Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

career question

Options
  • 04-11-2009 5:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭

I have a degree in IT, looking to get into the graphic design area as I am quite creative and have a great flair for putting things together, posters etc.

Do you need to so a fulltime course to get into this area? Should I do part-time (like online courses) or are these any good?
    I've seen a lot of 4 year courses in Art & design colleges. I don't know if I could do that, mentally & financially.

Any help on this would be much appreciated :)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 36 adie1988

I posted a similar question about a year ago. I am doing a Fine Art course and was wondering what I needed to do to get into graphic deisgn afterwards.

Apparently, to get a job in graphic deisng you need a decent portfolio. Qualifications are preferred but really not that important, if your creative skills excell. You need to be familiar with ALOT of programmes, Photoshop, Illustrator, etc. You just need to show your creative skiils and computer skills, if they speak for themselves, you won't need a qualification.

Can you not do a post grad in graphic design or something similar?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

Well, not what you want to hear but I'm a graphic designer and if I was in the position of hiring I would want a designer with a degree in graphics AND an excellent portfolio. I have yet to meet someone who works in graphics with out a graphic design degree who is good.

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Steamer