Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Push, Pull, Squat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

90 minutes Bikram Yoga.

very sweaty

5/3/1 Cycle 13 Week 3 (1 Day)

Training at 11am

IP Warm Up
    Face pulls
    YTWs
    shoulder dislocates

benching
    warm up sets
    20kg - 2 x 10
    40kg - 10
    60kg - 8

work sets
    81kg - 5
    92kg - 3
    103kg - FAIL
    92kg - 3
    81kg - 8

60kg - 3 x 10 (one set normal grip, one close, one wide)

DB Rows
    27.5kg - 3 x 10
    s/s with
    Trap Bar Shrugs
    60kg - 3 x 12

Comments:
    Total suckfest of a session. I dunno was it the early training or what.
    To say Im not happy with failing to get 103kg x 1 is an understatement.
    I unracked it, brought it down with control, slight pause and pressed, got it 3 inches off my chest and there it stayed.

Benching is becoming the bane of my life.

Ive been looking back through my training diary, and apart from being heavier back in December, I was really hammering the DB rows so Im gonna start back with them now in earnest to try and sort it out.

Im also jsut gonna set my max at 100kg and use 90% of that as my training max so Im basically dropping down from a training max of 108kg to 90kg for the next cycle.

Ill run that for two cycles and see how I am.
    If the bench is still toxic, Ill run smolov junior for bench again.

Off home to Roscommon now to pick up weightlifting shoes and ill prob go squatting this evening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

is there a specific reason outside of training that this might have sucked i.e lack of sleep or diet....IMO if your failing 90% reps.....tis time to recalcuate the 100% estinmate...

Im also jsut gonna set my max at 100kg and use 90% of that as my training max so Im basically dropping down from a training max of 108kg to 90kg for the next cycle.

oh hai :p

workout number 2 for tuesday

got my weighlifting shoes

http://www.bournesports.com/scripts/prodview.asp?idProduct=4099

5/3/1 Cycle 13 Week 3

Squats

20kg - 2 x 10
    40kg - 2 x 10
    60kg - 2 x 10
    80kg - 10

work sets
    100kg - 5
    112.5kg - 3
    127.5kg - 3
    112.5kg - 3
    100kg - 9

60kg - 3 x 10
    1 x 20

was good squatting in the weightlifting shoes.

Conditioning and Technique training

IP warm up
    Foam Rolling
    Shoulder Dislocates

Cleans
    20kg - 3
    40kg - 3
    50kg - 3
    55kg - 5 x 3

Snatches
    20kg - 3 x 3

OH squats
    20kg - 3 x 3

BJJ no gi rolling
    3 x 5 min rounds

Plank
    5 x 20s on/20s off

Weighted back extensions
    BW + 20kg - 5 x 10
    s/s with
    Russian Twists with 10kg med ball
    5 x 25

Foam rolling
    feet rolling with cricket ball

5/3/1 cycle 13 week 3

ip warm up
    ytws
    foam rolling
    scap push ups
    shoulder dislocates
    scarecrows

press
    20kg - 2 x 10
    30kg - 10
    40kg - 5
    50kg - 5

work sets - belt and wrist wraps on
    60kg - 5
    65kg - 3
    72kg - 2
    65kg - 3
    60kg - 5

BBB
    35kg - 5 x 10 (90s rest between sets)

Assistance exercises
    assisted dips - 5x5
    s/s with
    assisted chins - 5x5

iron woody blue bands used for assistance.

Happy to get 2 reps at 72kg.
    I'll probably run thus cycle again for the press as I was just about getting the 5 and 3 sets.

Decent session.

Interview tomorrow, will probably decide whether I stay in Dublin past next Friday.
    Here's hoping

trainin with the sickeningly strong COH today in Raw.

5/3/1 C13 Week 3

warm up
    foam rolling

deadlifts
    60kg - 10
    100kg - 5

work sets
    145kg - 5
    157kg - 3
    175kg - 4
    157kg - 3
    145kg - 10

Assistance work
    Round backed good mornings
    20kg - 5 x 10

hanging knee raises (on the rings in a 1/2 chin up position)
    5 x 8

Comments:
    some of the deads were fugly
    esp rep 4 at 175 and rep 10 at 145.
    dont give a fook though.

COH wouldnt let me wuss out!

deload starts tonight at a friends wedding back home.
    going to see Andy Bolton in Tullamore on Sunday

cycle 13 deload

ip warm up

foma rolling

benching
    20kg - 3 x 10
    40kg - 10
    50kg - 10
    60kg - 5 x 5

CGBP
    40kg - 3 x 12

conditioning
    no gi jitz - 6 x 3 min rounds

5/3/1 Cycle 13 Deload

LOVE DELOAD

IP Warm Up
    Foam Rolling

Squats
    20kg - 2 x 10
    30kg - 10
    40kg - 10
    50kg - 10
    60kg - 10
    50kg - 10
    40kg - 10
    30kg - 10
    20kg - 2 x 10

20 seconds between sets, just enough to change the weights.
    legs were fried after this.
    was messing around with form, stance width, hand placement etc and was concentrating on 2-3 second on the downard phase and then really exploding out of the hole.
    I LOVE squatting in my Oly shoes

Practicing Olympic Lifts
    Hang Power Cleans
    20kg - 3
    40kg - 3 x 3
    50kg - 3 x 3

Power Cleans
    50kg - 5 x 3

OHS
    20kg - 5 x 3

Conditioning Block

Prowler + 80kg (20m up and back)
    10 pushes in 10 mins

Biceps to finish off
    20kg hammer curls 3 x 10
    s/s with
    DB curls @ 10kg - 3 x 10

Nice little session
    sweated loads doing it but didnt feel taxing at all.
    just what the deload doctor ordered.

5/3/1 Cycle 13 Week 4

Deload

IP Warm up
    Foam Rolling
    Stretching
    Bird Dogs
    Hip flexor stretches

Deadlifts
    70kg - 2 x 5
    90kg - 2 x 5
    110kg - 5 x 5

Assistance Exercises
    Good mornings (round back), 20kg - 3 x 12

BB Rows
    40kg - 2 x 10
    45kg - 10
    50kg - 10
    55kg - 10
    60kg - 10

Trap Bar Shrugs
    40kg - 2 x 10
    45kg - 10
    50kg - 10
    55kg - 10
    60kg - 10

DB Rows
    32.5kg - 3 x 10 per side

Foam rolling, stretching, general chat.
    taking my first IP test with WIll on Monday morning as he;s doing his

nice session.
    bit of volume, nothing difficult.

10 mins in the bottom of a squat - just trying that hip mobility stuff. 10 mins seems excessive as I already have good mobility and flexibility in the hips.
    IP warm up
    foam rolling
    stretching
    feet rolling

no gi bjj
    ~ 20 mins of rolling with lads i hadnt rolled with before.
    got one or two subs from side control.
    was happy enough with my defence.

couldnt be arsed doing deload shoulder work.
    gonna take the weekend off and chill out, fully recover and do my IP test on monday at 11.

10 mins in the bottom of a squat - just trying that hip mobility stuff. 10 mins seems excessive as I already have good mobility and flexibility in the hips.
    IP warm up
    foam rolling
    stretching
    feet rolling

no gi bjj
    ~ 20 mins of rolling with lads i hadnt rolled with before.
    got one or two subs from side control.
    was happy enough with my defence.

couldnt be arsed doing deload shoulder work.
    gonna take the weekend off and chill out, fully recover and do my IP test on monday at 11.

Results of 1st IP test.

IP warm up
    Foam rolling
    stretching

Max Bench
    20kg - 2 x 10
    40kg - 10
    60kg - 5
    80kg - 3
    90kg - 1
    100kg - 1
    105kg - F

Bench is so demoralising at the moment but at least its still in triple figures, barely.

Strict BW pull ups - 7
    Happy with this

Max push ups in a minutes - 41
    happy with this, previous best is 37

Max inverted rows in a minutes - 20
    never really did these with feet on a box before so the only way is up from here i guess

Trap Bar Deadlift
    70kg - 5
    120kg - 5
    170kg - 1
    190kg - 1
    200kg - 1
    210kg - 1
    220kg - 1

220 was tough but got it up and said id call it a day there
    2x BW TBDL. ill take it.

spider speed and agility test - 480m
    running between cones for 30s on, 30s off 6 times and add up the 6 totals.
    Lungs were on fire.

Retest in 6 weeks. Bench needs serious work but i knew that anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

20 inverted rows in a minute is pretty sweet at 110.

unlucky with the bench, tis a hoor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

How many days a week are you training in IP? Just reading over your log and getting confused with your 5-3-1 and your IP stuff? I should prob read back further but I've a short attention span and I'm genuinely interested :)

G86 wrote: »
    How many days a week are you training in IP? Just reading over your log and getting confused with your 5-3-1 and your IP stuff? I should prob read back further but I've a short attention span and I'm genuinely interested :)

Im doing 5/3/1 all the time.
    I moved up to dublin for the summer and have been training in IP all summer.
    I'd been trying to do at least 4 days per week, one day per lift for bench, press, squat and deads and all the assistance stuff that goes with them as well as some conditioning (prowler work, carries etc.)
    some weeks it'd be 5 days with one pure conditoning or prehab/rehab day or some weeks i could be at home for a day or two in Roscommon and train there but this summer id say i was training 10 hours per week most weeks.

Ive recently started doing bjj as well and find it great for conditioning

Almost everyone in IP does the IP programme for that month as its set out.

I, of course, would have to be different!

Ive just been taking the bits I like, the warm up (mobility & flexibility stuff), foam rolling etc and adding it to the 5/3/1

after lifting, on leg days, id do some of the IP conditioning blocks.

It was easy to train consistently all summer as i was on my 3 month teacher holidays and i was living quite close to IP

I start back to work on wednesday and will have to move more southside (ranelagh/dundrum/milltown area so will be harder to get as much training in but Ill continue to train in IP.

Im gonna keep doing 5/3/1 until the end of this year, by then ill have done 18 cycles. if i feel im not happy with where its brought me after giving it a very reasonable amount of time, Im just gonna start following the IP programme or jump back on the smolov bandwagon.

any other questions, fire away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

Im gonna keep doing 5/3/1 until the end of this year, by then ill have done 18 cycles. if i feel im not happy with where its brought me after giving it a very reasonable amount of time, Im just gonna start following the IP programme or jump back on the smolov bandwagon.

Are you happy with where it's brought you so far?

Kev M wrote: »
    Are you happy with where it's brought you so far?

if you asked me in january, i would have said yes, definitely.

but after cutting down on the food im eating and upping the conditioning, im not as strong as i was in january.

I think I look better and am in better shape but am definitely not as strong as I was.

5/3/1 got me stronger than ive ever been, here's hoping it can get me back there.
    if not,ill change it up

if you asked me in january, i would have said yes, definitely.

but after cutting down on the food im eating and upping the conditioning, im not as strong as i was in january.

I think I look better and am in better shape but am definitely not as strong as I was.

5/3/1 got me stronger than ive ever been, here's hoping it can get me back there.
    if not,ill change it up

it wont...have you dedicated the time youve given to 5/3/1 to any other program?

I really do think its time for a change from 5/3/1 for you lad...and i say that with your best interest in mind...

I found 5/3/1 good for maintaining respectale strenght when cutting but thats it... as an out and out strenght gainer in my opinion its not playing with the big boys at all...

I know what you're saying.
    lots of people have been saying this to me lately so instead of doing 5/3/1 for 2-3 years as i had planned, im just gonna finish out this year with it and see how I am then and take xmas to decide what to do in 2011.

I know what you're saying.
    lots of people have been saying this to me lately so instead of doing 5/3/1 for 2-3 years as i had planned, im just gonna finish out this year with it and see how I am then and take xmas to decide what to do in 2011.

Least you starting to come round :p

I found 5/3/1 good for maintaining respectale strenght when cutting but thats it... as an out and out strenght gainer in my opinion its not playing with the big boys at all...

I found the opposite of this tbh.

when i was eating lots, i found it to be great for strength gains.
    i was knocking out pbs left, right and centre.

when i went on a cut, i went backwards

drifter means, for someone eating fairly normally for maintenance, it works to keep up strength when you go below maintenance.

Not, someone who is eating well above maintenance who then goes on a fairly serious cut.

If you want to hold on to strength there then you're gonna need more than a nicely titled program.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Is that because 5/3/1's good, or because it's easy to get strong when you're gaining tonnes of weight?

It's very easy to get strong when you're gaining, any program should bring you there. The real judgement falls on it when you're not gaining/losing.

When I started to cut on 5/3/1 I went backwards, but then I managed to get stronger while losing weight and upping my conditioning thru other avenues.

Tbh, I don't rate 5/3/1 at all and I'm glad you're considering ditching it. I think it'll be a lot better for you in the long run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

any other questions, fire away

Thanks for all the info :) I was wondering because I'd thought the way it was in IP you had to strictly follow their program, so was wondering if you'd had one tailored for you with 5/3/1 worked into it or if you were doing that yourself alongside the IP training.

Would you be happy to put back on some of the weight if it meant your strength went back up, or is your primary goal to be leaner now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

Didn't even know you kept a log here....got a tip off on facebook.

The 5/3/1 discussion is intereting...have not had any experience with it myself so it's good to here people's views on it.

The year thing is interesting as well because when I was putting in all the results I was looking at another Informed Performance member results...I'll post the here because he's trained at IP for a year and gone from 100+kg to around 90kg lost a tonne of bodyfat obviously...his bench has gone from 90kg to 135kg, pull ups from 8 or 9 to 18 reps, push ups and inverted rows....he is like all the good athletes that test...he hits taget and stops so I think his last score was 51 and 31 and pulls 200+kg on the trap bar.

Maybe when you finish 5/3/1 you might try a couple of months of Informed Performance training :)

Keep up the good work.

G86 wrote: »

Would you be happy to put back on some of the weight if it meant your strength went back up, or is your primary goal to be leaner now?

No.
    I've experimented with putting on weight and i didnt like being up on 119kg/19 stone.

if anything, the goal is to get leaner now and get sub 100kg at some stage.
    If managed to get down to 100kg, I actually wouldnt mind if strength dropped a little more.
    but if I did lose more weight, id be better at pull ups, push ups, inverted rows and and maybe even the squat as i wouldnt be squatting as much of myself
    Maybe when you finish 5/3/1 you might try a couple of months of Informed Performance training :)

yeah, I think I will from January.
    I think I put in a fairly solid summer of training.

I've lost some bodyfat ~ 6% or so last test
    Ive put on more muscle in my upper back
    Ive got fitter
    Ive started to learn jitz

the only downside would be strength dropping in the bench
    Its coming back in the DL and the squat and even in the press though.

thanks for the input on here Will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

the only downside would be strength dropping in the bench

One time I decided to leave butter off my sandwich and it knocked 5kg off my bench :D

I wouldn't get down about your bench taking a dive. Everyone's does for different reasons. It'll come back, but you won't necessarily know why. Mine was cat and now it's stronger than ever and I'm fecked if I know why.

10 people can make plausible arguments about what will help your bench and all but one of them might be wrong. I think pin presses have helped me. but floor presses never did. Explain that!

Re: 5/3/1. I think there's a reason 5/3/1 for powerlifting is coming out. I was one of the first to start 5/3/1 and last to ditch it and I was really dissapointed with the result over the course of a year.

I asked Wendler in IP that day about a lifter crapping themselves when they get their 1rm on their back after training with 5/3/1 %'s all year and he dismissed it as the lifter needing to man up but I maintain I was right.

I had a 215kg squat starting 5/3/1 and got buried by 220kg a year later after making progress on paper all year long. If I hadn't eaten like a procrastinating bolemic prior to the single lifts and gained 10lbs of chub I'd have tanked it on the day.

this is the most traffic my log has ever seen!

cheers for all the input guys and gals.

Plan now is to:
    • finish out the year doing 5/3/1.
    • then im gonna give the IP programme a go for 3 months
    • then I might start experimenting with Smolov, Coan etc

5/3/1 Cycle 14 Week 1 (5 day)

Bench
    Max - 100kg
    Training max - 90kg

warm up involved shoulder dislocates, band pull aparts, face pulls and ytws.

Benching
    20kg - 2 x 10
    30kg - 10
    40kg - 10

work sets
    65% - 60kg - 5
    75% - 67.5kg - 5
    85% - 77.5kg - 14
    75% - 67.5kg - 5
    65% - 60kg - 20

I had 12 plus reps in my head for 77.5kg so was happy with 14
    i wasnt putting the bar down til I got 20 reps with 60kg.

3 Rounds of
    DB Rows
    34kg -15 per side

Alternating Incline DB Press
    20kg DBs -10 per side

Flat DB Flies
    12kg DBs - 12

DB Curls
    12kg DBs - 12

2 mins rest in between

Happy enough with the session.
    put the bit between my teeth for the two main sets and really went balls to the walls on them.

Driving back to Dublin in a few mins with my mála scoile and shirts, ties etc after a summer in shorts, t shirts and trainers.

Might squat in IP tonight when I get back.

PM Session

Squatting in IP

IP warm up
    stretching

5/3/1 Cycle 14 Week 1 5 Day
    Squats

Training max: 140kg

20kg - 2 x 10
    40kg - 10
    50kg - 5

work sets
    90kg - 5
    105kg - 5
    120kg - 5
    105kg - 5
    90kg - 8

happy to get the 5 at 120

Assistance exercises:
    BBB
    60kg - 3 x 12

BB lunges with
    BW + 20kg - 3 x 8 per leg

Conditioning
    Prowler Pushes
    Prowler + 120kg - 10 pushes ~ 40m each push

good days training.
    back to work tomorrow.

5/3/1 Cycle 14 Week 1 (5 day)

IP warm up

foam rolling

Deadlifts
    60kg - 2 x 5
    80kg - 2 x 5
    100kg - 2 x 5

work sets
    124kg - 5
    143kg - 5
    162kg - 6
    143kg - 5
    143kg - 7

Conditioning
    Deadlift and Carry WOD
    meant to be 145kg DL x 5 followed by 18kg carry for 60m
    I scaled the DL down a bit

10 mins
    100kg DL x 5
    20kg carry - 60m

10 rounds + 3 DLs

Prowler work
    Prowler + 80kg
    10 pushes in 10 mins

hanging knee raises - 5 x 8

I bet you are bursting.

I am.

Im like a child hopping from one foot to the other when he badly needs to pee!

I am.

Im like a child hopping from one foot to the other when he badly needs to pee!
    You know the internet will implode if it finds out.

I know.
    my silence is stopping armageddon.

my silence could be bought for jaeger bombs on the 18th though..........

I know.
    my silence is stopping armageddon.

my silence could be bought for jaeger bombs on the 18th though..........

We're gonna do a metcon with jager involved on the 18th...

oh wait, you need a bodyweight bench :(

:P

pwned.....

Ill cut off a leg or something

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Ill cut off a leg or something

Cut off 1 of Drifters while you're at it so he can't do any of that gay running ****e anymore.

Hanley wrote: »
    Cut off 1 of Drifters while you're at it so he can't do any of that gay running ****e anymore.

In 14 days time ill need that leg for stuff other than running...

No everyone get back to logging and telling Liam not to do 5/3/1 anymore please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Just a quick question there (sorry to be spamming your log) for those who think 5/3/1 is a load of cock; do ye think it a sh*t program full stop or just unsuited to someone who is a very experienced lifter?

FTA69 wrote: »
    Just a quick question there (sorry to be spamming your log) for those who think 5/3/1 is a load of cock; do ye think it a sh*t program full stop or just unsuited to someone who is a very experienced lifter?

it's just coz he lost a crap load of weight while doing it/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

I don't think anyone said that it was a load of cock or that its ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

it's just coz he lost a crap load of weight while doing it/

I think that was on purpose....

I'm not saying that was a result of 5/3/1.

ya ape!

I'm saying that's why it wasn't really doing much for him

1st off, Im not a very experienced lifter.
    I have a few years training behind me but hardly have impressive numbers (not even a bw bench as im constantly reminded!)

I really really liked 5/3/1 in the beginning.
    i was constantly knocking out PBs and getting stronger all the time.
    but I wasnt doing any conditioning at all.
    I was getting heavier and stronger and at the time i didnt mind being super fat if i was getting super strong (relatively speaking of course)

anyway, eventually I decided enough was enough and time to stop being such a fatty. I would have been easily 30%+ bf at this stage and 119kg.

have gotten down to about 108kg at 20%ish now and want to bring that down further.

I tried to keep doing the same amount of lifting while adding conditioning stuff and while eating less.

Ive found it works for losing weight/bf but not for strength gains.
    strength acutally goes down, particularly in the bench and other upperbody movements.

Anyway, Im happy enough to finish out the year doing 5/3/1. Ill probably up the conditioning even more and try to get to 15% bf at 100kg by the end of the year, bench be damned.

5/3/1 is a good programme to do imo, 6 cycles should be enough to start hitting plateaus.
    when you hit plateaus, retest your maxes and work off 90% of the new maxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭_JOE_

Liam, I hope you don't mind me posting in your log and giving my opinion on 5/3/1 (and squat in particular)
    Well, just to give my own experience of 5/3/1 (although i know Pavel has made serious gains from it too)...
    My squat 1rm last December was 100kg @ 80kg BW and seriously lagging behind my DL.

Since then, I've gone through 12 cycles, never reset, kept my current BW and hit 130kg x 10 easily yesterday and could have done 13+...
    I'm up to a comfortable 160kg now (although i've got a serious amount of guidance from my brother.)

I think it seems to suit some people in making those initial gains, although one thing i did notice was the difficulty i had with more weight on my back. Basically I became proficient at repping the weight.

The above was all done at the same time as playing 3 matches a week and also training...

no bother joe.

the more input on this the better.

Early morning prowler session with no food in Booterstown Park with Jayroc

Prowler + 2KBs were the implements of torture, one 20kg, one 16kg.

1st run - Prowler push
    Prowler + 36kg of KBs
    50m up and 50m back - 39 seconds

2nd run - Prowler Drag
    Prowler + 36kg of KBs
    50m up and 50m back - 1 min 41 seconds

3rd run - Prowler push, KB Swings, prowler push
    Prowler + 36kg of KBs
    Push up 50m on low handles
    20 x 20kg KB swings
    50m push on high handles
    2 mins 9 seconds

4th run - Push, sprint, carry, push
    50m empty prowler push
    50m sprint
    50m farmers walk with 36kg of KBs
    50m push with prowler + 36kg KBs
    1 min 48 seconds

I was very close to seeing my breakfast of two scoops of whey and 300ml water.

quads, hamstrings and lungs all destroyed.