morning Ireland, news talk) you know, the stuff by journalists, but the mindless yammering of DJ's drives me mental (i radio no exception... just to keep on the topic;))

I say we start a campaign to get the DJ's of Ireland to "shut yer cake-hole, and play some ceol"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

4FM is the only good station.
    GC->Radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Greaney

MMM, I dunno, I did hold out high hopes however, they still do an awful lot of talking and phone-ins. So much so that I've tuned out a few times.

Seriously, compared to radio in other countries, we do an awful lot of talking complaining about the same old politicians etc. when that's taken care of in newstalk and radio one.... we need more music!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

Greaney wrote: »
    I say we start a campaign to get the DJ's of Ireland to "shut yer cake-hole, and play some ceol"

Great catch phrase!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭smurke

I couldn't listen to a radio station that has such blatant disregard for human saftey, that's way too many people to have in a van

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭LarWright

At 44 seconds does she say "Why do we pay a licence?"?

2fm is not funded by the licence fee.

http://www.rte.ie/about/licence.html

licence_graph.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭GSF

Nobody ever went broke by selling their wares to stupid people. The I radio shareholders will be millionaires soon.

Serioisly though, why does "yoof" radio have to be dumb? Aren't the youth audience as intelligent as any other age bracket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

One of the people on the bus is the Programme Director....probably thought it was a brilliant idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

If they're tuning in for as long as they're "in the bus", then that's about 5 seconds before they change channel.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭TRSJ

Greany,

the reason why you hear people talk so much is that in part it is the law and in part it forms part of the license of a station. The law is 20% of output must be news and current affairs so yes 1/5 of what you hear will end up being talk on a station (mush more when you take ads out of the mix). But it could be higher as general banter and speech might have to make up 30% of a stations output when you add general speech to news and current affairs.

Ireland is THE ONLY country in the world that so far has been identified with such a "talk" law!

See www.moremusiclesstalk.com for details on all the laws.

There are no minimum news and current affairs requirements by Law in
    the following countries under broadcast law.

UK- No
    New Zealand - No
    Australia - No
    Canada - No
    Germany - No law (but each licence may vary at around 10% depending
    on format)
    IRELAND - YES, 20% (or HIGHER for some stations even!)
    USA - No
    Poland - No
    Holland - No
    Malta - No
    Switzerland - No
    Czech Republic - No
    Isle of Man - No
    Denmark - No
    Norway - No
    Austria - No
    Luxembourg - No
    Sweden - No
    Cyprus - Yes 7% for general interest stations only (NOT for specialist
    stations such as music or sport stations)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

yeah but i would prefer 20% intelligent chat rather than a moronic drawl such as iradio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I hope that that i radio bus crashed. It was loaded with idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

LarWright wrote: »
    At 44 seconds does she say "Why do we pay a licence?"?

2fm is not funded by the licence fee.

http://www.rte.ie/about/licence.html

licence_graph.gif

Who pays Gerry Ryans salary then?:rolleyes:

I listen to I radio alot,tuned out of Ray Darcy and his constant whining.I radio,in my opnion,play more music than any other station which is why I listen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Greaney wrote: »
    Actually, I've been waiting a long time to have a rant on this matter....

WHY OH WHY DON'T DJ'S SHUT UP AND PLAY MUSIC!!!!!

They are under some illusion that they are stand up comedians or thier brainless natterings are amusing/enlightning/ new!!

I'm going crazy jumping from one station to another. I actually like talk radio done properly (morning Ireland, news talk) you know, the stuff by journalists, but the mindless yammering of DJ's drives me mental (i radio no exception... just to keep on the topic;))

Then listen to Morning Ireland and Newstalk FFS!!!

Obviously people like the mindless talk on pop stations otherwise they wouldn't do it. I like it.

If you like pop music, but also like the banter on RTE and Newstalk, You'll just have to switch stations.

Ger-ovor-ih* mate!!!!

*Get over it.

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭Real FM

Who pays Gerry Ryans salary then?:rolleyes:QUOTE]

Eh the advertisers and sponsors :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

Real FM wrote: »

Who pays the for the whole RTE campus? The broadcast network? the HR and admin dept? the websites? 2fm's esb bill? Pensions, technical staff, canteens? etc

Do you think if you took 2fm out of the RTE that it could survive as a stand-alone business like today FM or newstalk?
    not a hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

Real FM wrote: »

Advertisers and sponsors my hole,is that what the licence fee payer is called now then.As Spadder says,take 2fm out by itself and make it a stand alone company and see will it survive.Haha not a chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭Real FM

spadder wrote: »
    Do you think if you took 2fm out of the RTE that it could survive as a stand-alone business like today FM or newstalk?
    not a hope.

Well it's got higher listenership figures than Today FM and probably takes in more in advertising so I can't see why not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Paul Flynn

Oh cmon they are only having a laugh.... its a take the piss video....

Oh and Mike some people actually like iRadio...

i102-104, the West and Northwest’s regional radio station is continuing to make waves according to the latest listenership figures from JNLR, released today (Thursday 20 August 2009) compiled by Independent market research company, TNS/MRBI. The station, which has made its name thanks to its talented on-air personalities and major station promotions such as the i102-104 Thief, Indecent Proposal and The Naked Bus, is now officially the fastest growing radio station in Ireland and the most listened to 15-34 regional station outside of Dublin reaching 166,000 each and every week.

These latest figures, show that i102-104, which broadcasts to Counties Roscommon, Galway, Donegal, Leitrim, Longford, Mayo and Sligo, reaches 29% of the available adult listening audience.

It has an average quarter hour of 15,000 –up a massive 36% in the last 3 months, evidence that i102-104, which launched in February 2008, is officially the most listened to 15-34 year old regional radio station in the Country outside of Dublin, reaching 93,000 people every day.

Reacting to the figures, General Manager Rena Maycock expressed her delight:
    "I am absolutely thrilled, we could not have predicted this type of growth and at such a fast pace-we are now officially the most listened to 15-34 independent radio station in Ireland outside Dublin”. She added: “We want to thank our clients for taking a leap of faith and advertising with us; these figures show that we are excellent value for money and we will continue to help drive our clients’ businesses forward. We also thank our listeners for their continued and unwavering support and we promise to continue to entertain them and inspire them to keep saying ‘I can’t believe they’re doing that!’”

Programme Director Dave Alsybury said the success of the station was down to the loyal listeners as well as the hard working staff at i102-104; "For the fourth consecutive JNLR survey i102-104 is the fastest growing radio station in the country and we think it’s all down to our on-air talent, cutting edge music playlist and innovation when it comes to on-air promotions.”

i102-104 which is the sister station of i105-107 broadcasting to eight counties in the North East and Midlands, has scooped numerous awards since it launched including three PPI awards in 2008 (Oscars for Radio), three Radio Advertising Awards and was recently recognised for innovation and entrepreneurship by the Galway Chamber of Commerce. The station employs 32 staff at its' Galway studios and is one of four super regional stations licensed by the Broadcasting Commission of Ireland.

Advertisers and sponsors my hole,is that what the licence fee payer is called now then.As Spadder says,take 2fm out by itself and make it a stand alone company and see will it survive.Haha not a chance.

If Newstalk and Today FM can survive standalone, I'm sure 2FM could too.

Was 2FM not the only non-loss making operation of RTE in recent years?

Kerry "Low Low" sponsors Ryan, that must be worth €100,000+ a year? Not to mention the actual cost of ads during his show. Love him or hate him, he has a big enough listenership to attract a lot of advertisers, and I'd be pretty sure that the total annual cost of ad space during his show covers his "2FM Salary". Don't forget, he does TV too, so I'm sure some of the licence fee goes towards that end of his salary.

Also interesting to note is (in 2007 anyway).... 2FM helped keep Radio 1 on the air also... RTE Annual Report Notes - 2007
    The funding of RTÉ Radio 1’s costs comprises:

• RTÉ Radio 1 advertising and sponsorship;
    • surpluses generated by non-channel Radio IBD commercial activities; and
    • surpluses generated by RTÉ 2fm;

spadder wrote: »
    Who pays the for the whole RTE campus? The broadcast network? the HR and admin dept? the websites? 2fm's esb bill? Pensions, technical staff, canteens? etc

I'm sure if you examine the Annual Report, in there you'll find 2FM's Operational Costs, and how much the have to contribute towards "ESB, Pensions (You'll probably find that most are not staff so there's the pension issue solved), Technical Support from IT Dept, Network Operations etc...." .

Anyway, back to the iRadio ad, I don't get it myself (nor do I listen to iRadio) maybe I'm falling out of their demographic, who knows!?.... But in general, I think radio in this country is below par. No new ideas... EVER, same competionions over and over, same style "presenters" (use the word losely), spouting the same thing as everyone else, stations just slagging off the competition, "We play more music", "we talk less", "we have new music first" etc...

Tune into Scott Mills on BBC Radio 1, or Chris Evans on BBC Radio 2 for just 10 minutes, and it's a breath of fresh air.

Not the usual, "HI MARY ON LINE 2, WHAT SONG DO YOU WANT ON YOUR WAY BACK FROM PICKING UP THE BRATS FROM SCHOOL IN KERRY?" or "THIS IS BLAH FM GIVING AWAY ANOTHER CR4P CD THIS HOUR WITH THANKS TO THE LOCAL CHIPPER"

Radio is just decent in the UK, engages the listeners, having a bit of a laugh in studio, banter, allbeit about the most trivial things, but it keeps you interested, informed and usually puts a smile on my face anyway.

Rant over!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Slicklink

"Who pays Gerry Ryans salary then......" blah blah

It is the advertisers by the way - and up until the recession they formed an orderly queue to "get on".

Do not kid yourself - 2fm is a very very profitable station as a stand alone (and NOT as a result of their ESB bill being paid by the organisation).

Moremusic etc - Hi Garv....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

RTE's advertising revenue is down at least a 1/3, so I wouldn't be overly confident in saying 2fm is making huge profits. In fact, RTE's advertising revenue is down by such an extent that the Licence fee has gone from making up 40% of RTE's overall budget to over 50% - 200 million euros to 195 million euros brought in by advertising.

There has been suggestions that the Government might slash RTE's licence fee income in effort to increase its own revenue. Were this to happen, for RTE to maintain its existing services then the surplus 2fm contributes to the rest of the organisation would have to be increased. The only way this could be achieved would be by cutting costs - like presenters pay. So to say Gerry Ryan's salarly is not, directly in case of his TV work and indirectly with regards his radio show, related to the licence fee, imo, just doesn't make sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I think RTE 2fm does - ostensibly at least - pay its own way.

Whether it benefits from lower rates for studios, tx network, etc, I'd have my suspicions.

But the main thing that bugs me is the free advertising they get when they put a radio presenter (Kenny, Tubridy, Ryan or that morning duo) on TV and they plug their upcoming shows......that bugs the crap out of me, because any other station would have to pay a fortune for that level of prime time exposure, plus (if things haven't changed) even for paid ads for other stations, the stations can't advertise the time of the show......

So there's definitely some abuse of position / cross-benefit going on.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭loglogbarkbark

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    I hope that that i radio bus crashed. It was loaded with idiots.

now thats unnecessary and a bit disturbing.

ah lads its just a radio station god!! did these people break in to your house and open up your cereal boxes leaving the contents stale??

it's a you tube video not an advert. I105107 is a fantastic station its innovative and new and the work force are all young and enthusiastic,go on be ould begrudgers and stifle creativity, you lot are whats wrong with radio today.
    you sicken me with your attitude if you are too mature for this staation well then surely you are too mature to go on the internet a splurge out boring posts about the silly young ones at I 105 107 annoying you with silly little you tube videos.
    cop on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Mike... wrote: »
    Iradio.....total cringe fest...
    take their latest ad for example, not that I am a 2fm fan...

How fitting that it was the short bus they took.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Mike... wrote: »
    Iradio.....total cringe fest...
    take their latest ad for example, not that I am a 2fm fan...

The ad has you talking so its point has worked.

• Registered Users Posts: 29 inertia99

Lads, go get yourselves a decent internet radio and hook it up to the stereo for even better sounds. Then you can listen to great music radio (and talk) if you want to from around the world. Some great stations for music and sport from Oz, NZ, Canada, US, UK (particularly the BBC stations) and great craic to wake up to 106FM from Kingston Jamaica :)......

ciaran76 wrote: »
    The ad has you talking so its point has worked.

I haven't tuned in so it hasn't worked!

Don't listen to 2FM any less than I normally would either so another fail.

I generally flick around the stations, live in Meath, but still couldn't tell you what frequency iRadio are on. And I (in a roundabout way) work in the industry. They fell down on increasing awareness. A few billboards with the frequency in the particular area wouldn't go astray. 105-107 is too vague. Put a billboard ad in Navan saying on 10x.x etc....

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭ella23

There is one thing that is baffling me about this thread....which station are ye talking about and why are ye tarnishing both stations with the one brush?
    There are drastic differences between both stations...i102104 in galway has won PPI's and advertising awards...so there must be something good about them...i105107 just needs time to catch up with them...but really you should not be talking about them like they are one station...especially since most of ye havent listened to both... iRadio is a company...not a radio station... So try find out which one you actually listen to since they are both very different stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭ryanch09

Two words: Ocean FM.

Biggest load of ****e i've ever heard!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

iRadio is the station for the brain dead nation.

The stupid inane way they put the letter i before everything they do drives me nuts.

Also, all the dumb teenagers txtin in with their flittering ramblings all day long and the presenters reading them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 chocolate lover

ella23 wrote: »
    i102104 in galway has won PPI's and advertising awards....

yes and the person behind this success is now heading up i105107 - which is in a much tougher market, especially with northern stations/BBC and overspill from Dublin stations (which by the way is ridiculous)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Big Balls

The employees of IRadio here are very obvious.. stop replying to defend yourselves it looks very silly. Ignore it! And just for the record, quoting JNLR reports and saying you've won PPIs doesn't mean a station is GREAT. I've heard about sloppy music, I've heard about people in management that were weekend jocks not so long ago (I'm talking a straight jump from weekend to these positions) that couldn't manage a their way out of a paper bag.. but maybe listeners don't get to notice these things...........
    yes and the person behind this success is now heading up i105107 - which is in a much tougher market, especially with northern stations/BBC and overspill from Dublin stations (which by the way is ridiculous)

I'd be very careful who you say that to, I've picked up IRadio quite a few times in Dublin city centre so it'd keep quiet now if I were you.

Sponsoring Gerry Ryan (I'd guess RTE would only let you take out a minimum of a 6 month sponsorship contract) would be a LOT more than 100k - a Dublin station would get that type of money quite easily never mind a show with 300,000 listeners... that's who pays Gerry's salary!

You can argue you pay him for Ryan Confidential etc but by and large it's advertising revenue from 2FM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 chocolate lover

hello mr.104

There is a tranmitter at Saggart is there not? So obviously there is overspill into the city, but hearing 98/Spin in Roscommon is a bit much dont you think

Er hello Mr Iradio... ? If the station is as good as people are saying I wouldn't worry about 98 and Spin !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

There is to much over spill from most regional stations, I know its down to geographical location and tx power, Beat, Spin South West, Red Fm the list goes on, Cant understand why the Bci wont get up off their areses and sort this.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Manimal

hello mr.104

There is a tranmitter at Saggart is there not? So obviously there is overspill into the city, but hearing 98/Spin in Roscommon is a bit much dont you think

Its ironic that iRadios Saggart TX isn't even in their franchise area:)
    as for overspill, well thats called terrain, sure once you go towards North Dublin you can hear BBC radio 1 banging in like a local.

I'm sure iRadio were well aware of the overspill situation on both sides when they were awarded the franchise! in the end, their dismal performance on i105-107 is more to do with their poor programming than anything else. Maybe more attention to playing decent songs and less to wacky zany progamming ideas is in order!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Jezzington

To be honest, the only radio I really listen to these days would be Power FM, and RTÉ Lyric FM most of the time (but not when Marty W*****, or that haughty pain in the hole Liz Nolan are on). Phantom used to be fantastic, but has really lost the plot in recent times (I had no idea that Oasis, U2, Green Day, etc are alternative/Indie, golly gee whiz I really need to wake up to the world...) RTÉ 1 has some worthwhile culture and music shows on it, but is ruled by the egos of Turdbuddy, Kenny, etc.

98, Q102 and FM104 in Dublin, and Red FM in Cork are truly the nadir of Irish broadcasting, Coldplay, Beyonce, Aslan, and R.H.C.P. a zillion times a day, every day, with the usual "other stations talk more, we just talk about other stations talking more and then proceed to play the exact same bland cack over and over" type routine. Horrible.

I agree with the poster who suggested checking stations on-line, there's lots of really cool stuff out there that can wash away the taste of rock-bottom Irish broadcasting.

Jezzington wrote: »

98, Q102 and FM104 in Dublin, and Red FM in Cork are truly the nadir of Irish broadcasting,

When did they suddenly change? I thought these type of commercial music stations always targeted the widest audience?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Jezzington

I wouldn't say they've changed, far from it in fact. The same old same old, hence why I avoid them like the plague, lest I'm somewhere where I have no control over the radio.