Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAME OF THRONES [Book and TV Discussion (US Pace)]

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I wonder will they change some of the character emphasis somewhat for the show?

In the books for example (contains big spoilers from the books):
    there were no Robb chapters, so him being killed wasn't THAT big of a surprise to me, not in the same way it would have been if Arya was killed, for example, although it was a big twist obviously. I don't think Eddard had his own POV chapters in book one either, did he? It's been a few years since I last read it though. Mostly Eddard and Robb were featured as characters in other people's POV chapters, which I fonud interesting that he divided the characters that way somewhat, and in later books decided to give some people chapters who never previously had a POV chapter.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

O-Deazy wrote: »
    Does anyone know when this will air on Sky Atlantic? I've tried looking it up but I just keep finding different dates..

It was posted earlier in the thread. And it ain't that difficult to find out elsewhere. ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Also, for those of you (like me) who don't have the time or the inclination to sit through that flash nightmare that is the HBO Maester's Path puzzle... here's the third 'reward' video...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

5starpool wrote: »
    there were no Robb chapters, so him being killed wasn't THAT big of a surprise to me, not in the same way it would have been if Arya was killed, for example, although it was a big twist obviously. I don't think Eddard had his own POV chapters in book one either, did he? It's been a few years since I last read it though. Mostly Eddard and Robb were featured as characters in other people's POV chapters, which I fonud interesting that he divided the characters that way somewhat, and in later books decided to give some people chapters who never previously had a POV chapter.
    Yeah Eddard had his own POV chapters alright, though not as much as, say, Tyrion as Ed is only in Book 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Lyanna

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Templar1117

Concur Paddy but the the proof will be in the eating, it airs on Sky Atlantic I beleive in April.

Well lads and lassies,wat think you of the cast.
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0944947/

Sean Bean as Edward Stark ,i actually think he is a good choice for this role.

Peter Dinklage as Tyrion ,meets the height requirement,don't know about his acting ,even though i seen a couple of films he was in ,he was'nt memorable for me.
    As one of my favorite characters in the story,this will be an actors dreams to play.Hope peter does'nt let us down.

Kit Harington as Jon Snow Have'nt seen him in anything so hes an unknown for me.

Anyone else got any opinions on the overall cast?

*Moderators the reason this is posted in literature,is because i am looking for the opinion of boardies that have read the book.
    let's hope if Game of Thrones is successful they move onto some David Gemmill adaptations, surely the Troy trilogy would be perfect

Well lads and lassies,wat think you of the cast.
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0944947/

Sean Bean as Edward Stark ,i actually think he is a good choice for this role.

Peter Dinklage as Tyrion ,meets the height requirement,don't know about his acting ,even though i seen a couple of films he was in ,he was'nt memorable for me.
    As one of my favorite characters in the story,this will be an actors dreams to play.Hope peter does'nt let us down.

Kit Harington as Jon Snow Have'nt seen him in anything so hes an unknown for me.

Anyone else got any opinions on the overall cast?

*Moderators the reason this is posted in literature,is because i am looking for the opinion of boardies that have read the book.
    Hi Paddy, just thinking the Bernard King trilogy would make for some fantastic tv

Did'nt take as long as the book took to write...thank god!...lol.

Looking at some of the photos, Mr Martin seems to be enjoying himself............lucky Fecker!.

Now we have to wait till editing is finished and it's broadcast.
    13 episodes to look foreward to.

http://grrm.livejournal.com/
    I see the Hobbit has finally started filming thank God..

Just started 'the lost symbol', surely another movie must...

Is there any info on any more Philip Pullman adaptations?

Hi Paddy, just thinking the Bernard King trilogy would make for some fantastic tv
    trailer at least looks mighty impressive

let's hope if Game of Thrones is successful they move onto some David Gemmill adaptations, surely the Troy trilogy would be perfect
    John Shannow books would be interesting and easily doable...

some Tim Powers movies or tv would be most welcome

On stranger tides?

anubis?

anubis?
    cant wait for cowboys & aliens

Legend would be a great place to start for David Gemmill

anything with Druss I suppose

Robert McCammon surely

What do you think Paddy

what say you to 'season of the witch', how was it for you?

surely Robert E Howard deserves better movie treatment

the new Conan looks promising

what did people think of Solomon Kane?

I loved it and hope they make more...

there are plenty of great Kane stories to adapt for tv or movies

Surely a Conan the Barbarian seris would be welcomed

summer looks good for superhero movies at least

Capt america & Thor are the ones Im really looking forward to...