Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

New Zealand - Bahrain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Over.

45th minute goal by Rory Fallon books a World Cup spot for The All Whites. Never thought I'd see the day when Oz and NZ were in the same World Cup finals...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

It is kind of staggering really that Ireland play France for a World Cup spot and NZ face, er, Bahrain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Great news for football over there. It'll be like Oz was in 06 and can only be good for the development at grassroots level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

what about OUR greassroots level?!?! qualifying this 1 time would do more for ireland than NZ in the long run!!

The_B_Man wrote: »
    what about OUR greassroots level?!?! qualifying this 1 time would do more for ireland than NZ in the long run!!

Even if we qualified for 50 World Cups we'd still have the FAI to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

meh, sometimes money can compensate for ignorance.
    all we need is a world cup win and we should have a small youth academy somewhere, maybe attached to a rugby school somewhere. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

The_B_Man wrote: »
    what about OUR greassroots level?!?!

Nothing I hate more than greasy roots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Just saw clips of this on TV.

Bahrain guy missed a penno to send them through on away goals!!!! :eek:

That'll take a while to get over I'd say.

Bahrain had a goal disallowed in the last minute as well.

Imagine if Keane misses a peno in Paris and Dunne has a later header ruled out. The Bahrain folk must be gutted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

m@cc@ wrote: »
    It is kind of staggering really that Ireland play France for a World Cup spot and NZ face, er, Bahrain.

Tis curious indeed.

AFAIK, there's two Asian groups with qualifying spots for top two (which is always going to be Aus, Japan, Korea plus one other. The third place in each group play each other for a playoff spot against the winner of the Oceania group - which is always going to be NZ.

So basically NZ have a pretty much guaranteed playoff match against one of Bahrain, N.Korea, Saudi and Iran for a spot at the finals.

My guessing is that they'll stick with this system for a few WC's and then change it again.

Yeah, we're a better team but it is the World cup and Europe already has 13 or 14 out of 32 places.

Club football is pretty much only European now, we also have a European Championship which has 16 places and we can't seem to manage to qualify for.

I say fair play New Zealand and I hope they enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

New Zealand have qualified for the world cup by beating just 4 teams:

1) Fiji
    2) Vanuatu
    3) New Caledonia
    4) Bahrain

All worldbeaters. New Zealand really have done it the hard way!!

As for Bahrain, they may need to start doing what they do in Track & Field if they are ever going to qualify... buying in talent from around the world. But instead of Kenyans they'll have to go look at recruiting young brazilians!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,414 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

04072511 wrote: »

1) Fiji
    2) Vanuatu
    3) New Caledonia
    4) Bahrain

Absolutely farcical situation.
    My local soccer team would beat all of those teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Absolutely farcical situation.
    My local soccer team would beat all of those teams.

I would beat all those teams!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Would it not have been an idea to let the winner of this game play the worst european group runner-up for a place in finals? New Zealand v Scotland??

Edit: Sorry Norway not scotland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

you can't moan about NZ qualifying, Europe is probably over represented as is.
    We get a chance every two years to play in the biggest tournaments in the world and stuff it up every bloody time. So good on ya All Whites, I'll be cheering for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Would it not have been an idea to let the winner of this game play the worst european group runner-up for a place in finals? New Zealand v Scotland??

That would encourage teams to play badly if they were in that position in the last game. Who would we prefer to be playing tonight, France or New Zealand?

baz2009 wrote: »
    That would encourage teams to play badly if they were in that position in the last game. Who would we prefer to be playing tonight, France or New Zealand?

Ah true, didnt think of that.
    Ok, best runner up then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Why should the WORST runner up team get rewarded by being given the easiest playoff opponent?

See above post, I was thinking arseways :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Its up to UEFA and Platini to lobby for extra places - at the moment we have 13 and under your situation we'd have 13.5, so effectively someone (Asia and Oceania) would be missing out on that extra .5 place.
    Other confederations seem to be better at lobbying for places than UEFA - we had a 6 page thread awhile back about how UEFA have lost an average of .8 of a place every 4 years for the last 24 years. (though in fairness some people made good cases as to why this was still fair and just, though I disagreed).

How UEFA chose to allocate their 13 places is a different issue - if it was ultimately unfair on Norway it's not really the fault of NZ/Bahrain etc, more the fault of the system UEFA chose to go from 53 entants to 13 qualifiers.

Edit : Also no other confederation want a playoff against a European team, no one has ever beaten a European team in a playoff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭ADTR

Fair play to New Zealand. But to be honest, I can't see them being anything other than whipping boys at the World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Not worth a thread of it's own but looks like the Egypt V Algeria game is going to be a cracker. This is from the BBC.

1731: Remember: If Egypt win 1-0, Algeria qualify. If Egypt win 3-0, they qualify. If Egypt win 2-0, the two teams would be level in every way - points, goal difference, goals scored and head-to-head record. In that instance, they would meet again on Wednesday in a one-off play-off in Sudan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Pighead wrote: »
    Not worth a thread of it's own but looks like the Egypt V Algeria game is going to be a cracker. This is from the BBC.

1731: Remember: If Egypt win 1-0, Algeria qualify. If Egypt win 3-0, they qualify. If Egypt win 2-0, the two teams would be level in every way - points, goal difference, goals scored and head-to-head record. In that instance, they would meet again on Wednesday in a one-off play-off in Sudan.
    That could be lively alright :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

That could be lively alright :eek:
    Lively start alright and Egypt have taken the lead! 1-0 after 25 minutes. Sets it up nicely.

Stream here but in Egyptian unfortunately.
    http://www.fromsport.com/video-113570.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Pighead wrote: »
    Lively start alright and Egypt have taken the lead! 1-0 after 25 minutes. Sets it up nicely.

Stream here but in Egyptian unfortunately.
    http://www.fromsport.com/video-113570.html

2-0 Egypt, the second goal at 95:35 or something ridiculous like that.

Playoff on neutral territory on Wednesday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Bahrain had a goal disallowed in the last minute as well.

Imagine if Keane misses a peno in Paris and Dunne has a later header ruled out. The Bahrain folk must be gutted.

Ah yeah, but with all the sand and oil they have, they must be like "**** it."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

1) Fiji
    2) Vanuatu
    3) New Caledonia
    4) Bahrain

As for Bahrain, they may need to start doing what they do in Track & Field if they are ever going to qualify... buying in talent from around the world. But instead of Kenyans they'll have to go look at recruiting young brazilians!!

Load of bollix. Might as well have European qualifying groups that are completely random and non seeded. Its like us getting a group of Andorra, San Marino etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,137 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

the Oceania qualifying is an absolute joke now - no way should New Zealand be going to Sth Africa after beating a bunch of pacific islanders and Bahrain.

Australia left Oceania to play in the Asian qualifying as they felt they weren't getting enough competition (and they kept getting beaten in the final playoffs to the likes of Iran). When they left FIFA should have scrapped Oceania and given an extra place to either Asia or Africa.

New Zealand can go an play in the Asian qualifying, the likes of Vanuatu and New Caledonia could play some sort of prequalifying with the winners going into an Asian group (personally think the like of Andorra, San Marino et al should have to pre-qualify also)