Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rottweiler breeding and Tea cup Yorkie

• 11-11-2009 4:45pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Going to merge two points into one thread as they don't really warrant one each.

I have a 3 year old Rottweiler bitch that i'm looking to breed. She is Registered, vaccinated , chipped and lineage can be traced back at least 6 generations. Not interested in breeding for money, just my sister is pestering me for a pup and i want her (the dog) neutered. I was told its best to get a litter before neutering. So i'm looking for advice and possibly contacts for anyone that can help with breeding, stud dogs etc.

Secondly my Mother has also been pestering me to keep an eye out for anyone selling Teacup Yorkies. So any numbers or contact info would greatly help, if only for my piece of mind.

Thanks in advance all.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Ok firstly, theres no such breed as tea cup yorkies, most people that advertise them as that are not good breeders. Some yorkies that are bred smaller are called that just because of their size.

With the rottweiler, do you know her lines? Have you had her hip scored or health tested?
    It really isnt a good thing for a bitch to have a litter before getting neutered, thats an old wives tale to be honest.

Mod Edit: Oh no you don't! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Paul91

are you able to take 6 to 8 weeks off work to look after the mum and poopee's - cos i am at the 8 week end of looking after my German Shep and her 6 poopee's and i can tell you it's hard work, i was up at 3.30 am this morning to let them out and feed them, AFAIK you don't need to let them have a litter before neutering them

Sorry Paul, but you dont need to take 6-8 weeks off work, yes you might need to take a week or 2 but as they get older you dont need to be around them as much as you do initially.

Yes puppies are very hard work esp if you are going to do things the right way and even more so if things go wrong, so you need to be prepared for the worst, but 6-8 weeks off is a bit of an exaggeration.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,899 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Your Sister will take one & what will you do with the others ?. So many Rotties end up being put down because a lot of rescues won't take them.

It is a total fallacy that a bitch should have a litter before neutering. If you do it now you will greatly reduce the risk of her getting mammary tumours which are very serious.

So how about you neuter the dog asap & persuade your sister to adopt a nice Rottie from a rescue.

andreac wrote: »
    Sorry Paul, but you dont need to take 6-8 weeks off work, yes you might need to take a week or 2 but as they get older you dont need to be around them as much as you do initially.

Yes puppies are very hard work esp if you are going to do things the right way and even more so if things go wrong, so you need to be prepared for the worst, but 6-8 weeks off is a bit of an exaggeration.

Yep your probably right, but you need a flexible work to be able to cater for it, I have worked through my last 8 weeks, but with getting up at 6 to sort them out and the big dogs, then spending another 2 hours every evening you do need a fare bit of energy reserves - oh and money

Yes its very time consuming and tiring with a litter of pups and can be a big job to raise good strong, healthy pups.

For those 8 weeks your life will be turned upside down and maybe even longer if the all the pups cant be sold or rehomed at 8 weeks so people need to make sure if they are going to have a litter of pups that its not an easy job at all and even the experts will tell you that.

I know a few people who have lost litters of pups and even their bitch through breeding so its not all happy endings where breeding is concerned.

yep - our Kennel lady used to breed boxers and she did say she had a rescue boxer whom was carrying pups, she took her in none the less and the mother and all the pups died unfortunately - we where very lucky with Roxy, even though she was 10lbs underweight i was able to get her up to strength and her and all pups are big bunters now :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Paul91 wrote: »
    are you able to take 6 to 8 weeks off work to look after the mum and poopee's - ........

Yes. I am off work with a health issue. Will be off till March next year. Awaiting an operation so time is not a problem.
    Originally Posted by Discodog

Your Sister will take one & what will you do with the others ?.

I have 2-3 more that definitely want one. The others i will house plus i may keep one or two. Love the dog and the breed. They have over 2 acres to run around plus a 9X6 mtr run for secure locking away at night and a solid brick kennel, fully insulated. I'm a builder by trade so built the entire thing myself with wash away drains, fencing, kennel, etc.

Lads, i'm no expert on dogs. I've had dogs nearly all my life and rottweilers for the last 15 years. This is the first bitch i had. I'm trying not to go into this blind hence the reason i'm asking for advice, but i'm also not naive and think that if and when the pups are born they will look after themselves.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

In a country with such an appalling killing rate I would love to see incentives for people to rehome rather than buy a pup. People need to accept that by rehoming you are literally saving a dogs life as you free up space for another dog that would otherwise be put down.

The sad thing is that the papers & internet boards are about to fill with Christmas Puppies. At least most of the UK papers ban Christmas puppy ads.

There is an adorable Rottie on East Galway Animal Rescue's website called Jack. He has an amazing, gentle temperament & needs a good home. Any Rottie lovers can read about him here.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055516135

ezridax wrote: »
    Yes. I am off work with a health issue. Will be off till March next year. Awaiting an operation so time is not a problem.

I have 2-3 more that definitely want one. The others i will house plus i may keep one or two. Love the dog and the breed. They have over 2 acres to run around plus a 9X6 mtr run for secure locking away at night and a solid brick kennel, fully insulated. I'm a builder by trade so built the entire thing myself with wash away drains, fencing, kennel, etc.

Lads, i'm no expert on dogs. I've had dogs nearly all my life and rottweilers for the last 15 years. This is the first bitch i had. I'm trying not to go into this blind hence the reason i'm asking for advice, but i'm also not naive and think that if and when the pups are born they will look after themselves.

good on yer for asking for advice and sounds like you have a better set up than i - just after the last 8 weeks i'm physically wrecked, so would want to prepare anyone in that sense - if you do g ahead keep us posted on how you get on and pictures ;o)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭votejohn

also, re: tea cup yorkies, would your mom not just get a normal size yorkie? or a similar pup from the pound?

Think about it, whats a tea cup yorkie? A very small yorkie. Now, a tea cup yorkie isnt a different breed to a normal yorkie, so to make the dogs 'teacup' size, they cross breed small yorkie with small yorkie for generations.

So your mum is looking for a runt of the litter crossed with the runt of a litter for generation, so any 'teacup' yorkie, is just a pup from a long line of runts.

'teacups' of breeds generally have a lot of health problems, as their organs are sometimes too big for their bodies, or sometimes too small.

Also, small breeds, and especially 'teacup' small breeds can be quite snapy. as they are so small they are quite fragile and they know it. they can be known to snap at ankles, not because they're agressive, but because they are scared they'll be stood on.

i'd implore her to think about it. They are gorgeous to look at, but in the pound there are loads of small dogs, and a lot of the cross breed ones can turn out gorgeous and unique looking!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭lrushe

With the rottweiler, do you know her lines? Have you had her hip scored or health tested?
    It really isnt a good thing for a bitch to have a litter before getting neutered, thats an old wives tale to be honest.

These are good points, Rotties suffer from alot of health issues, hips, eyes, elbows, heart etc. any Rottie considered for breeding should be screened for these. Also have you shown or done any work with your Rottie, only by getting her judged under these circumstances by people who do this professionally will you know if she is good enough to breed. I'm not saying you don't have a lovely dog I'm sure you do but only the best dogs of each breed should ever be bred to better the breed, breeding for just pet quality animals should be discouraged as shelters are bursting at the seems with those kind of dogs and are just watering down the breed hence the above mentioned health issues being a problem. If your bitch hasn't been health screened or shown then the owners of any stud dogs worth any good won't breed to your bitch so you will be stuck with just an average stud. My Rottie bitch is of excellent breeding but as I haven't the time to show at the moment I will more than likely be getting her spayed in January when she's 6 months old. Hope this helps and doesn't sound too harsh, unfortunately breeding, at least doing it right, is alot of research, money and hard work, best of luck!

There are two reasons i don't want her to have one.

The first is i've seen the dog mentioned on a programme on discovery and similar to what you were saying they are cute but a whole lot of trouble. They need constant attention, are prone to serious medical conditions due to their size and also i don't like the idea of breeding a dog so small for selling as in puppy farming type of scenario. The dog serves no other purpose.

The second reason is, she got given a jack russel cross about two and a half years ago. The dog did not take to her at all. She fed him lightly cooked liver that was diced and fed piece by piece to him. He had a cushion and allowed on the couch and on the bed, but still he showed no interest in her. Whenever i came in with or without Elly (my rotty) he would be all over me and never leave my side so i ended up with him. I found out afterwards the previous owner was a fella and he had intended on keeping Sam for himself so maybe the dog was more comfortable with me. I'm afraid if she gets another dog i'll end up with it again or worse again if she got one of those micro yorkies one of mine may injure or kill it by accident.

I would love to get her a normal yorkie and she was initially looking for one then saw the micro yorkie. Having had time to digest all the posts i think i can solve my problems in one swoop. Can someone give the name and addressess of some pounds, kennels or animal shelters and i'm sure i can sort both the mother and sister out then get my Rotty neutered without the whole breeding scenario.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

In addition to the points above about "teacup" Yorkies, I'd also just add that the amount of online scams involving these dogs and similar breeds (Chihuahuas is one that springs to mind after I had a few bad experiences trying to find one) is unreal.

I think that mayb scammers know that the typical market for these dogs are often teenage girls. Often, you'll see an ad saying that they own two pups and, because they're moving back to whereever, are giving them away for free or looking for very little money, you just have to pay courier. Obviously, that rings alarm bells as most breeders would not "ship" a dog in this way. Brunt of the scam is that you get a call from a "courier" saying that there's a charge to release the dog and you end up giving your credit card details and spending a day sitting in for a delivery that never arrives.

Apart from that, "teacups" though not a breed, are often the result of the mating of two very small dogs. Litter runts, if you will. The problem with this is that the mother, typically very small herself, can suffer terrible damage through pregnancy and birth. Fact is, some dogs are just too small to breed but they're made do so by unscrupulous "breeders".

I've also heard of instances where people have been sold very young pups as teacups. Like, being given a 4 weeks old but told it's 10 weeks old but will aways be tiny. Of course, 4 weeks (or anything under 8 weeks, ideally 10) is far too young for a pup to leave its mother and littermates and leads to health and socialisation problems down the line.

Another I've heard of is "breeders" mixing litters and putting a younger litter in with an older one so the younger pups become runts- they can't get enough food. While it's almost human instinct to go for the underdog and want to take the little guy, because of the nature of the situation these dogs will be raised in (typically spoiled little house dogs :D), they can develop other problems- going from runt to head of the pack isn't a natural progression and leads to aggression.

lrushe wrote: »
    .......... My Rottie bitch is of excellent breeding........!

How can you be so sure? Did you see the parents? What did you check for?

I not only checked out the parents, I checked out aunts, uncles and half siblings. I researched each line of her breeding back 5 generations, alot of her ancestory can be googled and found on the internet as there are quiet a few famous dogs there but her breeder also had pics and info on her lineage as well. Her breeder was also able to produce championship / health certs and hip/elbow scores for both parent.

There are two reasons i don't want her to have one.

The first is i've seen the dog mentioned on a programme on discovery and similar to what you were saying they are cute but a whole lot of trouble. They need constant attention, are prone to serious medical conditions due to their size and also i don't like the idea of breeding a dog so small for selling as in puppy farming type of scenario. The dog serves no other purpose.

The second reason is, she got given a jack russel cross about two and a half years ago. The dog did not take to her at all. She fed him lightly cooked liver that was diced and fed piece by piece to him. He had a cushion and allowed on the couch and on the bed, but still he showed no interest in her. Whenever i came in with or without Elly (my rotty) he would be all over me and never leave my side so i ended up with him. I found out afterwards the previous owner was a fella and he had intended on keeping Sam for himself so maybe the dog was more comfortable with me. I'm afraid if she gets another dog i'll end up with it again or worse again if she got one of those micro yorkies one of mine may injure or kill it by accident.

I would love to get her a normal yorkie and she was initially looking for one then saw the micro yorkie. Having had time to digest all the posts i think i can solve my problems in one swoop. Can someone give the name and addressess of some pounds, kennels or animal shelters and i'm sure i can sort both the mother and sister out then get my Rotty neutered without the whole breeding scenario.

Sounds good, good on ya!!!! there are a lot of shelters out there, where are you based?? A lot of the shelters will match the dog with the new owner, so perhaps there will be a young dog out there that grew up with someone similar to your mum so they should bond quickly.

list of rescue sites here, most are kept relatively up to date, let us know how you get on!

http://www.topdog.ie/index.php?pageid=rescues

All of my dogs have always been pets only. I've only bought of 2 lads throughout the years as i trust them and one is a Rottweiler and Pit Bull breeder and uses his dogs for shows (not sure of the specifics).

What is involved in having mine checked out? What is the process for hip scoring?

heres some more, this is a rottie rescue page http://www.irishanimals.ie/rottiedobie_homes.html

and some terriers, inc yorkies http://www.irishanimals.ie/terriers_homes.html

Thanks Votejohn, must appreciated. I am living in Laois but have no problems driving. Will check out those sites and i feel i can give a couple of dogs a warm and deserving home.

Thanks again and to all the posters for advice and help, it is very much appreciated lads and ladies.

All of my dogs have always been pets only. I've only bought of 2 lads throughout the years as i trust them and one is a Rottweiler and Pit Bull breeder and uses his dogs for shows (not sure of the specifics).

What is involved in having mine checked out? What is the process for hip scoring?

Don't get me wrong there is nothing wrong with pet quality dogs, in every litter there might be one with champion potential and the rest are pet quality with some tiny flaw which prevents them from being champions but has no bearing on them being wonderful pets, they just shouldn't be bred from.
    I'm not sure if every vet has the facilties but I know hip scoring is definately done in the Vet College and they would also be able to check the heart and eyes aswell. The hips and elbows are x-rayed and the results are sent away to be 'scored', basically the hip joint should sit in the socket like a baseball in a baseball glove, the score is given by how deep the socket is and therefore how secure the joint sits in it

Don't get me wrong there is nothing wrong with pet quality dogs, in every litter there might be one with champion potential and the rest are pet quality ............

That is very clinical and harsh. To say it shouldn't be bred unless they are going to be show dogs. 80% or more of dogs bred are for pets. Thats a guess but i'm guessing its not a kick in the a**e off. You said yourself that one in a litter may be a champion so how do you think the first of all these champion dogs came to be. Yes breeding should be strictly controlled but not to the extent that fundamentalists are the only ones breeding. This elitism is what leads to puppy farming and over breeding of a breed of dog. Demand = Supply = Demand. Vicious circle.

I know my girl will never win a show. She couldn't even enter. The vet told me that her physical condition is excellent as are her hips and joints. Her height is perfect as are her features and colours. She did mention the small callous on her right elbow (as she always sleeps on that side) and the fact that her outer toe on each paw sticks slightly out. She was the one that told me she would provide excellent pups but the toe condition is most likely hereditary and would pass to her pups.

I'm not taking a go at you but as i said your view(s) come across (in text) as a little clinical and harsh.

That is very clinical and harsh. To say it shouldn't be bred unless they are going to be show dogs. 80% or more of dogs bred are for pets. Thats a guess but i'm guessing its not a kick in the a**e off. You said yourself that one in a litter may be a champion so how do you think the first of all these champion dogs came to be. Yes breeding should be strictly controlled but not to the extent that fundamentalists are the only ones breeding. This elitism is what leads to puppy farming and over breeding of a breed of dog. Demand = Supply = Demand. Vicious circle.

I know my girl will never win a show. She couldn't even enter. The vet told me that her physical condition is excellent as are her hips and joints. Her height is perfect as are her features and colours. She did mention the small callous on her right elbow (as she always sleeps on that side) and the fact that her outer toe on each paw sticks slightly out. She was the one that told me she would provide excellent pups but the toe condition is most likely hereditary and would pass to her pups.

I'm not taking a go at you but as i said your view(s) come across (in text) as a little clinical and harsh.

Unfortunately breeding has to be done with an air of clinicness, each parent dog should be researched, what good and bad point do they and their bloodlines have, would they make a good combination, what bad traits could be passed on through possible pups. I've had dogs for over 20 years and still don't feel like I would have the know how to breed properly yet. People allowing 'average' or pet dogs to breed is the reason why alot of pedigree dogs are in the bad situations they are plus why would you want to breed an average dog when the shelters have them in abundance? 'Fundamentalist' are the very people who pain steakingly do the research and spend the time and money to better breeds. Do you think someone who just has a 'nice' dog as a pet would put in the same time or effort or would even truly know how to? If someone is too impatient to wait on a properly bred pup by a good breeder and go to a pup farm instead then that is more of a reflection on that person than the 'fundamentalist' who are doing right by their breed. I am not naive enough to think there aren't a few rouge breeds in the show circuits but on the whole most have their breed best interests at heart.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Unfortunately breeding has to be done with an air of clinicness, each parent dog should be researched, what good and bad point do they and their bloodlines have, would they make a good combination, what bad traits could be passed on through possible pups. I've had dogs for over 20 years and still don't feel like I would have the know how to breed properly yet. People allowing 'average' or pet dogs to breed is the reason why alot of pedigree dogs are in the bad situations they are plus why would you want to breed an average dog when the shelters have them in abundance? 'Fundamentalist' are the very people who pain steakingly do the research and spend the time and money to better breeds. Do you think someone who just has a 'nice' dog as a pet would put in the same time or effort or would even truly know how to? If someone is too impatient to wait on a properly bred pup by a good breeder and go to a pup farm instead then that is more of a reflection on that person than the 'fundamentalist' who are doing right by their breed. I am not naive enough to think there aren't a few rouge breeds in the show circuits but on the whole most have their breed best interests at heart.

Sorry, but that's a load of codswollop.

Breeders are not "God" nor "mother nature", they cannot "improve" anything by selective breeding, to the contrary ...any and all breeds that have been selectively bred for long enough have deteriorated dramatically.

Oh, yes, the "champion dogs" may be perfect as far as the breed standard goes, but the breeds as a whole are sick, plagued by genetic diseases, debilitating deformities and short lifespans.

Due to the efforts of pedigree breeders over the last hundred years or so we have now reached the point where the entire dog population is so sick that we soon will breed our dogs to extinction because all the genetic variety (and with that genetic health) has been bred out of the dogs. There are hardly any healthy ones left. And those that are certainly aren't pedigrees.

I'm sorry but you are still coming across as snobish. "Average" this and "pet quality" that. If the dog is not of show quality or from show quality dogs they should not be bred? Well we will just have agree to disagree.

The shelters are full of dogs because people do not commit to their dogs or the responsibilities that come with animal ownership. It is not down solely to reckless breeding.

Fundamentalists are not the people that do the research or history check on potential animals. They are professionals that demand the most from the dog. It is an investment and like any investment they must be sure about every aspect before investing, as is the case with race horse owners. Fundamentalists are those people that go the extra step and have no tolerance for any views other than theirs.

My last dog died of old age and i waited nearly two years for my friend to breed his Rottweiler again. I went to a trusted and competent breeder for a pure bred. If that does not come up to your standards then as said before we will have to agree to disagree.

peasant wrote: »
    Sorry, but that's a load of codswollop.

Breeders are not "God" nor "mother nature", they cannot "improve" anything by selective breeding, to the contrary ...any and all breeds that have been selectively bred for long enough have deteriorated dramatically.

Oh, yes, the "champion dogs" may be perfect as far as the breed standard goes, but the breeds as a whole are sick, plagued by genetic diseases, debilitating deformities and short lifespans.

Due to the efforts of pedigree breeders over the last hundred years or so we have now reached the point where the entire dog population is so sick that we soon will breed our dogs to extinction because all the genetic variety (and with that genetic health) has been bred out of the dogs. There are hardly any healthy ones left. And those that are certainly aren't pedigrees.

I don't deny that mongrels are genetically healthier than pedigrees hence the reason just anybody shouldn't be breeding from just any dog, bloodlines have to be researched to ensure that there are no direct inbreeding. Before you just put down the progess that geninue breeders go through maybe you should look into it more closlely that just see a few TV programmes and google a few websites and just scratch the surface and see only all the bad sides selective breeding can have in the wrong hands.

I'm sorry but you are still coming across as snobish. "Average" this and "pet quality" that. If the dog is not of show quality or from show quality dogs they should not be bred? Well we will just have agree to disagree.

The shelters are full of dogs because people do not commit to their dogs or the responsibilities that come with animal ownership. It is not down solely to reckless breeding.

Fundamentalists are not the people that do the research or history check on potential animals. They are professionals that demand the most from the dog. It is an investment and like any investment they must be sure about every aspect before investing, as is the case with race horse owners. Fundamentalists are those people that go the extra step and have no tolerance for any views other than theirs.

My last dog died of old age and i waited nearly two years for my friend to breed his Rottweiler again. I went to a trusted and competent breeder for a pure bred. If that does not come up to your standards then as said before we will have to agree to disagree.

'Fundamentailist' was your word not mine and I guess we will need to agree to disagree but I know I won't be breeding from my 'nice' dog as I won't have put in the time to show her and see if she has what it takes to produce the next generation.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I don't deny that mongrels are genetically healthier than pedigrees hence the reason just anybody shouldn't be breeding from just any dog, bloodlines have to be researched to ensure that there are no direct inbreeding. Before you just put down the progess that geninue breeders go through maybe you should look into it more closlely that just see a few TV programmes and google a few websites and just scratch the surface and see only all the bad sides selective breeding can have in the wrong hands.

Progress?

Don't make out like breeding dogs is some sort of scientifically researched high tech affair.
    Yes, some breeders have been awake enough to introduce mandatory testing into the process to try and exclude some of the disturbing illnesses that have appeared all over the place...but... that doesn't change the fact that by breeding selectively (i.e. deliberately excluding the majority of dogs from breeding) they are now dabbling in such a shallow gene pool that improvement or progress is genetically impossible. But most breeders don't want to see that. They religiously believe in their mantra of researching pedigrees, breeding show winners and doing hip scores. Nobody has any idea how far the genetic variety of the dog population has already diminished and that defeating one heredetary illness swiftly introduces another (hitherto unknown) one.

Unless the strict selective breeding guidelines are overhauled, the gene pool is deepened and the idea of pedigree breeding pretty much abandoned, the dog population is heading for the abyss pretty quickly.

The root of the problem is the published Kennel Club Breed Standards. Any potential show champion has to comply to the standard. For example German Shepherds used to be a big, wolf like dog with a straight back. Now they have been turned into mutants. The back legs are shorter so that the spine slopes towards the rear. This has led to massive hip problems. There is a trend amongst GSD lovers to revert back to "Old Fashioned GSD's".

Pugs have been bred with such pushed in noses that they can hardly breath. Cavaliers have had their head size reduced so much that they can suffer from a terrible condition where the brain is too big for the skull. One of the top Cavalier breeders was exposed on UK TV as having offered her dog for stud knowing that it had a congenital brain defect. The KC & breeders backed her up & she is still breeding from the dog.

This is why both Pedigree & the BBC pulled out of Crufts.

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Phenix

Can someone give the name and addressess of some pounds, kennels or animal shelters and i'm sure i can sort both the mother and sister out then get my Rotty neutered without the whole breeding scenario.[/quote]

hi! Dogs in Distress have a little Rottie X called pumpkin looking for a home if your sister would be interested in that. she is beautiful

http://dogsindistress.org/blog/?p=2421