Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

God help us, it's on Joe Duffy now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

I'm listening to the podcast now.

That woman annoys me. She's talks about the violence, the addiction, the cost of it.

And that idiot of a 30 something year old gamer!

They are all amateur psyschologists, neurons indeed!

EDIT: At least that media student is fighting the good fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Going to listen to it soon, may drop him an email for the lulz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Got it last night lads and played the airport mission, good god all the hype is ridiculas it wasn't that bad really, it's fairly short and is no worst than what I have played in GTA or COD and certainly no worse than films such as Saw , torture porn genres, horrors, war movies. I went through the level shooting everything in site because that was the mission and IT'S JUST A GAME.

Parents just love to take the moral highground on these things and make far too big a deal yet they are the ones letting their kids buy an 18+ game which clearly involves a large ammount of violence and complain about one level, these are also the parents who will let them watch anything they like on TV and any films and be the first ones to blame that on their behaviour.

Maybe try sitting down with them if you are going to let them play it and play it with them, try enjoy it, let them know that it's just a bit of fun and not meant to be taken so seriously. These people need to cop on,

In saying that, the game is savage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Right I've calmed down a bit! :D

My stance with this game and all 18's games is that they shouldn't get into the hands of minors, end of story. That's something I think nearly all of us would agree with.

If I was a father I wouldn't want my 10 year old playing Modern Warfare 2, along with watching porn and violent films, drinking alochol and taking drugs.

It just fcuking annoys me that these hysterical people such as those on Joe don't realise that Modern Warfare 2 is an adult game for an adult audience.

In fairness to them, I think when they think about games, they think of the games of the 80's that were predominatly (sic) aimed towards kids. They don't seem to realise that the kids of the 80's are now the adults of today and the game industry is now catering for their adult tastes as well as still making games for the kids of the 00's.

What's so hard to understand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Christ, I want to shoot myself listening to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,276 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

If a mam wants to stop her 15 or younger son from playing this, GTA or whatever thats probably fair enough, I wouldnt be inforcing such rules, but its understandable.

The main waggon stops her 19 year old son from playing! If at 19 my Mam told me I couldnt watch/play something I would literally have laughed at her!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    Christ, I want to shoot myself listening to this.

Yeah its pretty pathetic listening to people who obviously havent got a clue,Joe Duffy wrecks my head which doesnt help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭C14N

I am thinking the exact same thing

+1. I had almost no interest before the controversy but now I want to see what all the fuss is about. I can't imagine it being much worse than Fallout 3...

I know I'm 16 (i.e. too young to legally play the game) and therefore my opinion doesn't count for diddly squat but I still like seeing games getting some controversy. It gives the game itself some marketing (although Modern Warfare 2 hardly needed that) and hopefully educates parents a bit better on what their kids should be allowed play. It's one thing for some of my friends (who are 16 too) to be playing but I just don't think it's right when 10 year olds are playing online on these things.

Edit: Is there anywhere I can find this show online?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭TheGreatOne

The first caller, as a gamer, missed the point completely. You didn't have to shoot anyone in the airport and the entire level was put in for reasons more than just playing through it to progress in the game.

One word for Pauline - Moron

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭TheGreatOne

C14N wrote: »
    Edit: Is there anywhere I can find this show online?

Check the link at the top of the page mate. Post 81

Thanks. It was actually the previous page for me, must have different settings.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Joes actually not talking about this game.

He's talking about 'Modrin Warfare 2'.

Listening to it now and it's yer one Niamh talking. FFS, if she's letting a twelve year old play GTA then she's the fault. Does she also let her kids watch Saw and maybe some softcore porn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

to be honest, it is over 18s and its as real as most war out there, i dont see how people have a problem with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

mathie wrote: »
    Joes actually not talking about this game.

He's talking about 'Modrin Warfare 2'.

Lol'd.

but yeah, basically it's the parenting, i don't think any 18 year old who went out and bought the game had a problem with it...

if parents were good parents, they're is no problem.

lol'd at the dude that was saying to stop importing them aswell... what an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Hmm, will it be on again today? Or does Jow have a policy about not discussing the same topic 2 days in a row?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭padair

Overature wrote: »
    to be honest, it is over 18s and its as real as most war out there, i dont see how people have a problem with it.

Blaming a little game... Shocking.. Next they will be blaming South Park and Canadians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭jsemple

It all comes down to parental responsibility. If you let your 13 year old kid play 18 rated games for hours and hours a day you are a terrible parent. All these stories about parents using ignorance 'one day I walked in and little johnny was stabbing a prostitute', if you let your kid have internet access in their room behind a closed door they could be seeing much worse. It's not the developers or the age certification board at fault, it's a lack of engagement from parents. Who knew that maybe one day the good ol' TV that you used to babysit your neglected child would turn from Tom and Jerry kids to Grand Theft Auto 4.

I'm sure many parents would rather have their children reading than playing videos games but I can't think of a more solitary activity than reading books and surely leaving your child unsupervised reading books 8 hours a day can't be healthy either. Plus what about the content of the book, similar to video games some are far worse than others and you can't just assume they are reading harry potter behind closed doors all day. This is all a issue with parents participation in kid's activities.

I play these games myself and have no qualms with them but when I have a child I would never use it as a replacement for attention and I would never use ignorance as an excuse when my child is experiencing content meant for adults in a *gasp* 18 rated game.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,538 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Just listening to it now,
    As long as the store looks for ID for people under 18 then thats fine.

If however a parent complains about their child playing it then its the parents fault.....nobody else, they have failed as a parent

I love the "up in cyberspace" quote, the women who doesn't have tv's in her house....her kids will rebel like crazy when they are older I've seen this happen to kids and its not pretty. To the point they no longer talk to the parents.

Cabaal wrote: »
    Just listening to it now,
    As long as the store looks for ID for people under 18 then thats fine.

Except that won't be the end of it. The system is better than just selling adult games to kids but the simple fact is that many parents will gladly go ahead and buy it anyway. It's not like smoking where it's against the law for the parent to give it to their son/daughter (and for good reason really since there isn't much of a problem with a 17 year old playing Resistance or whatever). I have had to bring my dad in to buy a Fallout expansion pack but the guy behind the counter didn't have too much of a problem and it's not the end of the world. Almost everyone will see/hear/play stuff that's one or two years ahead of them in certificate. What annoys me is when (and I've seen the happen several times) you'll get some mother who'll come in, buy her 9 year old son a PS3 with Grand Theft Auto 4, be warned by the guy behind the counter that it contains strong mature content and then turn to said son and say "Are you sure you're supposed to be playing this?". And it's not the sales guys fault either, he can't refuse to sell it and he can't go around telling people how to raise their kids. And then said mother likes to yammer on the radio about how awful videogames are because her son is beating up civilians with a baseball bat.

Also on the show was a woman who insisted that her son isn't a violent person, yet he smashed a locked box to go back to playing a videogame, forced her out of the room when he was told to stop (he was a teenager btw) and likes to watch sadistic violent movies over and over. Sorry lady, your son is a violent person and either you are a bad parent or he's an ass because he obviously holds you in great contempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭James Howlett

When it comes to parents its always the same.

When you are younger and watching a film your Parnts always walk in when theres a sex scene. They could have picked any other segment of the 120minute film but its always that 5minutes.

The same with video games.

I used to like driving around Vice City listening to the radio while doing the taxi/ pizza delivery missions. However after an hour of "labour" to save to be able to buy myself a better gun or a piece of virtual in-game real estate, Parents only ever see me killing someone with a knife. Forget about the 60minutes spent driving around trying to save up to buy a gun so I wouldn't have to resort to using a ****ty knife, all they see is hack/ slash... more bloody violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭James Howlett

Also on the show was a woman who insisted that her son isn't a violent person, yet he smashed a locked box to go back to playing a videogame, forced her out of the room when he was told to stop (he was a teenager btw) and likes to watch sadistic violent movies over and over. Sorry lady, your son is a violent person and either you are a bad parent or he's an ass because he obviously holds you in great contempt.

The thing that caught me about her was that her son "now has his own private collection of dvds, that he can and does watch whenever he wants."
    There can be no clearer sign of a psychopath then a person sick enough to have their own private dvd collection.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,538 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

There can be no clearer sign of a psychopath then a person sick enough to have their own private dvd collection.:rolleyes:

Yes, I fully agree
    The only thing thats worse is a person with their own private e-mail account, will the problems never end :rolleyes:

The thing that caught me about her was that her son "now has his own private collection of dvds, that he can and does watch whenever he wants."

That's exactly what I was thinking. "Oh noes, not DVDs! Collecting things is bad news". But it sounds as if he repeatedly watches Hostel again and again and the simple fact is that if he does that, it's because he's into it and not because an unspecified video game from his childhood (could be talking N64/PS1 days) made him do it. I don't even recall if she mentioned the game was violent. Could have been Banjo Kazooie:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

On joe duffy now. Every 3rd parent is ringing up about online gaming addiction. One decided to take away her 15 year olds broadband as setting time limits didn't work. He is back now talking to his parents and siblings and behaving normally. Now they have mobile broadband and the parents hand out the modem to their kids when they need it for schoolwork or to download music :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

is there that many crap parents in the country? seriously?

Flaccus wrote: »
    On joe duffy now. Every 3rd parent is ringing up about online additiction. One decided to take away here 15 year olds broadband as setting time limits didn't work. He is back now talking to his parents and siblings and behaving normally. Now they have mobile broadband and the parents hand out the modem to their kids when they need it for schoolwork or to download music :eek:

Letting them break the law, Smh.

Some people are taking it too far, some addictions are fine, as long as they are not negative to your lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

Yeah, I thought that downloading music was a bit of a slip. Maybe she meant they use it to download music from iTunes or some other legally paid for service :D

Well then her next issue will be kids with credit cards!!!

Some people are justs so silly tbh, they need a reality check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Hillarious stuff off these buffoons. Especially the one who banned her 19yr old son from playing incase his 14yr old sister walked in on him playing it lol, seriously wtf....

....."

Wow! Would she cut his meat off too? :eek:

nipplenuts wrote: »
    Wow! She cut his meat off too? :eek:

Are you f*cking serious?? she must be mental...

If i was that dude i woulda gone to the nearest hardware store and bought a lock for his room if he didn't have one already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

To be honest I do think it has some affect on young kids, I played video games alot when I was younger, still now but much less because of work etc. But when I was young I played the Sega , playstation alot football games , shooters whatever the games weren't as graphic as some out today but they didn't affect me I also got out alot, did alot of sports and had alot of friends so I wasn't inside all day everyday doing it.

My brother on the other hand I worry about, he is only 11 and he is allowed to play and watch anything he wants, all the 18+ games that even I told my parents to take off him. His behaviour has changed, he gets angry easily at them shouts, curses has been banned from Xbox live, this attitude stetchs into his life at school, interacting with friends etc everything. He's always talking about knifes, chainsaws, guns, hurting people and I do think alot of it has been because he has had access to these games from a young age and is desensitiised because of them.

I don't blame the games either though, I blame the parenting they seem happy to leave him at it if it keeps him out of their hair and in the room.

nipplenuts wrote: »
    Wow! Would she cut his meat off too? :eek:

I don't recall her saying that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

It's not as if i can get a MP5 an kill someone with it, although I can get a knife and stab stab stab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

"Everybody is wanting to know what music were the kids listening to, or what movies were they watching. Who gives a f**k what they was watching! Whatever happened to crazy? What, you can't be crazy no more? Should we eliminate crazy from the dictionary?" Chris Rock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,574 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Just listened to the podcast.... sensationalist rubbish.
    18s game, if your kids are playing it, you're a bad parent.

As for affecting me, rubbish.
    I just walked through town, I had Soap MacTavish on a rooftop watching my back.
    I could have nodded at ANYONE to get Soap to take them out, and I didn't.
    Didn't need to.... this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Played the airport level last night, shot as many innocent people as possible. It's easy, they all get stuck at a choke point and you have a machine gun with 300 rounds! If anyone does something similar in real life, there's no way it's because of a game. As Chris Rock says above, it's because they're crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Them aul ones are mad, i think they need to get laid or something

zero19 wrote: »

You don't seem to understand how children are made...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,565 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

zero19 wrote: »
    ...yeah, six-feet under.

As someone who's kicking the arse of 40, I still love gaming.

It's nonsense to equate on-screen cartoonish uber-violence with the development of psychotic tendencies in children.

“Computer games don’t affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we’d all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music.” (Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc, 1989.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Before I became a mature adult ;), I played games like gta from about the age of 13 and I can confirm that it has not made me violent in any sense. Five years on and I'll openly admit that tetris probably messed me up a bit, now that could drive you nuts.
    But in all seriousness, anyone who gets violent from games has alot of underlying factors unrelated to videogames. Its the Jamie Bulger/ Child's play argument all over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,850 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Corkfeen wrote: »
    "I don't even have a television because i've seen such shocking things!" The people on these things always sound exceptionally nuts, how do you prevent a 19 year old from playing mw2. ;) What the hell, quoting the bible, That was a fairly violent book.

So instead of having a television and, i dunno, watching the afternoon show about recipes and dog grooming, they sit at home listening to Joe Duffy and are afraid to leave their houses in case they're raped or stolen or abducted by an apparition of the virgin mary.

Hilarious.

No matter how warped any of these games are, I doubt they're as dark and disturbing as the inner workings of these people's minds.

Before I start, let me say I agree with you! I love all games like this or GTA, and lets face it, majority of us play GTA after you've completed it just to run people over and what not but I've never heard a good reason as to why we like it? Anyone have any ideas? I remeber my dad was ranting at me after he read about GTA4 and that it shouldn't be allowed. All I could say was it was a game and nobody's going to be influenced by it but he stumped me with the old chestnut "But why do you like games where you have to kill innocent people?". I couldn't say anything cause all I could think of would be "eh, I just like killing people on the computer" which doesn't have a very nice ring to it. Anyone with a decent answer to this?

When zelda came out on the SNES, i used to spend hours trying to slash chickens with my sword and throwing them into rivers and stiff, On Duck Hunt on the NES i used to try my hardest to shoot the sniggering dog.

In real life I love animals and don't agree with shooting ducks or dogs or throwing chickens into rivers, but in a game, nobody gets hurt.

Next time your dad tells you you shouldn't be enjoying games that involve simulated violence, just say 3 words back. Cowboys and Indians.

They all played it, (old people) roleplaying the brutal genocide of an entire continent of indigenous peoples.

If he denies that he played that game, just say chess, chess is a battle simulation, each piece represents a unit of an army.
    It's not the violence that people are stimulated by, it's exploring what happens in a sterile safe environment.

You wouldn't go out an murder a homeless person after playing GTA any more than you would go out and dig a hole in the garden after playing the addictive but primitive 1980s game Dig Dug.

When GTA first came out it ignited just as much media hysteria as it does today (the first games got 18 certs too) and these were just top down games with blurry graphics where the the only differences between this game and all the other driving games were, a that the cars were stolen, and b a tiny red splotch after you 'accidentally' hit or shot a pedestrian. (or mowed down a line of Hare Kirshnas hehe)

Akrasia wrote: »
    When zelda came out on the SNES, i used to spend hours trying to slash chickens with my sword and throwing them into rivers and stiff, On Duck Hunt on the NES i used to try my hardest to shoot the sniggering dog.

In real life I love animals and don't agree with shooting ducks or dogs or throwing chickens into rivers, but in a game, nobody gets hurt.

Next time your dad tells you you shouldn't be enjoying games that involve simulated violence, just say 3 words back. Cowboys and Indians.

They all played it, (old people) roleplaying the brutal genocide of an entire continent of indigenous peoples.

If he denies that he played that game, just say chess, chess is a battle simulation, each piece represents a unit of an army.
    It's not the violence that people are stimulated by, it's exploring what happens in a sterile safe environment.

You wouldn't go out an murder a homeless person after playing GTA any more than you would go out and dig a hole in the garden after playing the addictive but primitive 1980s game Dig Dug.

When GTA first came out it ignited just as much media hysteria as it does today (the first games got 18 certs too) and these were just top down games with blurry graphics where the the only differences between this game and all the other driving games were, a that the cars were stolen, and b a tiny red splotch after you 'accidentally' hit or shot a pedestrian. (or mowed down a line of Hare Kirshnas hehe)

Actually I think the original GTA games were 15+.

While I agree that these games won't make you go and kill people, I still don't think really violent content from many of todays games (Bioshock, Left4Dead, GTA the list goes on) is suitable for younger kids. I'd say take the age ratings with a pinch of salt but I mean a pinch and not the whole damn shaker. It's not the end of the world if you shave a year or two off the rating but I still don't think it's right if you have a 12 year old who's playing Resident Evil or Assassins Creed or whatever, even if it won't cause them to bludgeon the next person they see.

On joe duffy now. Every 3rd parent is ringing up about online gaming addiction. One decided to take away her 15 year olds broadband as setting time limits didn't work. He is back now talking to his parents and siblings and behaving normally. Now they have mobile broadband and the parents hand out the modem to their kids when they need it for schoolwork or to download music :eek:

It's crazy, If the kids spent that much time practicing piano, their parents would think they're a prodigy, but getting to 3 star general on battlefield 2? (a much more worthy pursot by any standard) nah they're anti-social....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

“Computer games don’t affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we’d all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music.” (Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc, 1989.

Don't go misquoting there now! Marcus Brigstocke will be furious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,027 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

It's scary how much influence this man has, this morning my mother asked me did I enjoy watching violent movies and am I addicting to shooting people online, just because some German psycho did it doesn't mean I will.

Mr E wrote: »
    Just listened to the podcast.... sensationalist rubbish.
    18s game, if your kids are playing it, you're a bad parent.

As for affecting me, rubbish.
    I just walked through town, I had Soap MacTavish on a rooftop watching my back.
    I could have nodded at ANYONE to get Soap to take them out, and I didn't.
    Didn't need to.... this time.

precisly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

You don't seem to understand how children are made...

I meant lately not 16 years ago :p

MOD 2 is just like real life,