Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HELP - Problem tenants

• 06-11-2009 8:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 29

Hi
    I got word today that a brothel may be being run from my apartment.
    I have no proof but I was not completely shocked to hear this as I always had doubts about what they are doing. How should I handle this?
    Any advice appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,386 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Are they paying the rent? if they are then maybe you could look at the lease and see where there breaking it. If it's a criminal matter then let the proper authorities look after that.

I've come across this problem before, don't worry it won't last long they'll move along soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,386 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

O, yes and don't forget to put up a security camera outside the property for security ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

from YOUR apartment???

• Registered Users Posts: 29 its_me10

Well i don't live there. They are paying rent on time everymonth into the bank. No problems there. But what should I do? I have no definite proof but thats good enough for me.

Should i approach them and tell them what i know? Or should I try get guards involved.. would it be better to get them out without telling them what i know?

How has anyone else dealt with this? The block is managed and vid cam at reception. not at door of apt.

Thanks for the help. I am sick with worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

where and how much?

Thanks for that John!!

Any helpful advice?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Behave folk.
    Offer relevant, pertinent advice to the OP- or you will be banned from this forum- without warning.

:(

sorry - sometimes i just cant help myself

ok you got 3 options

1. ring old bill - get cc tv evidence and confront them with it
    2. ask for share of profits and some action
    3. get a few of the lads around to kick them out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭dny123456

This might be a silly question... I dont mean it to be... but why would you care? They're paying the rent, are you getting complaints from neighbors?

dny123456 wrote: »
    This might be a silly question... I dont mean it to be... but why would you care? They're paying the rent, are you getting complaints from neighbors?

very good point

• Registered Users Posts: 37,299 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Firstly, don't ask them. If they are a couple of swingers, cool, but if they're criminals shipping human traffic to your apartment to get them f**ked, they may not take too kindly to you coming over and threatening them. Remember: if they're already breaking the law, breaking a few more to ensure you toe the line may not bother them.

If worried about your apartment being used as a brothel, talk to the Gardai about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

Spot on the syco!

ynotdu wrote: »
    Spot on the syco!

rubbish - theres a difference between prostitution and GBH - about 3 or 4 years

bottom line if op doesnt want confrontation then obtain proof - then change the locks when nobody is home

Of course I would care. Firstly its illegal. Secondly its not an activity I would want associated with me or my property. Thirdly, this activity can destroy families and relationships.... but thats another story.

But the problem is I have no actual proof.

The block has about 100 apartments and in a mostly owner occupied quiet residential S Dublin area. Stangers coming and going to the apartment are drawing attention from the neighbours. The security camera is on the reception area only not on the corridors but the neighbours tell me there are different men coming and going at night.

Has anyone actually dealt with this and how did you go about it? Did the management company help? Will involving the gardai delay the whole process? They have a lease.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

its_me10 wrote: »
    I have no definite proof but thats good enough for me.

You have no proof, they are paying the rent, but you want rid of them??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 JackieT

I had some escorts as neighbours earlier on, and in all honesty they were grand. There was a bit of a "yuck" factor at first, but I never heard any noise nor did i have any problems with them or with their clients.

If you're eager to get them out of there,, I guess you can just ring the guards and ask them to investigate. I'm open to correction on this, but if it's just a couple of girls working as independent escorts, they are not actually breaking any laws.

I'd defo replace the mattresses when they move out though.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,299 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

john47832 wrote: »
    bottom line if op doesnt want confrontation then obtain proof - then change the locks when nobody is home
    And sued €15,000+ for illegal eviction. Great idea. NOT.

the_syco wrote: »
    And sued €15,000+ for illegal eviction. Great idea. NOT.

you seemed to miss the "obtain proof" part

• Registered Users Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

See if you can find the girls online on one of the irish escort sites and if you can inform gardai , make an appointment yourself and if they tell you come to the address your renting to them then you have them . Simple as :)

See if you can find the girls online on one of the irish escort sites and if you can inform gardai , make an appointment yourself and if they tell you come to your address then you have them . Simple as :)

very good brains - except you missed one little important detail - if he gets them to go to his home then thats not proof they are doing it in the rented accomodation

• Registered Users Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

very good brains - except you missed one little important detail - if he gets them to go to his home then thats not proof they are doing it in the rented accomodation
    Sorry i phrased that wrong apologies , i want the op to find them on a escort site and if they are escorts they probably offer a location for the deed to take place ( the ops place hes renting ) so he asks them for details of where .

• Registered Users Posts: 586 ✭✭✭shane b

Hi
    Had a similiar problem last year with a house I rented out. went to the guards and was told that they could do very little, unless girls working were not EU citzens with no passports so then the guards could hold them that was it. Three different guards asked me if I knew my rights as a landlord and told me that I could be in trouble if I tried to barge in without giving the tenants notice!! Left very frustrated
    In the end rang the girl I rented the house to and said i wanted them out and they were gone within an hour. during the conversation she just said she had alot of male friends and needed time to get her "stuff" together.
    If you go to the guards I hope you have better luck than I had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 moonlightreader

Is using the apartment as a business premises banned by the managment company house rules or the lease you had the tenant sign. I presume you could leaglly evict them for having "business meetings" there, if it's against the rules.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Is using the apartment as a business premises banned by the managment company house rules or the lease you had the tenant sign. I presume you could leaglly evict them for having "business meetings" there, if it's against the rules.

Its a breach of the lease- and would still entail following an eviction process.

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭chillin_penguin

If there paying rent and other then strange men coming and going in the middle of the night being the only complaint, what is the problem??

I can understand your concern but at the end of the day its not any of your business what goes on in there. just because some neighbour noticed it so what for all you know it could be some friends comming to hang out i mean who goes to the pub any more?

I think you should forget what you heard you have no proof what's so ever so its all just rumor. and if what is going on in there is what you think, do you really think that they will stop because you said so?

If your really unhappy give them there notice and wait till then. And who knows you may get a set of drug dealers who leave needles everywhere next time and dont pay the rent!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

His post wasn't so difficult to understand.

My brother-in-law had the same problem a couple of years ago but he was lucky because the tenant was always behind on her rent and that was the reason he evicted her in the end. She left without taking her stuff and he cleared all the stuff out, whips and other toys, and chucked them all in the bin.

BTW, don't listen to john47832's advice. Don't be rash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭dny123456

Of course I would care. Firstly its illegal.
    May or may not be. In any event not your position to decide, that's what we have the gardai for.
    Secondly its not an activity I would want associated with me or my property.
    You are renting it out. As long as they are paying the rent it's their apartment, not yours. Its none of your business what someone gets up to in their apartment
    Thirdly, this activity can destroy families and relationships.... but thats another story.
    A tad judgmental. There's an awful lot worse going on in this world that you could get exercised about.
    But the problem is I have no actual proof.
    I think you'd be better off not looking for proof. Just leave them alone, they have enough problems on their plate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

Stangers coming and going to the apartment

They could just be sluts?

Like said above you have no proof except what the neighbours THINK.People always think the worse of other people.

You should dress up as a plant and sit in the corridor and see if anyone is coming or going to the apartment.If its in half hour slots its defo a knocking shop.Increase the rent

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

er... you know you are within your rights to drop by every now and then to checkout the whole apartment once you give them at least 7 days notification beforehand.... (just don't look through personal stuff....)

sure they'd probably have a quick tidy up... but if anything seems odd... you'll need to see for yourself first....

- Drav!

Thanks everyone for the feedback.

I made unofficial enquiries with the Gardai. They would need to do a stakeout. And then go to court to get a warrant to enter the apartment. They were not able to offer any advice on how I should approach the situation.

The lease says that it can be terminated with one month's notice on either side. So maybe that is the route I should take.

I hear what people are saying about why should I be worried or care and that rumours from neighbours are just that. rumours. But I am really uncomfortable with the possibility of this going on there.

I'd be really interested to hear from anyone who had the conversation with tenants about what might be going on there? Did people just come straight out with it and ask them to leave?