Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Nobody may be able to show the Ireland second leg qualifying game {Mod Note Post #1}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Pal wrote: »
    This is not good.

Free To Air on TF1 but it broadcasts in secam.

Thats to say that you would need some specialised antiquated satellite equipment.

stay tuned to the foreign satellite board. If its on , they will know.

Most modern tv's will allow you to view Secam. Its on M6 anyway not TF1. Both channels available on French freesat. Boxes in Carrefour etc. No contract but you need a dish pointing at 19E.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

It will be sorted by Monday at the latest i'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,270 ✭✭✭✭briany

What happened with the Turkish playoff in 99? I remember having to listen to that one on the radio even though we had SKY sports in at the time so it couldn't have been on there. Were people saying it would be sorted out before that game as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

briany wrote: »
    What happened with the Turkish playoff in 99? I remember having to listen to that one on the radio even though we had SKY sports in at the time so it couldn't have been on there. Were people saying it would be sorted out before that game as well?

Yep, people were hopeful even up to late on the Wednesday that something would be sorted, I think there was even representations from the Irish government to the Turkish government to solve the impasse.

Neither side gave in, though the difference this time (€600K to €1.5M) seems easier to bridge this time than the last time (I think RTE offered £250,000 and Star TV wanted £3M).

Edit : On a more positive note there was a similar issue in 2001 with the away leg in Iran, but it got sorted eventually, about 2/3 days before the game (and therefore a lot of people won't even have been aware that there was ever a problem, or will have forgotten).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

The FAI really are a bunch of fcking retards. Surely a deal could have been made like the below where each Federation makes money and all the fans get to see the games.

Simply put:

Dublin leg -FFF sell the French viewing rights and kickback 50/60% back to the FAI

Paris leg - FAI sell the Irish viewing rights and kickback 50/60% to the FFF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,270 ✭✭✭✭briany

Why couldn't French TV just give the game to the highest terrestrial bidder and cut Sky Sports in on the action as well? Surely, and maybe I am being naive here, they would be loosing out on valuable revenue if they sold the game to no one with an audience in the interested country. Isn't that what the greedy so and sos of Star TV did to themselves in '99?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

redout wrote: »
    Its on M6 anyway not TF1.

The game in Dublin is on M6. TF1 have the game in Paris.

briany wrote: »
    Why couldn't French TV just give the game to the highest terrestrial bidder and cut Sky Sports in on the action as well? Surely, and maybe I am being naive here, they would be loosing out on valuable revenue if they sold the game to no one with an audience in the interested country. Isn't that what the greedy so and sos of Star TV did to themselves in '99?

Not really - Star TV laid down a marker in '99 that they weren't going to be walked over when it came to negotiations.
    Then in the next qualifying group they got England and made back any loss re the Ireland match, as the English broadcasters realised they weren't bluffing and paid what was being asked of them for the rights to the Turkey v England match.

I do think this situation is different though, that a deal will be reached.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

m6 fta ?

Pal wrote: »
    m6 fta ?

Yes. But they are not showing the game next Wednesday.

Mossy, how can I get TF1 ?
    i have a dish pointed at 19e

For M6, point a dish at 5° West with an analogue receiver.
    The Swiss version is FTA at 7° West. I don't know if they will be showing the Ireland game though.

To get TF1, point a dish at 5° West with an analogue receiver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

I reckon it will be probably be sorted next week. Would have thought Setanta would be interested as well - it is a good opportunity for them.

Setanta like everyone else cannot afford the asking price plus they would have to share with a terrestrial channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Mossy Monk wrote: »

To get TF1, point a dish at 5° West with an analogue receiver

:( Maybe I should have hung onto one of those 4 analogue receivers I turfed out. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Would british eurosport be showing it? They have screened french home games before.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I'll be watching it at my mate's on a big screen. Youse are all welcome to come make up the numbers :D

Setanta Ireland a possible but not confirmed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I'll be at the game if anyone wants to ring me for on the spot commentary. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

I wonder if some of the television companies aren't waiting until after the match on Saturday.

If France win 3-0 on Saturday, I'd expect interest levels and the price levels to drop quite a bit.

I wonder if some of the television companies aren't waiting until after the match on Saturday.

If France win 3-0 on Saturday, I'd expect interest levels and the price levels to drop quite a bit.

That is exactly what RTE are doing though it could backfire and the French wont lower their price because the French FA think the FAI stiffed their broadcast partners TF1 by awarding the home leg to M6. Just last month the England - Ukraine game was not broadcast in the UK because SKY,ITV and BBC would not pay the extortionate fees the Ukranians were asking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

A deal will be done.

After all, what's the point in having a prohibitively high asking price when Ireland is their only other market for this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

will the pubs have a way of getting around this??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

PHB wrote: »
    If this game ends up not being on terrestial, no matter what the result, I think a national campaign against Delany has to start here.

Huh? It's a TV company thing. The match will go ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭soma

Ugh - this is sucky deja vu.

I ended up watching the Turkey vs Ireland playoff in Crowes pub in ballsbridge, the turkish station was available via satellite and they piped-in RTE Radio commentary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

If its only going to be on streaming, I'm going to commandeer a lecture theatre in college and put the stream up on the projector. Few lads, few cans, would be fun!... until the security team find out!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Really hope RTE get this, I can really see it kicking off in the studio on Wednesday, lets hope Souness is also on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

j1smithy wrote: »
    If its only going to be on streaming, I'm going to commandeer a lecture theatre in college and put the stream up on the projector. Few lads, few cans, would be fun!... until the security team find out!

actually the security boys will probably join ye as soon as they find out! :)

df1985 wrote: »
    will the pubs have a way of getting around this??

yes.

any pub with a motorised dish will get the game

I cant get the FTA TF1 on 5W

Anyone tune it in ? all I can get is the encrypted one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

SS1 says Football TBA at 8pm on Wed, Maybe they are going to buy the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

CHD wrote: »

It's said that since Wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

mikeym wrote: »
    Would british eurosport be showing it? They have screened french home games before.

Not a chance, they're showing some Motocross and then some skiing from the French Alps. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

redout wrote: »
    I cant get the FTA TF1 on 5W

Anyone tune it in ? all I can get is the encrypted one.

You need an analogue receiver.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

Not a chance, they're showing some Motocross and then some skiing from the French Alps. :D

Or perhaps some coxless pairs doing their stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

I can't believe this still hasn't been resolved. It's Ireland V France, with a place at the World Cup up for grabs, for jaysus' sake.

I can't imagine watching a game of such importance on some website, with eternal buffering and dropped connections, and the like.

:(

CHD wrote: »

Sky can only do so if theres an agreement in place with a free-to-air terrestial broadcaster. The game is on 'the reserved list' which forbids Pay TV from getting exclusive rights.

Wednesday is beginning to sound like an old-fashioned 'family gathers round the wireless' occassion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

Sky can only do so if theres an agreement in place with a free-to-air terrestial broadcaster. The game is on 'the reserved list' which forbids Pay TV from getting exclusive rights.

Wednesday is beginning to sound like an old-fashioned 'family gathers round the wireless' occassion.

I remember listening to a match in Icelandic on radio streamed online before, this'll be luxury, don't know why people are even complaining :pac:

Boggles wrote: »
    You need an analogue receiver.

Thank christ for the dreambox then ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Can't see there being any RTE coverage if a deal isn't done by early tomorrow. Wednesday is far too late for anything to be tied up.

Looks like the pub for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Kind of hoping that RTE pick this up or i'm gonna have to let friends,family,extended family and the bloody neighbours in to watch it at this right. Why oh why did i have to open my mouth about my satellite system.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Can't see there being any RTE coverage if a deal isn't done by early tomorrow. Wednesday is far too late for anything to be tied up.

Looks like the pub for it.

But are the pubs going to be able to show it?
    Bandit12 wrote: »
    Kind of hoping that RTE pick this up or i'm gonna have to let friends,family,extended family and the bloody neighbours in to watch it at this right. Why oh why did i have to open my mouth about my satellite system.:mad:

What's your address, I will be around at 7 on Wednesday make sure the kettle is on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    But are the pubs going to be able to show it?

Well the one I normally go to had the Turkey game after doing a bit of fiddling about with the satelite and I think they're getting it again.

Dunno about what everyone else is doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭clap-for-trap

what satelite system can you get it on?? wil it be anywhere on sky digital??? will pubs definitely have it?

Ah right, my local wouldn't have a breeze how to do that. Every time a match starts they spend about 10 minutes trying to figure out how to higher the volume up, no joke :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    Ah right, my local wouldn't have a breeze how to do that. Every time a match starts they spend about 10 minutes trying to figure out how to higher the volume up, no joke :D

there will be instructions on the satellite forum, you should read that, and then charge the pub to fix it for them

The match is being shown on the following satellite broadcasters.

http://liveonsat.com/LJ_Sport_foot_intl_any.php

Des wrote: »
    there will be instructions on the satellite forum, you should read that, and then charge the pub to fix it for them

That's not a bad idea but I reckon they only have a Sky/NTL digital box, don't think you could get it on that and I doubt they would let you behind the bar to do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭johnp

Well the one I normally go to had the Turkey game after doing a bit of fiddling about with the satelite and I think they're getting it again.

Dunno about what everyone else is doing.

Maybe we can compile a list of pubs that'd show it?
    Haven't a breeze what ones around me would.

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭clap-for-trap

does anyone know of any pubs in dublin that will definitely have the match!!?? plzzzzzz