Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

You're a culchie if...

• 05-11-2009 9:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭

You wave to people (knowing every one of them) with one finger whilst driving down back arse roads at around 100Kmh.... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭steamjetjoe

if you smell of veg:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

You wave to people (knowing every one of them) with one finger whilst driving down back arse roads at around 100Kmh.... :D
    While towing a combine harverster with your immensely large family riding on top. Thats when you can call yourself a real culchie.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

You live outside of Dublin.

/thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭Alice1

You nod your head instead of waving while driving down back roads at 100 KMH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

Your a teenager and drink Buckfast in the local field every weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

when you hear the words "meat and two veg", you think "dinner time" rather than something dirty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You own a pair of wellies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

If you put like at the end of a sentence, putting like in the middle of a sentence makes you a D4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

You post "you're a ***** if" stuff from emails that started circulating about ten years ago....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

You live outside of Dublin.

/thread.

I know of lots of culchies living here in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

If you say 'bhoy' at the end of every sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

You still use mph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

your sister is your wife

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

You can name all your neighbours within a 1km radius

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

eat in supermacs after a night out

did ya know they is 89 supermacs in ireland, we spent today trying to name em all, yeah unemployed times in the country rawk! :P!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

You do realise the more is added to this thread, the less culchies there will be. There can't be taht many people who fulfil every criteria.

You put "shir" (sure) at the start of a sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

You kick the tyres of any vehicle you stand beside

You know the price of diesel in a 50k radius to your house

You refer to Dublin City as 'The Big Smoke'

While in 'the Big Smoke' you met a nice fellow called The Wallet Inspector who while inspecting your wallet had to run off on an emergency call and forgot to give you your wallet back.

Hard Larry wrote: »
    While in 'the Big Smoke' you met a nice fellow called The Wallet Inspector who while inspecting your wallet had to run off on an emergency call and forgot to give you your wallet back.

That's just most southside Dubliners tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

The guy wrote: »
    If you put like at the end of a sentence, putting like in the middle of a sentence makes you a D4.
    I guess your a D4 then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

emo!! wrote: »
    did ya know they is 89 supermacs in ireland, we spent today trying to name em all, yeah unemployed times in the country rawk! :P!

If you say 'they is 89' rather then 'there is 89'. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

You can name all your neighbours within a 1km radius

You're related to all your neighbours within a 1km radius.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Didymus

Yerra sure it'll be grand out it's only yesterdays date it's not gone off at all

You enjoy watching Killinascully

Notorious wrote: »
    meh! i was to busy farming to learn grammar in school my bad! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

MikeC101 wrote: »
    You post "you're a ***** if" stuff from emails that started circulating about ten years ago....
    Give them a break, they only got the internet working last week.

Pygmalion wrote: »

And still waiting on this wideband they speak of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

You order Coleslaw at the Chipper

You've been in the presence of an animal giving birth

You can't smell silage in the country but you can smell hops when in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭themilkyone

You say down below

.....when really it's up the mountains :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

When your idea of a sex toy is a sheep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

That would make you English.

You're a culchie if:
    You use rope to tie your trousers instead of a belt.
    You watch a GAA match on a Sunday lunch time, then watch the highlights to make sure you didn't miss anything.
    You only bathe on a Saturday night, but only because there is mass the next morning.
    During mass you don't actually go inside the church, you bless yourself with holy water before it and then stand outside the church talking.
    You think no sandwich is complete without a half a pound of butter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Or even "there are 89"

Don't culchies identify themselves to each other by saying "hai" at the end of every sentence?

"We had a great oul bowout, hai"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

If you follow English footy it's Man Yoo, boyo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭kevogy

thinghs culchies love

01 : A nice bit of ham.
    02 : Buttered biscuits.
    03 : Diggin' Houles.
    04 : Saying it's too cold to snow
    05 : Pretending to know about The Ra.
    06 : Tayto Cheese & Onion
    07 : Pretending they're in The Ra.
    08 : A stretch in the evenings
    09 : Lucozade
    10 : Accordians
    11 : Pretending to like Holy Week.
    12 : A dinner dance
    13 : Gettin clattered in muck.
    14 : Shania Twain.
    15 : Heifers
    16 : Spittin in their hands before doing anything manual.
    17 : Steel toe caps.
    18 : A big bowl of carrots & parsnips.
    19 : Eating sangwiches out of the boot of a car at GAA
    20 : Saying someone's 'Opened a Book' on something.
    21 : The smell of fresh dung.
    22 : Slice-Your-Own Loaf.
    23 : Work Clothes.
    24 : A bottle of mineral.
    25 : Fightin'.
    26 : Puttin on a ganzee to stop them from bein foundered.
    27 : 'The' Hurling/Fitball.
    28 : Being overweight.
    29 : Weemin wha resemble Heifers.
    30 : Saying "Aaah" after taking their first sup of tae.
    31 : Drink driving.
    32 : Red diesel.
    33 : The Fear of Change.
    34 : A nice bit of barn brack.
    35 : Lying.
    36 : Building walls.
    37 : Being starved with the cold rather than with a lack of food.
    38 : Pretending to like mass.
    39 : Talking about ****e like Flax and the Corncrake.
    40 : A good blackthorn walkin stick.
    41 : Shouting 'Yeeeeeoooo' when something good happens.
    42 : Muhammad Ali.
    43 : Machinery.
    44 : Strange uppy-downy walks.
    45 : A good f**kin read of Ireland's Own.
    46 : Gelling their 1cm fringe tight to their forehead.
    47 : Scandal, as long as it's about other people.
    48 : Turf, because Sentirl heatin's for weemin.
    49 : Soda farls.
    50 : Sponge 'n Custirt.
    51 : Newmerica', and anything to do with it.
    52 : Givin the dog the wildest baytins.
    53 : Givin the wife the wildest baytins.
    54 : The Ra.
    55 : Winning a leg of lamb in a raffle.
    56 : Wrecking the house whilst steaming.
    57 : Club Orange.
    58 : Rubbing their hands together before tucking into their dinner.
    59 : The Foot & Mouth.
    60 : Aetin' a big feed of spuds.
    61 : TK Red Lemonade.

nipplenuts wrote: »
    Or even "there are 89"

Don't culchies identify themselves to each other by saying "hai" at the end of every sentence?

Only culchies from Louth and some parts of Kerry, hai.

nipplenuts wrote: »
    Or even "there are 89"

no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

When anything other than meat and spuds is "you know, fancy shtuff"

EDIT: apart from coleslaw that it is. Ham and coleslaw is the staple diet of any self-respecting culchie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

You are a culchie if you truely hate the sight, and particularly the smell of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

If you use this thread to find out other culchie things you could be doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Didymus

snyper wrote: »
    You are a culchie if you truely hate the sight, and particularly the smell of Dublin.

Except for when you and your entire culchie family get the train up to Dublin on the 8th December for your annual Christmas shopping

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,008 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 niamhy84

01 : A nice bit of ham.
    02 : Buttered biscuits.
    03 : Diggin' Houles.
    04 : Saying it's too cold to snow
    05 : Pretending to know about The Ra.
    06 : Tayto Cheese & Onion
    07 : Pretending they're in The Ra.
    08 : A stretch in the evenings
    09 : Lucozade
    10 : Accordians
    11 : Pretending to like Holy Week.
    12 : A dinner dance
    13 : Gettin clattered in muck.
    14 : Shania Twain.
    15 : Heifers
    16 : Spittin in their hands before doing anything manual.
    17 : Steel toe caps.
    18 : A big bowl of carrots & parsnips.
    19 : Eating sangwiches out of the boot of a car at GAA
    20 : Saying someone's 'Opened a Book' on something.
    21 : The smell of fresh dung.
    22 : Slice-Your-Own Loaf.
    23 : Work Clothes.
    24 : A bottle of mineral.
    25 : Fightin'.
    26 : Puttin on a ganzee to stop them from bein foundered.
    27 : 'The' Hurling/Fitball.
    28 : Being overweight.
    29 : Weemin wha resemble Heifers.
    30 : Saying "Aaah" after taking their first sup of tae.
    31 : Drink driving.
    32 : Red diesel.
    33 : The Fear of Change.
    34 : A nice bit of barn brack.
    35 : Lying.
    36 : Building walls.
    37 : Being starved with the cold rather than with a lack of food.
    38 : Pretending to like mass.
    39 : Talking about ****e like Flax and the Corncrake.
    40 : A good blackthorn walkin stick.
    41 : Shouting 'Yeeeeeoooo' when something good happens.
    42 : Muhammad Ali.
    43 : Machinery.
    44 : Strange uppy-downy walks.
    45 : A good f**kin read of Ireland's Own.
    46 : Gelling their 1cm fringe tight to their forehead.
    47 : Scandal, as long as it's about other people.
    48 : Turf, because Sentirl heatin's for weemin.
    49 : Soda farls.
    50 : Sponge 'n Custirt.
    51 : Newmerica', and anything to do with it.
    52 : Givin the dog the wildest baytins.
    53 : Givin the wife the wildest baytins.
    54 : The Ra.
    55 : Winning a leg of lamb in a raffle.
    56 : Wrecking the house whilst steaming.
    57 : Club Orange.
    58 : Rubbing their hands together before tucking into their dinner.
    59 : The Foot & Mouth.
    60 : Aetin' a big feed of spuds.
    61 : TK Red Lemonade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Didymus wrote: »
    Except for when you and your entire culchie family get the train up to Dublin on the 8th December for your annual Christmas shopping

And Gah matches in Croker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

You can copy and paste, but not read?:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

yerayeah wrote: »
    When anything other than meat and spuds is "you know, fancy shtuff"

EDIT: apart from coleslaw that it is. Ham and coleslaw is the staple diet of any self-respecting culchie!

If you use the phrase 'yera yeah':D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

all your going out clothes say 'crosshatch'.

you go on holiday to amsterdam and 'gettin' a fade o' pints' is your top priority.

you've a chip on your shoulder because dubs only have to cross the road to buy milk.

you're concerned about whether the daughter's boyfriend is a praying man.

you are aware of and deeply interested in different methods for the milking of various animals.

you deny how shit gaelic football is, even though you're kicking it 50 feet in the air to get a point. out of your hands. ffs.

you are suspicious of people who don't drink alcohol.

you agree with the TD that said drinking makes you a better driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

You are a culchie if you live in the country. No? Too obvious? Yerra, twil be grand sure.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Pygmalion wrote: »

You've had a wireless yoke for thirty years but you'll be shagged if you get d'oul internet on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭moretothegirl

im def a culchie so... proud to be too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

You're a culchie if...

You know every street in Dublin (what is with that? Its like sat nav!)
    You hate hate hate Roma gypsies.
    You drive like a maniac, sober or drunk.
    You think doing doughnuts for hours is great fun.
    You are terrified of Dublin.
    You have a massive horrible celtic tiger house with eight bathrooms and a ride on mower.
    You HAVE to have to keep up with the Jones's and get whatever your neighbour gets (Ride on mower, TDI car)
    You are obsessed with the RED I or a RED TDI!
    You don't feel the cold. Ever.