Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland vs. France WC Playoff Sat/Wed 14/18 November **K/Os 8 PM/9 PM**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭McGrath5

It's imperative that we do not concede a goal on saturday, but I have a feeling this game will end up 1-1. Hope to god I'm wrong. Jesus I'm getting nervous already!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭PCros

This is going to be all about counter attack for us. McGeady to get his first international goal? We'll see....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭TheGreenGiant

Yep, every player and the manager for Ireland needs to put everything into the two legs if we are to get through this! I'm not confident at all with our midfield but we will see what happens. I just hope Trap has a good game plan and that the players give everything for the cause which they always do :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,270 ✭✭✭✭briany

givyjoe81 wrote: »
    I disagree with this notion that if we dont concede we'll ge 'grand', not that you said it, just a general feeling i hear from people. That simply isnt the case, we could get a scoreless draw or even win one nil and still easily get absolutely tonked in Paris. An early goal for the French and I think we will crumble over there. Cant help but fear a situation like Scotland, Netherlands a couple of years ago. Remember the scots won the first leg 1-0 and lost the second by six or seven, we're not that bad but its in the realms of possibility (to get badly beaten that is), McShane could still a part!

I don't see the Irish side ever getting tonked as you say, not by France anyway. I don't think that we'd be grand but I do think that not conceding at home would put the pressure on France and would give Ireland the least to do of both the sides because a scoring draw away in that situation would of course put us through and I definately see that as a possibilty. However if France score a goal against Ireland in Croke park, that plan is out the window.

Got my tickets today :)

Come on Ireland!

PCros wrote: »
    This is going to be all about counter attack for us. McGeady to get his first international goal? We'll see....

Hmmmm, some Scottish fans already see him as a turncoat so a winner from him could potentially send them spiralling into a bitterness meltdown.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

Taken from the 'Unbelieveable!' thread, i think this is going be a fairer reflection of the Paris game, following 0-0 in croke park.

France 5 - Ireland 5:
    Evra 2" - Duff 6"
    Henry 22" "36 - Whelan 40"
    Benzema 61" - Dunne 72" 78"
    L.Diarra 68" - O'Shea 90+2"

O'Shea with a goosebumpingly good run from 30 yards, past 4 men and slotting between the keepers legs, to bury his ghosts from stade de france last time around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭PCros

briany wrote: »
    Hmmmm, some Scottish fans already see him as a turncoat so a winner from him could potentially send them spiralling into a bitterness meltdown.

Well he wanted to play for Scotland but they had stupid rules in place that wouldn't let him play so feck them.

It was some rather silly technicality alright as I recall. Oh well here's hoping he does come good in the playoffs anyway, need all cylinders firing. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Lets all shut up about club football, take a break and support Ireland!!

Hear hear!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,519 ✭✭✭✭noodler

PCros wrote: »
    Well he wanted to play for Scotland but they had stupid rules in place that wouldn't let him play so feck them.

Really? Its well known he supported Ireland as a kid.

Did he change his mind? (again)

noodler wrote: »
    Really? Its well known he supported Ireland as a kid.

Did he change his mind? (again)

Well I think there was some klibflammery going on there. Here's what Wikipedia has to say:
    McGeady played for Scotland Schools while at Queen's Park. He played in an under-13 World Cup tournament in Paris.[3] After Queen's Park he joined Celtic, who had a policy of not permitting their youths to play for their school teams (Scotland had a rule which would not permit a player who did not play for their school team to be considered for a call-up to Scotland Schools selects.[4]) The Republic of Ireland, who had no such rule, instructed Packie Bonner, who knew of McGeady's Irish heritage, to invite McGeady to play for the Republic of Ireland Under-15 Schoolboys team.[5][6] McGeady was then named in a Scotland under-16 squad, but the player declined to represent the Scots citing his experience of the Irish set up, despite attempts to persuade him to do so by Scotland head coach Berti Vogts.[5][3] McGeady made his full début for the Republic of Ireland in June 2004 against Jamaica.[7]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

The FAI should get Andy Reid to bang out a few rebel songs on the guitar as part of the half time show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

The FAI should get Andy Reid to bang out a few rebel songs on the guitar as part of the half time show.

Ha ha!! Love it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jArgHA

Taken from the 'Unbelieveable!' thread, i think this is going be a fairer reflection of the Paris game, following 0-0 in croke park.

France 5 - Ireland 5:
    Evra 2" - Duff 6"
    Henry 22" "36 - Whelan 40"
    Benzema 61" - Dunne 72" 78"
    L.Diarra 68" - O'Shea 90+2"

O'Shea with a goosebumpingly good run from 30 yards, past 4 men and slotting between the keepers legs, to bury his ghosts from stade de france last time around!

10 goals inside the first 92 seconds :eek:

It's weird, as the game approaches, you dream about it more and more. Last night it was 1-1 at home. Disaster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

It's weird, as the game approaches, you dream about it more and more. Last night it was 1-1 at home. Disaster!

I'd take it.

Well it would be better than getting beat but my god, bad omen. Remember the last two failed playoffs? In both of them, the first part of the undoing was a soft goal conceded at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭blackbetty69

ha brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

It would be brilliant if we managed to get a result Saturday. A 2-0 first leg win is fantasy land.

Deedsie wrote: »
    It would be brilliant if we managed to get a result Saturday. A 2-0 first leg win is fantasy land.

Well I cannot help but feel that's where a result like that will stay but I would love love love to be proven wrong!

2-0 alright.

Ian Harte peno and Robbie Keane strike.

2-0 alright.

Ian Harte peno and Robbie Keane strike.

Poor Ian, never quite the same after Spain at the WC. He's playing in league 1 now??

I still think he can pull it off!

Is he to go to guy for all of Carlisle United's penalty and score-able free kick taking needs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

So who is going the game ? I'll be there with the old man.

redout wrote: »
    So who is going the game ? I'll be there with the old man.

FAI are saying they have no record of the Montenagro ticket stubs I sent them. So I won't be going now. Mates are pretty pissed, I sent them all off together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

FAI are saying they have no record of the Montenagro ticket stubs I sent them. So I won't be going now. Mates are pretty pissed, I sent them all off together.

Thats bad form man. The FAI are a useless shower of twats. I know a guy on block booking didnt get his France tickets yet. FAI said sent last week but nothing. He reckons the post man stole them and the FAI will not re-send them! FAI attach a note to all block bookers saying if you dont receive they wont re-send! wtf is up with that ?

redout wrote: »
    Thats bad form man. The FAI are a useless shower of twats. I know a guy on block booking didnt get his France tickets yet. FAI said sent last week but nothing. He reckons the post man stole them and the FAI will not re-send them! FAI attach a note to all block bookers saying if you dont receive they wont re-send! wtf is up with that ?

Obviously I feel worse for the block bookers but it was a major incentive for me to go to the dead rubber Montenagro game (worst international ever btw).

The mates trust me to write an address on an envelope properly and all but the only possible explanation is that I sent them too early (the day after the game) although thats really reaching. Deadline was last Wednesday so if I was going to get an invoice I would have got it by then apparently.

I imagine they just couldn't accommodate everyone who went to that game and this is the excuse they are using.

There's a good interview over on soccer republic right now with Dave Fanning talking about his memories of the World Cup including seeing the 1990 match against Italy in Italy while sitting beside U2 of all people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

Is Duffer going to play? Its hard to see where the attacking flair is going to come from without him. Ive lost all faith in McGeady / Hunt to open up a defence, especially the French one. McGeady has to be one of the most frustrating players ive ever watched.

He played for Fulham so yes.

There is no way Trap would not start his best winger and the player most comfortable on the ball.

Yes Duff is in the squad and he most probably will be lining out. I've been skeptical of his talents recently but heres hoping he pull out some old time Duff magic! I read an interview with Evra saying he reckons France will be plunged into "Green hell" on saturday. Love that phrase. Maybe the misfits got there first but let's get on board with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

If he's fit, Duff will start ahead of McGeady. McGeady will win you free-kicks, but he'll also give the ball away too much, and that's dangerous against a team like France.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

If he's fit, Duff will start ahead of McGeady. McGeady will win you free-kicks, but he'll also give the ball away too much, and that's dangerous against a team like France.

I think the big question is who will start on the other wing ?
    McGeady/Hunt/Lawrence
    I have a sneaky feeling that Trap may well start Lawrence there for his dead ball delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I'd agree. A set piece is our best chance of a goal, and Lawrence's delivery has been pretty good.

Do you reckon they'll try a sneaky free kick again like what caught Italy off guard?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Do you reckon they'll try a sneaky free kick again like what caught Italy off guard?

With Abidal (normally plays left back) and Gallas (not the biggest) at CB for France our best chance of a goal is a set piece. So I would think you will see the ball floated into the box at every opportunity. That Whelan goal was a rare one not sure if we will see that kind of goal for Ireland again for a while(i'd love to be wrong).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

you never know we might actually string a few passes together and score from play for once, surely we're due a good goal? Hopefully Aiden can step up and get some crosses in or have a few good shots at goal. I am worried sick obviously, and if we pull off a feasible result on Saturday, I'd imagine this French team are well capable of stepping up a notch and giving us a hiding. Look how they done in 2006, but then again they did have Zidane playing in the form of his life. I just hope it's a deafening cauldron atmosphere. And ffs PLEASE stop with the "ole ole ole" after goals are scored Mr Sound-man, it's just embarrassing.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    you never know we might actually string a few passes together and score from play for once, surely we're due a good goal? Hopefully Aiden can step up and get some crosses in or have a few good shots at goal. I am worried sick obviously, and if we pull off a feasible result on Saturday, I'd imagine this French team are well capable of stepping up a notch and giving us a hiding. Look how they done in 2006, but then again they did have Zidane playing in the form of his life. I just hope it's a deafening cauldron atmosphere. And ffs PLEASE stop with the "ole ole ole" after goals are scored Mr Sound-man, it's just embarrassing.

Very true that it is cheesy as but no-ones gonna be protesting it if Ireland knock in a winner 1 minute from the end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Lets remember that not so long ago a Scotland team with players that are not better than Irelands beat France twice in qualifying, so anything is possible :)

.....And still they did not qualify!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

.....And still they did not qualify!:eek:

Because they could not beat Georgia away, Ukraine away and Italy home and away. Ireland at least have not lost so far in the qualifying campaign

Yeah pity for them. Here's a reason why Ireland didn't qualify for WC 2006 or at least didn't have a better chance anyway:

Yes Duff is in the squad and he most probably will be lining out. I've been skeptical of his talents recently but heres hoping he pull out some old time Duff magic!

If he keeps supplying Keane for headers, keeping hold of the ball they way (only) he did in Bulgaria and generally continues to use the ball better than the rest of the team then I will continue to be happy with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I got an unreal shock, I just won tickets to see the match

lol unreal stuff

Congrats.

I don't mean it really, incredibly bitter at the FAI right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭TheGreenGiant

Yeah, I think there are a bunch of imbeciles to be honest. Sure the state of the Irish League shows that compared to the mighty job the IRFU have done for the game in Ireland in the last 10 years! They would want to get their act together and the more people that cause a fuss, the better!

I guess Duff on one wing and Lawrence on the other could be the way Trapattoni goes. A dead ball specialist on one side and someone who can pick out a cross on the other might be the way to go no?