Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dragonslayers Ranking Battle 3.2 - SFIV - 17/11/09

• 11-11-2009 11:25pm
    Registered Users Posts: 248 ✭✭

The first SFIV session saw new bloods Paul Kelly and Blag make their mark on the top 8. With plenty of new competition SFIV is set to get interesting!

Date: Tuesday 17/11/09

QUBSU.jpg

Times:
    • Casuals run from 1800
    • Street Fighter IV (360); from 1830

Entry Fee:
    • £1, all proceedings will be donated to Child's Play at the end of the year.

Tournament Format: Group qualifiers into an 8 man double elimination best of 3.

- Button binding is acceptable.
    - Participants are advised to bring a controller of choice.

Childs Play Funds to date: £44

• Registered Users Posts: 18,705 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Tuesday :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Week day lads? :(

• Registered Users Posts: 248 ✭✭mr_kyle

Sorry guys, this is the best day for the regular Dragonslayers crowd. Keep near the end of February free however.

mr_kyle wrote: »
    Sorry guys, this is the best day for the regular Dragonslayers crowd. Keep near the end of February free however.

Cool and all but 18:00 effectively eliminates anyone from Dublin who has a regular job. :(

Planning to make the trip and get my ass handed to me whenever possible though.

The vast majority of these smaller scale events will be occurring on Tuesday night by default. Simply because its the club night. That is not to say anything on a larger scale will though ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

3.2 not 3.3? Or is it classified like that because it's back to SF4?

🤪

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    3.2 not 3.3? Or is it classified like that because it's back to SF4?

3.1 only had one session as T6 couldn't be squeezed in on time. But each RB will have two sessions from here on in. Although there will have to be a solo T6 session sometime so that each game has 6 RBs in total. Usually the dates for both are confirmed in one post, but that couldn't be so this month.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

You Nordies and you're complicated systems :D<3

🤪

• Registered Users Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Being unemployed I may wander up to this and get my Cammy beaten up some.

• Registered Users Posts: 836 ✭✭✭Leprekaun

Excellent. I'll definitely make it down for this.

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭Cobelcog

I'm not sure if I'll be able to make it, unfortunately.

How long is it expected to run for?

• Registered Users Posts: 699 ✭✭✭blag

I think it was around 9:30 that the last one finished,can't remember exactly.

It'd be great if you could make it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭Yreval

7500481.jpg

Sorry that I didn't make it lads. I really tried but missed the 4 o'clock bus and then needed the toilet and the 4:30 bus left exactly at 4:30 so was really raving. I hope it went well.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Leprekaun wrote: »
    needed the toilet

Best. Excuse. Ever. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

I dunno. I think Terrys I have to go to portugal in a few hours was pretty good.

Hope it went well. Really want to get up for another.

Leprekaun wrote: »
    Sorry that I didn't make it lads. I really tried but missed the 4 o'clock bus and then needed the toilet and the 4:30 bus left exactly at 4:30 so was really raving. I hope it went well.

... you were in the toilet for over 30 minutes? :eek:

DAAAAAAAAAAAN.
    Check your Facebook mail!

Results when?

... you were in the toilet for over 30 minutes? :eek:

No. I was going to Belfast with someone so she needed to stay by the bags while I went then she needed to go and thus we missed the bus. There is a reason why I didn't go into detail ;)

I think it was best anyway. After yesterday's beatings from my bro, I wasn't exactly booming with confidence so probably would've done really bad and feel like it was a wasted trip.

I'll perfect my Gouken and make a stick to ensure perfect execution for next time because I'm sick of accidental jump ins.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭Yreval

Another SF4 ranbat, another victory over Blag in the opening game. :pac:

The ranbat was won by a Cammy player (Cobelcog, I believe) who was making his DSRB debut, going over Blag in the final. Roogle will post more details soon. It looks like the ranbats are really getting interesting now - word is spreading, more talented players are coming along and the NI fighter scene in general is levelling up.

Quote of the RB:

"Stu is v. Saxa right now"

- Vyze after Stu switched to Dan after going 1-0 down in his winners' semifinal against Roogle

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭fake_roogle

Dragonslayers Ranking Battle 3.2 - SFIV - Results - Tuesday 18th November 2009

Top 8

1st - Cobelcog (Cammy)
    2nd - Blag (Bison)
    3rd - Roogle (Balrog)
    4th - Stu (Bison/Dan)
    5th - Simon Lau (Blanka)
    5th - V-DecK (Rufus)
    7th - Newtype (Ryu)
    7th - Yreval (Sakura)

As 5/6 and 7/8th qualifiers were not played, they will receive 6th and 8th place points respectively.

Groups can be found here, Upper Bracket can be found here and Lower Bracket can be found here.

Points for the ranbats so far (group wins count towards your points):
    1. Blag - 22 points
    2. Simon Lau - 20 points
    3. Roogle - 16 points
    4. V-DecK - 14 points
    =5. Cobelcog - 12 points
    =5. Newtype - 12 points
    =5. Yreval - 12 points
    8. Stu - 9 points
    9. mr_kyle - 5 points
    =10. Paul Kelly - 4 points
    =10. Dave Gillespie - 4 points
    12. Cloudpaul - 3 points
    13. Adam Hamilton - 2 points
    =14. Inferis - 1 point
    =14. Andrew Carr - 1 point
    =14. Kanped - 1 point
    =14. Rory - 1 point
    =14. DC - 1 point
    =14. Terrier - 1 point

No pictures or videos unfortunately, but this was ranbat was, to put it lightly, upset central.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Cobelcog won? Feckin hell gratz m8! Starting to wonder if I was just lucky when I knocked you out of the lan party tourney. Jaysus...

@ roogle, upset central? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,995 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

I imagine the huge amount of casuals he played with Azza at LanParty probably helped against Blag.

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    @ roogle, upset central? :confused:
    Just a lot of people winning/losing matches that "shouldn't" have.

I can use myself as an example, I've played a lot with Newtype and I have never won a bo3 when we play Boxer v Ryu. Tonight was the first time I came out on top in that format against him. Even then, it was still ridiculously close and it could have gone either way. mr_kyle can probably explain better, but it was just all very surreal.

Obviously not ragging on folks like Cobelcog who definitely deserved it and pretty much cleaned up shop, just one of those nights.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Ah right , no I thought you meant people were having heated arguments or something.

Simon Lau in 5th is a BIIIIG upset, indeed.

We're claiming coblecoq. We had him first :D

Unfortunately, Down is technically Northern Ireland. :-P

Don't care, he made his debut at lanparty.

Fight you for him? :D