Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Reserve B.R Form (for background checks)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 780 ✭✭✭munster4868

John I was wondering about that myself think we get that when were down there.

You will get your Reg Number on Phase 1 ( in the college)
    Hope that helps

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭jmc1546

Sure no real harm in leaving it blank for now and i will fill it in when im down there if i have to.

(Just saw your message there munster4868 that helps alot thanks)

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭Spartan09

collig2 wrote: »
    Handed in the BR form in march this year. After about 3.5 months of waiting said i would ring the local station and see what the craic was with it. They told me that they sent it off and that HQ should have it. Took the liberty of ringing them and they told me they had a reciept of it but had actually not recieved the form. Rang station back and they told me that it must have stopped at a supt. office (being used as a coffe mat!!):rolleyes:. Station apologised and within one week I had my supt. interview. Supt. said he would reccom. me but havent heard a thing since. Goes to show that we have to bust some balls to get progress.

Just wondering did something similar happen to anyone?..Also, does anyone think that this has been the reason for the delay?..

Yep mine got held up by about 2 months as Sergeant in station I left it into left it on his desk and forgot to forward it on until I rang to ask, not uncommon unfortunately....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 GRHopefull

Hi Lads,

By looking at your replies, I feel better (not at your expense)...... clearly I'm being impatient as I only submitted my BR form in August '10.

My understanding about BR form, delays are caused by family members living abroad or the form being incorrectly completed.

I spoke with a local Garda who seemed to know alot about the BR checks as he too was in the same boat when applying for full time position.

Clearly a case to be patient as I've just read in erarlier post's some applicants are waiting nearly 18months before hearing back.

Personally, I think it's a shame the only way you hear back about BR checks (being succesful) is via medical appointment date..... what happens if the BR check isn't succesful??

Has anyone experienced this?

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Scorpio22

Just trying to complete the BR form (which is more like a novel!) anyhoo had a few questions..

1) In relation to references section they ask for two one from your current employer and another from someone else, are these to be written?

2) I dont know all the contact details for all my aunts & uncles as my family has lost contact with them, I have a put this note on the application will this be ok?

3) How long does it usually take for background check to be done?

4) What is the next step after background check is done?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭DavidH82

Scorpio22 wrote: »

Just trying to complete the BR form (which is more like a novel!) anyhoo had a few questions..

1) In relation to references section they ask for two one from your current employer and another from someone else, are these to be written?

2) I dont know all the contact details for all my aunts & uncles as my family has lost contact with them, I have a put this note on the application will this be ok?

3) How long does it usually take for background check to be done?

4) What is the next step after background check is done?

I gave in written references with my BR form. I think that's preferred. I seem to remember a section on the form asking if you had attached written references attached (the Garda who takes your form at the station has to fill this out).

As regards relatives I had the same problem with one uncle. I put down the last known address I had for him. At least that way they have something to work with.

The background checks take anything from 2 months to over two years. I have been waiting nearly a year and a half so far. Relatives living abroad slows the process down as foreign police forces have to be contacted. You are as well off to submit your form and forget about it for a few months. There is no way to know how long it will take and you will only drive your cracked thinking about it.

The next step is usually an interview with your local superintendent. This is much more informal than your first interview. <mod snip> It's nothing to worry about. There may also be an interview with the sergeant, but this seems to vary from place to place.

When your background checks are done you will be called for the medical. This is usually fairly close to when you start training.

Hope this helps, if I have omitted anything I'm sure one of the guys who has been through the whole process will correct it.

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭Cillian13

Hey, I just have two questions about the form ,for now anyway.
    In regards to the question where it says you need to give the name of a member of A.G.S who would recommend your application, I know about 15 guards who could do this, should I just put down the name of the one who I'd be closest to?

Also regarding the family background check and 'blood relatives' etc. I don't know my biological father, who he is or anything about him. However I've known my step father since I was 7 years old and his family is full of guards. Should I put him and his familys details down?

Thanks in advance,
    Cillian.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 cash_123

Hi All,
    Just got my letter to say i passed interview and now beginning work on the BR form. Two questions.
    1. What is their definition of Partner? Im with my girlfriend 4 years now, but we're not married or engaged. do i need to add her family details?

Where it says have you ever been the subject of or involved in a Garda investigation? I have had several incidents where I was the primary reason that crimes were solved, one of which was fairly "hands on" so to speak. Would I include these? I know the arresting garda in each case and approximate date.

cash_123 wrote: »
    Hi All,
    Just got my letter to say i passed interview and now beginning work on the BR form. Two questions.
    1. What is their definition of Partner? Im with my girlfriend 4 years now, but we're not married or engaged. do i need to add her family details?

Where it says have you ever been the subject of or involved in a Garda investigation? I have had several incidents where I was the primary reason that crimes were solved, one of which was fairly "hands on" so to speak. Would I include these? I know the arresting garda in each case and approximate date.

Answer 1: No.

Answer 2: Run that one by your local Serg. Space on form mighten be enough to fully explain that you were not the subject of the investigation!!! You know what i mean:rolleyes:

Good Luck

Answer 1: No.

Answer 2: Run that one by your local Serg. Space on form mighten be enough to fully explain that you were not the subject of the investigation!!! You know what i mean:rolleyes:

Good Luck

Wow on the ball with the reply, no messin around here! :D

Thanks for that, I think its odd that they put "spouse/partner" . Is that not the same thing? even in terms of same sex couples?

Yeh might be best, they're quite the storys to be fitting into the little boxs.

cash_123 wrote: »
    Wow on the ball with the reply, no messin around here! :D

Thanks for that, I think its odd that they put "spouse/partner" . Is that not the same thing? even in terms of same sex couples?

Yeh might be best, they're quite the storys to be fitting into the little boxs.

I think and am open to correction here but partner is after a number of years I think over 6 that a couple are living together or have a child together!!
    Good Luck...

I think and am open to correction here but partner is after a number of years I think over 6 that a couple are living together or have a child together!!
    Good Luck...

Well in the sense of living together longterm or having a child i suppose it makes sense really to call them your partner. We're living together 3 so no hassle there. Was dreading having to source all her family, they all live on the continent. Phew!

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭jmc1546

I was in the same situation as you when i was putting in my BR.
    I was with my girlfriend for 7 years and living with her but all i had to do was put down her details and none of her familys. Went trough no problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 kieronmc

Question 15, regarding the references it asks for someone you know for 5 years. Just how strict would they be as regards to this?

I mean, i have been in college for 3 years and have previously used the head faculty member of my course as a reference, he has also agreed to talk to the applicators when ever necessary as i previously mentioned it to him.

I would really like to use his opinion as the reference but am worried as he hasn't known me for the full 5 years necessary.

kieronmc wrote: »
    Question 15, regarding the references it asks for someone you know for 5 years. Just how strict would they be as regards to this?

I mean, i have been in college for 3 years and have previously used the head faculty member of my course as a reference, he has also agreed to talk to the applicators when ever necessary as i previously mentioned it to him.

I would really like to use his opinion as the reference but am worried as he hasn't known me for the full 5 years necessary.

Call the Garda Reserve HR to see what they think, their number is on the letter you get to say you passed the interview. They're very helpful and willing to aid you with filling out the BR form.

I submitted my BR form on friday, done and dusted. Now begins the waiting game!

• Registered Users Posts: 38 phil devlin

Does anyone now how long the background checks ive been waiting a while now

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭A.G.S

does the form have to be done on Microsoft word ?

• Registered Users Posts: 38 phil devlin

yes it does

I submitted my b.r form today. On the receipt for the b.r form that they gave back to me it says candidate number there is none on mine should I have one or do HQ fill the candidate number in when the receive the form ?

• Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭Tripp

you get a candidate number(on your application form) when you go for your interview with PAS

Tripp wrote: »
    you get a candidate number(on your application form) when you go for your interview with PAS

****e i never put it down and the Sargent asked me did i have it and I said no and he sent off the form without the candidate number on the receipt

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Dubbhoy

Hey Peeps just quick update....

After a year and 6 months my BG form is finally back and finished :P woooooo so Happy out should be in the May intake :D:D:D:D:D just for people oout there it taking as long as my self .

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭ghost86

Dubbhoy hi. Do you have many relatives living abroad as this can delay the background checks

• Registered Users Posts: 11 DubDan

Dubbhoy wrote: »

After a year and 6 months my BG form is finally back and finished :P woooooo so Happy out should be in the May intake :D:D:D:D:D just for people oout there it taking as long as my self .
    Dubbhoy i am in the same boat as you were i sent my BR form in a year and a half ago. I am still waiting to hear from HQ rang them and said its one check holding it up my uncle in England but he has been deceased the last six months.

hi, i was wondering if you have to mention any penalty points that you might of had in the past when filling out the br form. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated:)

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭lawnmower1989

you don't mention them on your BR but you will be asked about them at your medical. more then 4 and your in hot water i think. they allow you some penalty points but the way they look at it is if you have more then 4, you have broken the law on too many occasions .....sucks i know

Well I had 6 but they are all gone now becuase it was more than three years ago. Would you mention them even though I do not have them now?

ghost86 wrote: »
    Well I had 6 but they are all gone now becuase it was more than three years ago. Would you mention them even though I do not have them now?

six...ouch!! i think you will be fine, as far as i can remember the question on the sheet is "do you have penalty points" or "do you currently hold penalty point son your d/L". it's mad though that they as you that at the medical...who knows the forms might be changed and you might not have to answer that now, becuase loads of people have them now thanks to those speed vans !! :(

hopefully I can keep a clean licence form now until the medical:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭one2one

Have just started filling out my BR form and have a few questions I need some help with;

6 - Other relatives; Do I need to list aunts & uncles who are from & live in the UK?

and; Do I list all of my cousins, nieces & nephews?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

one2one wrote: »
    Have just started filling out my BR form and have a few questions I need some help with;

6 - Other relatives; Do I need to list aunts & uncles who are from & live in the UK?

and; Do I list all of my cousins, nieces & nephews?

List all of your immediate aunts and uncles (i.e. no in-laws), regardless of where they are living.

This form does not require you to list your cousins, nieces or nephews, thankfully! Jeez the form was long enough to fill in I found :)

Can anyone tell me what happens the B.R. form when you hand it into your local station. For example, does the local gardi have to do their own checks before they send it off to HQ. Also, I heard you get an email from HQ when they get your form. How long does it take to get this email after you give it into to your local station?

they give it to a local sergeant and he writes you up...more often they try and find somebody who knows of you to make it more honest unless he/she is a relative. At the same time the form is copied several times and sent off to different sections of AGS, e.g one copy to SDU etc etc. If there is anything wrong with your form they are sent back to the station and you will be called in to correct it or answer any questions. in the end your super gets the form back when checks are almost complete and you go in meet him. he'll/she'll ask you about your hobbies, if you have a girlfriend, your current job.....he/she is just sizing you up, although relatively informal, you should treat this interview as if it were a serious one. Don't know who told you about the email thing....not true

Ok thanks for that lawnmower. I have three more questions.

What do you mean the sergeant writes you up? Is this like a report he does on you from the information he may get from one of my referees?

Also, what does SDU stand for?

Finally, what may hold up the checks/ why do some checks take only 2 months and others can take 2 years:confused:

Ok thanks for that lawnmower. I have three more questions.

What do you mean the sergeant writes you up? Is this like a report he does on you from the information he may get from one of my referees?

Also, what does SDU stand for?

Finally, what may hold up the checks/ why do some checks take only 2 months and others can take 2 years:confused:

Yes it is just a summary report on the type of person you are. The sergeant just makes some informal enquiries thats all. SDU = special detective unit. And checks can be held up if you have more relatives then others, if you are married, your spouses aunites and uncles must be checked, and if you have uncles/aunties abroad the checks are at the mercy of their local police force.

Ok thanks, thats great info. At least I have some idea about what goes on behind the scenes. I wonder if the SDU do the checks quickly or do they just do them whenever they feel like it i.e. are the reserve recruits a low priority. Also, do they contact your aunts and uncles directly?

god not way...they just check the computers for incidents involving people listed and check for convictions. Well since there is no fulltime recruitment i can't imagine why they would put reserves to bottom of the file. and here... there is at least 10 intakes of reserves this year... we were told that down in the college when we graduated and again in our inservice training. they want to fill it this year.

well thats encouraging news. I dont have many aunts and uncles or a spouce so hopefully my checks will be done quickly and I will make it in before they reach their 10% target. Fingers crossed!

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭Soap MacTavish

Hi i was just wondering is it ok to ring up the Garda HQ and ask how long more they estimate the back ground checks will be? As i handed in my BR form to my local Garda Station in December and had an interview with the local Superintendant in January this year, but havent heard anything back yet, so would it be ok to ask them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Woodzie1991

I suggest that you ring them, but unless there are some checks back, they wont really be able to tell you how its going, because the checks are still ongoing elsewhere. But ring and see what they say :). I couldnt resist ringing, it wont do any harm :).

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭Soap MacTavish

I suggest that you ring them, but unless there are some checks back, they wont really be able to tell you how its going, because the checks are still ongoing elsewhere. But ring and see what they say :). I couldnt resist ringing, it wont do any harm :).

Thanks Woodzie, im really tempted to know, i will try ringing them later this week, after i find my letter that has their number on it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭one2one

Left my BR from into the station last Wednesday, the member went in the back for a few minutes and came back out to tell me all of it was fine, that he would pass it upstairs and the super will be in touch! Hopefully won't take as long as most! Didn't get a receipt though, does this matter?

one2one wrote: »
    Left my BR from into the station last Wednesday, the member went in the back for a few minutes and came back out to tell me all of it was fine, that he would pass it upstairs and the super will be in touch! Hopefully won't take as long as most! Didn't get a receipt though, does this matter?

Normally if I remember correctly, the very last page of the BR-form that you would be delighted to see when you're filling it in, has a space at the bottom right for a stamp from the station. The guard at the hatch will sign it and hand it back to you.

If you don't hear from anyone within a few weeks I would ring and see what the situation is. Keep track of todays' day and approx time you brought it in. They'll know then what unit was on and would narrow it down from there should someone say they never received your BR form.
    I would say you will be okay though. Not everyone has received a receipt in the past and everything was okay with them.

Hi, can someone help me with these questions

What seems to be the average waiting time to be invited to an interview by the local sergeant after the br form was handed in? I handed mine in a month ago and heard nothing yet.

Also, does HQ have my form in the mean time so they can do the checks or do they only receive it after the interview with local sergeant?

Finally, would ringing HQ help with these questions in anyway?

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭smiley963

Hi, can someone help me with these questions

What seems to be the average waiting time to be invited to an interview by the local sergeant after the br form was handed in? I handed mine in a month ago and heard nothing yet.

Also, does HQ have my form in the mean time so they can do the checks or do they only receive it after the interview with local sergeant?

Finally, would ringing HQ help with these questions in anyway?
    Hi, my suggestion to you is that u ring HQ and ask they are very helpful with info to let u no .

smiley963 wrote: »
    Hi, my suggestion to you is that u ring HQ and ask they are very helpful with info to let u no .

I am asking that you familiarise yourself with our FORUM CHARTER before posting again. In particular, regarding txtspk.

Thanks,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭Orlagh123

Hey there! Just in relation to the BR form! Do you have to supply a medical cert when you're handing in your BR form, or is that for the next stage?! Also, for those who've already filled out the form, who did you use for your second reference (not the employer one)? I'm a student, not sure who to get really, maybe an old school principal or something? Any help would be appreciated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Tyron Jara

Dubbhoy wrote: »

1 year six months .... phew im nearly waiting a year now but this has boosted my spirits knowing others take this long too

• Registered Users Posts: 13 derek bilko

hey is any1 waiting for a medical still?? i met with my superintendent 2weeks before christmas 2010 nd rang them 4weeks ago nd was told still doing background checks,
    so tired of waitn cnt wait to get started. shud be gr8 craic

Backround checks can take anywhere from 3 months to sometimes 1.5 years+++ sit back and enjoy the wait!:eek: