Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

intrest in starting drifting

• 17-11-2009 12:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27

hey guys,

im interested in starting up drifting, i was just wondering if there were any experienced people out there that could tell me where the best place to start would be. i have around €2 grand for a car maybe more at a push. advice on whats a good beginners car and where to go to practice (back roads are out of the question =P)

any opinions will be greatly appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 ross b

no one out there with advice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭hi_sir

there are still many that dont see drifting as a motorsport only a few goons staging about at night

thanks guys, ill follow the link.

Regards,
    Ross

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,672 ✭✭✭Oblomov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Well son,

Drifting isn't that hard to get into,
    You will need bit more than 2000 though, you should get yourself a Nissan 180sx, there a sweet car with enough power and are smooth when drifting unlike some other cars that snap back straight and can all end in tears!
    Somewhere to practice is easy, just get in touch with Mondello Park early next year, they have any amount of drift days ( basically a trackday for drifting ) and cost 150 for either a morning or evening session or 250 for the whole day. They will even give you pointers and try and tutor you for a bit more!
    Just a few things you have to add in, the diffrential has to be replaced with a locking one (limited slip differential) and your going to need a whole pile of half worn or cheap tyres!

Hope this helps man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

180sx is the usual starter car it seems

YbFocus wrote: »
    Well son,

Drifting isn't that hard to get into,
    You will need bit more than 2000 though, you should get yourself a Nissan 180sx, there a sweet car with enough power and are smooth when drifting unlike some other cars that snap back straight and can all end in tears!
    Somewhere to practice is easy, just get in touch with Mondello Park early next year, they have any amount of drift days ( basically a trackday for drifting ) and cost 150 for either a morning or evening session or 250 for the whole day. They will even give you pointers and try and tutor you for a bit more!
    Just a few things you have to add in, the diffrential has to be replaced with a locking one (limited slip differential) and your going to need a whole pile of half worn or cheap tyres!

Hope this helps man!

thanks very much focus, yeah i heard 180s were good, the modello info is great! i might just do that and the diff can be welded...ha, and yeah tires would be expensive, ah sure ill save for another year so before i do anything! thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Get on to motorsport ireland as well, they might be of some help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

ross b wrote: »
    thanks very much focus, yeah i heard 180s were good, the modello info is great! i might just do that and the diff can be welded...ha, and yeah tires would be expensive, ah sure ill save for another year so before i do anything! thanks!

No bother at all man, glad to help!
    Old E36 M3's are very good cars for drifting too actually,
    300 odd bhp aswell so you'll be passing yourself out all day!

Welding the diff is hard on the gearbox, it'll be great for 9 months or more, but the box will shred itself someday! Something to think about, as a diff bought once could spare buying a couple of boxes!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XyOVqaJzyMI

Kawabata is my favourite drifter, one his first drift event in the D1 aged 19! You won't believe the angle he gets here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

beemers are the best imho , dotn get me wrong 180sx, twin cams and such are popular, but

a quick engine change

minimum stage I 1 way diff

better clutch with re-enforced gb

any other misc mods you can do on the cheap

and you away

Dont get me wrong, if you can Afford a jap Buy jap, if not, theirs plenty of home grown options ( old seirras, carltons, beemers, even a jag )

england, germany and france are where you hunt them down, mate of mine got a clean mkII escort from france for under a grand. ( late reg, minor tlc needed but nothing you wouldn't hurl a bag of asain midgets at )

get sponsered btw, Try EVERYONE you know to raise funds.

some wasit of a good mk 2 escort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

cian1500ww wrote: »
    Get on to motorsport ireland as well, they might be of some help.

Unlikely, given that drifting not organized or sanctioned by them. Drift forums mentioned earlier are a good place to start however.

defo not motorsport ireland they have nothing to do with diffin craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

www.driftireland.com for all your Irish drifting needs!

hi_sir wrote: »
    some wasit of a good mk 2 escort

since when is the mkII good, was only good cause they where cheap... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭abceire

i d say buy anything rwd and start getting a feel for what a rwd car is like to drive,if you know anyone with a yard or a bit of land at all to just have a mess and learn to catch a slide ,any experience in a rwd car nearly will help you,driftworks.com is a good site, sxoc.com is a good site to look for cars too,springs and shocks are worth thinking of up rating so help the car feel less snapy
    the old carltons gsi 24v OPEL can be fun 200odd horrse lsd and long
    if you can afford the tax the omega mv6 can be a good cheap rwd,again lil over 200bhp and some have lsd as standard,and very cheap,i ve had good few rwds now over the years and you ll have some fun on a wet day in nearly anything,i d a 1989 e200 merc 2.0petrol,a 940 auto volvo 2.0petrol,they were all fun,dont worry so much about style and all that if you wana get good at drifting just get any rwd and start learning today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭CianDon

It's fairley easy to get into drifting. Firstly, for a car you can't go wrong with a 180SX but there are other cheaper alternatives. These include BMW 3 and 5 Series, Volvo's, Ford Sierra's or even Vauxhall Manta's, Ascona's or Chevette's. Anything rear wheel drive really. Once you have the car it's necessary to weld a bit of metal into the diff to keep it locked when applying the handbrake and sliding. In competion you need a bucket seat, Roll cage and safety gear (Helmet & Overalls.)
    When you're starting off there are loads of trackdays to try out in Mondello, Watergrasshill in Cork and Nutts Corner up North. Besides that there are many amateur level competions run alongside the main championships like ProDrift, D-Rift (Cork & Kilkenny) and the Ulster Drift Championship.

Try www.driftworks.com and they're forums for all things drifting

i think there is a drifting comp in killkenny the 6th in goldstone place, worth going i d say,drifters are a friendly bunch who wont mind u asking questions

i think pro drift have a drift school were you use there cars ,and so i think rally school ireland have a drift school thing,christmas coming up you can drop hints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭nicknackgtb

Check out the driftireland.com site, the guys on there know their stuff and there is always something for sale there thats within everyones price range.

If not this, check out driftworks.com, there are regular auctions on there from Power vehicles (company) and others also that show up some very cheap drift cars.

beware that tyres will be expensive to keep on the car if you start, especially around mondello once you get used to your car. but its great fun and you'll love every minute of going sideways!

I love the Sylvia s13's myself but they're a bit more expensive than 2k, but definately the 180's are a great way to get started!

Best a luck mate and see you soon on the drifting scene!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7 monkey7488

if you want to get started,buy an s14,you'd get a uk one for about 1000 pound..weld the diff,get cheap coilovers,roll cage,bucket seat and a harness and away ya go..

maybe adjust the boost from .6 to .7 for a little bit more power..

or if ya dont want a jap,get a 325bmw

lightning, that would be great!
    thanks!

monkey7488 wrote: »
    if you want to get started,buy an s14,you'd get a uk one for about 1000 pound..weld the diff,get cheap coilovers,roll cage,bucket seat and a harness and away ya go..

maybe adjust the boost from .6 to .7 for a little bit more power..

or if ya dont want a jap,get a 325bmw

535i or simular beemer ( 92-95 e34 shape ) for example would be best imho after a bit of contimplaition, you'll get one with 2 years nct, sell and arm and a leg to tax it, and you have a somewhat street legal machine ( but safety fuel tanks are tiny.... cages are... grey area... original wheels back on when not drifting)

power isnt everything though it helps but when your starting by the looks of it, buy some champaigne for lemonade money and love ever second then when you have a good idea of how to move forward by all means.

England has all the gems it seems, isnt their a lad on her that delivers em to the port n all ?

as for the s13/s14 debate, s14 came out in japland the same day the money went out so they are two to a penny.... hold your breathe and you Will get a high spec for next to nothing ( still about 2.5/3ish )

Have ya lads to help run the car with ya ( mechanics/greeze monkeys/someone to man the kettle ? ) ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Eskimo K

Just saw this now, best people to speak to are Prodrift, they also run an academy/drift school. All info available on following links:

http://www.prodriftseries.com/
    http://www.prodriftseries.com/academy/cars/