Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Feelings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

They usually just overlook them tbh, so it can't be that... Maybe its the guns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭the_cat_is_back

No! I feel like a criminal everytime i see a guard. Especially in my car. I just assume i'm bad and highly suspect lookin.

Same here. Get the same sort of feeling when in the queue for niteclubs approaching the bouncers. Think it stems from trying to get in with a fake ID when I was 16. I was bricking it and still get the same feeling to this day :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

You're sending a text message to one of your mates bitching about someone...

I always get paranoid after I've sent a text of that sort, or a revealing text (saying something personal etc) ... For some reason, I panic and convince myself I've sent it to one of my parents ... and have to check my sent items, just to make sure I haven't!
    :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

The sinking feeling when the bar closes and you forgot to go up for last orders :(

I remember deletin my parents number for fear of invitin them over for a joint or a ride!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

That feeling when youre convinced someone is pissed off with you and even though its not confirmed they are, youre going through everything you think you could have possibly done to cause it

edit:yes i am doing this right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭spylon

jackncoke wrote: »
    Same happens me at airport security for sum reason.

Bought a bag of herbal tea at a market in Italy once - Jasmine, I think. Waiting around at the airport I suddenly wondered if the security guard looking at the x-ray images might mistake the tea for drugs since it was in a plastic bag. Then I got all worked up and began to convince myself that I may have made a mistake and that what I thought was tea might actually be drugs. Got completely freaked, rifled through my bag, and quickly disposed of the tea before going through customs. Felt like an awful eejit afterwards, as I do now for even relating the episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

I always get paranoid after I've sent a text of that sort, or a revealing text (saying something personal etc) ... For some reason, I panic and convince myself I've sent it to one of my parents ... and have to check my sent items, just to make sure I haven't!

I have neither of my folks numbers in my phone for this reason.... unfortunately a particular ex of mine had also had her number deleted by me.....

go a little drunk one night thought the ex had text me.... it wasn't her number and i didn't realise untill about 5 texts later...

I remember deletin my parents number for fear of invitin them over for a joint or a ride!

I lol'd :D

Oh, the feeling of eating something from the fridge, then looking at the packet and discovering it's out of date...

Worse still, the feelin of happily munching away on toast, then looking down only to discover mould.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

the feeling of knowing im gona be tired and look like a zombie in college tomorrow cause i cant see to sign off boards :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭deisedude

The feeling that you have lost your phone even though you are talking to someone on your phone at the time

It's happened to me a couple of times. Last year my gf (ex now) had no credit left so she was texting me off a funny number but said to reply to her mobile. That was grand but then i was out on the beer with the lads that nite and was textin her here and there. Long story short i sent a text of a sexual nature to her at 3am. Not to her number but the other number she had been texting me from, which was now back in the hands of HER MUM :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

deisedude wrote: »
    The feeling that you have lost your phone even though you are talking to someone on your phone at the time

Rag Week last year outside the old bar telling the person on the phone i'd ring them back in a few minutes because i thought i'd left my phone upstairs!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Stagger Lee

spylon wrote: »
    Or when you isolate a word or object from all of its usual surroundings, context, and functionality, repeat it over and over in your head, and it quickly become incredibly strange, absurd, bordering on the frightening even.

Brilliant! I didn't know anyone else did that! Makes any word sound absurd when you just repeat it.

Ok, that light, blissful feeling you get after a very satisfying dump.:p

I call it poophoria :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭deisedude

Rag Week last year outside the old bar telling the person on the phone i'd ring them back in a few minutes because i thought i'd left my phone upstairs!!!!

Thats excusable because i presume you were inebriated at the time, i do it the whole time when i'm sober

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

That feeling when you're reversing into a parking space and just as you're slowing or have just stopped the car beside you starts moving making you feel like you're moving or moving faster than you are. Total freak out.
    Same feeling on a stationary train when if you're staring out at the train opposite you think for a second that you're moving but you dont actually feel any motion then realise it's the other train thats moving.
    Total sensory arse about facer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Overheal wrote: »
    That annoying dream you have about getting up and getting all set up for work - shower shave brushing breakfast - then the alarm goes off, and youre still in bed.

I've dreamt entire days only to realise they haven't happened yet.
    The only thing that's worse is when entire days disappear; If you work night shift it sometimes happens on your days off when you try to turn back around to days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

kowloon wrote: »
    I've dreamt entire days only to realise they haven't happened yet.
    The only thing that's worse is when entire days disappear; If you work night shift it sometimes happens on your days off when you try to turn back around to days.

Im not looking forward to it as usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

That split second yes/no decision impulse where you either assault someone verbally, or physically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

When your boss (old one thank god) who you hate with a passion suddenly calls you into the office to explain they wont be in for a few days next week, possibly the entire week and is there anything 'they should know about before they go?'

Trying to dance inside without showing emotion AND thinking of anything important you should say before they go is a hard one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

that wierd feeling in your "piddler" when you stick an earbud too far into your bellybutton.
    anyone?

So did anyone else stick there finger in there belly button after reading this?

No Just me! I'll get my coat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

That feeling of elation you get in the morning of a Blue Sky Summer day when is all quite and you Know its going to be a scorcher mmm smell of cut grass.

Or the feeling on a Cold crisp Dry winters day feels like excitement mixed with regret makes no sense...

Oh just though of another one!

The feeling you get when starting a new A4 pad or hardcover copy book, that from now on you will have the best Hand writing possible and will be neat and tidy. Last about two pages but you feel like a new person for a while...

When you're going on holidays, sitting on the plane / bus / train / in the car etc...
    And it suddenly dawns on you that you might have left the back door unlocked.

Or when you give directions to someone, and then it turns out you're walking in the same direction as them you wonder: should we continue talking? What is the precise nature of this new relationship, and is it desirable or even practical that it should transgress its original, restricted boundaries?

When you're going on holidays, sitting on the plane / bus / train / in the car etc...
    And it suddenly dawns on you that you might have left the back door unlocked.

Or left your kid at home:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4DgbUBoxa48

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭PaulByrne'sBald

A psychotic one,

When you take a mental step back from any situation and think what is the most socially unacceptable thing i could do right now whether its walking down a street and imagining what would be the outcome if i just picked up that baby from the pram and ran, sitting at dinner and punching the person next to me or screaming obscenities at your interviewer... Anything goes really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Fcukface

That feeling you get when you are on a bus or train or tram and hear a mobil phone ringing and think "thats the same ring tone as my phone" and then suddenly realise "sh1t, it is my phone" and franticly search through your pockets trying to get your phone before you miss the call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Burkey0 wrote: »

The nervous and tense feeling when you've got your phone's PIN wrong twice and you're really being precise about your third attempt

I'm on attempt 3 right now its bloody annoying! Havent had to use my pin in ages and now I forget it.Boo-bloody-urns.

A psychotic one,

When you take a mental step back from any situation and think what is the most socially unacceptable thing i could do right now whether its walking down a street and imagining what would be the outcome if i just picked up that baby from the pram and ran, sitting at dinner and punching the person next to me or screaming obscenities at your interviewer... Anything goes really...

Kinda like walking over a bridge, or past an open window in a tall building, the sudden feeling that you could just throw out your bag/wallet/passport, and thereby completely f*ck your entire day; then the terrible fear that some kind of involuntary physical spasm might make this dark fantasy a reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Trekker09

The feeling that your boss is walking up your drive any minute just because you've taken a duvet day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

The feeling you get when, in your dream you're having a wee, and you wake up convinced that you've pissed the bed, only to realize that, luckily, you've woken up just in time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

That terrible split-second when you know you are going to laugh at something you shouldn't.

For example, when you see your partner's mate (who is quite large) flop down on a garden chair which promptly collapses. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

When in college and you have just finished all of your finals and you are pissing about the next day - I would have these moments of crushing guilt that I wasnt studying immediately followed by moments of euphoria when I realised I was finished all exams.

The horrible feeling when you realise a child has been temporarily misplaced (aka lost) and I am sorry to say this has happened to me on several occassions, including one day myself, older child (aged 8) and OH left for work/school and realised we had left our 5 month old in the house (in his car seat).

That horrible feeling when halfway to the train station and become convinced you left the hair straightener on.

Nearly send a text destined for the OH (I love you etc mushy crap) to my ex-boss and believe me she would not have appreciated it.

A few years ago was having a bit of a fling with a work colleague and another work friend became suspicious - sent him an email saying 'totally put her off the scent, she doesnt know anything is going on' blah blah and of course sent it to her, not him.

After reading all that back I dont know how I was ever let live independently as an adult :D

Watching a soap, lets say Neighbours, you step back momentarily from the situation and think: Wait a minute. I'm sitting here on my couch, inside a building attached to the side of a large, spherical rock which is revolving at speed around an even larger ball of burning gases; meanwhile, on the other side of this rock, there are people pretending to be other people, and the images of this farce are then being transmitted to this side of the rock and are now appearing on the screen in front of me. What the f*ck is going on?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

the feeling when you check your banking365 on a monday and when your jaw drops after much you wasted on booze over the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

The feeling when you are almost awake in the morning and you can scroll boards with your eyelids closed and actually see it.
    Those of us with less than 37 posts per day don't have the blue lines scorched into our retinas. Should have gone to specscreen savers:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

The feeling just after when your trying to say thanks or cheers to someone and end up sayin chanks or teers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭The Maverick

The feeling you get when you can't find your glasses and then spend ages looking in every possible place they might be, only to realise you were wearing them the whole time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

When you wake up the morning after being in the pub, feeling fine, thinking that you didn't drink that much, only to look in your wallet and wonder where your money's gone.
    Then the feeling you get when you realise that the reason you're not hungover is that you're still a bit tipsy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

When you're leaning back in a chair, or indeed leaning forward, and you snap back, the feeling of airheadedness (I made a new word *delighted*)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

That feeling you get when somebody really p*sses you off so you intentionally say the most bitterly scathing remark to them that you know will sting like hell.
    I almost always wish I could shove the words back in my mouth immediately after spitting them out..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The feeling you get as you give a little shiver after the first pee of the night when you're out drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    The feeling you get as you give a little shiver after the first pee of the night when you're out drinking.

It's called Breaking The Seal.

stovelid wrote: »
    It's called Breaking The Seal.

No that's the act of peeing for the first time of the night. I want a name for the accompanying shiver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭engrish?

The bad feeling like you have done something bad but you havent. Its the same feeling you get when you were about to tell your parents that you got detention or they have been called in to speak to the teachers.

I get that feeling every Sunday Night. I hate the fear.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

No that's the act of peeing for the first time of the night. I want a name for the accompanying shiver.
    The breaking the seal shiver?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yeah, girls get it too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Waking up and momentarily thinking it's 10:30 on Monday morning and you're late for work...when it's Saturday.

The breaking the seal shiver?

Weak. I demand originality.

Do my bidding minions! Think of things for me!