Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sporting Fingal v Bray Wanderers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Pineapple stu

Pure Cork wrote: »
    So will the Prem.

At least I won't have to watch the likes of UCD and Finglas twice next season.

Why would you watch Finglas? Do you live there? what league are they in? AUL?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

I'm rootin for Sporting in this one, I reckon they'll be safe mid-table enxt year and all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

DSB wrote: »
    If Derry are reformed as a new debtfree club, will they not have a bigger budget than us?

Wouldn't that mean they'd have to start in the A League?
    dizzywizlw wrote: »
    I'm rootin for Sporting in this one, I reckon they'll be safe mid-table enxt year and all :D

I reckon they could get a European place tbh, they're bascially a Premier Division team and add in the few players that they're suppose to be bringing in, it could be shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Wet start to the day, but hopefully it will clear up for the game tonight.

Paulw wrote: »
    Wet start to the day, but hopefully it will clear up for the game tonight.

Was like a monsoon from about 4am till 6am, gotta hate the oul velux windows.:mad:

This was posted on the RTE website at 1pm so not sure if it's still happening
    DART services are suspended between Dún Laoghaire and Bray due to flooding on the line at Sandycove.

Dublin Bus will accept rail tickets.

No doubt yous have a supporters bus to Bray anyway.:rolleyes:

It's not unusual for that part of the line to flood.

I'll be driving, so not too worried.

I'd actually be more concerned about the state of the pitch.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

What time is kickoff tonight? How much are tickets? Will it put me asleep?

CHD wrote: »

7:45pm

Not sure.

Unlikely. It should be a decent game of football to watch, especially if the conditions are anyway decent.

CHD wrote: »

7:45

Probably 10 for a student and 15 for an adult.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Lamper.sffc

Heading out to this soon. Really looking forward to the game. Hopefully the rain stays off.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Once again, this is on TG4

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

I feel so dirty wanting Fingal to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Any team news?

How the hell did Bray not score there!

They've started brightly but Fingal look dangerous on the break, good game so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

The 10 or so Franchise muppets seam to be having great craic :rolleyes:

LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

What a header from the keeper!

Wow you couldnt make this up. Wow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Chris O'Connor you idiot. What was he even trying? Rediculous. I'm happy anyways sadly :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

New low for the league of Ireland. They must have even less fans than UCD.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

wats de score

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Sheepy99 wrote: »
    wats de score
    Finished 2-2. UCD and Fingal make promoted. About 200 fans between them

200 fans altogether at the match :O?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

Football players win games, not fans.

Congratulations to Fingal.

go on the fingal ..but they're goin down sunday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,265 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Voltwad wrote: »
    They must have even less fans than UCD.
    Even less than Dublin City?

Fingal brought more fans tonight than Bray did to the last game.

Great win for Fingal. O'Connor was the hero and villan tonight. The cause of both Fingal goals, and the scorer of one for Bray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

No LoI fan can laugh at anyone for having poor crowds.
    As much as I hate them, well done fingal, deserved to go up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,599 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Congratulations fingal, best squad if players in the division IMO and deserved to go up, if things go right for them I can see them being very successful in the future. Big if though...

Least the FAI's Genesis report was well worth it, something about a greater spread of teams, now half the premier is based in Dublin.:eek:

New low for the league of Ireland. They must have even less fans than UCD.

Thats Impossible. :D

You havent a clue what your are talking about Volty.

Finished 2-2. UCD and Fingal make promoted. About 200 fans between them

Proves my earlier post correct :D

Sheepy99 wrote: »
    go on the fingal ..but they're goin down sunday :)

Ye, we are going down to Tallaghfornia and then the Europa :D

Least the FAI's Genesis report was well worth it, something about a greater spread of teams, now half the premier is based in Dublin.:eek:

Gav. Tut tut tut. Your better than that.:)

Hard luck to Bray but if you cant put the ball in the back of the net, you dont deserve to win matches

If Bray could finish they would have walked the match! But Fingal did what was required, so fair play and Congrats.

Add two zeros on to that.

0010 is the same number man :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Went past the finglas - bray game on the bus, didnt look as if there were anywhere near 1000 there. Gonna be handy for me to get to the 2 games living in northwood, probably not going to enjoy the car crash as much as I did the dublin city one tho.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

What a finish to that game:D

Had Bray been able to take their chances it would've been a different score altogether.

Great finish from the keeper, but but what was he doing before he was robbed of the ball.

Now fair enough it may have been a free for a high leg, but jaysus what was he doing putting himself in that situation.

Hero to villian in 30 seconds:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

When have had an attendance of 1000 when you people had actually pay to get in?

Hard luck to Bray but if you cant put the ball in the back of the net, you dont deserve to win matches

If you don't have a sustainable club model, you shouldn't be in existence.

Well, thankfully Sporting Fingal do have a sustainable club model, that is working very well. :D

Now, we just have to look forward to next season. Nothing left except the cup next weekend.

Paulw wrote: »
    Well, thankfully Sporting Fingal do have a sustainable club model, that is working very well. :D

Would that be the same one that worked so well for Shels, Bohs, Rovers, Drogs, Cork, Derry, Leeds etc? Is examinership mentioned in fingals business plans?

bohsman wrote: »
    Would that be the same one that worked so well for Shels, Bohs, Rovers, Drogs, Cork, Derry, Leeds etc? Is examinership mentioned in fingals business plans?

Come back in 5 years time and ask that question.

Sporting Fingal have a long term plan, and I can't see them having financial problems for a long time to come, unlike the clubs you mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

The bitterness in this thread is unreal :eek:

Went past the finglas - bray game on the bus, didnt look as if there were anywhere near 1000 there. Gonna be handy for me to get to the 2 games living in northwood, probably not going to enjoy the car crash as much as I did the dublin city one tho.
    When have had an attendance of 1000 when you people had actually pay to get in?

Of course we didnt have 1000. But i just thought, since we are exaggerating attendances, I might as well give it a go:D

The bitterness in this thread is unreal :eek:

Theres plenty of teams in Dublin they could have invested in, currently in the league or at lsl level but for whatsoever reason Seery and fingal need to make up their own clubs. Nothing against either club tbh, dont care if theyre still in existence in 5 years or not, just feel investing in shels or home farm or whatever would have made a lot more sense. Did dublin really need another club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Theres plenty of teams in Dublin they could have invested in, currently in the league or at lsl level but for whatsoever reason Seery and fingal need to make up their own clubs. Nothing against either club tbh, dont care if theyre still in existence in 5 years or not, just feel investing in shels or home farm or whatever would have made a lot more sense. Did dublin really need another club?

Fully agree tbh. There's no way Dublin needed another club! Far too many as it is. Pats, Rovers, Bohs, UCD, Fingal, and Drogs and Dundalkkk are in the Greater Dublin Area. That pretty much only leaves Cork and Sligo that ain't in the Dublin area.

I just think some of the posts here are a bit over the top.

And they do have a great stadium, another santry siro massacre would be nice.

Fully agree tbh. There's no way Dublin needed another club! Far too many as it is. Pats, Rovers, Bohs, UCD, Fingal, and Drogs and Dundalkkk are in the Greater Dublin Area.

Well, if you include Dundalk and Drogheda, you might as well include Bray, Kildare County, Wexford Youths, Waterford, Athlone, etc (since they're not much further from Dublin than Dundalk is).

Clubs form where there is a population base and money. Simple as that.

Either way, that's all politics.

And they do have a great stadium, another santry siro massacre would be nice.

Bring it on :D

Sometimes, the pictures say it all. :D

4110874960_e5f87a8bd4.jpg

4110877670_d0c49d359e.jpg

4110880174_f3ec11e17c.jpg

4110117245_1080aa8451.jpg

At the end of the day, the game was settled on the pitch. People debating what teams should/shouldn't be in the league means very little to the teams already there. It should be more about the football.